Hi Mystyy - Sorry for the very late reply. Been super busy since the school started. About your questions. I am not sure how I am going to handle the injections and working at the same time yet. I am taking it one thing at a time. I just want to get over my GnHR injections as soon as possible.

Once my period starts in April I will have to go for my blood works again on the 1st day of menses coz my 6 months period for the blood works is up. Then hopefully on the 21st day of my menses in April I can start Lucrin Injection. If I count properly my ER/ET could possible be the end of May which when the school is close then I will use the June holidays to rest. If I am bless and do get pregnant, I might make use of the 60 days HL to rest and wait till my 1st trimester is over. This is just my tentative plans. It might change depending on what obstacles I have next.

But being in a new school and all taking that 60 days hospitalisation leave is really not feasible. What more I am currently taking 3 graduating class. I guess I am letting nature takes its course.

hi lina,
nope i did not even ask them. it is a day 2 4 cell embryo.... just little disappointed that i only had one. but yup it only takes one to stick !

hi babylou,

i planned to do natural fet in march. will there be any injections? how much did u spend in all for ur natural fet? are u taking the 5 days mc.

thanks a lot and abundance of baby dust to u.

jas,
dont be disheartened or too worried. Have faith in your one little embryo. It will stick to you and grow up. I hope you will be filled with surprise and joy when the pregnancy result is out. Who knows, the little one might even split into two and become twins! :D Isnt that wonderful?
Think positively first, ok?

hi kaira,
thanks... can i ask you ladies... since ET yesterday, i keep having a crampy feeling and keep drinking water and going to pee... why is that so? good or bad?

hi bliss,
thanks... hehe i dun think i will get twins.. hubby and me do not have twins running on our family

Hi Josephine, Nancy

Thanks for the info! Ahh ... so it's ok for ladies with PCOS to still undergo ivf ya. That's good news. I hope my blood test will come up a-ok.

Yes, looks like I really have to redo my blood tests all over again. Heard that the Day 3 test is more important, and the Day 21 test can be skipped. Is this true? I did my HSG tube X-ray in late 2007 as well. That was cleared, no blockage. Do I need to redo the x-ray??

Also, For Day 3 blood test, is it ok if we have it done on Day 2 or Day 4 instead? Cos I might not be able to fly back on time to hit exactly Day 3.

Yes, the best would be for me to finish off my oseas posting before coming back to SIN and starting on ivf proper. But i can't wait anymore! I've waited almost 2yrs for this day! I don't think I can wait a moment longer, very eager to get this going and hopefully, hopefully be blessed with a baby finaly ...

Hi Sierra,
Don't worry, I also diagnosed with PCOS. I did the IVF and successful with the first attempt.

The Day 3 test for FSH and LH hormone, are used to check the ovarian reserve and if you suffered from PCOS. Understand this test can be done usually on Day 2 or 3.

The Day 21 test is to test for the progesterone hormone, that is check if you ovulated and if you have enough progesterone level to support the lining.

If you already planned to do the IVF, I though it's not necessary to do the HSG anymore. What did the doctor say about this?

I am sure you will blessed with your little one soon. Don't give up easily, it's not an easy journey. Good luck!

Hi Cale,

I've already done my Day 21 blood test (in 2007). I've only just recently decided to go for ivf and saw Dr Sadhana for the 1st time at KKH as I was previously with Raffles all along. I passed all my previous test results to her and she said I'm cleared to go for ivf. But I haven't taken my Day 3 test yet, and I was wondering whether she noticed that the dates for my previous tests were in 2007. So I'm writing in to her again to confirm.

Hence a tad apprehensive abt my Day 3 test, cos I realised it's a very impt test ... more so than Day 21 (progesterone) test =/ Not sure why also, my cycle has been a little off the past 2 mths. Still waiting for my period to come this mth ... when it does, will quickly fly back for my blood test.

But glad to know that you hit the jackpot on your 1st ivf try even with PCOS. Will pray hard that mine is all cleared too

Hi Kaira and Lina,
Thanks for your wishes.

