novem,

glad that u r taking it ok
dun be too disappointed.. I am sure the FET cycle will have the same success rate and not lowered. Do u still intend to do it at kkivf ? If you decide to do it in other hospital, can u still retrieve the frozen embryo (just wonder)... think shd be able to rite ? Anyway, if u r doing it, a change of gynae may be good actually... cos we heard recently that dr yeong is leaving in march. So to ensure effective followup after that (if u are still doing in kkivf lah), good to change to another gynae. Chemistry's gynae Dr SF Loh may be a good choice
I think dr sheila loh is good too (since she is the head of dept) but she seems so busy...

Hi poohy,

Your gynae going into pte practice? Will he still be around to deliver your bb when u are due? Did u sign up the package with KKH. Sometimes, I very scare my gynae will leave b4 I'm due cos it take some time to build up the comfort level with a new gynae. That's why I'm hesitating whether to sign up the package with KKH. At least I won't be tied down with the package and I can continue seeing my gynae even if he goes into pte practise.

chemistry,

ya thats the problem with kkh gynae. Sooner or later they will leave for private practice. Confirmed my gynae leaving in march. So he definitely wont be ard to deliver my bb cos my edd is mid april. I din take up any antenatal package or delivery package with kkh at all..
thank God rite haha
Most likely we will see him in his private practice lor for antenatal checkup and then deliver in one of the private hospital... now still researching on which private hospital is good and not too exp (try to save money for next bb haha). Dun worry your gynae leaving... one suggestion is maybe before u take up any package in kkh .. be it delivery or antenatal, u talk to your gynae first and sound him out.

Hi poohy,

During the last visit, we did talk about signing the package with my gynae, but he never hint us anything lah. But play safe, I think I will check with him again during my next visit before signing the package.

BTW, will it be more exp to pay at each visit? Will they charge extra for the scans at TPS?

Hi Poohy

If you are looking for a pte hospital with a cheaper rates, I heard that Mt Alvernia is a good choice

Hi Novem

Glad to know that you are not affected by your RE. Berry is rite, we are more affected than you. Hee!

I have been with KKH for about a year+ before I switch to pte. I know how their system works and can understand what you are going through. I wasn't lucky enuff to get to c any of the REs cause was under subsidised rate then. Felt helpless at that time so I decided to move on to another hospital who are more caring.

Sorry, not to say that KKH is that bad but just that I din get to see the right person.

I remember that my embrologist had a chat with me the other time b4 I did my egg retrieval. He told me that FET another 2nd try of IVF chances are as good as the 1st. He said most important of all is to keep on smiling and stay happy. This will help for any IVF process.

Do you still have the list of food to avoid during IVF that I posted sometime ago? Try to stick to this list for the time being until you have succeed. At least you are doing something to increase your chances.

chemistry,

hmm I am not that sure whether taking kkh antenatal package will make it cheaper. But I din take up cos just wanna have the flexibility.
TPS dun charge extra for scans ..but officially, if you want printout from the scan, heard they charge abt $30 a piece (EXP!)... but most gynae will just print one scan for u and ask u to keep it ... and wont charge u (of course u must not show the printout to the counter nurse lah )

tomatoes..

thanx.. ya I gather from this forum mt avernia like not bad. My gynae's clinic going to be in tanglin shopping centre so maybe I will either go gleneagles (nearer to his clinic) or tmc (which seems more accessible to me)... my hubby's preference is tmc cos most of his colleagues choose tmc

Hi tomatoes,

Think I'm one of the most luckiest one here. I was assigned to 2 REs (Dr Loh and Dr Sadhana) who were from KKIVF even though I was under subsidised rates. But then later kena the MO assisting Dr Loh for 2 visits before I was referred for IVF. Guess i was lucky that I did not go thru as much frustration as others went thru. Otherwise, think I also switch pte liao.

Hi poohy,

TMC quite good and it's one of those hospital of choice for delivery. Many of my colleagues deliver there. Heard their ward rates is not far from KKH too. U planning to take which type of ward? Their 2-bedder ward is really cramped but their single bed ward is ok and spacious.

so far the comments i've heard of for TMC and MtA are all positive ones, so can consider
I find that TMC is very popular among the pple whom i know.

Hi Berry,

I know that successful rates of IVF/FET very much depend on the quality of egg/embryo. Sure, will share with you any info i gather for my FET

Hi Tomatoes,

ya, I still have your food list, and I find it quite difficult to avoid chicken and soy products, as i used to eat them most of the time, he he he...

