Humbug... thanks i really hope pain will ease off else dunno how to jab tml...

Btw which area is the ovary? 2 fingers beneath belly button on left n right?

Jubebaby, actually i find colleagues r the most kpo ppl in our life coz we spent most of the time with them.. like at least 8hrs a day.. If next time this time happen again juz tell them straight then u can or cannot get preggy has nonthing to do with them, no need to give face to such ppl... Truthly understand how u feel coz i also have a colleage like that, insensitive and kpo

After reading the thread for a while, i realise that NUH is actually worth trying because the nureses are caring ( according to mummynen) and they will do lastocyst culture ( D5 transfer)which increases the BFP..... am i right ?

I wonder whether private clinic does that....

Judebabe, private also do blastocyst but provided u got many fertilized embroys coz the risk is that sometimes embroy cant make it...
After all the info from ladies here i also feel NUH is worth trying , at least better then kk

Hi Die,
U guai guai stay at home
good gal leh... i m getting a bit cranky liao... sigh... i cannot sit still kind. what do u do at home? Wat time u did ur blood test tdy?

Hi Judebaby... The embryologist will update you on a daily basis on the progress of your fertilizing eggs. I understand the standard practice for Prof is to culture the remaining eggs to Day 5 blastocyst. They managed to culture 2 eggs to Day 6 & 7 blastocysts for me.

Once BFP, I have to go for twice weekly progestrone jabs to stabilize the pregnancy till at least end of first trimester. I understand from some the ladies here, that is not the practice in KKH only when emergency.

Overall, my experience with Prof & his team has been good. IVF is an emotional, physical and financial draining process. Prof & his team are very supportive which helps a lot. They come across as sincere people. Financially, I guess the costs is much lesser than private but the service is just as good if not better.

Actually, the problem with KK is that they can so busy until they dun bother much about you. Because there is no evidence that D3 transfer is better then D2 transfter so they quickly put it in for you and close the case. Not much personal touch but KK is still the cheapest among the 3 restructured hospital. ( I thought they have the best facilities too)

Approx cost- depending on the amt of puregon

Pte - $13 - $15K
Public - $10 -$12K ( inclusive govt subsidy of $3K)

Because medisave is still our hard earn $ and can be used for other family members medical needs. Thus shouldn't use too much.... Anybody got cheaper way to do it ? Go Malaysia buy puregon ?

Judebaby... better not take the risks in buying from non-certified sources. Try out NUH first. Who knows, with their close monitoring and GonalF (instead of Puregon), you may have shorter protocol than in KKH.

hi sofia

so the 2 eggs at D6 & 7 are being frozen?
at which stage were ur current embryos put in? as in which day?

hi meow... exciting right? soon its your turn... so happy for you. Ok, here's my experience. I was scheduled for ER on Monday at 1.30pm, so I had to jab myself with Ovidrel on Sunday early morning 1am. I didn't sleep that nite in case I missed the jab.

On Monday, I went to CHR 2 hours earlier, then to Day Surgery. I opted for single bedded room which was really nice and relaxing. By 2.30pm, I woke up. I had pain and was given 4 shots of morphine (but don't worry about this, it may not happen to you). A nurse stood by my side all the time I was awake in surgery holding room. Very caring Indian lady. By 3pm, I went back to the room and rested till about 5pm. I was able to go back by 6pm.

The next day, the embryologist called to tell me the number of follicles retrieved, eggs matured and no. fertilized. Both the D6 & D7 blastocysts were frozen. I had 2 D3 embbies placed on Wednesday. 1 week later, I had post ET consultation with Prof followed by D13 post transfer blood test.

hi sofia

oh, we can opt for the room to be in ar? as in single bedded or twin sharing etc? thanks for letting me know in advanced.

but why u need to reach CHR 2 hrs earlier? to prepare for the ER?

the embryologist will call u the next day already? what are considered matured eggs? does it mean those that were too 'old' to be fertilised?

the BT after the ET is not at D14? at D13 ar?

sorry for the many qns.. cos i am really stressed over ER leh..

hi meow... yes you can opt for the room. are you seeing them again in the next few days? ask them about it. the single room costs about $1200, but its worth it. on that day itself, the nurse will pass to you the crinone gel and update you on the estimated costs to-date before you go to Day Surgery.

