Hi Earthling,

between which hospital are you in now for IVF, I am at KKH. Will only be seeing doctor on my result on 26 Mar due to appointment full even though i have finsih all my test.

HI Jane, I am going with KKIVF. thanks for the info, if so will try to schedule my first appt with dr during my menses D2-4 to save trips for all the tests required. Hopefully can conduct as many as possible during my appt then!

I called yesterday, the earliest appt given was 27Mar, but guess I have to schedule on early Apr.

Does dr Loh reject anybody who wans to try ivf treatment?

Hi Earthling,

Blood test must be done on Day 2 of yr menus. dont think can do on day 3 or 4.

I am under Dr loh also, dont think he will reject anyone if you are unable to conceived naturally.

Hi Jane, any pte message settings can send message to u? haha new to this, dont know hw to send pte messages?

I called KK and the lady said D2-4 can go down will save me some trips lei? A malay lady I think...

HI Jane, cannot lei. the message says "Sorry, but the user you have selected does not accept private messages. "
Hee I tried mine too, cannot oso. Dont know where to do settings to allow pte messages?

Hi Orangey, I am also seeing Dr Loh as private. Got can get subsidy from government but just that need to pay slightly more during each consultation. One of the lady mentioned before that it is about $20 - $30 more only.

Don't be scare by the needle. I also self inject for 1 weeks for lucrin injection. Ask your hubby to inject for you if you are scare. The poking of the needle into your tummy is really no pain.

Hi Chris, initially I can't take the dosage. Too painful for me. But now better after the tips from humbug and also got once my hubby slowly inject the purgeon into my tummy. The pain is not so great. Previous few times, he inject very fast as he hope to quickly get it done so that I can rest. But the biting pain is terrible. So now he slowly inject until I told him to inject slightly faster (when I start to feel the biting pain when he is injecting the remaining 200 dosage).

Ask your hubby don't inject too low at the tummy. Got once I injected the lucrin myself and I injected too low, I got blue-black. So now I don't inject too low. I will tell my hubby where to inject so that I feel comfortable when he is injecting. If he choose the spot, I will feel uncomfortable and will feel pain.

I'm counting down to seeing Dr Loh tomorrow too!!! Hopefully my eggs grow well.

Jia you!!! I can endure it till today is bcos of my hubby's support and all the nice ladies' encouragement here. So press on.. we can all do it!!

Hi Greenie, previously I did all the scans and tests at private hospital as I am seeing the gynea there. The gynea want my hubby and I to go through all the tests and scans. My hubby did the sperm test too. So Dr loh will advise you accordingly when you see him

Hi Lina, pregynl injection is which stage? So now you don't need to inject purgeon anymore? Now more used to purgeon dosage liao. Not so painful as finally got the hang of it. Tomorrow seeing Dr Loh.. enduring 1 more day.. hee..

Boon Boon, after the day surgery you won't want to go for gym or do any exercise. Bcos for me, I can still feel pain at abdomen after the operation. Not very painful but uncomfortable. I don't use much strength to do anything for that 1 week as I will feel pain if I use too much strength. Maybe bcos I am very skinny. Body more weak. But Best to rest well. You will be given 1 week HL.

Hi earthling, so far I have injected Lucrin for 28 days (including tonight injection). For purgeon, including tonight injection will be 7 days. You have to continue Lucrin injection when you are doing purgeon injection.

Micky, thanks

After going through so much injection, it is really our hope to strike!!!

Hi Micky and Baby,

Yeah lor, hopefully my hubby dare to inject for me lah. Hahaha... Btw, I just switched my Doctor from Dr Kelly Loi to Dr SF Loh! Will be going down on 25th March!

HI Jane, emailed you liao. hope u receive

HI Orangey, gd luck and keep me posted abt your appointment. I will want to make an apppointment veri soon.

HI baby, thanks for the advice. it means you are done with all the injections proceeding to eggs extraction soon? 28days is veri longggggg.... How did u make it? Any pain relieving techniques? Read from some, theres aching sensation, pain, etc. How did you managed to be so positive?
Hope your eggs growing well well!