Hi Poohy & chemistry,

thanks for your info... I think TMC should be a good choice also.

Hi Novem,

I don't agree 100%, the egg/embryo that will be used in FET is the same or lower grade than our fresh one. Did i understand you correctly? The one that they put in was the best among them all.

I don't eat chicken too, for a long time already, even before IVF, except for organic chicken.

Hi Berry,

That's what i know and worry abt, my RE said they transfered the best quality embryo for the fresh cylce, so the frozen embryos are at most with the same quality if not lower. Do do think the chance is as good?

Hi Novem,

Sorry but i think your conclusion (that success rate of FET/IVF depends on the quality of egg/embryo) is not true at all. Don't put that in your mind. I know some ladies who are grade 3 & 4 but had success.

In my case, i feel and i think (my RE says so too) that i'm so anxious, stress, nervous, etc. so i failed. As i've said, my embryo are all grade 1 (even my frozen) so we all thought that we are gonna make it. There are other factors to consider aside from the quality, there are food, environment, if your body will "accept" it, health, and other things more. So, relax, we can have a successful FET whatever the quality of our embryo is.

How are you doing? have you done the test on CD ??? to know if you will go for natural or medicated?

Hi novem

I dun agree with your RE's comments also. My RE also told me b4 that the 2nd try is as good as the 1st try. If the fact is 2nd try will be worse, then what for we have FET? No point waste time and $.

Dun bother about your RE's comments. Must have confidence and think positive also

gals,

though I din do IVF myself... but I think the success or outcome of the procedure truly depends on more than one factors... not just the quality of the embryo, your own condition at the cycle,

such things to me is "tian shi di li ren he". No single factor contribute to the success or failure.

just like I agree that your own mood during the cycle whether stressed or not also can contribute to outcome... but it will not be the sole reason why u succeed or fail.

I know of people who are extremely stressed,anxious (who wouldnt) during the cycle who succeed too. Just like there are also people who are pronounced infertile and even ivf fail, but yet still conceived naturally...

just be in the best condition u can be in and optimise your chances... this is the best u and caregiver can do. do our best and let God do the rest. my opinion only.

Hi Novem,

As what the other gals and my gynae had say, FET chances can be as good as fresh cycle. I read on some IVF sites and there were ladies who failed in their fresh cycle and still suceed in their FET. Today, medical so advance wan, u must have faith in the treatment, ok?

Hi Novem

I can understand the confusions and worries you may go thru' now. But sometimes we just need to have faith in God and take action. Easily said than done but then what is the alternative there is. Please don't stress yourself. Relax and pray hard.

I'm new in this thread & would like to seek your advices.

Just went to KKH yesterday & was told that my husband's sperm count is very low. Doc proposed for us to go for ICSI.

I thought that I will be able to take it (coz' I really want a child very much) but after hearing the briefing from the staff nurse, I'm quite fearful. I do not know what I should do & what will be coming (emotionally/mentally/physically) if I agree to proceed. I'm fearful of the procedure but I can't wait to have a child of my own.

Don't know who I can speak to for encouragement/advises, so decided to see if anyone of you, esp those who'd been thru' this, will be able to help me out.

I'm really at a loss here. Pls help!

Hi Vonvon,

Go for it, your case is common, i think chemistry's husband also has this problem and she was able to conceive on her first attempt of ICSI (correct me if i'm wrong chemistry)

Going through ICSI is not so difficult, the hardest part is the two weeks waiting for the result and how you will handle the result if it's negative.

The daily jabs, scanning, retrieval, transfer is not so hard as it sounds. Another factor to consider is the cost, if you have the money, then by all means go for it. We all go through this because we have to try and not having a regret later in life that we miss the chance to conceive.

