Hi ET,
Yes i will be doing IVF with Dr Yeong. both hubby & i feel comfortable with him. So we'll start at his clinic,, Day 6 will transfer to TMC, but still stick with him lor...but i'll tell him he better dun go on leave while i'm going thru my procedure...dun want to be change from 1 gyane to another....

potato chip,

good for u that u got good boss..

great minds think alike must buy more

miko2006,

no pblem one lah, if u really feel down, can come to me...hope that you can succeed and maybe i will ask u for advice instead.ha ha ...pray hard...

u want the contact numbers of us, is it?its privately circulated so u hv to ask potato chip for it ...as she is the compiler...

Hi ET,
he'll be using short...something like antagonist...he said....i know he did say i'll probabaly inject 200 IC (or CI or SU or what...) everyday...
when i was doing IUI, i only had to injecet 100 SU everyday, then subsequently to 50...this time round is double, so must be short cycle lor

adria, do share with us the protocol that you are using so we can get it updated in our contact list of all the sisters here...

Adria~ I use to think so like you lei... Have gone thru three rounds of jabs. 1 IUI... really.. the more you jab.. the more painful you feel...

potato chip, just saw your message, under your predicament on how to tell yr boss, hope he understands and tell him its "female stuff"...bet u he wont ask u anymore..

Hi Adria,

Agreed lots of mood swing for me too, had a hard time adjusting!!!

Btw i m into 17days of my superfact.

Was told that clinic will do the simulating jab for me when ready, so more relief as

feel better/safer in their hands...AS u mention the more we ject ourself the more pain we feel

Hi tnsw,
Will do that. i'll record it down in case i forget...i'm such a dai tou ha!!!

Shirlynn,
the worst part was when you feel more & more painful, the hubby would just sit & stare at you helplessly....wanted to cry....

Hi miko,
sorry hor...what you mean by 17 days of superfact huh??? dun know all these terms...
when i gynae told me i had to do blood test to test for several things & he rattled off all the HIV...all the 3 letter words (abbreviations)...i just looked at him blankly...cos' not the slightest idea what he said...hee...can you explain?

adria ~ me is hubby inject for me one... me inject me ... I can only close my eyes as very painful... he then will sayang sayang me.. as he see I bleeding

shirlynn, you so good...
but you know, i think self-injection also got skills, there are sometimes when i do it, it's not painful nor bleeding. but sometimes, i'll bleed & feel painful...the nurse told me i should inject where there is most fat...cos' it'll get disolved by the fats & then you won't feel so pain...dun know how true...

adria ~ the nurse ask me to pinch the flesh up and inject there.. but somehow I feel its more painful... so normally I just stand up and do the injections straight... hubby scared I pain.. do slowly.. I everytime ask him to do faster or else I feel even more pain...

Potato chip, maybe tell him u need to go for minor surgery, better, as its not really lying also...

adria,

i am a dai tou ha also, thats why, i just follow wat the nurses tell me and i never record how many days of wat medication i was on

And now, so long already, i forgotten all about wat i had....

I think if u rub the area with the alcohol swab, not that painful, or maybe i got spare tires round my middle, ha ha...

i did everything myself, kena forced to, my hb wking overseas, how to ask him to do ? infact i think he has never seen me inject before....

Hi Shirlynn,
is it less painful to inject while standing? I'll try that when i start my procedure...

tnsw, i did the alcohol swap, no change leg...still pain pain...somemore i'm not the skinny type, also got spare tyres round my middle...so i think nurse & gynae all bluff one...just trying to console you & make you feel better....cos' anyway they are always the ones who inject people mah....never self-inject or let people inject them, so they won't know how painful it is....

adria, ha ha very funny, maybe u are right, the nurses never experienced so many jabs, they dun noe leh...

the nurse who gave me the jab when i did my d n c last wk also dun noe how to find the vein, poke and poke and then the blood cant stop oozing out...really terok...

i also stand up to inject leh, dun noe why, like natural instinct like that...how about just poke it in dun delay, i dun find it pain leh, maybe because i just jab it, dun think so much...

potato chip,

i think i have become like "see bak" (dead meat), i dun feel anything when i do myself the jabs leh...really ma mu already (numb already)

even when the needles are long and had to mix the chemicals together, shake and then inject, i dun feel anything...i am more worried that i wld spill the thing rather than the jab itself

tnsw / Potato Chip,

You two wonder women lei.. dun feel pain?? I initially can stand the pain... but the more times I do...the more pain I feel... sometimes even the tears like flowing out liao lor...

