Zaza, judebabe,
Alamak, did i get it all mixed up? I tot after ET must do acu consecutively for a few days. Or is that ER?? My god.. luckily I check with you girls.. I'll ask dr zou on satt when I go for my acu session.

Pandawife..
Relax k.. Maybe start exercising to relax yourself.. I told Dr Zou that I swimming every week now. She told me that swimming is good.

i would love to swim too, but DH dont like it, so we try to go jogging/brisk walking. But its also a big challenge, coz we are usually exhausted after work on weekdays. Weekends busy running between two sets of parents and doing housework...basically both of us no discipline!..:p

Tickles - yes, advisable to do accu 5 straight days before ER and the day before ET

tickles, thanks! But still need to wait for 1 more AF after this, so shld be march then do. Dr zou mentioned to me before acu frequency before ET for fet. U can check with her again.

tickles i meant acu frequency increased before ET.
Angel not all sisters do acu before ivf. If u r not comfie to do acu, then do but eat healthy and take more proteins.
I am doing acu now to improve my lining for FET.

Ladies the reason i ask because,

I am non chinese (indian) my IVF cycle is schdules in Feb. Infact 9thFeb I am going to get my first jab lucrin etc.

As I have been reading i was curious its like almost all going for accupuncture. Yes I am abit uncomfy about the idea as well as gona jab medicenes and plus accu.... OUCH....

Angel....
I understand what you mean...btw needles is part and parcel of ivf..cannot avoid you just need to find somewhere that is not fleshy..

Before I do iui and ivf , i am also scared of needles... but after a while no problem already..

Last sunday, I saw a malay couple at dr zou..there are also non chinese who do accuptunture...

Alternatively, you can also try accuptunture at RH with Dr jin..there are many international patient there..including caucasian..

It is not that accup is a must.. just that it helps in blood circulation.

Pandawife,
You are in good hands with Angela.. do you know that there is JE chinese doc that dishes out angela's name card at her clinic.. I heard angela is experienced and patient..

What deter some pple from going to Angela is that her rates are expensive..If i am not wrong, per attempt is easily $12k to $15k..

Btw does anybody knows what is the diet of 2WW ?
i am home alone so i always cook chicken soup with rice...dared not eat chicken as it is considered "cold".. but i love to drink soup leh
How ah..

Judebabe,

Pork ribs, water cress soup? ABC soup? Pumpkin soup?

Chicken considered "cold" ah?? I always eat chicken coz dont really like pork.

jeinthi,
it depends on ur comfort level... prior to ivf i did go for tcm and accu to try naturally but after decided on ivf, decided to stop tcm and accu as i find it very stressful having to juggle so many things...

Judebabe,
Bingo, I was referred to Angela by the JE TCM. JE referred me to Dr Fong also at Paragon for my first attempt. But it failed and he couldn't really tell me why the cycle failed, except to try again and go for one more lap before trying. So I went back to JE and ask for her opinion. She says she usually refer patients to Angela after they fail twice with Dr Fong and told me Angela has high success rate.
I would say the difference with seeing Angela is that she is really an ivf expert. She explained the possible reasons to us, ran the necessary tests, and plan with us what to do the next cycle. She also takes into considerations to prepare our bodies for the cycle, and not just rush into doing it. Hence, in this aspect, we are very comfortable. We hope that we have found the right doctor and will be successful this time.. the journey has been long and difficult, we do not want to spend many yrs of our lifes just trying for a baby and torturing ourselves taking medication, measuring temp, going through stress when menses come.... at some point, if it still doesnt work out, we would like to call a stop with no regrets that we have tried our best.

thanks sisters for the enlightment on the Accu part....

Besides that DIET.... if blood circulation is important during the IVF period.. what are the recommended foods to take?

I was thinking of ordering tingkat. But then again i dun take red meat.. I avoid mutton n pork and beef. Only chicken fish and seafood...

What is considered good? Meals and soups with ginger? Am so green horn in this...

Pandawife,
You mean angela will be doing the ER & ET for you? For what I know she is only an embryologist, not gynae leh. She can do ER & ET huh? I always tot she can only manage the eggs and sperms only..

Tickles,
ER and ET will be done by Paul. I have not met him yet. But the programme is planned by Angela. She says I will meet Paul after I complete the growth hormones therapy. You are right Angela manages the eggs and sperm.