Hi baby,
pregynl injection is just a day before ER. This is injected into the thigh at the 24 hours clinic at night. Quite pain after injecting this.

equin0x - this is the test i mention ytd ... it is optional but it will be gd to do it according to my doctor

HBA® Sperm-Hyaluronan Binding Assay

The HBA Sperm-Hyaluronan Binding Assay is an important new tool for urologists, sperm banks, embryologists, fertility clinics that can be used to diagnose previously unexplained male infertility and to select the best course of treatment when Assisted Reproductive Technologies (ART) is indicated.

The HBA assay makes it possible to by-pass in vitro fertilization (IVF) in cases where the lack of mature sperm predicts that approach would be unproductive. In those cases, one can move earlier to other techniques, such as intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) avoiding needless and unproductive IVF cycles which are burdensome, cost up to $10,000, and result in needlessly delaying the start of pregnancy.

The HBA assay is easier to use, less expensive and more reliable than any other assay currently in use.

Indications for Use:
As a component of the standard analysis of semen in the diagnosis of suspected male infertility
As a component of analyses for determining the proper course of IVF treatment of infertility

Hey! Baby,

Im starting my stage 2 is fri!!! Nurse didnt mention anything abt hormone level high or low. She said all normal so come down on fri. How's ur puregon stage coming along? 7 days sud be up soon rite..Any bloatedness?

Hey! Lina,
U starting on pregynl injection already? All the best ya.. *baby dust*

To all newbiees,

Welcome to the thread

Thanks Earthling. I'll keep you posted
What are the blood tests that you mentioned earlier?

So far I think I only did ovulation and hormones blood tests. Hubby did sperm test already.

HI Orangey, am not sure but heard we have to hav blood tests to determine alot things rite, like our hormonal levels etc, all these via the blood test rite?
Understand that after the blood test on day 2 of menses, then comes D21 again we need to blood test. Am not sure what this all about as I have not been to my first appt yet.
All from my "research" so far.

So your visit on 25Mar is to after all the tests and dr going to see you to evaluate and administer injections liao?

Oh..I think I did those tests in Specialist Clinic C and retests again when I got transferred to Clinic D. Hubby was also asked to do a sperm test in both Clinics.

I went to KKH for my IVF registration last Friday. The staff nurse went through the procedures and we have to sign a few documents. Doctor left already so we scheduled another appointment to meet up because Dr need to sign also. Was assigned to Dr Kelly Loi then decided to switch to Dr SF Loh.

I think my next appointment will be Dr SF Loh signing on the documents ba and then I will start the BCP to induce menses?

Just wondering if you girls can advise.
Since I was already given a slot in June, but now I have switched Doctor and is now converted to a Private patient. Do I need to re-slot? I hope not

I hoping to get earlier slot actually.

Orangey, no worries. When your hubby see you so brave to go through all the injections, he will be brave enough to inject for you!

Hi earthling, I am not done with all the injection. Still have to hear what Doc advise when I see him tomorrow. Hopefully my egg is responsing well to the purgeon. Else I think got to continue leh..

I stay positive due to hubby's support and encouragement from ladies here. No pain for lucrin injection. So no worries. Don't be scare by the needle. As for purgeon, I took the ladies' advises - drink more water, don't press too hard after the injection, gently rub the injected area to keep it warm. Relax and don't be too tense up. I realized that the pain is not so great when I relax and muscle not so tight. If you purgeon dosage is not so high, then shouldn't have much pain. My dosage is high so biting pain can be quite painful for me. But these 2 days better liao as I think my body got used to it. Inject the purgeon slowly is definitely better than rushing it into my tummy. Once you start your lucrin & purgeon injection, feel free to PM me any doubts

Lina, pregynl injection is used to release the egg isn't? You are going for your ER tomorrow? Great!!! So happy for you.. you are promoting to stage 3 super soon.. Enjoy your 2ww!

