Develyn,

Don't think like that, not everyone has twins and its well known that for twins, you get twice the morning sickness vs singleton. With your OHSS, you can still hang on so strongly, you are doing very well already..

And mood swings are perfectly normal. During my preg that ended in mc, in 1st trimester, I wanted to kill many people including hubby ;p

Hi Develyn,

I have been following this thread for a while and know what you have gone through, so I should be the one saluting you...

Ever since I had my BFP, I have worrying about every little thing, till my DH got a bit worried that I might be going into depression... So for his sake and bb's sake, I told myself I have to be positive and press on...

So for your sake, ur DH's sake and most importantly your babies' sake, you must hang on there ok! Take care!

Hi no idea,

yeah. I realised it's the same person after I saw the same username appearing.

Well, for 1st appointment, just bring all your medical history that you have to show Dr Loh. If you have none, Dr Loh will ask you to do some blood test, etc, he deems necessary for his review.

Bring your medical check up too if you have. they would want to check if you have antibody to rubella or not.

hmmm. what else.... They might do HIV screen, HEP and Rubella Blood Test.

That's all I can think of. Maybe other sisters here can share more.

Develyn and Chameleon: like babygalore said thing will get better after 1st trimester. In fact, I read vomitting can also be the body's way of eliminating toxins.

Eat the following foods to replenish vit and mineral levels:
A) Wholemeal bread, seeds, hazelnuts and raisins which are good sources of Vit B6
B) Milk, yogurt and white fish, which contain VIt B12
C) Green leafty veg, yeast extract, fortified breakfast cereals, nuts and pulses for folic acid
D) Brocoli, apricots and sardines to raise Iron levels.
E) Lean meat, sunflower seeds, wheatgerm to replenish Zinc
F) Nuts, wholegrains, apricots and tofu for magnesium

Hi Develyn and Chameleon,

another few more weeks to go, hang on!

Hi no idea,

welcome

Hi Lyn and Orangey,

maybe i will see u both this sunday

Hi humbug and libby,

hope i can bump into you both too.

Hi Juju ,

I hope that it will end by 1st trimester too.

Hi Boon Boon ,

Thanks for the advise.. as for me , i cannot eat well.. when i smell food , i already started to vomit ! Really weak and i am also trying to get emotionally well..

Babygalore
Holidays are always good
whether short or long. And most important is that you relax and enjoy yourself. If your hubby really wants to go Italy, you should go ahead and treat yourself! I heard it is really a romantic place! IVF/infertility is really very emotional and stressful and this trip may be the occasion to strengthen your relationship. And to relax and destress yourself! Anyway, you are the best judge! and from what I read, the decision maker in the family

Thanks for the info on vitamins. Would buy them when mine finish. Really very confused when I go to Guardian. There are so many types..don't know which one to use. Which colour is the box? in case, I forget the name, at least I can recall the colour..easier! Ah Ah Ah..

No idea,
welcome to the thread! may be can change your name after you learn more from the sisters here!

Develyn-you mentioned you can't take herbs right. How about Acupuncture. I am reading another book now and it mentioned using Acupuncture can relieve nausea and sickness (method: insert fine needles into Pericardium 6 acupoint, located on your forearm for between 15 -20min)

Alternative,you can try to do it at your own by pressing this point for 10min for 4 time per days (Pericardium 6-3 finger widths from the wrist, between both tendons)

Develyn-You can't total no intake, eat small even thought vomit. Otherwise, pls take nuts and seeds there are also rich in mineral and vit. Besides, remember to drink plenty of fluids to avoid dehydration ya.

Hi Boon Boon ,

Thanks alot ! I will check with Dr Zou to see if there is really a way to accup in 1st trim.

Btw, have u started your IVF journey ?

Dream-Please enjoy your holiday ya.

Babygalore-I agreed with Dream. Don't because of saving then you spoil your HB mood. Go for a holiday to relax for both of you.

Develyn-Not yet. If AF report in this month I will start on the short protocol as my FSH level increased a lot. So sad. Anyway, I will continue to think positively. You too remember to think positively and relax and rest well.

hi fresh

i dunno how u look like leh.. so even if i met u at dr zou's, also wun know.

i'll be going tmr evening. u too?

Boon Boon,
Ok..glad to read that you are on my side!!!

Excited for your upcoming cycle. When are you expecting your AF? Which day are you now? Things will move really fast on short protocole...so make sure you buy everything you need...cooler bag and ice for the medicine...brazil nuts..milk...do a list, if you have not done it yet!

Develyn,
Please stay positive! your hormones are playing tricks on you right now but I am sure you will be the cheerful person that we know very soon! Hang in there and be positive like Tora. Remember this is for a good reason!

