daffodils,

when do you think you are going to start your FET?

does anybody had AF lasted more than a week after IVF failure?

how do we count the days of AF and ovulation day after an IVF failure?

Ros: Dun worry abt follicles. I had onli 9 follicles when they did scan but when they retreived it was 17. So dun worry. As for cyst. Im not sure but i do know with lucrin the cyst may stop growing. Juz dont worry too much n stay +ve ya

hi ros,

i'm 32 and this is also my 1st time doing IVF but it failed.. i'm also on 200 puregon.. so i guess you dont have to worry..

Hi Boon boon, Itjabi and Lina,

Thanks for the well wishes. Appreciate it. I am taking it easy. I am just glad that at least my ovaries are responding and having those number of follicles. COz Dr Sadhana did warn me that after my laproscopy my number of eggs could be affected. SO yeah... I am happy with whatever I can get. I will continue with the chicken essence daily.

Itjabi: what did you eat to increase the number of follicles from the 1st scan to the ER date? From 9-17follicles seems excellent results! Please share!

Brownie77: I just shared about my 1st AF experience, menses cleared after D3, but around D5 onwards I had brown discharge? Are you having AF now?

bunny,

yes, i'm having menses now.. by rite my BT is today but i had brown discharge followed by fresh bleed last WED.. went to kk for BT on last Thurs and got BFN.. do you know how can i count my ovulation for this cycle..

Hi, Brownie
I had my AF 2 days before my BT which is on 30 May and only ends yesterday. It's definitely more than 1 week. But the first 3 days is not very heavy, only afterwards it's heavier than normal, with bad cramps and blood clots as well. Are you experiencing the same? Ask the nurse, she said it dues to the lining as it's thicker due to the medicine. So expected to have a heavier AF

bunny: i didnt do anything different. Juz continued like wat everyone here advised. Take eggs everyday.. nothing else actually. Juz that usually we have smaller follicles which they do not tell us. so when the ER day arrives, they actually catch up with the rest n so they retreive more
It's alwiz the case.

hi ltjabi,
oh yes, for my case can feel movement since 3rd month as 2nd time pregnancy and bad thing is that stomach looks bigger at early stage. This was due to previously stretch skin.

Lina: So nice. Wat sud we look out for during movement?? Nvm abt stomach bigger guess we have to exercise after delivery to lose the weight

Ros,

Don't worry too much at this point of time, stay optimistic!

My 1st scan (8th day of Puregon) is on this Thur.
So there'll be total of 3 scans while on Puregon before ER, issit?

elle,

i think its the same as me.. i slso had only brown spots then gradually it became heavier and passing lots of clots.. had bad cramps too.. is this your 1st time also?

Brownie,
Yes, this is my 1st ivf and a failed one. I have none frozen so will start another fresh cycle maybe sometime in August. I dun know whether I can face another disappointment.when are you going to do ur FET?

elle,

i'm not sure when to do it.. not sure if its gonna be another dissapointment... i've yet to make appt to see my gynae... r u with kk also?

Tomatoes-I don't know on how to reduce the FSH level. What is your dosage used and are you under short protocol as well in your previous attempt?

brownie,
I am with SGH. Apparently I just checked my AF still there so by now it's already more than 10 days. But no more cramp now. Well at least you can do FET while I have to start all over again. I have to use my annual leave for the next cycle

Hi Ros,

Dun worry, me same situation cos i also have blood cyst during stimulation stage cos during the ER dr loh says he managed to suck out some brownish blood from my ovaries but just wondering why he didn't do a scan for me. I also daren't find out how big is it now. cos 2yrs ago during my so-iui stimulation with puregon my blood cysts also came bk thats why i had a 2nd lapro. Dun worry they will not cancel your cycle becos of the cysts.

Hi Ros,

I dun think your cycle will be cancelled. All I know is that the cyst will affect ovulation and the production of eggs cos the cyst will be supressing the ovaries. That's why it's advisable to remove it prior to a fresh cycle. Both gynea told me b4 that it will not affect a successful pregnancy.