We are here if you have questions, i guess we are all "experts" in a way to answer you.

vonvon, i agree with berry. the procedure itself is not that 'painful' as compared to the 2 weeks wait. personally, i think u have to be very comfortable with your gynae (eg u trust his expertise, not hesistant to ask him questions...) and that will make the whole thing much less stressful. for me, i was very determined to go through the whole thing (ICSI)as my motivational factor of having a child of our own is very strong and we looked forward to each 'milestone'. Be positive thinking and with a gynae that u are comfortable with, it's not that difficult to go through. besides we'll be here to share our experience

Hi Vonvon,

I'm one of the sucess ICSI case in KKH and I'm now into my 11 weeks. I presume u have went for the counselling by the nurse. Not to worry, the process is not as scary or painful as it appears to be. As what berry said, most stressful part is the time waiting for outcome. Cost wise, it about $6K-$8K depending on the dosage of medication u need to stimulate the ovaries, but u can claim up to $6K from medisave. I always tell myself that if other ladies went thru it, so can I. As long as u are determined and postive about it, I'm sure u can go thru the treatment too.

At KKIVF, think u can chose any of the 3 gynaes there to handle your case. U won't get to see your chosen gynae very often, only 1 session of counselling, the egg retrieval and egg transfer process only. If u are lucky, u may get to see your gynae for your progress review if he or she is on duty.

Let me know if u need to know more.

Hi berry, westbb, & chemistry,

Thank you gals so much for making me feel better abt the whole thing. All of you sounds so encouraging & I really appreciate it.

You are right abt my fear for the injections. I'm terrified of needles. But to think of it, if I can't even withstand this little pain, how am I to go thru' the labour process.

My gynae is SF Loh from KKH. Only went to see him twice. Found him comfortable to speak to for the 1st time. However, when I visited him yesterday, didn't find it as comfortable as the 1st. He wasn't as encouraging abt my situation as all of you are.

I'm still not very sure of the entire procedure coz' the nurse did a rather quick briefing. Perhaps anyone of you can help to enlighten me?

By the way, which gynae did you gals go to?

chemistry....very happy to hear that you are one example of a success ICSI case. Congratulations on your pregnancy.

Hi vonvon,

My gynae is Dr SF Loh too and i'm seeing him for my pregnancy too. So far, for my case, he had been very encouraging. Did your husband go with you yesterday? I realised that usually, if your husband is around, he is a lot more chatty loh. Otherwise, he quite shy wan.

May i know do u or your hubby had any other problems other than the poor sperm count? For my case, my hubby had low sperm count and quality (3mil per ml and 3% normal forms). I was normal and below 30 yrs old. Dr Loh told us that our chance is good and indeed we suceed at 1st try.

As for the procedures at KKH, here it is:

(1) Blood test for both hubby and wife, and counselling by gynae and social worker.
(2) Start down regulation jab on day 21 for 2 weeks before scan and blood test
(2) Continue down regulation jab for a few more days till u are advised to start the stimulation jab.
(3) Start stimulation jab with down regulation jab for 7 days before scan. Therafter, the gynae will adjust the dosage based on your progress and usually need to take the jabs for another 3-5 more days. Scans will be done at 2 days intervals.
(4) When eggs are ready, u will stop all jabs and a HCG jab will be given to mature the eggs.
(5) Egg retrieval will be done 2 days later and egg transfer 2 days after egg retrieval.
(6) Wait for 17 days before pregnancy test. During this period, u will have to go back to kkh for jabs to support the lining.

Did i confuse u further? Anyway, the jabs are not painful at all. Dun worry.

Hi vonvon

Go for it!
Chemistry is exactly 1 good example. You will be in good hands
You can always come to us for anything - advice, encouragement and support!

To Chua_family2003

I noted that you have sent me a pte msg about IVF. However, I am not able to reply to your pte msg as you have chosen not to accept pte msg.

You can email to me at [email protected] should you do not wish to discuss IVF in this thread

chemistry...

My hubby went with me to see him yesterday. But I think he wasn't exactly in a chatty mood as he was when we saw him the 1st time.

Besides my hubby have low sperm count (6mil per ml...can't recall the % of normal forms), I also have irregular menses. Initially I thought the problem lies with me....so was on clomid (given by a GP) for a few months. Thereafter, the GP requested my hubby to go for a test just in case. It turned out to be his problem as well. So, we decided to seek the help of specialist, thus we went to Dr Loh. I've stopped clomid coz' can't take for too many months.

I do hope my chances are good coz' I'm also below 30 years of age.

