Ice,

I guess we will juz eat everything in moderation but those that are helpful to us, try to eat more. Me too drank Teh C last nite coz really run out of idea to drink. For me, I will juz try to eat less and drink less cold drinks.

Prayhard,
Alright. Actually I have been continuing with multivits and folic acid.. But lately multi vits finished le.. So just stopped for a few days.. So wondering if I should get more.. Since I seeing Doc on sat, maybe I check with her..

Ice,
Dont worry too much.. Eat every thing in moderation. Just a small cup of Teh c wont affect much.. Cheer up.. Dont feel guilty k.. I agree on the mood swings, I too get them, when I see my frens BFP, I feel happy for them and I envy them too.. Envy till the point that I feel so upset for myself.. I will think why I go thru so much and still no strike yet.. But a friend told me, must be positive and keep a positive mind. Relax yourself and baby will come when you least expect it..

I too have been disappointed so many times.. Just endure.. We will have a baby in our arms soon..

Hi Ice,

Dun feel depressed..there are Ups and Downs in our lives...I have 2 failed SO-IUI and one failed fresh IVF cycle...now, after feeling very down in the few first days after knowing I was BFN, I move on & discuss happily with other sisters to see how to improve my success rate in my coming FET...we are all here to exchange experiences, happiness & unhappiness...please feel free to post your problems and qns here...think all sisters here are willing to help in any ways

prayhard, tickles, actually the food we eat daily will also have selenium such as beef, chicken, brown rice, eggs etc. In fact i think i seen eggs in ntuc with the word selenium printed on the box.
Ensure milk also have.

Gan,

I very troublesome leh..I can't take nuts & milk...how? During my 1st IVF cycle, I took alot of egg whites, ave 3 to 4 egg whites per day + chicken essence everyday cos I know this is the only way to obtain the proteins that I need..

But some said cannot take too much chicken essence unless home-made one, true or not?

Gan,
Can I start to drink ensure milk? Maybe I can drink 1 cup of ensure every morning.. Then I dun need to worry abt what to drink for bf daily..

Prayhard,
Haha~ How come cant drink milk?I tell u 3-4 egg white during your cycle, if it my doc she will tell u not enug, cos when she ask me to eat more egg whites, I ask her how many, she told me 6-8 egg white daily. Then nearer the ER date, the embryologist at CARE told me must take 10-12 egg whites daily.. *FAINT* I faithfully followed leh.. But I didnt take 12 la.. Took 10 daily only.

Me too, took chicken essence daily. But yes, some sisters here say not good..

tickles,

my clinic also tell me d same thing so i stuffed myself w egg white everyday.. after ER also hav to eat alot.. bu i did not take chicken essence coz i cant stand d smell..

Tickles,

My body is the very heaty type..after a few pieces of cracker or a cup of milo, I will have sore throat or headache liao...I bought Ensure milk during my cycle, I drank 2 cups, I have sore throat liao...so how?

Wow, you took 10 egg whites per day? Very good leh u...actually hor, I like to take egg whites and dislike egg yoke...so in this case, lucky for me...

And, the first few days when I started taking chicken essence, I felt heaty also..my mum told me not to be bothered, just keep taking..and really leh...I dun feel heaty after taking a week...

Think I must ask Dr Zou whether we can take chicken essence daily or not...

PrayHard and Tickles

Am at the stimulation stage and can't take more than 2 egg whites a day...how did you manage 10? Want to puke if I take more. I checked with Brand's (via customer service email) and they say that their chickens are not hormone treated, so am drinking 1 every 2 days. Read from the net that you need about 60g of protein a day - 100g of fish/meat gives you about 20g of protein, eggs about 5g each etc. Dr Jin at RH TCM says OK to take Chicken Essence and asks me to drink Bird's Nest as well... although I bought the Eu Yen Sang one, I see the protein content is not high per bottle (less than 1 gram).