Tickles, in fact i find Angela more knowledgable in ivf as compare to my previous gynae. Which is why I say she is ivf expert.

pandawife, is the JE TCM queue stillas long and start as early as 430am? I seen her oncefew yrs bk..she jsut prescibe me with some medicine say i got PCOS ..tat all..nvr recommend me to see any other gyne..etc...anyway i stop seeing her aft that attempt

Hi Hope,
Yes, queue is still as long. I went there at 5am recently on a sunday, and got queue number 20+. She prescribe med for us, bt has never encourage us to try natural due to my DH's condition. But I have friend who has PCOS, DH's sperm quality is not good, but manage to conceive naturally after taking her med and instructions for 6 months. It seems like she is quite good at treating PCOS related infertility.

Pandawife, u r right i think its very torturing to be under fertility treatment yrs after years its juz so tiring... Angela must be ex?

I also didn't know that it is possible to do ivf with Angela cos she is an embryologist...
All the best to you !! pandawife.... Angela has seen lots of ivf cases...tat why i say she is experienced...

Angel,
you want to consider going to the JE medical TCM...two of my colleagues ( 1 malay 1 chinese) lady BFP naturally with her leh.....but they didn't do ivf. I didn't see her cos her medicine is not user friendly..and i dun want to queue..heheh

hi Ladies

I finally transferred embryos today!

TangTang, your turn soon! Tommorrow your lining sure very good because a few more days would have passed, your lining would sure have grown. Mine is 9mm at ET today. All the best! If transfer tomorrow, probably KKH will do BHCG around D16 or D17, the weekend before CNY.

Ladies, about the red dates & longans drink, how many red dates and longans in 1 cup ah? I hope i am not overdosing or under dosing. Now i drink 1 cup, 10 red dates and 5 longans. Is that too much or too little?

And brazil nuts, how many to take a day? 3 enough? And can drink chicken essence the bottled kind? Because i heard got caramel or something and thats not good, true?

Judebabe, i also was given cyclogest. Was told to insert in rectum because it wont slip out so will be fully absorbed. If insert in vagina, maybe insert at night because if insert in the day, will drop or leak abit then wont have full absorption. Dr Zou also say if insert in vagina, do it at night then quickly go sleep.

Judebabe, what are you doing to pass time? I was not prepared for this ET because i was at one point thinking to give up so i dont have much things to do now. Been sleeping the whole PM today. Hows your embryos when transferred as in how many cells, if you dont mind i ask? Mine are 5 and 6 cells, wonder if its alright for a D2 embryos.

I am feeling fine now, no feeling down there, abit paranoid whether embryos still there especially after i have peed alot alot after ET. My bladder was so so so full because the nurse keep asking me to drink thinking Dr Loh had to do a last min ceasarian and will be late. In the end she had to ask me to release abit of urine. All that release hold release hold hurts.

Seed

Lyn, I am not sure about exact ivf charges, but the growth hormones med and supplements we are taking costs a total of $1500 per month. My last cycle with Dr Fong costs about $15k. Because of the complexity of our conditions, i suppose we might end up paying more for med.

Judebabe, thanks! Yeah, i heard that Angela has handled alot of complex ivf cases and help many couples in their 40s to conceive. The recept there told me I am considered a young patient there. But then again, Angela says becoz of endo, my egg quality could be potientially 5 yrs older than my actual age. Which is also why we don't want to delay the 2nd cycle for too long.

JE's med has to take 3 times a day, i find it a hassle too! and I always forget the lunch dose coz always busy at work.... end up dinner time take the lunch one, before bedtime take night dose......

Seed, I can totally emphatise with the holding pee and releasing feeling! I had the same situation, hold until i cannot tahan, and doc still not there yet. So nurse let me go and pee..and half way, ask me to STOP! After my ET, i cannot pee anymore.. my bladder was so bloated and painful! In the end the nurse at the hospital got to insert a tube to release the pee.... it was definitely a tramatic experience for me.

Ladies, an interesting thought suddenly came to my mind.. i tink we can collate all of our ttc experience and publish a book on it.

Hi Sunflower, rest well and wishing you BFP! Is your BHCG also scheduled on D18? Sorry, can't comment on yr questions cos i donno. All the best!

