thanks Lina !

Hi sierra, i put in 2 embryos upon advice from the embryologist. This is also what I want. 3 is too many for me at this point in time.

Dear LFB

Thanks for the info. I plan to only inform bosses only after I started my injection and needed the info for advance planning. I would think overseas business trip during ER and after ET are strongly discouraged.

Hi nancy,

yes I do remember you.
I am fine. All the best. Babydust to you!

Dear Bee,

when we do our ER and ET, it's best we get ample rest and though bedrest is not compulsory, it is recommended for us to be stess free and rest. I had blessings from my 3 bosses and had full 2 weeks of rest. After the test, was instructed again to rest. I dunno abt your bosses, but mine were super understanding. To me, it is just fair to inform them as we may be off longer than we can plan. The fact that I took such a long period of rest showed their support. All the best.

Hi all , i am new here. Just to share with u that i have my ET on 22/12/08 with Dr SF Loh at KK. Just stay cheerful and positive to succeed ! Just got a call from KK that i am confirm pregy and most prob. twins .. just hope all get stablise..

Just stumbled upon this thread again (old gal of this thread, hahah!) My IVF journey started end June 2007 and got a BFP in August and although I only put 2 in I was blessed with triplets. (yup one of them split!) My babies are 10 months old now.

Just want to encourage you ladies here be optimistic, be strong, be brave. I didn't have much eggs - ER only 7 eggs, out of which only 5 were ICSI, 3 days later only 3 were ok. And put in 2 and 35weeks later came out 3!

Like you I also "wished" for multiples so that can close shop liao! But when I was pregnant reality sets in that multiples are high risk pregnancy and that everyday you fear them not growing well, no space, fighting for resources... so for those who got pregnant with 1 baby pls don't be "disappointed" ok? Besides you need $$ to take care of multiples as well. Either 2 maids, higher fees for confinement lady, hospitalisation bills, double or triple baby stuffs to buy.... as it is we "bleed" a lot of money for IVF in the first place!

All the best!! Lots of babydust to you!!!!!!!

i just did ER today... ahh still achy... i only got 6 eggs.
Transfer is on sat...
wish me luck.
develyn, congrats on twins..
lefthander... dun tell me you are the one and only cause kkh came acrosee...put 2 in and got 3 babies!!

Lina,
I just had my 2nd trimester detailed scan this afternoon. Finally know that baby is a boy.(always thought is a girl)
He is growing well and healthy, I am happy and thankful.

Mel,
wonder how you are getting on lately? Got to know babies' gender already?

It really feels so blissful and comforting to see my baby again since last scan which was more than 1 month ago. My mood is soooo good today again!

bliss - hi.. Yup, I went for detailed scan last Friday.. Found out that I'm carrying twin boys.. Agree with you that it's cute seeing the babies.. My boys are really active.. They keep kicking each other... I nearly blacked out during the scan... Compression syndrome... Had to stop the scan, get some water, and incline the bed more... Bit it was worth it to see the boys fighting... Hee...

To all new and old gals... Hihi... I'm silently on this thread rooting for you girls... Really wish that everyone will graduate here with beanies to call their own... May 2009 be a good year for little ones!! May all of us become 'cow peh and cow bu' s of little cowlets!! (I know I know... Calves... I just thought that cowlets sound nice)

Stay happy and positive, everyone!!

Hi Ros,

I have not been logging in here for some time. You are doing your IVF in April rite? Are you taking NPL during this period or just make use of the HL of 60 days that's entitled to us? Share with me how you cope with injections while working at the same time, ok? Coz I am trying to time mine in June, if my AF reports regularly.

To all ladies out here,

Happy New Year and may this year of the ox bring bundle(s) of joy to you and your DH!

I have been following this thread and finally decided to post - can do with some support!

Am doing my 2nd IVF with Dr.Loh at KKH - 1st was at Mt.E, where there were 14 follicles, 11 embryos on day 1, and only one remained on day 2 The previous Doc said she had never seen such a case. (Have any of you had such an experience?)

I then moved to Dr.Loh, as I heard a lot of praise for him on these boards. Am in my puregon phase of the 2nd IVF cycle now - will go on saturday for the day 7 scan. Hope the follicles are growing at a steady pace!

wish everyone here good luck!

Mel,
your twins so active and cute!

Can imagine how exciting it is to see them 'fighting'.
You are very cute too, what ' cow peh cow bu'... hahaha!
Take good care huh.

Hi Sierra79,
Dun dishearten. I have tried 3yrs plus then finally decide to take IVF. And currently i am pregnant almost 22wks.
During ER, I got 25 eggs and can fertilized abt 12 eggs (5 eggs grade 4, 7 grade 3).
I put 2 eggs of grade 4 and manage to conceive twins.
But I lost one of my twins during my 10wks pregnancy.
No eggs then you can not proceed ET. I think you need to consult to your Doctor what is the next step you need to do.