Think should take no more that 3 to 4 pieces of brazil nuts a day. They are very large and quite heaty. Am also taking the Blackmores Conceive well Gold which has selenium but there is a warning on the box not to overdose on Selenium, especially via non-natural food sources.

skies,
My Doc and the embryologist told me to take soft boil style. So every day after dinner, I will make hot water then once it boils, I will put the eggs in. After a while, I just crack everything in a bowl removing the yolks, and I drink it up without putting anything. Just drink as if I'm drink plain water.. Quite sick of it la.. But I do whatever the doc says lor.. But I ate like this only when I'm at the stimulation stage. According to my doc, it can help to prevent me from feeling very bloated too.

Prayhard,
Alamak.. Your body really heaty leh.. Me me still ok. Maybe you shld try to drink diluted milo so not so heaty for u.. I am thinking of buying ginger drinks to drink too. Cos that day I drank it at the womb massage place and I find it quite tasty. I suppose it will help keep my womb warm too.

The egg white hor, I practically, just crack all the eggs into 1 bowl, remove all the yolks and just drink it like I'm drink water.. It taste yucky.. But since doc say eat, I eat.. But she didnt ask me to continue eating that after ET. So I stopped. But I continued with a drink called immunocal. Its a protein drink.

You check with Dr Zou if can drink chix essence and update me k. I'm curious too..

Btw, should I start to drink ensure? Or only start when I start doing FET? Can advise me??

miraclebaby,
My embryologist told me.. No matter how yucky it seems. Lotsa egg white helps. and cannot be fully cooked. Fully cooked type will lose its function le. She ask me to do soft boil, add orange, or add milo or just hold your breathe and just drink it. I chose to just drink it. Cos 10 egg whites leh. Its no joke.. Only drinking them already so full, still want to add other things.. But of cos also can maybe morn take 5, night time take 5 la.. But I lazy so eat all at 1 go.. She told me, just imagine that it is birds nest and gulp it down..

miraclebaby,

Try different ways of cooking.. It prob will help..

Tickles,

I ate d hard boiled type then after tt they told me can cook different style.. add some mayo thou fattening, soft boiled.. After which, I did d same way as you- soft-boiled n remove d yolks.. but I add pepper n soy sauce.. Hehe

miraclebaby,
I am thinking of taking Blackmores Conceive well Gold..where to get & how much huh?

Tickles,
I saw NTUC Fairprice at AMK Hub selling the ginger instant powder type...tasted during its promo period...quite similar to those serve in Spa..my sis bought a bottle..

I took hard-boiled eggs leh..so all vit gone? Raw egg whites, I dun dare to drink leh...sometimes I fry the egg whites instead of hard boiled..

Sure, will check with Dr Zou whether can take non-homemade chicken essence boh..actually I also want to know...if can I will still take it daily during my 2ww...

Ya, you can start taking Ensure. One of my ex-colleague, she took Ensure milk while ttc..and now she has 2 gals liao..think her factory closed liao ....

prayhard - if u r really interested to get the Blackmores Conceive well Gold - u cld get from either Guardian, Watsons or NTUC Unity, do compare the prices before buying as some of the outlets may have discounts/promo

Prayhard - I use to take it before.

Skies - U do not need to eat separate folic acid as the blackmore pills already have folic acid in it

Wondering if any of you in future would consider storing Cord Blood for the juz in case situations

http://www.stemcord.com

I will most likely store cord blood cos due to donor sperm, anything happens (touch wood) I won't be able to locate the donor.

Last week I managed to buy the Blackmores Conceive Well Gold at 20% discount at Unity. Normal price is $48 for 28 days supply. Once preggie, should change to a pre-natal.

Tickles

You mean that your egg whites are still watery i.e. not even soft-boiled state?

can we eat raw egg white?? I have been eating hard boil.

Thanks miracle baby will check out unity at amk hub when i go for acu this sat! =)

JJ,
Not sure who is my gyane as we have not even register with kkhivf. We were transfer from clinic D. No doc attend to us, the nurse just told us to take HIV blood test and make appt when AF comes next mth. As I've take clomid for 6 cycles before, the nurse suggest me to proceed with puregon.