Hi Diveera and Soon-to-be, thanks for sharing ur experience and so glad that both of u have succeeded. By the way, did u gals still have endo when u tried for IVF? Was contemplating whether I should go for lap again before IVF or should just try for IVF first since I have been scheduled for Mar (heard fr the nurses that this is a forced thru)

Hi Pandawife, are u taking oral pills to control ur endo?

Hi Kitty,
Yes, I am currently on oral med to try and remove an endo cyst. Current doc says that I shld not go for another lap as it will cause further scarring and affect the natural ability of the uterus. I suppose it depends on how serious is ur endo.
My last cycle, the prevous doc tried to put me on 2 months of lucrin to try and remove the cyst, but it didnt work, so he suggested lap to remove it.

Hazel,
Preggie ladies are v prompt to constipation...perhaps can take more fruits and veg? Not sure whether u can take yakult or not?

Angel, I didn't do accu n bfp. Currently 19weeks pregnant. I think most important is relax n be happy. I didn't do much special thing. Took conceive well, eys chicken essence alternate days, 2 boiled eggs alternate days, drink lots warm water, still drink cold but very little. Ate durian for the protein oh n I did take spirulina too. Good luck to u all.
Jude, not everyone got implantation bleeding la. I didn't. In fact I have a pretty easy pregnancy. No ms. Jus need to rest n sleep more. So don't get nervous even if any of u who are in 2 ww don't get much sympthoms as long don't see red still got chance

muski,
I too hv retroverted uterus...bt Prof from NUH told me there is no plm at all and will still able to conceive normally/via IVF...
Did Dr Yu says wat difficulties are there during ER and ET for retroverted uterus?
I was told by many gynaes there is no plm at all..
Wat discomfort did u experience during ER & ET last time?

Judebabe,
I tort for IVF patients, scannings will be done as early as 7+? This applies to NUH as well...
Do u mean u need to wait for v long for scannings during the cycle?
U will BFP de la..wun hv the chance to try out NUH

Tickles,
I was told by my ex TCM not to acu aft O...we are not supposed to...this is for our normal cycle...during IVF I m not sure...
I again checked wif Dr Zou and she agrees....

Jeinthi Angel,
during my 1st cycle, I din do any acu...Now I got to go back to TCM to tiao my body...thus need to acu...duno hw long I will cont? If I find tt there is improvement, I might jus cont...
Not all the gals here go to TCM before their IVF...like Hazel, she din go any TCM and she BFP on her 1st try...
Acu is v individual...u must first find out whether u will like it and not feel stress from it...this is not the most impt..

Jeinthi Angel,
Try drinking red dates wif longans and wilfberries drink to improve blooed circulation too...It helps...if u dun feel heaty, try to drink it everyday and try to exercise..if cannot, try walking or brisk walking...

Hazel,
Try Yakult then...every nite 1 bottle..I hv been taking for some time and seldom suffer from constipation now..
Last time my constipation v bad..oni output every 3-4 days...can u imagine hw bad it is?

rostrum, got output still okay. the terrible part is stools cannot come out at all no matter how hard... just stuck there! that kind, only pump can get it out! :p

hazel, there is a type of stool relaxer that is pregnancy safe to use. my doc prescribe tht during ivf coz i was badly constipated..

pandawife, the stool relaxer is for oral usage? Is it fibergel? it does not work for me hor...

i saw a GP on tues, she said no other medicine which are safe...

Rostrum,

You can queue up at 7 plus but the nurse will starting scanning you at 8am. I have no problem with KK just that wait to see Dr loh is very long. ER and ET also must wait..

Seed,
Glad that you are well..... i have the picture but i dun know how to read the cell...Hope lady luck will bless us. Btw 5 and 6 cells are good means that they are dividing well...My 2 embryo are average grade 3 only so i just leave it to fate lor....

Pandawife,
You are considered a young patient at CARE...Do you mind telling us how old are you ?...if not convenient it's ok...; )

Hazel,
Constipation can be due to lifestyle too. Like stress, anxiety, insufficient sleep. Try to take veg like spinach, eggplant, lady's fingers. They will help. And spinach provides iron too! I do take papaya and guava in moderate amounts as well. But i guess some old folks do not encourage papaya though.

my hcg dropped, so means i lost the baby. Do you girls know what could be the reasons for early bleeding before a blood test? Is it due to insufficient progestrone support? Any advice?

also, when is a good time to start FET? I still have a few embryos stored on D3, but it's graded satisfactory, the implanted ones are of good grades.. so i worry that the grades will affect my next FET..