Develyn: no dear. But take it as a +ve sign. Nausea n vomiting means pregnancy going fine
Juz rest well n eat mordately or even soup or porridge if u cant eat. take care dear..

Hi Boon Boon ,

The natural way to reduce FSH is to exercise.. cos i used to have high FSH in 1st cycle but exercise and get FSH to acceptable in 2nd cycle.. Jia you !

Hi Dream ,

Ya, i will try my best to stay positive.. hormones rush was my biggest problem now.. Maybe need some time to calm myself down.

hi Itjabi ,

As for now , not even porridge/soup .. plain water will make me puke sometime.. so i am replacing it with sportage isotonic drink to replenish the loss vits.. hope that helps lor...

Thanks to all who have given such kind words of encouragement.

Develyn, I've added you to my msn and have dropped you an email too.

Develyn dear, hugz..

imgaine holding your bundle of joys soon, hang in there ok!

if really dun feel well, rest more or do things u like.

hi develyn,
does Dr Zou has any solution to your morning sickness? i had slight vomit and nausea in 1st trimester and her herbs helped curb it. How about asking her if any particular food that you can take to help lessen the vomit? Are you able to take the glutinuous rice mix with lotus? That can help to stop the bleeding. How heavy is the bleeding now? fresh red or brown? Do stay positive, i miss your cheerfulness.

hi dream,
when sending your gal to infant care, any problems that you encounter? falling sick easily etc? i intend to send no. 2 to infant care. No. 1 went to childcare only at 18 mths, so that was ok.

Dream-my protocol is simple, after AF report I will be given 500iu puregon from D2. No need to take lucrin. Will share the journey here if I started my injection.

Develyn-I do, in fact I started to do exercise more since middle of March..I have loss more kg now only FSH level is higher compared to previously. Anyway, will try to see whether I will be respond well to the medication (I wish so..)

Hi Develyn,

Went to see my gynae ytd, told him I have no appetite for food whole day because of the nausea feeling. He said I can eat whatever I like even just biscuits or potato chips if i feel like it. Not necessary have to eat rice or noodles or porridge until i feel better wor...

Hi Boon Boon, all the best to your IVF journey. I'm on the short protocol too... I can tell you the time really passed very fast when you are on the short protocol. Before you know, it is your ER/ET already!! Good Luck to you!

meow,

yes. will be there tomorrow evening. had been very discipline since May.

missfairylady,

Dr zou encourage patient to go accu during lucrin and up to ET stage. After ET, there will be no more accu already.

i joined the forum in mar 09 but mostly am reading the postings from you sisters.

just to share with u my IVF experience here, i embarked on my 1st IVF treatment in May 09 under Prof Wong at NUH. I had my ER on 29 May and ET on 1 Jun 09, retrieved 11 follicles of which 6 with mature eggs and out of the 6, 5 fertilised. Transferrred 2 embryos on 1 jun and am currently in 2ww.

My BT is due on 15 Jun. Yest i spotted blood stains, dark brown and though it did not appear as bleeding, i have a strong feeling it is AF. The stains continue into now, and I am kind of certain this cycle fails

I called up the nurse in CHR but they told me it is still early to do a BT as the result may be inconclusive. The advice given is to wait another 2 days to confirm if i have a full blown menses. If so, then likely the cycle fails.

I am already feeling very disheartened as the IVF treatment journey is never an easy one. Having a failed pregnancy last year, coupled with 2 failed IUIs earlt this year, i was feeling hopeful that IVF may help but now i am losing this glimpse of hope and i am already 37 yrs old.

Hi Chameleon ,

I replied your email

Hi Catherine ,

I cannot do alot of things i enjoy like going for shopping..etc.. i can only sit and post now.. at least not so exhausted and also the plastic bag is infront of me..

Hi Lina ,

Bleeding has stopped .. is like spotting only and is fresh red & sometime brown... as for the morning sickness, i cannot even take herbs now as the taste is too strong that i will puke even more.. so she only tell me to endure as it will be better after 2 months.. another week will be 2 months but i find that it will be there for 1st trimester..

Hi Boon Boon ,

Best of luck ! I believe things will turn out well for u..

Hi Serene ,

U are how many weeks pregnant now ?

littlemik,

dont give up yet.. yesterday u spotted with dark brown stain, it could be implantation spotting since yesterday is 9th day after ET..

hang on there!

Carrefour having promo for Brazil nuts at $5 per 100gm

Hi Littlemilk ,

Dun be dishearted.. sometime it might be implantation spotting.. Dun be too dishearted.. if fail, try again.. at least u still have freezing embryo.. i remember my 1st cycle , i did not have any freezing and have to re-do 2nd IVF fresh cycle.. i believe it is test that god has given.. a few of us are preggy now and god is now testing on endurance.. we are one step forward but we have tried very hard in fertility treatment too.. so , bu yao give up.. miracle will happen !