Gan,
How many times did you do SO-IUI with kkh? Any success?

hi apple, i went to dr loh in feb last yr regarding ivf, did a day surgery to remove polyps in april, after the surgery, dr loh asked me try 1 or 2 rounds of so iui before going to ivf. So did so iui in june, after the failed so iui, dr loh recommend ivf.
Spent around $1500. Actually the success rate if u check website for iui is same as trying naturally. The only advantage is u have more follicles, and the washed sperms are placed in the uterus, so no need to travel so much like natural

Happy,

My menses came on 13 dec when I failed my ivf cycle. It took 32 days before my next menses came, with my usual cycle being 27-30 days. I was quite worried at first and went to consult Dr Zou and she prescribed some med for me. Took it and AF reported the very next morn. Not sure if it's due to the med or not.

Am feeling kinda depressed again. A good fren just gave birth to her 2nd baby and another just welcomed their first son. Sometimes I think I should not login to facebook so that I won't see their updates. I should be feeling happy for them but I can't help feeling lousy about myself.

Dr sadhana's conclusion abt the failed cycle was it's prob a genetic issue. Eggs retrieved looked fine and sperm wasn't too bad either. All managed to fertilise but prob begins when it starts dividing. Sigh...and she said there's no way to determine where the genetic fault lies. Just ask me to try another cycle and hope for better quality eggs.

I don't look forward to CNY at all le...Seeing newborns and frens' or relatives' kids makes things worse.

Hi all, I have been following this thread for a while. Have just gone through a failed cycle in Sep 09 and currently preparing to try a 2nd attempt.

Saw the few posts on eggs whites. My personal experience with it, its most effective taken raw. I was taught by the clinic nurse to blend room temperature thick milo with the raw egg whites, makes it alot more pleasant to drink. During the last cycle, I had to take 10-12 egg whites a day to ease the bloating, otherwise I can't eat or drink anything else. Hope this is helpful.

Hi Muski,

I can totally emphatise with how you are feeling. For me, ivf is like our last resort to having a baby and it failed. I am planning to just hide at home during CNY. Cannot face all the questioning and curiousity from relatives. Despite how much I try to overcome this feeling, it will still creep back on my lousy days... if you know what I mean...

Dear Muski and Panda Wife......

Yes, we have no children ( yet) but that does not mean we have to mop around at home.Happiness lies in our hands....Do things that make you happy

CNY survival Guide
1) avoid them..... try to go catch movies or meeting your friends at MAC or tea tarik at some kopi tiam... they should be open

2) if you have to meet them upfront.... why no kids yet ..... just ask them back ...." Are you going to help me look after ? or "You want to volunteer to chip in cost of diaper or milk powder ?" This will sure shut them off....

3) No bother telling others that you are doing something...iui...ivf ... that may be too private and not quite suitable for the festivity season

4)Love yourself ... spend time doing things you like.... enjoy the peace and quietness and be at ease with yourself.

Hope it helps

Here are the answers to hot drinks after consulted Dr Zou.

1. Warm honey water - can drink
2. Room Temp water - can drink
3. Soya bean milk/ drink - can drink but she said dun take too much tofu cos they contain some substance that make they solid..
4. Non-homemade chicken essence - can drink but she added that the best is to drink freshly made kampoud chicken or black chicken soup.

Hope these help...

Dear Ladies.... am being very excited as my cycle of IVF is starting this month... but i believe my first jabs are all due to start in Feb..... Good Luck to all IVF mummies....

Please share more experiences for the beginning stage... as Im a green horn in this..

Muski, last year, when all the relatives were asking us when's our turn, my hubby and I would jus push the responsibilities / questions to each other...e.g. I said: "You go ask him".....likewise he did the same thing, in the end, the relatives got no answers from either one of us and give up asking....