Anyway, dun worry so much. do one step one step hehehe ...
Hope that you can concieve before you start IVF ^_^

Hi Jas, Sierra79,
My doctor also advise me to put 2 embies if your age is below 35. Hehehehe....

Jas, that means you are officially in 2ww. Congratulations.
Do you take the progesterone jab or the tablet during 2ww?
Keep us update on your result oh... ^_^

Hi Jas

All the best to you on your ET. I did mine yesterday. Dr Loh was very fast with the whole procedure. Take care.

Hi Josephine, Mel, Bliss, Lefthander, Develyn
Congrats to all. Your good news certainly gives me more positive thoughts .

Hi Lina / Josephine , thanks ... ! Now i am still abit nervous as i can only hear the heartbeats when i see Dr Loh on 23/01. Kind of stressful.. Many of the GPs outdise has said that Dr Loh has golden fingers.. hopefully mine will went thru' smoothly.

im another newbie here on stage 2 of ivf, just wanted to say hi.

fingers crossed - my day 8 scan is next week so I'm just behind you!

develyn, lefthander, and all who have shared their success stories - thank you for helping to keep our hopes up.

to all on their 2ww - so exciting! looking forward to hearing more good news soon!!

Hi Jas , i just read the part that you have ET tomorrow. Ok, just to share my experience with u. Ensure that your bladder is full. When you goes in for the transfer , it takes only 5-10 mins. However , i realise that KKIVF unless Gleneagle. My cousin is allow to stay at titl position for half an hour but KKIVF will tell you to get up once you finish ET. Just ensure that you tell the nurse that you request to stay at the position for another few mins. After ET , try to get cab driver / your hubby to drive slowly on uneven road / hump. When you reach home, try your best to stay in bed. I was advised by my cousin to put 4-5 pillows below my leg and let my leg rest at 40-45degrees - hmm for the next one hour or so. Rest well and try to eat "qing tan" foods like fish porriage/noodles.. Remember to buy the warm water bag from guardian and ensure that you keep your abdominal warm. All the best & do keep us posted. !

Hi Cribby ,

Jia you ! Just stay positive... Will keep you all posted once i have my ultrasound..

To those who are doing IVF at KK, please do not compare with Gleneagle or Thomason..etc private hospital on the no. of eggs retrieval. Puregon might not response better than gonoF but is safer on risk of OHSS. If it is yours, it will be all yours. ! Best Of Lucks Ladies.

Hi lefthander77,
thanks for your encouragement. Glad that we have success case to give us support. How are you managing with your triplets now?

Hi jas,
all the best for your ET.

Hi bliss and Mel
so happy for both of you. Boys, that's great. Normally boy will be smaller in size, so your tummy will not show very big till later stage. Your beauty will not be affected as heard that girls will affect the pregnant mom's beauty during pregnancy. Boys are more active and you might feel the kicking earlier. Do enjoy when you feel the first kick, will be a very exciting moment. Are you going to sign up for prenatal course? will be helpful to attend one.

Actually i heard that IVF will most probably produce boys (slightly higher chance due to the active male sperm). So indeed is true.

Hi fingercross and cribby,
welcome to the thread.

Hi develyn,
thanks for your advise on the comparison of the different hospital egg retrieve. I always thought puregon is about the same medication as gonolF.

oh yes i need to ask ladies with kkh, can you call them day after ER to ask how many embryos you have? I am wondering if i should give them a call to see how many fertilized :p

oh lina, i heard otherwise from you.. i heard ivf normally produces baby girls cause the female sperms can last longer... hehe strange.... thanks everyone for all the good lucks

lina,

ya you are right, my tummy is still not that big. But I guess Mel's tummy should be quite big since hers is twins.

Btw, unlike Mel, I still dont really feel baby's movement so far. Still quite confused what it is when I feel flutterings or slight cramps or tightenings. Cant differentiate braxton hicks contractions and baby's movements yet. Will probably have to wait later to confirm baby's movement.
I really long to feel baby's kicking, heehee...

In the ivf MTB thread, the ratio of boys to girls is almost the same leh, so not sure of that.

Btw, your first kid is boy or girl huh? Thru ivf too?

Hi Jas,
You can ask the embryologist/nurse about your egg during ET. Last time, i ask the nurse and nurse inform the embryologist to talk to me abt my egg during/after ET.

Wish you all the best during ET. ^_^

Hi Jas , you can try to call KKIVF.. i tried two calls but they says they do not know and must wait for ET time. On ET , i only have two successful embryo by ICSI due to hard egg shells. No freezing for me.

