Meow, Cherie and Fandz,
Paiseh for some of the meaningless question marks. I wrote the above in word and cut and paste it here. Please ignore them..

Leobaby,
Dangshen is ok..its like a very mild form of ginseng..not as heaty as ginseng but can nourish spleen qi. In fact, its call "poor men's ginseng" as in older days, the normal folks use it in their daily cooking, so you can imagine its not harsh on body but can slowly nourish body..

I was suggesting yesterday abt the drink red date, wolfberry seed, and longan. Actually got one more item that is the dangsheng. I removed it during lucrin and puregon stage as I don't know if it's consider chinese herbs. U know lah chinese herb not allowed by Dr Loh. But both my TCM has been asking me to drink with dangsheng so I guess finally I will be from today as Dr say spleen weak will not eliminate all thing that needs to be elminated like water, bowel etc.

Hi Joline, I'm from SGH but i failed my 1st cycle last July. Now resting awhile eventho my gynae told me to proceed with 2nd fresh cycle.

I'm not sure about good gynae but its who u are comfortable with.

Even im not sure now which gynae have a miracle hand. i'm also thinking whether to change to KKH looking at the list that is growing now but for sure i dont fancy their service cos SGH services are much more better.

hi miracle baby,
if you don't mind seeking another gynae first. I feel that will be better to know results earlier than to wait in agony. Another BT at kk cost $30, you can still request for it.

hi missfairylady, thanks. may i know which gynae u are with? have u heard of dr hemma?

i was with kkh for first cycle and DH & I do not wish to go back there again coz of the service and the way they handle things.. esp i have miscarriage before yet they do not even bother to give any jab etc when its BFP, and only asked me wait for dr loh appt in few weeks time, or if worse got fresh blood, go 24hrs..

i heard that sgh is quite intensive in pre-ivf procedure with more tests. is that true?

how much hard cash did u come out with for the first cycle?

Leobaby..
Its vitamin B6..lack of it shows weak nails and lacklustre hair..

Food source include wholemeal bread, cereal, meat and healthy choice is avocado...

If you can..take avcoado better for you now k..

Hi, Jolene

I am with SGH as well and under Dr Yu (head of SGH IVF centre)and i failed my 1st cycle as well. Now I am on my 2nd cycle under the same doctor. If I am not mistaken Dr Hema is only a visiting gynae so it will be quite difficult to fit into her schedule. But she's doing IVF as well and she's a good gynae. I have a gf who's keep having discharge and in spite visiting Dr Loh for several times, nothing was found and Dr Loh dismiss her saying there's nothing wrong with her but it's all in her mind. Later she switch to Dr Hema and found out she had fluid in her pelvic and had infection. It has been going on for several months. Now she's on medication and fully recovered.She told me Dr Hema is a very caring and detailed gynae.

I am not sure how intensive the pre ivf procedure as I din have much information what is done at other hospital. But there are quite a number of tests we need to go thru.

As for the hard cash, my last cycle i spent about 2k only for the ivf medication itself, not including the doc consultation, test done prior to the ivf. The prior ivf test cost me about 600 for both me and hubby.

Leobaby,
Forgot..banana has a lot also...but for now, only take the small yellow type of banana called "pang chjio", the del monte big type very liang..

Hi elle, thanks.. what's the full name for Dr Yu? is the waiting time long to see dr yu?

can i also know how do u make appt to see Dr Yu for the first time?

babygalore
you are back? Have been busy so have not been in here much. Btw, now I'm working in Raffles place.

you looking for female gynae? Try Dr Sheila Loh at Raffles Medical. She use to from KKH was heading some fertility unit. She quite nice. Didn't continue seeing her due to the long waiting time at KK.

Fondz
sorry. Still owe you a PM. will send tonight..

Babygalore
Hugs...Don't feel bad or gulity. I am the one made you do that..I should be the one making apologies for those ladies BFP or still in 2ww.
I admire you for your strong spirit despite your d&cs and you will be blessed in your next cycle.
I am really ok. Only thing is I have to think if I want to see another gynae for more assuration or rather wait for my 1st scan.

Lina,
Thanks for your advise. Maybe I try another HPT next week again,then decide.