Itjabi, great to hear that you are starting your stage 2 soon.. how many days of lucrin have you been injecting so far? The nurse also never mention anything to me. I just ask her how come my dosage is so high and she told me my eggs are too little, so doc gave me high dosage. I checked my FSH based on my last year BT result and realized that my FSH is high. That's why high dosage.

During stage 2, I feel weak & tired, hungry every mins (even after a full meal). No craving for food, no appeitie for food. I think no appeitie is due to bloatness bah. Bcos I always feel hungry but don't feel like eating. But yet still can finish every meal. Bcos if I don't eat, I have no energy. Initially, I have abdomen pain, sometimes poking sharp pain and have to walk slowly. I have nausea feeling at night sometimes but these 2 nights okay!
I called the nurse as I am scare I will have OHSS but she told me the symptoms are normal, just don't think too about it. So I don't let it bother me so much now. I drink a lot of water and it helps. So do drink more water as you will feel warm.

Orangey, I think if you switch to private, can get earlier slot leh. Check with the nurse if you can see Dr Loh earlier.

Yah lor.. just now when I called in to change doctor.. the staff told me Dr Loh earliest date is 25th March.. Hopefully he can give me an early slot to start my IVF journey. Hehe...

Heard that Dr Loh's success rate is very high? Very excited yet a bit nervous..

hi dosb
thanks for the reassurance...haha... wish all the best too

hi lina
gd luck to u tmr...will u also under GA?

hi Micky
my BT is on 20march..how abt urs?
do u have any signs and symptoms during ur last 2 pregnancy(i mean the 2ww)...u have gum bleeding? i can only think of either u brush to hard or ur brushes is too hard....try to get those softer one... if not due to tis reasons, just eat more greenfy leafy vege, high in iron ma...my fren (she is oso went thru ivf with tripplet) told me as long as u dun see any bleeding on ur panty can liao...

wish baby dust to all of us

Hi! I am new in tis thread but am now expecting my first bb from 100% ICSI (1st cycle).

Many friends fr diff hospital feedback:

Re: Govt subsidies: only if you put in 2 embryos, if decided to put 3, you are not qualified for the subsidies (now you may want to weigh what is better, if you are younger and has 2 best grade embryos, no harm as the success rate is higher than those who are older and with only 2nd grade embryos. If this is worth claiming the 3k or chance of success?

Many feedback on Govt/ restructured hospital:
long wait, less personalized service, after embryo transfer, med personnel tell you you can get off the bed which if not the same in the private. If you opt to go govt/restructure hospital, and are experiencing the same, please tell the nurse or doc that you are not ready to get off the bed..

I am advocate for IVF/ICSI in pte hospital cos my experience as compared to friends who went govt/restructured hospital thinking that they will get the 3k subsidies are extremely diff. You may ask why 100% ICSI? I think it may be because the reason why we cant conceive for many years was because as we aged, the outer layer of our eggs may become tougher.. A gf went to KK and out of the 10 eggs, only 3 succesfully fertilized and only 1 grew. And with the one and only, her IVF $$ went down the drain and left with disappointment.

I usually spent between $70 and $120 for pte doc consultation (specialist and head of fertility) while my gf paid $120 for the specialist in Govt/restructured hospitals) Do you really think there is a saving?

You may opt for class A but are the service you are getting class A? That is if the staff are trained to provide class A service? The best illustration I can tell you is this: if you are traveling on economy class airline which is reputable for their cabin service vs traveling in the first class of an airline which is well-known for giving lousy service. I feel that we should not pay for anything extra knowing that they may not be able to deliver.

Many will recommend their doctors but do you know it is also the embryologist of the hospital that determine the success of your IVF/ ICSI?

This is my 2cents and wish you well and success!

God bless!

tnt, I read before that gum bleeding is another symptom of pregnancy (if you do not normally have gum bleeding problem)

hi baby,
reali ah? wow...very interesting...
anyway my another gf(who is underwent ivf and got tripplet) told me tat she dun have any bleeding from anywhere la.. ha,,
now u r in stage 2 liao ah? wish u feel more comfortable...best of luck.

