Hi Vi4n,

Ic...good good...at least now I noe someone whom is doing her cycle wif Prof now..
Does NUH oni freeze our embbies on D5-7??
Y do we need to go for post ET review?? Never heard of tt in KKH...

Wow...u stand a v good chance!! I feel so anxious for u...u must take good care....dun walk abt too much so tt the embbies will stick to u like super glue!!
BFP BFP BFP!

Hi Rostrum,

Don't ask me, i also don't understand about this review. Will let u know after my visit ok.

Yes, the embryologist told me they will monitor until Day 6-7 if survive then will freeze, because only good embryo can survive till then.

Thanks. I'm still rest and rest at home, but today I weight myself and I didn't put on weight. I'm very happy. hahaha

Vi4n,
Sure sure...u let me noe...

Oic..cos KKH freeze the embbies much earlier...so if the embbies are not good enuff, I guess freezing it also no use...

Rest well and all the best!

Rostrum and Vi, actually the post ET, Prof whom is a man with few words, did not do much. I am also wondering that time why there was a need to see him.
The best thing is consultation was over by 5 mins. He asked me to lie down, press a bit of my tummy and he said "good". then its the end. I actually prolonged it by asking if i had frozen embies and that was when he said no.

I will be starting the IVF soon and I have some questions, hope somebody can enlighten me.

Understand that in KKH, after the ET, they will ask you to get up and go home like 15 mins later ? Does everyone after the procedure immediately go toilet and go home ? I feel so unsafe, worried that the embryo will flow out.
Has anyone ask to lay down longer ?

The embryo does not immediately stick to the lining ?

Sorry if it sound silly. just getting a bit nervous

Good nite Vi4n!!!

Su_yana,
ya..I also wondering wat is the purpose of the post ET...add more stress to ourselves oni..wonder if we can skip it..lolx...

I am not too sure if my next cycle i will want to see him for post ET unless i dont feel well. I felt so confined at home that the trip to the hosp made me a bit happier..hehehe...crazy rite.
Hubby just dont want me to move around so much.so that time can at least "see the world"

Su_yana,
When is yr next cycle wif Prof?
Actually I kinda look forward for the HL...duno issit I m sick of work...hahaha...
bt I tink when the time comes, I will feel so bored...guess I will rent alot of TVB drama series back to watch...and come into the forum....

babygalore..
i also got contribute some info wor.. u say till i jump abt like rabbit only hehehe..

i will miss u all leh.
now i am in the midst of packing also wanna peek this forum.. hehehe

Hi Dew,
after ET, the embryo will not flow out. Just take note that when you return home, need to bedrest. If your hubby driving, you can lie down horizontal on the back part of the car too.

May I know normally how many BT is required before IVF or ICSI?

I have done 2 BT already and 12Nov is my 3rd appt with Prof in NUH...

Hi rainstone, hazel and baby,

Thanks for the info on brazil nuts.. will go get them soon..

Vi4n,
About the daily dosage of selenium, how much is too much?

Hi geamys
If im not mistaken, that should be it before ivf. but there are some more coming your way during ivf itself.. :p

think i may be wrong as i have poor memory for things that I dont like.. hehe. Maybe we shud wait for other sisters here to respond to ur queries.

Hi babygalore, thx for your input and encouragement

I thought i'd sound dr sadhana out but seems like i'd get to meet the nurses first when i go to collect the injections, so i'll see how.

Hi gan,
Yep. I'd mixed feelings about my AF's reporting this time. Was still clinging on to the last hope of getting preg naturally b4 i had to resort to ivf. But alas, it was destined that this is the path i had to take! Drop me a note, if you can, when you are ready to start your cycle

Rostrum
If you do not take multi-vits that contain selenium, you probably can start on brazil nuts, one or two a day. But if you are already on multi-vits like Vi4n said, its not good to over tax your body. For me, I will only start in stage 2 and also during 2WW. Brazil nuts are suppose to be heaty…So strictly, you can start from stage 2 to protect your lining…

Meow,
Hheheeee…no lah, you are mistaken dear, what I really meant was I 100% appreciate your cheekiness and the sunlight you bring to this place and if you don't continue to jump happily like a rabbit, less sunshine..You know, if we don't have cheerful people around this forum, the whole process of ivf can be so "down". . Of course you got contribute info. You taught me how to cook cod fish remember?...heeeee..its just that your sunshine quality so outstanding that I must highlight..