Appreciate the simplified procedure. I find this clearer than what was explained at the briefing. I do have some questions:
- Is it a must to take a Rubella jab if I'm not immuned to it?
- Understand that for the blood test, I have to go down to KKH on day 2 or 3 of my menses (full bleed) without the need to make an appt. How long will it take from the moment I reach to the time I do the test?
- And for the rest of the visits back & forth KKH for scans or jabs, how long will each of them take? The reasons for asking is becoz' I may want to ask for time-off from my work if it's only a short wait. Need to know how it'll affect my job.
- Did you experience any side-effects from taking the jab?
- Was the retrieval of eggs or after the retrieval painful? The nurse mentioned to me that some may even be hospitalized due to the pain.

By the way, thanks for reassuring me that the jabs aren't painful.

tomatoes...

Thanks for your encouragement. My husband felt very bad that I may have to go thru' all these becoz' of him. Both of us thought it will be a very painful & stressful process. Will talk to him & show him what all of you have helped to encourage me. Most likely I will go for it.

Hi vonvon,

Yest, I saw Dr Loh too, but he was quite ok leh. He is a very nice gynae, and if u observe, he is the only gynae that pushes the scanning machine to his room at Clinic D and does scanning personally. Other gynaes will usually refer u to another dept for scanning. He also check my hubby for varicocele personally instead of referring us to the andrology clinic. So don't worry, u are in good hands.

I was all the while positive and keen to the IVF treatment. I didn't shed a tear in front of my hubby or express my fear to him even though I was upset about having to go thru IVF to conceive. To be frank, I was a bit scare, but after having gone thru it, there is really nothing to fear about. So u have to be strong, okie?

Ans to your qns:
- It's not a must but better to take if u are not immuned to it

- They just take your blood sample and u call 1-2 days later for results. So very fast, about 10 mins wait.

- Scanning starts at 8am sharp. If u are the 1st few patients, usually wait at most 15-30mins for the scan. However, the gynae in charge reviewing your progress is only in at 8.30am, so may have to wait for another 30mins. Blood test/Jab usually very fast, at most 10 mins wait and u can go as early as 7.30am

- Only slight bloatedness during the stimulation jab, but it will go away within 2 weeks after egg-retrieval

- No pain during the process cos you will be put to sleep. I reacted ok to the egg retrieval. There were some gastric-like pain but bearable.

Do feel free to clarify your doubts. We are all here to share and support each other!

Hi Vonvon

Most important that your hubby is supportive
What we need most during the crucial and trying period is that we have our hubby's love and encouragement.

It will not be painful as you thought... the needles are very tiny and you will not feel it. KKH is using only pen injection which is very much painless. Furthermore, KKH is only charging half of what I paid in Gleneagles.

Of course, like what they said, the most stressful period is the 2 weeks wait. But try to stay as cheerful and positive as possible (juz try) and it will make the whole process much easier for you and your hubby

Since the problem only lies with your hubby's sperm, the chances will definitely be higher

Keep us updated of your progress hor

Hi chemistry & tomatoes,

Thanks for all the info & encouragements.

After hearing all these, I'm very much comforted & looking forward to taking this big step in life.

Will wait for my next period to come before I go for my blood test. Hopefully all is ok & that I can proceed immediately for the ICSI thereafter.

As for trying to stay cheerful & positive during the 2 weeks' wait, I think it's going to be kinda challenging as I'm the worried & anxious sort. Anyway, will try.

Will keep you gals updated of my progress. Really appreciate all of your advices. Thank you.

Some updates.... I went for my beta HCG test yesterday. And the result is I'm pregnant!!! Both hubby and myself are very happy indeed!

I wish all the gals who are going to start or in the midst of the procedure SUCCESS and All the very Best!!!

Hi ICSI

Dat's a great news!!!
Congratulations!! Wish you have a happy 9 months

Btw, did you conceive naturally or your went thru IVF?
(Sorry I may not have followed some of the postings)

chemistry,

Understand that you can choose the number of embroyos to be implanted into you. How many did you implant?

The staff nurse told me that for my age, the max is 3 coz' I'm still young.

Hi ICSI

Congrats & do take good care during this period! When u going for scan?

Hi Vonvon,

We can put up to a max of 3 embryos only. The remaining ones will be stored by the hospital.

Hi ICSI, wonderful news for the new year
congratulations.. do share with us again on our next checkup! can't wait to see multiples in this thread :p i remember u did it at KKIVF, vonvon78 - here's another success story to spur you on

Hi tomatoes, chemistry, westbb,
I consider myself very lucky to be able to succeed on the 1st try!!!

Will be going for the scan 2 weeks later (date not fixed yet). Yap, I did it at KKIVF. So vonvon78, do go for it! Hope you'll oso succeed on your 1st try!!!