If the kkivf doc tell u that it will be cancelled, do speak to Dr Sadhana personnel for her advice.

Is there any blood test taken to check for E2 level when u do scanning?

Dear all do i need to consume egg white daily? I'm on lucrin stage.

Fresh, im nearest to your cycle.anything that we need to consume? Can we drink cold drinks little bit?? I'm so thirsty.

hi missfairylady,

I've stopped cold drinks already. I know it's a super hot weather now but still have to endure leh.

I did not restraint myself on my meals. Had been taking GNC multi-vit and kkivf folic acid everyday. Oh ya, I also take chicken essence everyday too. How about u?

I eat half boil egg occasionally. I guess I will only take 1 egg white daily during puregon stage.

fresh n missfairylady - please avoid cold drinks and as much as possible to consume warm water

missfairylady - u can start consuming egge whited during puregon stage

brownie77 & elle: I had some blood clots, not much, didnt experience any cramps during AF, but did experience pre menstrual cramps 1-2 days before.

brownie77: sorry I wouldnt know how to calculate ovulation date for this cycle. Maybe you can call and check with the nurses.

Itjabi: thanks for sharing !

Fresh: at what stage do you start taking chicken essence and egg white? lucrin stage?

Fresh

I actually did drink some cold drinks last Sat. i can't help it. The weather is very hot but now its seems I must stop cold drinks totally.

SGH never giv me any folic acid. Must we buy it ourself? I nvr consume anything not even chicken essence. My meal is normal meal, hehehe i cant help it i'm always hungry.

Zaza do u put hot pack every nite? Do u take Gonal F or Puregon or izit the same? My next appt will be in 2 wks time for BT and Gonal F.

When u guys talk about egg white. Is it in half boil eggs or fully cooked egg?

missfairylady - i bought folic acid from GNC and I do not put hotpack every night
Mine is gonalF ..... egg white is better half boiled but some ladies here do take fully cooked too

Brownie,
SGH gives 2 weeks HL but for my next cycle, I dun think i can take another 2 weeks HL.Noone in the co knows I do ivf.Even for this time, i tell them i'm having surgery tat's y on 2weeks HL. For my next I will use my annual leave instead.
Routine for SGH? Maybe you can elaborate further on what you want to find out?

Zaza do u take chicken essence everyday also like Fresh?
I can't take the smell of the essence.

Any effect when u took Gonal F?

missfairylady - yes, i took 1 bottle of chicken essence daily and my gonalF was shorter as compared to the rest and I was only on GonalF for 7 days then my ER as my follicles are growing at a very fast rate
I wld usually warm the essence 1st thus it is not too smelly

Hi Fresh,

I have had my endometriosis removed in November 2008, that's when I was supposed to start my first ivf cycle but it was postponed till now. But I guess bcoz of the stimulation, the cysts comes back. All my follicles increased by 2.5 today (in just 2 days). My blood was only taken on D14 after my lucrin. Thats was it. After that no more blood taking so far.

Missfairylady, are u currently in lucrin stage? During this stage just make sure u start eating well and can start the chicken essence. Egg white I only start during Pregon Stage. I also start taking the Ensure Protein drink to prevent any form of OHSS. I also dont like the smell of chicken essence. I also heat mine up. It smells better. NOt much but better. N thanks Fresh. I dont think my cycle is going to be cancelled especially after spending so much on the injections. It was just me worrying. Haha...

Brownie77,

Thanks for sharing. N Sorry about ur failed cycle. I didnt know coz I just got back to this thread.

July77,

Not necessarily 3 scans. SOmetimes on the 8th day scan, your follicles are very big already so u can have ER earlier. Mine bcoz in the first scan the follicles we small n biggest was only 15. I guess u you follow one of the sister here who took Chicken essence earlier, u could do Puregon for only 8 days. SO start taking them ok.