Enjoy your BK, if you can log in here as soon as you come back k…
We will miss you too wor..

Muski,
You are welcome…yeah, best way is to sound Dr out..and not straight away tell her you want to take tcm...

ladies, welcome to all newbies

emma - if you are not taking any multi-vits try not to take more than 5 pieces of the brazil nuts

su_yana - for your next cycle, only go out after 7-8days post ET

muski - I was like you before I started my journey on IVF ..always clinging onto the hopes of conceiving naturally ...

Hi Meow,

My HCG as of tuesday was at abt 400. Remember previously i had tummy cramp and hcg dropped? 5 days later when doc's appt, hcg shot up again to 360. But Dr say still no good and prescribe medicine to insert to discharge what was in the womb because after scan found nothing in or out of the womb.

So, i did the insertion and had some bleeding and some funny discharges. Then, tot the whole episode was finally over and happily booked appt for this week to see Dr Zou to tiao my body.

But when we saw the BT result this tuesday (which is a week later), we were upset that the level did not drop at all. went up by a mini bit instead. Dr shake the head again and say no good no good.... we were very upset then. cos this likely means ectopic and at this level of hcg, nothing can be seen so cannot opt for op to clear it. Dr say have to go for the injection which kills living cells.

So, we are monitoring for another 1 more week till next week to see how is it before making final decision liao.

Because we open up the scenario of a new BB possibility to doctor as me and DH got BD during my supposedly O period so din know whether got possibility that got pregnant or not... But i think very slim chance lar.... We just taking precautions only lor. in case of anything... we don't want to regret making the wrong decision.

Anyway, enough of me.... Enjoy ur holiday har!!!

Hi Humbug,

Thanks. Now only leave it to fate lor.

babygalore,
I m not on multi vits bt I hv taken BFW and Dang Gui a week ago...Tink I will start on Brazil nuts
before I start on IVF cos my main worry is my lining...as for heatiness, mabbe I will take more veg and fruits and drink more water.
Thanks for your reply

Zaza and Missfairylady
Thanks for the warm welcome.. yup2 me newbie. Got lots of info to learn from all of u here. So glad I found this forum.

I remember seeing a list of stages the sisters in here are in some pages back. May I know who updates them and is there a latest one?

emma,
I also tinking the same as u....
Not sure who maintained it wif all the information from our age, the doc we went, teh stages we are in....

hi dec,
really hope is not ectopic and do take care. Yes, got to leave to fate, don't worry about it. Need a closure to this.

hi lina,

yup. me still living life as usual lor. not thinking too much into it already.

but though abit nervous about taking the jab if it comes to that stage.

just now i called dr zou and told her about it. she say not to worry too much about the jab. think it's not that bad. dr did tell me not too much side effects so far experienced by other patients though there is a long list of possible side effects. keke... i think he wanted to put us at ease. we were quite nervous when we heard about the jab.

but i think it's a necessary thing if need be. cos dr zou say not too good to allow "it" to be in the body for too long.

actually i wonder maybe it's not ectopic and it's just tissues that have not been discharged totally? can there be this scenario too?

but anyway, i'm monitoring myself in case of any acute pain etc. cos doc say pain immediately go hospital liao.

Hi all Ladies,

Me and my wife have been trying for 2 years plus with endless series of disappointment. So we decide to go for IVF

Prior to that (writing in this forum), i was always playing a passive role (my wife will say this this this, i will just listen and obey sometimes without feedback).

Until one day when we suppose to visit the IVF consultant and we choose a group meeting/discussion. The other party husband looks very concern about his wife and he know quite a bit of information. This struck me deep inside my heart and i feel very ashamed towards my wife.