IVF is not a confirmed solution, but at least u have tried, and I believe that you will still be trying..so dun feel so despair. As long as you have hopes, there will always be a chance for you to get preggy...dun give up, ok? 8)

Prayhard,
Really?? okok.. I shall go NTUC to take a look at the ginger drink this weekend. I think ginger is heaty type so will warm the womb..

The egg whites. Its not totally raw. Do the soft boil type where u can still just drink it in a gulp.. easier. Just take it that u drinking water/ milk shake.

Think I'll go buy ensure to drink too. At least got 2 more drinks for me le..

Tickles, can I ask you about your experience at CARE? I am thinking of switching over to them for my 2nd try. Slightly doubtful if its the correct choice. Thanks

skies/ Prayhard,
I took blackmores conceive well b4 whe I was doing my IUI. Cant really tell if its good. But I did ask my then gynae Dr Sheila Loh if its ok to take. She took a look and say that the contents is actually more for those who are pregnant already. But no harm taking. Then when taking, u can still continue with your folic acid.

Hope that helps.. Oh, I bought it from unity.. In it, you have to take 2 tablets every day..

Tickles,

I went for my 1st acu last evening..the current was so strong that my feet will jump,jump, jump..even though u have pre-alert me earlier, dun know it will jump like that...heehee...

I shown Dr Zou my hormo BT report which done b4 IVF, she said my FSH 9.9 is not good, lining 9.7mm on D2 is too thick..so start acu now..after a month or two..she suggested me to check my lining again throu scan to cfm whther is there any improvement before fixing the date for FET.

She also said in FET cycle, lining is the most impt factor cos we already have eggs standing by....

Starting from yesterday, I will be gg for acu twice per week..she also gave me med for the next 7 days...I drank last nite, tasted like bai feng wan leh...think is to heal my womb after the IVF cycle and AF...

Seeing her on next Mon again...any qns you gals want me to ask her, please feel free...

JJ (jj_ttc),
Since you already decided on the donor sperm. Ya. Think its good that u keep the cord blood.. For me, I didnt store the cord blood for my girl.. So cant really advise u on that..

pandawife,
You are asking abt CARE @ Paragon right? Cos I'm with CARE @ Pargon not SGH.. To me, the staff there all very nice and friendly. Give me lotsa info. Then my embryologist, Angela, she's so nice. I rem the day when I had to take the Pregnyal jab, I must take it at 4am. She keep reminding me to rem to wake up to take. Cos earlier on when I was doing my IUI, the nurse at another hospital made a blunder and I miss the jab and gotta abort the whole procedure. As she knew abt this, she kept remining me. Then she even ask her staff to call me and ask if I rem to take. Then my Er was on fri, she called me on sat night to tell me how many eggs were fertilised etc. and told me when my ET will be. After my ET, they realised that my progesterone level was low and she ask to go to her clinic immediately and she will help me jab. That was already 7pm and she told me that its ok, she can wait for me.

So far, I find the people there really nice and encouraging..

I cant tell u if its the correct choice as I did not succeed in my fresh cycle. If you switch over, which doc will u be with? Need to change doc too right?

I checked...the multi-vits that I am taking contains Selenium 100mcg per serving..is this enough?

The brand I am taking is GNC Women's - Women's Ultra Mega..it contains folic acid 400mcg per serving also..need to take 2 tablets per day..

miraclebaby,
My egg white is not totally raw. I will put all the eggs in a big metal container. Then boil the water. After boiling, I will pour in the hot water. Then wait for like 2 mins and start cracking the eggs. Its will still be semi watery..

Gan,
I'm not eating raw ones.. Its soft boil.. Like those u eat at Ya kun.. My embryologist told me that once its fully cook, the effectiveness will not be there le. My gynae also told me to take half boil ones.. So I have been taking half boil. Hard boil ones, I dun think I can swollow 10 of it.. Too filling le..