Ros,

Thanks for the suggestion.

In fact, I only started on my Ensure & chicken essence only on day 3 of Puregon. Hope it's not too late.

i saw a few of u had done a FSH test. what is it for?
cos my blood test with NUH didnt test for this. then dr zou asked was i asked to do the test.

hi ltjabi,
the movement will be light during the earlier months, then go stronger. Kick will come in later part. Just enjoy the moments.

bunny,

I start taking chicken essence for the past 2 months already. As I'm egg lovers, my mil will sometimes do half boil eggs in the morning for me. This morning, I just ate 2 kampong half boil eggs. I will strictly take only egg whites during puregon stage.

missfairylady,

Just stop now. No more cold drinks for u from today. haaaa... I also did drank 1 glass of ice lemon tea on fri night cos had been too engrosed in shopping. Didn't realised that I'm thirsty.

It's a norm that gynea will prescribe u with folic acid leh. u can buy it at Guardian. Just tell them u want to buy folic acid. Those in loose pack type, not those in box type.

Also, I will drink Anmum (similar to ensure) once a day; maybe during tea break. I'm taking the choco flavour type.

Ros,

I do heard that the cyst will grow bad cos of stimulation. I'm worrying now but I guess there is nothing we can do about it since puregon is a must for all ivf journey. I guess just have to pray.

Meow,

FSH is to check the egg quality and and the egg reserve. The lower the level (preferable 5-6), the better the egg quality and the more egg reserve u will have and the lesser the puregon u will need. Thus doc needs to know ur fsh level to determin the puregon / gonal-f dosage. This is what I know. Maybe other expert and advise.

Gloria

Hello lady..Thanks for your reply on multi-vits. Now I know prof is really a no-fuss kind of dr…

Sorry that I missed your posting about Sat lunch as I could not log on at home lately..fixed line modem spoilt, still have gotten a replacement.. Once I do not have to help to send my nephew for art class on Sat, I hope to join you all during the lunch on Sat. It’s a fixed event is it?

Pari,
Thanks for your advice too. Prof also gave my hubby vit E, on top of that, my hubby went to buy the mega man vits from GNC. It contains zinc that is good for the little soldiers..

Ros
You are doing great with your follicles…well done and you will continue to progress and hope this cycle is the one for you to have a new member to your family…. I have not started on program due inability to take 2 weeks of leave from work over next few months. I really hope to start latest by Dec09 and if work permits, I will want to start earlier…since already mentally prepared and got a lot of encouragement from the sisters here…

Tomotoes,
For high FSH, I guess none of the ladies here smoke since we are doing/to do IVF. But in case you walk pass people who smokes, quickly walk away as I read that smoking/2nd hand smoke is big enemy of ovarian reserves..like Gloria said, maybe the sisters here have some good recipe to share (keep our fingers crossed!), but in the meantime, you can follow a good fertility diet, less trans fats, no caffeine, reduce your stress level, more greens and fruits every day, limit red meat to 1-2 a week and increase intake of nuts, seeds, more fish (avoid very big fishes with mercury), one to two servings of full cream diary per day and lastly, maybe TCM. All these will build up our ovarian health. Also start-multi-vits. Light exercise like brisk walking, yoga a few times a week helps too..

WY Koo,
Take care and visit us and update us on your little one as and when you free okie..