Littlemilk, Don't give up yet the staining could be impantation spotting. Keep your fingers crossed. I am also with Prof. I did my cycle in April however it was not successful. I am also 37 this year. Don't feel discouraged. Alot of us here have been trying for a baby for many years and have resorted to IVF at last. Don't worry the war is not over. I will pray that the spotting you had was just implanatation. BFP to you. Good luck.

hi sunflower,

i read so much about implantation bleeding and that is should be light brown or pinkish spotting. mine seems not spotting but more likely blood of dark brown, it is kind of similar to beginning of my period, sigh...

LittleMik,

everyone is different, so the colour can differ too. as well, every cycle may also differ.. u are now going thru ivf, the spotting color may not be the same as the natural cycle.. take care k..

hi develyn,

congrats on your positive pregnancy, best wishes for a smooth journey towards motherhood

i did not have any frozen embryos. the remaining 3 embryos did not develop to the blastocyst stage so if i were to go for next cycle, it will be a fresh one.

my hubby has been very supportive and told me not to give up but try a 2nd time, but we also worry about the costs as IVF treatment is never cheap; even after medisave and govt subsidy, it easily needs additional few thousands dollars.

we probably will decide after our review with our doctor.

develyn,
I'm expecting twins too also done by Dr SF Loh. Current just reach 2 Trimester. But thank god i have no morning sickness... Only feeling tired often!!!
Btw for your vomitting, try talking ginger such as tea halia ( i was told by Dr Loh, can be taken 1x aday), cook chicken or fish or pork with ginger and even porridge u may add ginger.
In fact, my mum cook alot of ginger at home, that why I dont get m/s. The only thing is smelly smell such as BO, smelly toilet and etc... I will vomit for sure.
Or eat oranges or lime or lemon.. no too much a lil will helps.

Currently, I feel bloated easily and yesterday I had bad heartburn... Heartburn will be norm for us expecting twin in early 2 Trimester till the End of Trimester.. But it still depends on the individuals...
So hope that these will help you

hi pari,

thanks much for your encouragement here. it is nice to know that u are also under prof wong at NUH.

i pray for the best to come but after seeing blood stains, me and my hubby have told ourselves to prepare for the worst. i will see how it goes over these 2 days... really hope for the best.

will u be going for a 2nd try under prof wong?

Littlemilk, I had my AF 8 days after ET with Prof, which is way too early in IVF cycle from what I heard. After consulting with him he told me for next cycle he will give me 2 crinone inserts a day. However still apprehensive about the support in 2ww at NUH as other hospital have more support then NUH. Now still considering whether to seek 2nd opinion elsewhere. Have booked with Prof for my next cycle at the end of August 2009 and am now prepapring my body for next cycle by exercising, taking TCm and accupuncture. Don't worry, I know how it feels when your cycle fails. Be +ve there can be a miracle waiting for you.

Hi Littlemilk ,

Thanks for your congrats..

I know your cost concern.. cos i have the same.. honestly tell u .. i pay only a few hundreds at kkivf & TPS for bloodtest , consultation..etc..
I paid zero for the process of IVF.. Initially, many encourage me to do at private gleneagle/RH...etc but i know i cannot afford it.. if i really did, i will have zero dollars even i have babies.. So, if u are at private , think of gtg to govt. hospital .. sometime i drag payment of KK when i dun have enough for the month.. and they dun chase much.. just pay a little at a time when required.. Do not be dishearted.. IVF journey is not easy.. but is just the beginning of the challenge.. more to come when u are pregnant which i am coping now.. it is 100 times more than i am facing in IVF journey.. as long as dr did not say u are not able to conceive , u still have high chances.. just imagine , last time people dun even have a chance to do IVF.. and we have it.. as you have not get any full AF, u are still safe.. keep your mind open with positive/negative result.. only keeping mind open will not make u fall in pain.. that's straight forward but trust me that if u are well-prepared, things will not worsen..

Dream & Serene-Thanks. When i received the info from nurse, it already made me feel the different compared to a long protocol. Yesterday just bought the Ensure mil and I think I have all the necessary items with me. Anyway, try not to think too much so recently borrowed few books to read and study.

Sunflower-Dr didn't asked me to redo the test. But I have a habit to test FSH because last time my chinese sinseh sent me to test every month...anyway, this round is the higher compared to the last whole year. That is why I don't know why, maybe the past tests were artificial result because taking the herbs. The previous one which I taken was not on chinese herbs for a month.

LittleMik-Welcome to 37yr club. Anyway, like many sisters mentioned it is too early to determine so pls continue to stay positive. BTW, you got a very good number of follclies retreived. Good luck.