Dear Ladies/ Liz

I will definitely not consider Dr Sheila Loh at Raffles. My first IVF was under her years ago...on my ER and ET...she was on urgent leave and ER replaced by DR SF Loh. ET by another doctor. (can't remember) I failed that cycle.

Last year i went to Raffles look for her to try another cycle. Aftter waiting 2hrs, she told me for ladies who failed their first cycle, dun waste money try 2nd cycle...you have problem means you have problems...IVF will not increase your chance...its only for those are healthy but have unexplained reason. you are born with your eggs since birth. Try adoption. I told her "Thank you for your death sentence" and walked off.

Fandz, this shelia loh is damn idoit and unprofessional to say such a thing! I feel so sad for ur case but i truly understand ur disappointment coz i myself is not any better. My first ivf cycle was advised to be converted to iui but i refused to do iui and the whole thing was cancelled despite having all the jabs. Of course i m angry and very disapponted at the same time. Sometimes it could be our own body not able to response to the drugs or in worst scenarios our ovarian reserve is not so good. So try more time to improve ur body and i m also considering to take DHEA. Dr zou told me recently she got abt 10 pts on this and at this point in time there is 1 lady who has gotten better results...

Babyglaore, u r right. Infertility has been the big obstacle in my life so far. From trying w/o result to seeing frds who pregnant one after another to coming to terms with infertility and even worst for my body not able to react well to ivf treatment.... Its a hell of emotions to get thru and of course we r not alone... but coming to handle of emotions during failure is really very traumatizing. I m glad i found this forum coz many ppl ard us like frds or relative who faced the same problem is not able to understand our agony.

Rosypink, i have also asked my DH whether our first ivf which is converted to iui considered 1 ivf attempt he thinks that it is not considered coz we didnt even go thru retrieval. This is important to some ppl coz like for me 3 ivf attempts in our maximum try.So do talk to ur DH abt this who knows all u need is juz one more ivf attempt.......

Hi, Jolene
Her full name is Dr Yu Su Ling.I guess when you say waiting times means the date you can make an appointment with her, normally should be quite ok. The most is in 2 weeks time but normally i get it on the same week I call them.
Initially I did not go to CARE (SGH IVF centre) directly because i would like other opinions before proceed to ivf, so I just called up the gynae dept and ask for appointment with Dr Yu. Only after the consultation, she also suggest to do IVF and refer me to CARE.But if you already confirmed to do IVF,you can call CARE directly to make an appointment with Dr Yu. CARE no is 6321 4292. But fyi,Dr Yu is not those very attentive kind of doc.She won't say much thing unless asked and she's quite pack in her schedule as she needs to attend CARE and gynae dept. But her skill is very good and i am comfortable with her, that's y i stick with her for 2nd try.Another very caring type and gentle ivf dr in SGH is Dr Yong. Some sisters in the forum are under her. As for the nurses,i can only say they are very good. I also have bad experience in kkh therefore i switch to sgh

fandz
wah.. i didn't know she is so hopeless.. What an ass!!! how can say things like that.. sorry abt that.. I didn't do any program under her but she was quite nice when i was seeing her and recommended by my fren. didn't realise she is so terrible.. so sorry abt that..

hi jazsunny

I had my IVF at TMC, Dr LC Cheng. Well, I am jus lucky la to strike at first attempt. I left it very much to the IVF team to propose and recommend... the only thing I could do is to be hopeful and stay cheerful/happy whenever poss. another disadvantage of D5 is, no frozen embryos. Apparently, the embryologist said the survival rate of blastocyts is very low, so no point freezing the 2 blastocyts

Fandz,

Yes I don’t like Sheila Loh either! I was with her for fertility issue before I switch over to KKH. I wasn’t happy with all her comments. I have a friend who has endometriosis. Dr Sheila also gave her a death sentence that for sure she is not going to get pregnant for the rest of her life. Even ivf would not make her pregnant. Ask her don’t waste money and to go for adoption. Its exactly what you have just mentioned! My fren got pregnant naturally after a few mths with TCM , and she hated her so much after that.

Leo,

Thanks so much for thinking of me.. yesterday evening was terrible for me, I couldn’t take my bloatedness anymore and hb rushed me to 24hr. I was diagnosed with mild OHSS.. so am given some medications to remove the bloatedness and constipation.

