hi potato chips,

was on MC today and slept thr the whole afternoon after my visit to KKH. still feeling not too good. I think better to take another day of MC to have more rest to prepare for my coming FET.

Just an update of my scan today, my follicle has grown to size of 18.5mm but the urine test still show negative. Tml, I need to go down for the scan again.

Your last FET, how many scan u did and what is ur size of follicle when u ovulate?

Hi ET

I thought u were busy at work today. Yup, better take one more day MC tomorrow since u work so hard for the last few weeks.

Wow, yr follicle grow so fast, amazing. I think I had 4 scans for my last FET. I remember I brought back a urine test after 3rd scan, supposed to test on my own on the following day. The line looks similar or slightly lighter than the test line, so did not rush down to KKIVF for the scan. Went down on the following day n they couldn't find it during de scan. So pai seh
. Luckily, I also woke my hb up to verify for me. Anyway, the FET is only done on the 3rd days after ovulation, so not that bad lah.

Tomatoes sleeping liao... can't wait to go home.... Really very lazy and blur today.

Potato Chip, you have gone home yet? Waiting for your hb?

Hi Potato Chip,

Yeap, the dr say my follicle growing very fast so must scan & urine test everyday...he say i should be ovulating very soon. But hor the person who did the scan, (i think her name is karen) is on leave, another dr too over...wah bian, she is so slow, i was there 8:30am, i completed my scan at almost 10:30am, luckily I was on MC today, otherwise, I will be so late for work.

Hi Shirlynn/Tomatoes/regtmc/miko,

Thanks for your concern. Will drink soup or some energy drinks (like milo or cereal) if still poor appetite.

Does anyone of you know where to get the info where they compare the cost of giving birth at diff hospitals? Think would like to take a look & may consider changing hospital. But is it difficult to transfer my data from KKH to whichever hospital that I may choose? Need to check out the info first.

Hi ET,

Just referred, the charges varies quite a lot for ICSI - $8k to $13K. Nothing of IVF.

Good that your folicles are growing fast, my gynea say that must grow until 20+ mm.

Btw, keep on hearing FET from the gals here, can explain what it means?

Think I too blur liao, everytime dun ask gynea anything, everything also dun know. Thanks for all the sisters help and patience with me.

Vonvon,

Good girl, keep it up, just eat or drink until half or three quarter full. Think you will feel better. Take small meals in between.

Morning ET

Is the Q for scanning for long? During my last FET, I also waited about an hour for scanning
. Seems like their customers r getting more n more. How is yr flu now? Most likely u will b able to do yr FET this Friday. Remember to rest more.

vonvon78,

Oic, can check with you ? - Normally if this is the case, it means the eggs are already fertilised rite? How much is the chances for success pregnancy?

Hi vonvon,

U may refer to the following website for details of bill size:

http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/charges/common/procedures.do

Actually, I find KKH not very cheap also. Have compare with a few preggy friends and some of their pte gynae are charging lower than what I pay. I find Thomson Women's Clinic is charging a very reasonable rate and their gynae near my place is very good. But then I choose to stay with KKH cos my records are all there and in the event of a complication, they have the facilities and expertise. Also, they have a system to auto downgrade u to C-class if u have complications in your pregnancy or delivery so that u are not be financially strained.

Shirlynn,

Yes. The eggs are already fertilized & then frozen. As for the chances, I'm not too sure to advise. But I heard it should be just as good as fresh ones. Maybe other 'sisters' can help advise Shirlynn?

Chemistry,

Ya...heard that KKH is not very cheap. But our thoughts are the same....records are all there & in any event of complications (TOUCHWOOD), they have the best facilities & expertise.

Regarding the ward class, does it mean that I'm a A-class patient now that I've gone thru' IVF/ICSI? Isn't that expensive? I never wanted to stay in A-class. B-class is more than sufficient. Do we have a choice or are we bounded by their policy? Then if we choose to transfer, can we opt for B-class?

Potato Chip,

Was super tired this morning. Probably becoz' of the nice weather to sleep.
Managed to take a few pieces of chee cheong fun this morning. Now really eating very little but try to increase frequency. No choice. But definitely not enjoying my food lately.