Not all follicles contain eggs, and not all eggs are matured enough for fertilization. yes, the embryologist will update you. if your ER is on Sat, they will prob call you first thing on Monday morning. they usually call around 9+am. my BT was on Day 13.

i in week 7 now. my beta was 300+ on day 13, and i thot i may be having twins. secretly wishing for it. but last friday, found only a single heartbeat. thankful nonetheless.

Oh yes... please please remember to NOT eat anything before the surgery. follow the instructions strictly otherwise all your efforts will go to waste. it was tough for me not to eat... worse, my hubby came back with Canadian pizza after my ER thinking it'll cheer me up!

Hi Judebaby,
Hugs hugs .. impossible these collegues are.. heartless people. they are NOT worth of thought.
Don't give them such strong value to their comments. THEY ARE SIMPLY NOT WORTH IT. we are all very strong people out here. And should be proud that we are taking every possible step , passing all the difficult paths to have babies..
They will not know the pain of failure nor the taste of success. PLEASE DON'T EVER GIVE VALUES TO THEIR COMMENTS.Be brave . Remeber this statement " NOONE CAN ANNOY YOU UNLESS U PERMIT"
Don't treat them as humans.. ignore them and concentrate in enlighting ur life.. improving ur quality of life. start planning ur next step. All the best.

Hey thanks Greenie...

Ya Aris, well said ,ya trying to get some sleep. Good atleast i was loaded with office work that i was fully involved till now..

Ladies , will keep u posted my result.. Please pray for me... I really hope its BFP.

Good morning ladies,

Fancy,
Good luck good luck..may you get big big BFP!

Judebabe,
I believe its ok to do the program twice in a year as long as your body and emotions are ready. If you want to consider switch to NUH, can fix an appointment with prof on a sat when he consults new patients. For the blastocyst vs day 3, actually that is what I like about NUH too. But some sisters here did tell me before that they still do day 3 in NUH depending on the circumstances. Eg, one sister here was scheduled to do blastocyst at NUH but as she only had one good fertilised embryo ultimately, NUH then decided not to risk it and transfer the embryo at day3 for her and in the end, she BFP. So I guess the flexibility they practise is great.

For your insensitive cols, since they are so thoughtless about other's feelings, their opinions are totally unimportant and irrelevant. By passing such naive remarks, they are just insulting themselves and no one.

Actually to share with you. After my first mc, I told one close col about it and she went to tell her mum. So she came back to tell me this. She said her mum (includng her) said who ask me to be so stupid, that I probably carried heavy things and stress myself to cause it myself and that they feel mc is not so common if a mtb takes care of herself. I was disappointed in her ignorance and rubbing salt in but I laughed it off and up to today, we are still friends but I won't attach any importance to her remarks anymore. So take this approach when it comes to smart alecks like them.

Sofia,
Good to hear from you and our baby's lovely heartbeat. Come back and visit us when you are free and tell us about your progress to motivate us on
And thanks for teaching us about the ER/ET at NUH, I will opt for a one bedder like you said, painful on pocket so I will start saving more now..

I have booked for an appointment with Dr Zou finally
I asked the lady who picked up the phone if I can do acu on the 4th day of my menses and she said as long as flow has lightened, its fine. That is the truth right? I am thinking because I read before that can only do acu after menses clear totally. Would appreciate any insights. Thanks..

Sofia,
Hearing what u mentioned abt NUH really makes it so worth the while. A pity I am staying too far and my hubby is the lazy type to go there
Congrats on ur BFP

Hi Sunflower,

Oh, I hope your AF comes soon! This is the only time we wish that AF comes on the dot.

Are you with KK as well?

December,

ya i felt so silly lor as its the first time im wishing for AF...

ya with kkh..how bout you? You are day wat of lucrin?

Sunflower,

Me with KK too. Today is D12 of Lucrin. Tml going for BT and scan. Hopefully i can proceed to next stage.

Me hope your AF come soon!!!! But try not to be too stressed over this. Sometimes it may affect.