I initially also tot I wonder woman.. inject like nobody biz.. maybe its b'cos done by the nurses.. more experienced... so not so painful and fast

hahaha...potato chip...you so funny...where got flesh obsolete one...but 1 thing i have to admit, my threshold for pain is SUPER LOW!!! like really SUPER SUPER low...i even told Dr Yeong liao, when he does the egg retrival, ask him to tell the anesthetist to give me more anesthetic....nearly died when he out in the sperm for me during my IUI....pain for whole day...

ya...my family also joke that i can become nurse liao...inject myself so quick...that time so funny, my hubby need to do blood test for HIV, Hepatitis etc....so i ask gynae whether i can do the drawing of the blood. My gynae actually agreed...should see my hubby's face...he nearly fainted...already dun dare to help me inject...now i turn the table around & drew his blood!!!! hahaha!!!
Sort of like revenge for me...it's like, if i have to go thru pain, i also want you to suffer....!!!! so physcho me right?? hahaha

shirlynn,

maybe as wat potato chip said...we are already numb to the pain already...did you try to like rub the spot and i just remembered wat one of the nurses at tmc told me last time..

wipe spot with the alcohol swab, press the needle in and then when needle is in THEN inject..try it, hopefully u dun feel so pain or maybe bec u are slim thats why not so fleshy like me....

tnsw, i think i should be a nurse....haha
maybe should ask Dr Yeong to take me in & train me...then i can get cheaper IVF rates as well.....ru2 yi4 suan4 pan2 da3 de2 hao3 xiang3!!! haha

tnsw ~ Got, nurse even gave me extra swaps.. but still painful lei... maybe hubby got no skills... but I dun want to inject myself lei... Btw.. how much did you all pay for the injections? I pay one for $60+ lei.. so expensive

potato chip,

i always imagine u are like a potato chip, very slim leh....

yup, time for me to teng chu....mkt is quiet recently and thks to tis board..infact everyday i look fwd to chatting with our sisters here.....everyday we all sure got things to talk about, one,hor...

dun sleep, u also got a short while before u go home, right?

shirlynn,

i cant remember how much i paid for jabs for iui, but its not cheap as its from raffles hospital (when i was doing iui)

for this tmc ivf, its not cheap also, they charge us in bulk and medications itself from tmc can cost thousands....

i also dun remember liao...but i intend to jot down how much i spend for this coming IVF. Will share you all of you then...

tnsw/Potato chip...so shiok ah you...can go home liao...i still have at least an hour....reach the conference site 7.45am today....yawn!!!!

tnsw ~ I am not slim la.. that day see my mj kakis.. then she ask why I balloon up liao...

Also .. how much do we have to pay for the injections if we want to go for IVF?? Need to prepare money 1st...

Thanks everyone for your encouragement. Dunno if i am becoming paranoid or what, but i really wish this process will speed up to my second trimester so that i can be more "an xin". I have not told anyone about this pregnancy except my family and if not for you guys, i really dunno who else i can turn to! I dont feel pregnant and do not have nausea, but i realised that i am now totally caffeine intolerant when i used to take up to 3 cups of coffee every day. Also experiencing the occasional cramps but it's usually comes and goes quickly. Get tired very easily too.

Am dying to go travelling but i think it's not gd right? Dr Loh also advised against it until it's more stable.

Chemistry, i am around 6 weeks now and EDD is 17 Feb 06. Am seeing Dr Loh again in 2 wks.

Miko, i think the entire process needs a lot of mental and physical energy (travelling to the hospitals) which is why all of us ladies here are very brave. I thought about this for a long time before doing it. To me, it is more than the mental stress rather than the pain from the jabs. Once you get the hang of it, the jabs will mean nothing. I am very very lucky to succeed on my first attempt and i sincerely hope that the rest of you who are trying will have a smooth sailing experience as well. Jia YOu!

Hi Mandy

Wow EDD 17 Feb, maybe will be a Valentine child. Don worry. Many pp will envy that u do not hv any MS and can eat as per normal.

Hi Mandy,
I agree with you wholeheartedly!!! The mental factor is more important here. When i failed my IUI, i was so upset...i kept asking myself why did it fail??? was it me? or was it some other factor??? anyway, i was lucky to find this support group in the midst of "depression"...it was so bad till my gynae actually asked me whether i should take a break instead of doing it in my next cycle...
Luckily i have all the sisters here to give supports & advices....give me the confidence to go thru it again...

Hi mandy,

Luckily your EDD is after CNY period, else u cannot celebrate and eat all the good stuff!

U can go travelling when u are 4-5mths. That time u will feel more energetic and still not too clumsy to move around. 1st trimester is the crucial period and u should rest more.

funny....my SIL is in her 1st trimester & she got permission to go Bali from the gynae next week....leave me alone in the office again!!!

Guess different gyane feels differently huh? or it depends on the preggy's condition?

Adria

I think yr SIL conceive naturally mah. For IVF patient, the cost is so high n so difficult to succeed. Thats why must treasure and take good care.

Hi Mandy

Yes, 1st trimester is very crucial and try to have as much rest as possible. 2nd trimester is the stage when you will really enjoy pregnancy.. I remember going to Bangkok was I was 5months plus. Shiok! Felt really energetic then... Oh how I missed my 2nd trimester....