Cribby,
Good luck for your day 8 scan!

My day 8 scan was okay I guess - 22 follicles in all, but a lot of them are very small. Nurse said that they look for 16+ size before ER. So, two more days of puregon and scan again tomorrow. Am worried coz of early signs of OHSS - if it looks worse they may not go ahead with the ET
Am so hoping thats not the case!

They don't seem to share too much info at KK - MT.E was better that way.

Hi Alyssa, my FET is natural so i did not have any injections. FET can also be stimulated, injections and tablets are needed. Whether you go for natural or stimulated FET will depend if you have regular ovulations. I think I've spent almost 3K now. I was given 2 week's MC but only took 1 day off last week and will likely take another 1-2 days off this week.

I am going for pregnancy blood test this thursday...I've been having cramps especially in lower abdomen and occasional backaches and an episode of hot flush last night. I can only hope for the best this thursday, thanks so much for the babydust!

Hi Sierra79,

Yeah the blood tests are only valid for 6 months. I've had to repeat mine too. Hubby HIV blood test doesn't need to be repeated, validity seems to be longer...the clinic didn't provide an explanation for this, anyone knows why?

develyn - thanks for the encouragement, not too long till you hear those heartbeats! hope you are enjoying every moment of your pregnancy!

hi lina thanks for the welcome!

fingers crossed - thank you! wow 22.. are you on a higher dosage? have you experienced any symptoms of OHSS? i haven't experienced symptoms of any sort so i'm anxious to find out my progress during the scan...
in any case i really hope things shape up well for you and that you get to move on to the ER soon!!

Hi babylou. All the best for your pregnancy blood test. Do share with us your results, hope it'll be +ve for you

BTW, I have several other queries which I hope you ladies could help me with.

i)how many follicles/what size follicles are required before ER?

ii) If follicles aren't up to the desired size/no yet, we'll have to continue with puregon?

iii)what grade eggs do we have to maintain to go through with ET? And how are these grades like?

Sorry for the endless qns!

HI Sierra79,

Size of follicles should preferably be about 18mm before transfer. If it has not reached desired size, likely need to continue with puregon because mature follicles will produce better quality eggs.
I heard from the nurse that up to grade 3 embryos can proceed with ET.

Hi Ladies, going to take my day 3 test this coming week and then start on lucrin in early Feb if the blood tests are cleared. Hubby travels alot most of the time and I am not sure if I should get his sperms freezed for 1 whole year or per attempt?

Is there some "dummies guide" to ivf available?

Hi Kaira,
symptoms.. i guess i eat & drink a lot during 2ww. Then after 2ww, I start no appetite and got morning sickness.
But, that time I do not required to inject pregnyl on certain day. I only inject Progrestrone for 2ww. Actually the nurse got ask me whether i want to choose tablet or jab. I prefer to choose the jab. Hehehehe ^_^, so you are officially in 2ww. Congratulations... ^_^

Hi Jas,
What did the doctor? what is the grade?
I think although is only 1, it is worth to try.
Just think positive and happy.
If you the embryo is mature outside for extra couple days it is possible that your embryo can split to 2 (the procedure called Blastocyst). But it is quite risky cos the egg might not survive.

Hi Sierra79,
Yup, the day 3 test is more important.
For Day 21, i am not so sure what is the test for. hehehe i can not remember that i got test on day 21. hmmm hsg tube x-ray, i never do this one also. I only do larascopy before i start the IVF journey as doctor requested. Maybe you can consult to your doctor.
Dun think and worry too much. Just do it one step on step and enjoy the IVF journey. Hehehehe ^_^. cheers....

Am new to this thread. Hope all your dreams comes true soon. I just had my embryo transfer. Unluckly out of eight eggs only one managed to get fertilised by icsi. I have on ttc for more than three years, tried all sorts of odds including clomid cycles, iui's and none seemed to worked for me. And now i am left with no other option than ivf. I am really worried as its always revolving in my mind.
All the best for everybody who is going through this journey!