Tickles,

Yup, I am asking about CARE @ Paragon. I was referred to see Angela for 2nd opinion after my failed cycle. I met her twice, first time for consultation and 2nd time to do scan and blood test. Tomorrow we will go and review the test results. I guess if we make the switch, the doc will be Paul. The arrangement is kind of strange to me, because it feels like Angela is the doc during our consultations with her. She also prescribe me medicine.

Muski,
I understand how u feel.. Cheer up k.. Its bad to see all people ard u being pregnant and we are still not..

Maybe go for holidaysduring CNY. I may be planning one..

Panda wife,
For me, its diff. I went to Dr Ann Tan myself. Then she did all the scans and BT for me and then refer me to Angela for counselling. This is when she tells me what to expect for the IVF. Medications after the ET, she prescribe me. The rest i usually get from Ann Tan's clinic. Even the BT to cfm pregnancy, I did it at Ann Tan's clinic. From CARE's website. I see alot of testimonial for Dr Paul Tseng. Dunno is it his success rate is higher.

Jeinthi Angel
Good luck in your fresh cycle. Just relax and let your doc advise you on what to do k.. Cos diff doc have diff protocols.. But its will be ard 7 days of stimulation then HCG jab then ER. After 3-5 days ET.. Good luck good luck.. Relax and think positive!!

Prayhard,
My 1st round my legs also jump and jump. so scary right??? haha! Then when my feel jump, I will go like... Erh.. Erh...

When u go on Mon, u just tell her current dun want so big. I told her that and she adjusted for me. Then I feel so comfy I fell aslp. She told me its ok one. as long as the needle move abit can le..

The 2nd dose of med didnt taste that bad right? Haha! Me gg back tml..

Tickles,

I was previously with Dr Foong Yang, also in Paragon. The ER/ET were done at Parkway Fertility Centre at Mount E.

Angela requested us to do some tests which was not previously done to try and find the root cause of our problems. We had low fertilisation rate the last round, ICSI 12 eggs and only 2 fertilized, out of which 1 quality was not good. In the end only transfer 1. So I have to start a fresh cycle again.

From my last conversation with Angela, it seems like she will be the one who will decide and customise the cycle for us.

pandawife,
icic.. Yes, angela is very friendly and nice. You can ask her anything if in doubt. For my case, she was the one who decide if ICSI is required. Think was quite fast. After I woke up and was more awake after my ER, she immediately told us that ours have to do ICSI already.

Thanks PandaWife, Judebabe & Tickles.

No holidaying plans since it's either too expensive or too short a period (hubby & I got no leaves to take). But I guess the idea of doing other things like catching a movie or going to the gym sounds great!

Thanks for the survival guide! We'll just visit immediate relatives and not stay for too long. Sometimes I just feel like telling anyone who asks that 'Yes we are infertile'. But that could lead to recommendations of TCM doc or gynae etc.

I hope my lousy feeling does not affect my DH. I made it a point to let him know I yearn for a child not because I don't get enough love from him. I'm just dying to have a continuation of us, a new life from a combination of him and me.

Ok enough ranting. I'm very thankful for the listening ears here. I'm not giving up yet! Will drive the -ve feelings away soon!

Tickles,

Ya, a bit scary, worried whether the needle will go deeper everytime it jumped..sounds silly, rite?

ok..will tell her to lower the current next time...btw, she said I can monitor my ovulation starting this mth..see can do natural FET or not..actually me hoping to do natural also..dun wish to jab too many med into my body...pray hard, hard...

The 2nd dose of med taste a bit like bai feng pill, do u find that? not sure whether are we having the same type of med..this time the colour of med is lighter than the 1st dose..ya, taste better too...urs also 7 days med? Are you gg for acu twice per wk also?

muski,
Dun be so negative..
Like what my DH tells me when he comforts me. This TTC journey will only make your relationship stronger. Its a lifetime experience that not all couple will ever experience b4. Look on the bright side.. Good things are sure to come.