Hi Berry, Chemistry, Tomatoes,

so touch that you all sound so encouraging, I am waiting for the blood test result for FET cycle, will keep you all updated

Hi ICSI,

congratulations! so happy for you
. May I know who's your RE? I may need to change RE as mine is going into private practice. Take good care...

my 1st post here.

I am told that I might need to go into IVF from my gynae. Very worried.

Besides the pain ...maybe I can bear with it, the cost, we can try to raise, but do we need to take a lot of time off per cycle???

I am quite tied up at work and I don't have a lot of leave to take, can anyone advise if you need a lot of time to go for all the processes?

Hi annie,

if cost is really a concern for u, then maybe u may want to try doing it at KKH or NUH cos they are a lot cheaper than pte gynae. U can also claim up to $6K from medisave for your 1st try, but have to come out with about $3-4K first and later then they refund the diff to u.

As for timing , if your office allows u to take time off, at most u will only need to take a day leave for the counselling session. The rest of the scan, review etc will not take u more than an hr per visit. All in all, the no of visits prior to egg retrieval is about 5 to 6 times only. But u must be prepare to go on MC for about 10 days after egg retrieval.

chemistry,

10 days of MC?? Wow...that's a lot...will your condition be that bad after the egg retrieval process? Did your supervisor/boss know that you went for IVF before you went on MC?

I'm not sure if I would want to communicate with my boss on this intention of mine before I start the procedure. This is one of my concern.

Regarding the no. of embryos, would like to know how many you have implanted in you. Am I right to say that the more is implanted, the higher your chance of conceiving? What happens if you have all 3 implanted, chances of having triplets will be high as well?

I can't wait to start the blood test and the process but my menses are rather irregular and I will have to wait for my next period before I can embark on this 'journey'.

Hi vonvon,

10 days of MC is the max KKH will give. In fact, pte gynae may give 2-3 weeks MC. The period after egg transfer is crucial and we should take thing easy during this period. That's why they give us MC to rest. Physically, I felt pretty normal after the egg retrieval/tranfer. My boss is not aware that I was on IVF. I just tell him I'll be on long MC due to a minor op.

As for no of embryos, I tranferred 3, but only 1 implanted. The more u transfer, the higher the chance of implantation, but that will also means, higher possibility of multiples (i.e. twins, triples). In S'pore, MOH has limit to max no of embryos to transfer at 3 or 4 only.

Hi chemistry,

Gee....at which point in time did you know that 1 had successfully implanted? The day you went for the pregnancy test when they did a scan for you? I can imagine how delighted you felt when the test was positive.

Yah...I think it's pretty crucial to take things easy & rest well during this period to ensure that everything turns out the way we hope it will be.

I'm very thankful to have joined in this thread coz' now I feel very encouraged by all of your success stories. I hope I can add on to these success stories soon.

Thank you gals!

Hi vonvon,

We only know the no implanted during the scan which is scheduled 2 weeks after the pregnancy blood test. I'm grateful that at least 1 implanted though I don't mind twins.

Dun think to deep about the IVF treatment. Just take a step a time when the treatment start. U will realise that it's quite simple afterall. So u decided which gynae to go? Have u gone for the counselling session by the social worker and gynae?

hi chemistry,

thanks for your reply.

yeap, cost will be a concern to us, we have to work that out if we really need to do it.

besides work, I also don't want to let my boss/colleagues know about it, that's why I wonder whether it's possible to "hide" from them. because all the married women in my office all conceived naturally, I feel a bit sad about my case ... well ...I will have to get on with it if I need to.

I guess the MC will be hard for me to "explain" also ... but ...will have to find a way.

sorry, just to clarify, the 10days mc is after the egg transfer or egg retrieval?

Hi annie,

The MC starts upon egg retrieval.

Actually, nowadays IVF is a very common treatment. There is nothing to feel embarass about. In fact, most of my closer colleagues are aware that I went thru IVF and are very supportive. In fact, they even take care of my diet, kept reminding me to eat well during the treatment.

hi chemistry,

I am not pai seh, but my colleagues are quite kpo type ...work with them is ok, but personal level not very ok as they like to gossip a lot.

I don't want to be their topic of gossip that I went for IVF ...really hate it.

so how long after the retrieval will the eggs be transferred to our womb, is it the same even for ICSI??