Hi Lina , i have the same thinking also until i check the past forum record that those who done at Gleneagle especially response very well on GonoF. Like my cousin 38yrs old, got 24 eggs and 12 successful embryo for usage & freezing. Anyway, like Dr Loh said " you don't need to have many eggs but you just need to have quality eggs." So, i only have 3 big one and 5 small one .. pretty sad and neg. at that time. But hope all work out fine.

bliss - actually i think that my tummy is not big... my aunties all say quite small... but i'm surprised that one of my twins is above my belly button at last scan.. according to my gynae, my uterus is abt 30 cm.. equivalent to 30 weeks for singleton.. on the outside.. it is not that apparent..

develyn - good luck to you... lots of baby dust your way... heartbeat galore!!

lina, jas - hmm.. dun know abt the ivf producing boys or girls.. i still think that it is genes.. like my hubby, his side always stronger on the XY chromosomes.. so, i suspect that his sperm are higher on the XY bearing side.. hmm, i am sure that all of you agree with me.. for us girls here.. who have to resort to IVF after all our own little stories..
boy or girl dun care.. so long as have a healthy baby, we are all happy...
of cos i cross my fingers (legs and eyes and what nots) that all of you get whatever you wish for!! Jia You!! (hmm.. i'm kinda excited today.. must be the hormones..)

Hi Develyn & Lina,are u saying that for those who went to Gleneagle to do IVF, response better to GonalF & yield desirable results? who is the doctor that your cousin is seeing at Gleneagle?I'm so much curious to know will there make any different for those who use puregon against gonalF?does anybody here know who is the best IVF doctor I can refer to if i m interested to embark on that route?

Hi Mel , thanks ! :D

Hi Snow White , i am trying to say that GonalF do response more during ER (more eggs) and Gleneagle is using that and i guess Thomson Medical too. You may try to contact Dr Chan from Women specialist clinic. It really counts on your budget too.. hmm.. it does not mean that it will reduce the chance if you go KK but no. of eggs being freeze will not be as much as they are using puregon. I done mine at KKIVF and have twins. Ok, i give you some comparison below. Hope it helps u.

If you have budget, please note that only KKIVF have another $3000 subsidise by goverment. So far , i spend less than 2K cash for the whole process. $6000 by medisave, meaning total will be abt. $11,000 if there is no complication.

Dr Chan is a extremely great gyne. My cousin paid a total of $24,000 for whole process. $6000 by medisave so she paid $18,000 full cash.

Another comparison : KK only allow to transfer 2 embryo if you are using the 3K subsidise. Private places like Gleneagle/Thomson , you can transfer up to 3 embryo.

To me , Puregon or GonolF is the same.. as long as you get pregy , both jabs are equally good.
Puregon dosage low and lower the risk of OHSS. GonolF has slightly higher risk of OHSS if dosage is not control correctly.

Really hope it helps you to understand.

Hi jas,
oh more girls? ok, nevermind the gender. We need lots of babydust here.

Hi bliss,
i have a boy that is through several rounds of clomid.

Hi mel,
yes, totally agree. Doesn't matter how many girl or boy or gender. I find that all the ivf ladies here are so strong to go through this whole process and this is even tougher than labour pain.

Hi develyn,
thanks for your detail explanation.

Haha.. no worries.. really hope all of you get thru' .. i have been thru' the stage and quite confuse until i ask thousands of questions.. heez

Develyn

Your detailed explanation was very useful. Btw, what exactly is OHSS? I only know that it is something unpleasant. Do you have to wait very long to see the Doc at KK ? My past experience was at least 1.5 - 2 hrs to see a gynae. I am waiting to meet the fertility counsellor at TFC next weekend... seemed far... injection starts only after CNY, even further... :D

Jas, all the best during ET!

LFB, thanks for the advise. my supervisor gets a little freak out when i am away for too long. But I guess I just have to prepare him for that.

Hi Josephine,

THanks for the positive words! Just realised that I might have to redo all my blood tests. The ones I did with my previous doc in Raffles was way back in lates 2007. Heard that these blood tests (Day 3, Day 21 etc) is only valid for 6mths. ANy idea if this is true??

Haven't gone for my Day 3 blood test. Kinda worried now ... cos just realised that Day 3 blood test is pretty important in determining your egg reserves and to eliminate possibility of PCOS. Think I'd hit my head on the wall if the tests came back problematic. I should ahve done the test much much earlier and cleared that, but being away on oseas posting is making it so hard to commit to such tests!

BTW, if a woman has PCOS, can she still go through with IVF???

Am very heartened to hear all the positive results from the various ladies here. I certainly hope everything will be ok for me too, and May09 will come round with positive results from my ivf!

sierra79
Hello, Yes still possible to do IVF if patient has PCOS. Just that the doc has to be more careful with the injection phase has the doasge needs to be watched carefully to prevent OHSS. Jia YOu....all will be well.

Hi sierra79,

I think it would be the best you redo the blood test and do it after your overseas trip. So you can more concentrate with your IVF journey.

Yup, still possible to go through IVF with special care from nurse and your Doctor. Maybe your doctor will give you less dosage.

the most important is the commitment from yourself to go through IVF journey.

Good luck and wish you all the best. ^_^

Hi Josephine,

I put in 2 embryos. Total 7 nos. Remaining 5 freeze. Gr 4. I'm required to take antibiotics and inject Preynl on certain days. Enjoy your weekend

That time, you have any symptons before you know you are pregnant.