Hi Josephine,

I certainly hope when my time comes to undergo ivf, I'll "enjoy" the process too! I guess for now I'm just worried about the what ifs. What if follicles never grow, what if eggs too little, what if eggs never fertilise, what if eggs never survive. Arrrggghhh! And I haven't even started the procedure! I really should think positive, but I also don't want to build myself up for disappointment ...

Don't know why these few months till May09 seems to literally C-R-A-W-L ... wish time could pass faster. Still waiting for my period to show up this month. Hope it comes soon so i can plan my flight back to S'pore for my Day 3 blood test. Argh! So much planning to do!

Hi all , sorry .. i slept thru' out my weekend

Hi Bee , you can find out on the web for OHSS symptons. Yes, it is a unpleasant and life-threatening symptons. Something to do with hyper stimulation. For KK visit , opt for private suite. Waiting period is much shorter. Only different is the consultation abt 20 more expensive than normal. (Abt $70) but u will definately get better service there.

Check out :
http://www.ivf-infertility.com/ivf/standard/complications/ovarian_stimulation/ohss.php

Hi Jas , your embryo grade should be 3.. Dun be sad that it is only one. I have 8 ER but only 2 sucessful embryo only. One of them is 4 cells walls and the same as you.. i am very negative at that stage. we will not know if the embryo grows faster when they enter our womb.. Mine are sucessful when ppl feels that it don't... Just stay positive... most importantly , keep yourself on bed as much as you can and eat more fish, meat & vege. Take your folic acid... Remember , stay on bed max. of your time for the next two weeks.. Best of luck !

ussualy cook half boil egg for how long?
Can we mix with egg yolk, eg 5 egg white and 1 egg yolk?

Kindly advice how all the ladies here eat the egg white, raw or half boil? only egg white or mix little egg yolk?

Can we add soy source and pepper or just plain without anything?

Thank you for your info to solve my confusion.

Jas,
it does not need to have family history of twins in order to have twins thru ivf. So it is really hard to say, your embryo might split into two leh.

Think of the bright side, of course still be mentally prepared for anything (i know this is extremely stressful and difficult).
All the best, just eat and rest well this 2WW. You have done what you can now. Jia you!

Jas, i strongly agreed with Bliss...we have all did what we can.. be positive..

Hi Prettiebaby, no problem to have 5 egg whites and one yolk.. try to eat hard boil egg instead to prevent any bateria.. That's what i hear from KKIVF nurse.. u can add soy sauce (not too much) and pepper for sure. :D

Hi Sierra79,
Yup, understand how you feel. Last time i also worried too much. Luckily my DH is understand and he always calm me down.
Just think on the bright side, at least last you have tried.
But we must mentally prepared if anything not happen like we wanted. Cheers. ^_^

Hi Chen,
Normally we eat hard boiled egg to prevent bloatedness and OHSS during/after IVF. You can mix the egg with protein powder if you want to. But dun eat it half boiled, it is not good cos might be still contains with live bacteria.

thanks for the encouragement. this 2ww is killing me, i am so bored now... ahh but 18 jan is my SIL wedding so i will be going to stay at hotel instead.
jo, yup at least there is one embryo so worth a shot.

develyn, ohh grade 3 ? is that good or bad? it is a day 2 4 cell embryo

bliss, ohhh erm i just hope my embryo sticks and i will be happy. dun need to be twins, but i am prepared for things to happen

jas - pls stay positive and happy...
generate a good enviornment for the embryo to encourage implantation... hmm.. not too sure if this works, but try to visualise the implantation and growth.. some MTBs in ang moh websites swears by it... well, i tried visualising it also..
and i'm preggy.. :p

Hi Jas , honestly i was told by my gyne that grade 3 should consider "slighly" poorer than average.. Just slightly .. However , anything can happen after transfer.. Strongly suggest that you stay on bed. If you need to go for the wedding , minimize walking and anything that exert your stomach muscle k.

Hi Melosdis, i need to check with you.. i am currently 6weeks pregy.. if no blood found, can i determine that my babies are still fine ? Or how can i determine that babies are in good condition ? Really nervous as i have to wait for 23/1 for ultrasound...