So i am trying to make up for it. I am trying to search as much information as possible before our cycle starts. As theoretical information can be found on the internet, psychological one cant. Ok, back to the point. Will like to ask a few question and hope to get opinion from you ladies and hopefully, ignorance hubby like me who saw this tread can learn something also

Questions:
1) What is the driving force for partners to take the first steps? How partners come into consenses that IVF is for you?

2) Well, the IVF cycle is bias in the sense that woman had to suffer more. What do you gals expect the husband to do. What role must hubby play? Whats your mind set on this? How you convinces yourself to ject yourself.

3) Any gals had failed IVF cycle/s. It must be very sad right? After all the hard work, $$, time spent. How you get over it? What you most want to do at that moment or days that follows. What you may expect your hubby to do at that point of time or the followings.

4) "Well, if failed, lifes still continue right?" Easy say then done. Do you all continue a following IVF? Anyone stopped trying? Anyone go for adoption? What gives you the power to continue/stop/adopt? What i mean is how you adjust your mindset?

As you can see what i am asking are all psycological question. Hope all sisters out there would not mind my bad maners should some of the question hurt you

KK, my D21 is maybe mid...not too sure as ijust had my D&C last Aug and still figuring out my cycle.

Hi Shameful,
I think you are making a good step in trying to make things better for both of u to do IVF. At least you are trying to find out more information.

What you can do to help ease your wife's burden is to be with her for all if not most of the appointmnent. To me that gives the assuarance that he is also doing his part though he is not going thru all the pains and injections.
There was one time when we had to see the nurse to take all the medication for injections. I was told by nurse when the surgery would be at that time. Soon after, I was too pre occupied thinking what will happen at work. Hubby was there to learn how to inject me. Seriously, i was not paying attention to the nurse. Luckily hubby played the part by learning at least, I dont have to remember what to do. That really helps me alot.
He will also do my daily injection on me. I thanked for doing that too.

When i got pregnant with my first IVF, both of us were happy. However, it did not go pass 7weeks. When we got the sad news, of course I cried in the presence of dr and nurse. He, however was stronger and only cried later. I dont mind him crying but I just dont like him being a weaker person than I am coz i still need him for comfort. So what I am trying to say is ,hubby needs to be the stronger person for the wife to rely on.

I can move on after my miscarriage is coz I believe GOd had done the best for me. Initially it was difficult, but i was able to accept it later. The chance to get pregnant was something that help me move on as I know, I am fine and so is my hubby.

hi Shameful Hubby

i give you my 2 cents ok?

Questions:
1) What is the driving force for partners to take the first steps? How partners come into consenses that IVF is for you?
For my case, trying over 1 year and still no results was the driving force to take the first steps and find out why, whats wrong etc ... after we found out and understand better, we reviewed our options and because we didnt want to waste time and money, we opted rightaway for ivf as it offered highest success rate compared to other options like iui or so-iui. Of course we also asked doc whether is ivf the best option for us.

2) Well, the IVF cycle is bias in the sense that woman had to suffer more. What do you gals expect the husband to do. What role must hubby play? Whats your mind set on this? How you convinces yourself to ject yourself.
Its true that gals suffer more, we have to jab ourselves and even after the transfer, we have to take special care since a baby is inside. We have to be subjected to effects of hormones changes. All these impact not just the body but also the mind. Husbands cant relieve our physical suffering but husbands can give load so moral support and tender loving care. You can try to be more attentive to your wife's needs be it even small things like bring her water to drink or massage her back or legs after lying too much in bed. You can buy her food for her meals. You can help her remember the timings to take medicine etc ... You can find entertainment for her like rent some DVDs or borrow some books. All you can simply just be around. It touches me alot when my hubby postponed 2 weeks of meeting up with friends just to be around me more during my 2ww. Husband really just gotta be more sensitive and supportive at this point. Smile more and stay more positive than your wife.

3) Any gals had failed IVF cycle/s. It must be very sad right? After all the hard work, $$, time spent. How you get over it? What you most want to do at that moment or days that follows. What you may expect your hubby to do at that point of time or the followings.
Well, i guess we will cry, will be emotional, will even be irritable. At this point, it helps if husbands just willingly be the punchbag if need be and dont take things personal. Wife still have alot of left over hormones in the wreck after a failed cycle. Or simply be more comforting and encouraging and help your wife look forward to next steps.