Baby79 and Usha,
Welcome, this is courtesy of some sisters here:

Dos and Donts
Stage 1 (Lucrin/Suprefact)

- Cut off cold drinks
- water intake 2L/day
- drink DOM to build up the body
- chicken essence X 1 3x/week
- egg white x 1 daily
- Gentle rotation in circle motion clockwise after you have jab your abdomen.
- If painful - try to sooth the area you are injecting with hot towel, the skin will become less tense

Stage 2 (Puregon / Gonal-F)

- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- chicken essence x 1 alternate day
- Soya products (high proetin food)
- egg whites x 2
- water intake 2L/day
- Brazil nuts

Stage 3 (2WW)
- increase egg whites intake
- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- 2-3 pieces of Brazil nuts daily, some take 5 pcs per day.
- can also take sunflower seed, pumkin seed, and flax seed
- water intake 2L/day
- No pineapple and water melon
- No squatting or carrying of heavy weights (anything that stresses the abdominal muscle)
- No hot sauna or soaking of lower half body in bathtub
- No intercourse
- Do not stand or sit in a position (infront PC)too long. Good to walk a bit to promote circulation
- No raw food and avoid oily and spicy foods as it may cause an upset stomach. High hormone levels cause bloatedness and hence add to discomfort
- No strenuous exercise
- No other medication (eg. TCM) other than those given by your Dr

Daffodils,
Yeah, miracles do happen, my sis just told me that her good friend went thru 2 rounds of IVF, did not succeed and at the least expected time, conceived naturally. So anything is possible as long as you keep the faith..so must stay positive positive alright!

Serene,
Wah...can see heartbeat liao..very nice..
congrats and keep us updated.

I am new here and i will begin my lucrin this friday. Can anyone tell me whether is it painful and which time of the day do we need to take the jab? Do we need to rest for a while after the jab?

Meow,

Fresh if right about FSH. I am also with NUH and I did the day 3 (FSH, estradiol and other hormones too) and day 21 test to check for ovulation. Who is your gynae? When you are about to start cycle that time, make sure your gynae order the day 3 test for you.

Meow,

Fresh is right about FSH. I am also with NUH and I did the day 3 (FSH, estradiol and other hormones too) and day 21 test to check for ovulation. Who is your gynae? When you are about to start cycle that time, make sure your gynae order the day 3 test for you.

Babygalore,

Thank you for the words of encouragement. I hope to move on too. N I hope this will be the cycle that allows me to bring home my biundle of joy.

Lingling,

Welcome to the thread. For me who is really scared of needles, Lucrin is not that painful at all. It is less painful than taking the blood test. SO dont worry too much okay. I was recommended to take lucrin by nurse in the morning. After injection just put the alcohol swap over. No need to rest too long. Movement is good coz it will allow the medicine to circulate faster. Hope that helps. N good luck with the injection.

is anyone of u on microgynon for 21 days from the start of ur mense? I started it on 2nd day of mense and now is day 11 and I realise that I am still having slight mense/spotting in red everyday.

Hi Ros,

Thanks for the details.......This is my first IVF and I am 28 this year.....hope everything goes well. I am with KKH. anyone has KKh experience?

lingling22: have you taken birth control medication before?And is it common for your usual AF cycle to go into D11? If there is difference, I suggest you consult your KKH doc. Microgynon shouldnt alter your flow of AF.

Lina
thanks... i didn't think about the scanner in the airport... would ask my gynae during the next visit if it is possible to skip the scanner since he would make a declaration that i am officially pregnant to the government.... thanks

but i think i would prefer to go to a small gynae clinic... for lesser waiting time and also less exposure to hospital environment..

itjabi
oh yah, you are still on home leave.... yah rest well first, meanwhile you can apply normal body cream first...

don't know why these two weeks... can't really sleep well, other then waking up for pee every two hours, i have really lots and lots of dreams....

all girls
hang in there.... stay cheerful... BFP BFP BFP dust to all!!

Hi pau le,

Same as you... I've been waking up at least 3 times in the night to pee... really disturb my sleep and I'm tired practically throughout the day. Heavy workload doesnt help at all... I wish I can quit and rest at home... wish onli lah...

BTW, who is in 2WW now? BFP BFP to you! Stay positive!

hi fresh
thanks for the info. so it's more for those who have started ivf to do the test? not for pre-evaluation test for infertility?

hi babygalore
i'm w prof wong. u? which stage are u in now?