Hi Develyn,

I think I'm a few days behind you. Currently I'm 6 weeks +. I remember your BT was on a fri and mine on the following Tue... so should be abt 4 days difference. Correct? When is your EDD?

LittleMilk,

Please dun be discouraged. Must think +ve. Like what the other sisters said, It could be implantation blood. If you are not on HCG jab, I think you can start to do HPT 4 days before your BT.

Hi Juliana ,

Congrats that u passed 1st trimester.. as i can't really take ginger since young.. so for me sure jialat.. i am now taking slice of lemon.. abit bitter i/o sour..

I heard that not to take too heavy meal will help with heartburn... dunno if that's true..
can research abit about it.. btw, when is your ER done that time?

Develyn, Reading your posts show how much of struggle we have to go through to reach our dream to have our own baby. Keep up the good work dear, you have been blessed though you have to still go through hardships even after getting pregnant. Your journey to become a mother is almost there. Hang in there girl your babies will bring all the joy and erase all the hardships you went through and going through now

hi pari,

i agree with you, the support given by NUH during the 2 ww is just the daily crinone insert. i believe with other hospitals, they also presribed oral medication and regular follow up of blood tests. having said that, i am please with the service given by prof wong and his team of nurses; they made the entire process a comfortable one for me.

i read that many sisters here are from KKH and a lot of them go to Dr Loh. I forsee the queue is really long now. Costs at KKH seem significantly cheaper too but i am not sure about the comfort level in terms of the environment, the nurses, etc.

little Milk,
IVF is a tough journey and I hope your bleeding is implantation bleeding. Really hoping the best for you too.

Lina,
My daughter was often sick when she was in infant care/child care days. I think she caught all the virus that were going around! She did not have time to get better that she caught another virus. Dr. said she has sensitive airways. So, I am not sure whether her sickness was due to childcare or her sensitive airways. But since she is in primary school, her health is better now. Never felt sick for 1 1/2 years except when I was in my 2WW last month! It is a difficult decision but as working mothers, we don't have much choice. I still feel that it was the right decision to make as babies are so vulnerable (and I would not dare to leave her alone with the maid at home). There was a nurse in the infant care and I know she was in good hands. Otherwise, you need to think of back up plans when your kid falls sick as they can't go to infantcare. I had to take lots of urgent leave then!

FYI:

Week 1 After fertilization, the sperm and ovum nuclei fuse to form a zygote. This starts to divide as it travels to the uterus.

Week 2 After 6 or 7 days, the cell mass develops a hollow cavity and is now called a blastocyst. By the tenth day it becomes embeded in the endometrium

Week 3 The blastocyst is the size of a pinhead but is multiplying fast. The inner cells of the cavity develop into the embryo.

Week 4 The baby is about 2mm (1/16 in) in length and weighs less than 1gm (3/100 oz).
It body tissues are forming from three embryonic layers: the hair, nails, mammary glands, teeth enamel,
inner ear and lenses for the eyes from one layer; the nervous system, retina, pituitary gland, muscle,
cartilage, bones, blood and lymph cells from another; and lungs, trachea, liver, pancreas and bladder fr a third.

Week 5 The heat has started to develop; it now has four chambers. The roof palate of the mouth is forming

Week 6 The cluster of cells is becoming an embryo, roughtly the size of a fingertip.
The heart is beating at 180 beats a minute, more than twice as fast as yours.
Eyelids, ears, and the beginnings of hands and feet are forming. The shape of the head and the curve of the spine are discernible.

Week 7 The embryo has quadrupled in size and the nervous system is developing well.
The baby is staring to move its body, arms and legs. These movements can be detected by a monitor, but you will not be
able to feel them. The lungs, liver and kidneys are starting to develop.

Week 8 About 2.5cm (1 in) in length, the embryo has now evolved into a foetus. Its brain is developing rapidly, and the umbilical cord has formed.
Ears are beginning to develop and the mouth is able to open and close

Week 9 The baby is now 4cm (1 1/2 in) in length and can wriggles slightly. The digestive and nervous systems are developing fast and the brain
is four times larger than it was four weeks ago.

Week 10 The nervous system has matured enough for the baby to move about more. All the organs plus the sack of amniotic fluid have been formed
and the baby is now recognizable as a human being.

Week 11 The liver takes over the manufacture of red blood cells and the kidneys are functioning. The baby is about 5cm (2in) long and growing repidly.
It has a completely formed face. The head is growing to accommadate the brain.

Week 12 Your baby is fully formed, althought at just 6cm (2 1/2in) long, there is a lot of gowing still to do. Its nails and hair are starting to grow, its jaw has 32
little teeth buds, and it sis starting to suck. Internal sex organs have formed.