Hi Kimberly, congrats

It's really depends on individually as I have bad experiences with private hospitals. Spent a lot of money over the years seeing private gynae and I find that my money are gone down the drain. Good things for private hospital is that, the gynaes are more contactable & it is a 1-stop centre.

IVF is not a 100% success in all hospitals. So far KKH success rate is high, so it is still worth giving it a try with the govt subsidy now.
And I heard that the embryologist of the KKH is good, as compared to some private hospitals.

For me, going to KKH is not on saving the money but bcos my hubby and I are disappointed with private hospital gynaes. So far, I am happy with KKH nurses and doctor and I feel comfortable with them.

Hi tnt, gum bleeding is rare as most people don't have this symptom.
So far only heard a few got it. So if really got any gum bleeding during 2ww, it might be a good sign

I read from website before.. 100% ICSI is done when the hubby's sperm is not good.
Need ICSI to assist the sperm to penerate into the egg as it does not have the ability to penerate into the egg on its own.

hi baby, thanks for your advice!
hope your appt tmr with Dr will have good news!
this is your 1st attempt?

btw, I read from KK website, they have 2ways either is ICSI or 'natural' rite? So the ivf in KK do not do ICSI if sperms are weak, or based on indl responses then they decide?
If ICSI sure work, why is this not the default way huh?

I am new here. Been trying for 3 years with 3 rounds of failed clomid lately. Would like to go further on IUI/IVF. I am currently with Dr. Chen who own a gynea clinic in ponggol. I am not sure on how she's able to help on IUI/IVF, as I believe it would be better to go to hospital? Can anyone advice how to go about this? And which is better? pte hospital or govt hospital? As I can read from above postings, there are a number of you with Dr. Loh SF from KK. How do I make appointment to see him directly? Thanks alot for you help. Sorry for asking so many questions... :p

Hi everyone.. went for my daily progesterone jab at KK this morning and had sad news to share with the nurses..

Had some staining this morning. couldn't tahan, burst into tears in the toilet.. so paisey.

just feeling down at the moment, today is day 13, way too late to be implantation bleeding. ;-(

krisz
don't be upset, all is not lost yet.

Toey
It depends on invidual i guess U must be comfortable with the doc

baby / tee
don't know abt gum bleeding, but i certainly hope its a gd sign. no change of toothbrush so far.
My blood test is on coming Monday...ANXIOUS!

Hi Toey ,

Welcome to this this forum.

Ptd or Gov Hospital is all depent on your preference most of us here are with Dr Loh in KKIVF we are ther partly because of the Gov grant but of course we do have sisters from Pte then switch to Gov Dr Loh.

you can call KK then tell them you wanna see Dr Loh for the very 1st time if i am not wrong the appointment is till april liao so if you are really kin on it better pick up your phone now.

No worries feel free to ask anything you like to know all ladies here are very helpful

Hi Tany, yah, staining has stopped but my AF has always been like dis one.. stain for a few days, then bingo!

DH says just wait for BT on Mon but the nurse did suggest, if i want to, can take BT tomorrow and see if +tive or -tive.

Will try to stay positive! Thanks!

Krisz,

Hugzz to you cry it out if you need to is ok dear, but after all the crying have to be strong and keep trying. Must have faith.

*sniffs*
Thanks, fairy rose.. bawled out on DH's pillow earlier on. hehe, hes gonna be wondering why his pillowcase is so soggy.

Good excuse to change the bedsheet!

Krisz ,

No matter what happen tomolo or Monday i wish you best of luck , dont worry too much you have did your best and now leave the rest to the above.

Love you

Krisz ,

yap let it out if you need to , you will feel better in a way, i am going to start the riding in May and from day 1 (aug 08) i have been telling myself i will give myself 3 try if still cannot then i will stop, i am not trying to be negative but to prepear myself for the worse if the cycle fail ...... well that is life i guess it will never go according to what we have planed.