Hi ladies, how about taking spirulina?
i read that it has a very high protein level plus the rest of the vits.

Sunflower, why all these drs made comments that put us down and made us lost hope. I m glad that ur frd is pregant despite her nasty comments, i m glad she didnt give up

Hi Leo_baby

Like to share on OHSS since you have posted. During the last cycle when i had OHSS....i had read another article but cannot find it now else will post it.

What i can remember on the article :
There's basically 2 moments when occurrence of OHSS is high for certain ppl. 1) Early stage of 2ww - triggered by the HCG we take before ER 2) Late stage of 2ww - triggered by the HCG produced by our bodies when we are pregnant.

If the OHSS belong to the second stage..of course the chance of pregnant is very high..however the possibilities is not so high for the first case as your body is reacting to the HCG by injection not true hormones produced by your body.

However there are cases whereby ppl kena OHSS at early stage of 2ww eg mild OHSS due to HCG injection then OHSS became worst at later stage..in this case very high chance that they are pregnant.

Hi rosypink

YOu may like to PM me your email address. Will reply there on the protein powder.

Hi, Lyn
I am not sure about Dr Roland Cheng but he's quite recommended if the infertility is caused by male factor.

Lyn,

yaloh.. but of cos there are some nice gynaes around.. just need to find the right ones

Fond,

yes i agree with you.. dr loh told me if you have ohss, and if you get pregnant, ohss will worsen, so its an indication of pregnancy.. and also not everyone with ohss will result in pregnancy...

Vi4n, 2day ur birthday? 9/9/09. Happy birthday to u! I also heard abt supirulina good for fertility but not very sure...

Sunflower, when will u knw the result?

Hi Jolene - I'm with Doctor Yong TT for my failed cycle.. She is one caring doctor and has been advising us on our next step ... if you do have time then plse read thru my past post of how she hugged me to give me the comfort I need after my failed cycle....I had originally wanted to do my IVF under KKH n lucking dear hubby advise me to stay with SGH in not I wld not be able to get the attention needed from the doctor and the nurses was excellent

Lyn - Doctor Roland is also not bad and I'm not mistaken, one of our sista here is also under Doctor Roland ...

Ladies - I also had some tips from this friend of mine whom is carrying twins now ... drink warm honey which contain umf btw 12-15 daily (umf in suppose to increase fertility) and drink avocado juice once a week ..

Hi Lyn, yup old already. thanks. May my wish works for everyone here..

I'm taking spirulina now since protein level very high. because i don't cook and very seldom will eat soya product. and i don't like veggies. fruit ok but also not like taking it daily. so i think taking spirulina is good source for all these.

Vi4n , where did u buy ur supirlina? If i didnt remember wrongly u r taking DHEA too?

Ladies who r taking DHEA can advise? Did ur doc do any test prior to giving that to u?

Hi Lyn, I'm not the one taking DHEA.
I bought Red Sun spirulina from Guardian or Unity. Unity now has 10% discount.
Normally i will buy from Elken (MLM) but lazy to go so far to buy so just buy Red Sun because both are from Japan and price about the same.

Thanks, Zaza..

Hi Jolene

I'm under Dr Roland Chieng. He is very caring & attentive and he spent more time to explain all the necessary. He also check my hubby. He find time to visit me when I was warded. Overall inclusive of dr fee and medicine i spent nearly 6K but i received back 2k plus. Its all on individual. As for me it cost more cos my gonal F is on highest dosage. Despite highest gonal F, my follicles grow slowly and at the end of the day they scan its only 2 or 3 but he carry on and surprising he manage to extract 7 follicles during ET. (U may see my July postings in this forum)
Yes i know Dr Hemma cos when i was warded and when i had cramps she attend to me cos my gynae is not in. She is very good too. In fact she even advise me and said its ok try again. Plus the nurses there are helpful and friendly.
For sure the service is good compare to KKH.

Fandz

Ignore what this Sheila loh said cos its not true. As long as u dont give up then you wont know. And for your info, not all ladies with problems cannot get pregnant.

I dont have any problem at all but yet i'm doing this. Its because i nvr got preg. despite a few years of marriage.