Hi develyn,
From 6wks-11wks, as long the fetus got the heartbeat is good enough. You will know the good condition when you do 1st mester scan (Down Syndrome) from 11wks-14wks.

Hi Jas,
Glad that you are happy. Well, be very careful oh on your SIL wedding. Dun knock with someone, dun walk to much, dun overtired entertain your in law family. Lets the embryo stick. ^_^
Wish you all the best. Btw, do you manage to talk to the embryologist? and how many egg that you retrieve?

develyn - i know that it is hard, but dun think too much.. for me, my body is very good at purging if anything goes wrong...
so, i get to know if the pregnancy is viable or not, quite early..

Not to scare you, but i do have friends whose body will simply not show any signs...

in saying all these.. no blood is a good sign..
so, stay happy... 23/1 is coming soon..
i am sending lots of happy-dust and stay-well-dust your way..

i know it is hard, but, try not to think so much..

hi iwant5bbs,
i have enquire about sperm storing before, possible with every attempt. Normally the doctor can roughly tell you which day for ET and if your hubby is travelling, then get him to store.

Hi rosypink,
welcome to the thread.

Hi develyn and Josephine,
i thought we had to eat half boiled eggs or raw eggs so that the protein are not lost. Hard boiled eggs are much easier to swallow. Thanks for the info.

Hi Lina, dun really know abt the protein.. i just know that everything have to be well cooked to prevent bateria. :D

Hi Mel / Jo , thank you so muchie... i am currently nausea, nipple sore & sleepy... not much of other symptoms... hopefully all are well.. keep u all posted after my 1st scan.. Guess i just gotta be very patience this time.. heez.. *Bleahz* Patience patience patience... :S

hi again,
yup i know i have to be careful during my SIL wedding. got a room to sleep upstairs.

mel, hehe yup i try to visualize embryo growing...

develyn, ohh grade 3 not good ah? i thought 4 cell for a day 2 embryo is considered good... oh well i will wait and see * crossing my fingers*

jo, oh i knew i had 6 eggs retrieved and dr loh told me embryologist said sperm factor, poor sperm so little fertilization.

lina, hard boiled eggs are much more filling that half boil, i did hard boiled eggs for one day, ate 4 eggs, so full i could not eat anything else... half boil i can eat 4 to 5 at one time no problem. i think half boil is better than raw, raw there is a chance of bacteria, but half boil at least considered cooked right?

Hi rosypink,

I have also ttc for the last 3 years. Have experienced many setbacks. Do share with us your problems anytime. There are many good listening ears here. Your case quite similar to Jas, she also has one embryo transfer.

Hi Sierra79,

I also try to "Enjoy" my IVF process,eg. enjoy injection etc.. ha ha
I'm in 2WW now. Seems like 2Month Waiting though. Now also have many "What If" in my head. But I try my best to take it easy and take things one step at a time. Cos really beyond my own control.

hi rosypink,
dun worry i spoke to my chinese doctor and she said there are many cases of single embryo transfer successes so just hope for the best and not worry too much.

kaira, i have been so bored at home, i cannot imagine i have to do this for another 9 more days... 14 days is from ER right??

Hi Jas, my tummy very bloated . So uncomfortable
I think I need to go buy new clothes later. Cannot fit . I start work today. Try not to think about it and time will pass by very fast. U take care ...

Hihi Jas .. the embroyologist tells me that the good ones are 8 cells walls for a day 2 embryo.. anyway, most important is the embryo stick and you hit a jackpot... :D You are still young so the chances are alot better... if 1982 , u are one yr older than me only ;)

Hi jas,
try watching tv or dvd during this period. I was also very bored during 2WW and cannot use pc is torture. If you enjoy reading, can also read magazine or books.

Hi mel,I will also try to visualise the embryo implantation and growth. Hope it works for me too ;)

Hi jas, my blood test for bhcg is 23.01.09

kaira - yeah yeah yeah... i was talking to my cousin on this, and she confided that she did visualisation too, last time, and she has a baby boy now..

lots of baby dust on you too.. think happy!!