4) "Well, if failed, lifes still continue right?" Easy say then done. Do you all continue a following IVF? Anyone stopped trying? Anyone go for adoption? What gives you the power to continue/stop/adopt? What i mean is how you adjust your mindset?
For me, i never stop trying thats why i am still here. You can discuss with your wife. It takes the both of you to decide how much to try and for how long. For me, my hb and i decided we will just keep trying till our subsidies are exhausted or we have aged too much. By then at least we can tell ourselves we have tried our darnest best. Then it makes it easier to swallow if we have to live a life childless or even adopt. We are open to adoption just that now we want to take all chances while we still can to try to have our own first.

Hey, you shouldnt call yourself shameful. You are not and commendable in fact that you care enough to find out more and be prepared for this journey with your wifey!

Seed

hi dec,
any pain do rush to hospital. Take care.

hi shameful,
you are already being a good husband by taking time to find out about ivf. You can be the supporting role when your wife goes for injection and on medication. It might be hard to address the psychological question as this is base on individual ladies, on how strong their character to accept failure. And i am sure your wife also has her own expectation on what role you should take during her ivf tries. Would advise that you get your wife to join us here too.

I am a newbie too.
May I know what is BFP and BT ? Getting a bit lost with the terms.

Hi Muski,
yes i have the same feeling as you, hoping for a last min miracle.. well, not much chance for me , can feel my back aching already..

December,
Take care, it must be weary to go through it. Just need to take some tonic after to build back your health after this episode and come back fresh to battle again. We will be here to read your success story real soon !

Hi Jude

Yes and i was going to pm you this morning but you dont accept PM. I am ok. Want to chat with you regarding FSH. Can i email you?

Seed

missfairylady - i'm fine and hopefully can start my next cycle in nov
when are you starting urs?

su_yana - what i meant is as much as possible stay @ home during 2WW... after 7-8days post ET hopefully inplantation has taken place but i guess it all depends on individual

hi december
is must be so hard for u..but am sure this episode will be very fast over..and u be ready again for ur next try.. jia you..

hi vi4n
today is ur day 8 liao..
be good gal and rest more ok

hi catherine, sunnybaby and gloria
wonder how are u all?

Hi Shameful Hubby - this is what i feel
1) What is the driving force for partners to take the first steps? How partners come into consenses that IVF is for you? MY Ans : after year & years of trying naturally we decide to try IVF ... my huby has been supportive of me all these while from my pills to IUI to my failed IVF

2) Well, the IVF cycle is bias in the sense that woman had to suffer more. What do you gals expect the husband to do. What role must hubby play? Whats your mind set on this? How you convinces yourself to ject yourself. Ans: the most impt think is the constant motivation ans support from hubby. When we are on injection, our emotions is hayvired and as much as possible be patient with wivey... u can also follow ur wive for her scan where possible and inject the injection for her ... the process will make the couple into stronger relationship

3) Any gals had failed IVF cycle/s. It must be very sad right? After all the hard work, $$, time spent. How you get over it? What you most want to do at that moment or days that follows. What you may expect your hubby to do at that point of time or the followings. ANS: I know how it fells as I had a failed IVF and when I got the call from the nurse informing of my BFN, my huby was @ work and since he was @ work, I had to cry it out all alone ... I do not blame dear hubby for not being there cause I know he tries to apply for urgent leave but was not granted ...nevertheless when he came home the following day, the hug n kisses which I received helps to calm me down lots ...

4) "Well, if failed, lifes still continue right?" Easy say then done. Do you all continue a following IVF? Anyone stopped trying? Anyone go for adoption? What gives you the power to continue/stop/adopt? What i mean is how you adjust your mindset? Ans: Life goes on. I'm gg for my 2nd fresh cycle hopefully in Nov .. The one who gave me the power is my hubby as he motivate and encourage from the failed and also some words he said which I share here: "mayb the baby is not meant for us as it is not complete and rather that giving us an imcomplete baby, God has taken it away to prepare us for a better baby ...