Hi vonvon,

how many weeks are u now?

i was feeling very lousy during the initial stage, total lost of appetite, but have to try to eat, esp you are expecting twins.

Hi annie,

I'm not so sure as I've yet to see my RE after my +ve beta test. Appt is tomorrow afternoon. Think should be 6 weeks +.

Hi annie,

I hope to be able to see their heartbeat tomorrow. Just want everything to be smooth-going.

By the way, when did you start experiencing changes in your body (e.g. enlarging breasts, frequent urination, etc)??

Hi Vonvon,

ya, you can see the heartbeat .. although it's very small now.
quite amazing. dun worry.

actually, green veins start appearing on my breast first, then it enlarge gradually, as for frequent urination, i had to go loo abt 2-3 times at night ...since 6 week onwards, but when i approach 2nd tri, not so frequent already.

I also felt cold and feverish during the 6-10 week, nurse told me it's due to temperature rise of our body hence more sensitive to surrounding temperature.

Annie,

Besides feeling nauseous and dizzy, don't really have other symptoms leh. Breast felt very sensitive/tender last week but not this week. Frequency in urination seems rather normal to me as well. Probably too tired to wake up in the middle of the night to visit the loo. But I do feel cold & feverish at times this week.

vonvon,

If u r seeing ur gynae in private suite, u get only opt for A class. But if u r seeing ur gynae in specialist clinic, u can opt for other class, hope I am rite. Having twins I would suggest u stay with KK cos the possibility of complications is higher. When tat arises, KK will be well equip and lower in costs. I got a friend who has got triplets and was seeing gynae in Gleneagles. She went to polyclinic and asked to be referred to KK. So now she opt for C class in KK.

Hi vonvon,

I understand minimum we have to opt for B1, else u won't get to see the gynae of your choice. I'm seeing Dr Loh at TPS now and I was given the option for A1 or B1 when signing the delivery package. For A1, KKH got a delivery cum hospitalisation package while for B1, they charge based on actual usage. Based on the statitics of their bill size, it seems to differ not much, so I'm taking the A1 package loh.

Tomorrow u at KKH right? If I'm there early, I sms u okie? BTW, that time I did the 1st scan at AMC, they dun push the monitor to show me the scan leh. They only give me the pictures and report.

Hi Potato Chip,

there is no queue today, so dont have to wait, instead the Dr waited for me.
my appt was 8am but I was there late 9:15am. I left the clinic within 20mins. My follicle is 20mm per today's scan, urine test still show negative. tml will have to go down KK again. I really hope is my last scan. very tiring to go down everyday. If tml urine show positive, my FET will be on Sat.

I went to see Dr Yeong today too coz my hb is having some kind of infection on his penis and Dr Yeong sugested to do a blood test for him. He really very nice leh. He did something that make me so 'gan dong' He asked me whether Dr SF Loh is the one doing the FET for me and he wrote a note to Dr SF Loh for me to give it to him on the day of my FET.

do u know how is tnsw? no news from her yet. dont dare to sms her as I dont want to disturb her if she is resting.

another thing i wanted to check with you is how much we have to pay for the scanning and urine test. so far, I have yet to pay any.

Hi Shirlynn,

most of us did ICSI instead of IVF coz fertilization rate is better for ICSI. the cost for IVF is definitely lower than ICSI.

Hi ET

No wonder signed in so late today. Wow really very gan dong lei. Btw, u told nurse that u want Dr SF Loh to do for u? Special request? Recently, Dr S Loh "bao4 guang1 lu4" very high. Saw her in the wkend chinese papers on infertility cos of their talk this sat. Dr SF Loh is oso one of the speaker for the talk lei. So if u doing yr FET on Sat morning, better give him some words of encouragement hor to boost yr success rate. Hehehehehe... Has prayed for you last wkend. So how is yr flu now?

If I not wrong, the urine test is S$28.40/pc. For de scanning, it is included as a package for FET, that is S$880.