We can be cycle buddies.

hi babygalore... if i not mistaken, the nurse at CHR told me that the difference with single-beded room and the other is about $60 only. the 'common' room has a 'common' changing room, so thank goodness i didn't take it up. with the single-bedded, there's an attached bathroom/changing room, flat screen tv in case you can't sleep again after ER. & after ET, they'll put your legs up, head down for 2 hours. odd position to rest, so better to be in the privacy of your own room in such uncomfortable situation.

hi sofia

so they will give u the breakdown on the costs before the ER.. wah.. like crushing ur world before the ER. hahaha.

if dun opt for the single bed.. then how many pple do i have to share the room with?! hehehe..
thanks for letting me know the costs of the single room

afte ER can eat already right.. ur hubby bot pizza after ur ER wor..

ok.. so in short.follow instructions ar.

shucks .. my tummy will growl when hungry leh. then later whie prof doing ER.. then my tummy growling how.. so unglam. hahaha

congrats! wk 7 already! so fast for u!

hi fatbabe
NUH is also very far for me.. cos i stay at sengkang.. but for me.. who is the doctor matters the most.. so distance can still tahan. :p

hi sofia

so the single bedded room is billed separately is it? as in.. not within the $10k they estimated for 1 cycle?

hi aris.. how u doing?

hi meow... the cost of the room is inclusive of the ER/ET surgery. it is not just for the room...like dat very ex lah. :) it is part of the whole package. mine includes ICSI, so in all the total plus room/surgery was S$9k plus. my husband paid $308 in cash, the rest by medisave & govt. grant.

Meow... maybe coz i had morhpine shots and/or anethesia, i vomitted even the hot Milo they gave me afterwards. when i reached home, i literally sinked my head in the toilet bowl. the next day, i ate only fish soup with fish slices. rice seemed a little heavy. but over next few days, appetite got better. so, no worries.

hi sofia

am fine now..a bit of nausea only at night while i want to sleep..lots of wind..

cant wait for my heartbeat scan 18 aug..

Hi, I’m in the midst of my 2nd IVF cycle. In my 2nd attempt, my Doc advised that Day 5 embryo transfer has higher success rate. I started with 42 eggs at egg extraction day (I was hyperstimulated). At Day 3, only 6 embryos looked promising. At Day 4, 3 embryos started fusing (they’re expected to fuse and then become blastocyst on around Day 5), the remaining embryos growth were arrested. At Day 5 on the embryo transfer day, the growth of the 3 promising embryos actually went backwards and aged! My Doc advised that the quality of the embryo must have been weak and that chances of success of the IVF is low. I'm devastated. Can anyone offer advise?

hi cilipadi, welcome. in NUH, the practice to go for Day 3 transfer. i had 2 Day 3 transfer and thank god, i BFP with 1 baby. the remaining 3 was cultured to blastocyst but only 2 made it.

Did your doctor told you the risks of the eggs not making it to Day 5? No doubt blasto has higher chances of success, but to culture the eggs to reach that stage involved some risks.

What's the plan now? Is your doctor going to transfer the eggs into your womb?

hi aris... u know, i'm piling the weight quite fast. stress sey! i started buying maternity outfits, not that i too excited to start wearing them, but my tummy is protruding like i'm 4 months!!! i tried to eat lesser, esp since eating caused heartburn...but not much help!

is your son excited with the news?

haha sofia

my son dont understand

but he has been super clingy

and everytime i ask him kiss my tummy he wll pull my belly button and kiss twice..maybe he already knows its twins!

i did not ask him to kiss twice..he just kiss..

will bring him during the scan..

as my gynae will be the same, she will be happy to c him..the baby she delivered

hi Sofia, the rate of embryos arresting from Day 3 to Day 5 was 40%. The Doc was confident that chances were good for me. In the end, we decided to go ahead with the embryo transfer alto chances are low.

Judebabe, all of us who are working have the same challenges. For me, my boss and HR knows and that's about it. To all others, my response is standard, MC is for personal medical issues. I'm sure everyone is talking abt it in office, but I've got more important things to worry about.

hi aris... sometimes these kids they just knew. my MIL called from Cologne and told her son that she thinks the gyane didn't scan me properly. she said she had a feeling its twins, but one is hidden somewhere!!! hahahahah.... i dun know if that's ever possible

but i happy with one for now. my sis had twins, it was tough for her to care for both. worse, she had inverted nipples so she can't breastfeed the babies. as i was breastfeeding my daughter then, my mom asked my help coz the twins were premature. so imagine this... i had two tiny boys, each on my both nipples... i was like MOTHER COW!

i think i put on 1.5kg to 2kg...i hope to keep my full term weight to within 80-85kg... anything more... i'll be so in trouble!!!!

you lucky lah so slim .... i so jealous!! ahahaha :)