Take good care hor

Hi Adria

You can do it! We will be here with you to give you all the support and encouragement that you need

i see....ya hor...never thought about that....btw, heard after the embroye transfer, will have to rest at home for 2 weeks. Is it true? And some say cannot sit too long, cannot stand too long, cannot walk too much, must lie down alot....true not???
wow lao, if really must lie for 2 weeks i will become sei1 ko1 (mouldy...)

Thanks tomatoes....
but since next week is the start of my period, it would mean i'll have to start innjection + go scanning every 2-3 days, + managing the office alone....ai...ku3 ming4....
luckily can "talk" to you sisters and tu4 tu4 ku2 shui3...

HI Gals,
Went for scan today and nurse said that I am ready for extraction liao. So will be going for nite jab tom nite and ER on Sat morning and ET on Monday. Yipeeee finally. Pray for me okay? Can login everyday liao next week.

Hi Miko, Dun worry too much. Soon it will be over. I also cannot imagine that I have to went thru a super long protocol as I was found to have cyst in the midst of my lucrin jab. So was jabbing for more than 1 month before stage 2. All in all about 45 days of self injection. Hope that the pain and suufering will end in sweetness. Feel fee to PM me if you need help

Hi ChilliPepper,
You mean you had to self-inject for 45 days before your extraction?
That's really super long!!!
Anyway, good luck on your extraction & subsequent embroye transfer!!! God Bless You!!

Morning Gals!

Hi Adria

Np, come as often as you like to chat with us...

Hi Chillipepper

Wah, your big day is arriving... so execited for you... on during the ER procedure, you will be sleeping throughout for less than hour. Once you wake up, everything will be over. Btw, you may have a slight discomfort on your tummy area and a little spotting.

Wish you all the best and will pray pray for you

HI chillipepper,

On the day of ER, the nurse will direct u to the OT and u will be given a jab which will put u to sleep. When u wait up, that will be around 10.30am and if u are fine, u should be able to leave by 11.30am. BTW, your hubby cannot accompany u to the OT. Ask him to go somewhere, maybe Mac or Delifrance and come back abt 10.30am so that he won't feel bored.

All the best!

Chemistry, thanks for the information

Chillipepper, guess the ER will be all the same for each hospital except that for TMC, the spouse can be there...for me, i was of course asleep and then the doctor did the retrieval and my hb was there...both times last year....after that, u can rest for a while...better to go home to sleep after that

for me, last year, after one of my ER, i went back to work...felt so drowsy and they say that any documents u signed on the day of ER "bo pa kay" (not valid) becuz u are under influence of medication

Adria,

Join us anytime u want someone to "talk" to..not too sure abt the two wks rest...ask your RE and see wat he says....best is if u can take rest..if not bo pian

Shirlynn,

u in liao or not...i also put on weight after marriage and after startg the ivf thing becuz cant exercise and getting old liao..thk that no matter how much u balloon, u still okay bec u tall mah..

potato chip,

must see how u look like, cant be as round as me

Dear Tomatoes,

Glad to still hear from U, which means bb not due yet

May i check w u again, is it better if i go for my stimulation jab in the AM

Anyway alternate day gotto go in the AM (b4 9.30) for blood test during that period.

SO i feel AM is better is it?

IF not, Can we do the blood test in the evening?

Very puzzled leh COS don't know gg in AM or PM better???

Need ur guidance...

Dear Chillipepper,

Thanks for responding as now i feel much better, wow u did jected for 45 days!!! really not easy

i will look upon U to follow and keep going.

ALL THE BEST FOR UR ER THEN ET THEN SUCCEED!!!

Dear Mandy,

I will ' JAI YOU '

HV a great & smooth 9 months ahead..........

Dear Adria,

Superfact is a down regulation jab for self injection.

You will start with it once u r on the IVF program.

Hi miko

Yah, I must try to login everyday so that you all will not be wondering where am I. Hee!

If AM is more convenient for you, then stick to a AM routine. The blood test must be done in the morning so it may be better for you to do your jab at the same time. Blood test cannot be done in the evening cos the lab will be closed by then.

Hi Adria

For Prof Christopher Chen's protocol, he is using Suprefact as the down regulation jabs. For other fertility centres, mostly likely they are using Lucrin as the down regulation jabs. Same type of jabs but diff. drug name oni.

Hi Tomatoes,

i think BB still feeling comfortable inside ur Tummy...heehee

Just call up the nurse and I m getting confused!!! they said to me IF i do the jab in the AM but when that AM got blood test CANNOT JAB COS need to see results then can jab???

Will do it in the evening after collecting results then i think some jab AM and some jab PM - i m so blur after talking to them!!!

OK I need just 1 last opinion fr U... DO U feel comfortable to hv it in the PM during ur try?

If yes, i will follow also...SIGN???
Will set my heart at ease and stop wondering