Hi Potato Chip,

I managed to have a little chat with nurse sarah today since there are not many patient today. I found out that for lazer hatching, there are only 2 person in KKIVF who can perform this. Dr Balaji is the one who will perform this process and if he is not around or on leave. Melinda will take over. That's why Dr S.Loh told me if I do in Sep, Dr Balaji wont be around coz all my embryos need to do lazer hatching. Also found out that Melinda will be going on maternity soon.

ur embryos need to do lazer hatching? if yes, maybe u want to consider bringing forward the FET.

Hi Potato Chip,

my flu is better liao. Thanks. I told my GP that I m going for my FET very soon and wanted my flu to recover faster, then he prescribe a better medicine, after taking 2 rounds, really felt better liao. will be back at work tml.

Hi Potato Chip,

I did mentioned to nurse sarah but she say will see how is Dr SF Loh Schedule and whether he wants to take up my case. But after I read the note from Dr Yeong. I really want Dr SF Loh to do the FET for me.

Thanks vonvon78.

ET,

So you are doing ICSI. Good, all the best to you.
Can check why your gynea advise you to do ICSI? Do you immediately do it upon registering with KKH or you have gone through other means?

Hi ET

So is not confirmed who will be doing it for u until now?!? Mayb cos u r Dr Yeong's ex-patient, so no RE assigned to yr case yet. As for lazer hatching, I oso don know lei. Who will decide huh? Cos so far, my last two ET is done by Cheryl (embryologis) and no lazer hatching was done lei? Must I request or embryologist or RE decide?
kao_confused.gif

Hi Shirlynn,

yes. I did ICSI coz my hb has very low (1-3%) quality sperm. We went through a series of test before my RE recommended us to do ICSI as it seem like that is the only road for us.

Hi Potato Chip,

ya lor. but now officially I m under Dr S.Loh care coz i paid the first consulation when I see her at D clinic. so that means, if i swop RE again, I will have to bear the first consultation fees in future. But now for the FET, I not sure if they allow me to swop, I will check with nurse sarah again tml. Dr Yeong say I should be able lor.

Hi Potato Chip,

I think if no lazer hatching, the other embryologist will handle, only for certain complicated process, Dr Balaji will handle personally. I think we cant request, they will decide who to handle what. I think my embryologist who did the ICSI is Wendy and the lazer hatching was done by Dr Balaji.

ET,

oic, the success rate for ICSI seems so high in this thread, all the best.

I am just wondering what kind of procedures do I have to go through if I should switch to KKH. At least will be more prepared as I am always so blur as per my hubby's description.

ET

Huh, not fair leh. Everytime swap hv to pay 1st consultation fee? Didn't u fight for yr rights. Yr 1st swap to Dr S Loh is not of yr choice, is yr RE who quit n cos u to swap mah. I remembered I read somewhere in this or other thread that they face the same problem. End up the nurse agree to waive the 1st consultation charges.

So u r mentally n physically prepared now. Wish u all de best. How many days u intend to rest at home? Me now oso saving my MC n AL so tat I can take at least a wk off during my FET. In my 1st IVF, I only took the 5 days HL n recent FET only 1 day MC n 1 day AL
. Next time must really rest more cos my last 3 embryos liao

I oso dare not sms Tnsw yet. Let her rest, don disturb her for the time being. Since she promised she will b back in the thread when she is ready.

Hi Shirlynn,

u will go thr a series of blood test which include FSH, LH, Prolactin, E2 and Progesterone. A HSG to check whether u've blockage of fallopian tube. ur hb will need to do a SA. If u have already done all these testes before, u will just need to bring the test result to show to the RE at KKH, they will refer u to KKIVF immediately.

Hi Potato Chip,

I did fight for my rights the other time when I've to pay for 1st consultation to see Dr S.Loh. According to them, I can only swap to a consultant and not senior consultant. so no choice got to pay lor.

Yes, I m mentally & physically prepared now. now only waiting for my ovulation and the ET on sat. but a bit suay lor, if my ET is sat then no need to take MC, I'll have to use my AL. If Dr SF Loh do the ET for me, I might request for more MC if he allows, i heard he is more generous on MC. but for Dr S. Loh, only 1 day, nurse sarah say she goes by the book, not more than 1 day MC will be given. unless she see a need to give u... I think I would only be taking the most 3 days AL to rest at home for the FET. not more than that lor.

Hi ET,

I do have done quite a few test at MT E upon my 1st consultation. Think that day paid around $300 - $400 + if never remember wrongly. Got blood and urine test.I just not sure what did they test for.

Hubby just did his SA the month before. Results think slightly not so good, but gynea say MT E lab very stringent, this kind of results at other lad is consider normal / good liao.

So if I should call to make appt, I just have to call KKIVF directly?

I keep hearing you all doing so many test, blood test, beta test... like so detail.

I only having clomid, V-scans, injections and OPK test. I am thinking whether these are enough as there might be more complications that cause my infertility. Gynea say I got PCO whereas TCM say I got both PCO and Adeno

Hi Potato Chip,

That's what I think also, she say she will be back in the thread so let's not disturb her. How about tomatoes? she didnt come in the thread today, her leg swollen very badly isit? I think she need to exercise her leg to reduce the water retention. cannot seat too long. My friend also got this problem during her pregnancy. Her leg will be swollen if she seat down for more than an hour. so poor thing hor.

Hi ET

That time I forgotten to ask for MC from my RE so I approached nurser Sarah. She oni gave me 2 options lei, 1 day or 2 days. I had it on Friday, so only took 1 day MC
. I am wondering will he have time to do it on Saturday morning. Mayb u can stay there to support him. Hehehe...

Hi Shirlynn

For your info, most blood test (except rubella) results r only valid for 6 months. If exceeded 6 mths, they will request u to redo all the tests.

Hi ET

Why u don want to take longer leave for yr FET since yr colleagues r back fr their holiday?

I think all de MTB (including tomatoes) have fallen asleep cos of the weather
kao_sleep.gif

Hi Shirlynn,

did they give u a copy of the test result?? I thot private gynae practice that? If not, u better request for a copy so that u know what test was being done and the result whether it is normal. Didnt ur gynae give u a review of ur test result?

I'm not sure how stringent is MT E lab. I thot the values of a normal SA result is quite standard, got such thing as stringent and not stringent mah. maybe u can check with other sisters who's hb did their SA in a private hospital. My hb did his SA in KKH.

If u want to have a appt to see KK's RE as a private patient, u just need to call their central appt line to make an appt. Otherwise, u can go to polyclinic to get a referral as a sub. patient.

all the blood test are done once only, from the result, the dr will determine what could be the reason for ur infertility. u may also be required to do more detailed check if necessary. it really depends on each individual.

Hi ET,

Actually, Sat morning, Dr SF Loh got consultation on at TPS. I actually tried to postpone my tml appt to Sat sometime ago, but he is already fully booked. Maybe u want to email him personally and ask him to do your FET. He got a soft spot and with your mail to him, I'm sure he will take up your case.

ET ~ Yup. They do give us one copy and gynea one copy.

My gynea everytime also say all is normal. Just that I have PCO.

But TCM dr say that PCO patient got bad eggs which will never get fertilise. Thats the part that is worrying me. If really all my eggs no good, it will means that no matter how many IUI I do also no use.

hi potato chip,

what time is the talk huh? in the afternoon rite? so he should be able to do the FET for me in the morning.

I dont want to dry up my AL leh, thinking that since embryos quality not too good, dont want to spend so much of my AL, trying to take it easy and naturally. thot I just try not to exert myself for that 2 wks can liao. Even Dr yeong also say that it is not proven that taking rest and bedrest for 2 wks will increase the chance of implantation, he said stay positive n be stress free will helps instead
and u know that the 2ww is always the longest wait, also it's a stressful wait, quite a torture if i stay at home lor, so i think going to work can help to past time faster. I will ensure i take my work lightly for that 2 wks.

Hi ET

Agree with chemistry. U better email him n oso scan Dr Yeong's letter as n attachment to him. If u don hv scanner in office now, then fax to me. I help u to scan. I think cos of the seminar in the afternoon, he will be very busy on Sat. So quick email him now.

Hi ET

Ya, the 2WW is the worst part of the whole process. So u hv to be careful at work. Will keep reminding u.

I think the talk on Saturday is 2-5pm in Mandarin.