mystyy - huggz. stay on course and dont give up

stage 2 ladies, i'm going for BT and scan tomorow. but i still have AF, tomoro will be day 4 of AF, hope it stops soon. am on 112.5 mg gonal F, hope it works. my last cycle i did 150mg and it turns out to be like fireworks inside, too many follicles.

Tintedsky

I must say your explanation of antagonist cycle is so much better than my doc. Especially for me, when I will be going for this cycle. I guess all my good size follicles must be dreaming during stimulation and did not wake up in time for retrieve. Now I know why I should go for this protocol.

There is something which puzzles me. I have 6 follicles of very good size ranging between 17.5 mm – 18.5mm during ER. I have only 1 pathetic egg but it is fertilized. And I have been going through acc and tcm for more than 6 months after my 1st cycle

I notice ur 2nd cycle, u feel that you are trigger too early. What make u feel that way? as I have the same feel too, and I also feel that the doc who do the scan for me is not accurate.

I have read up on DHEA, but the side effect worries me and I believe if I ask my doc in charge, he sure will said no need for that. I have heart murmur so not sure if I should take DHEA, but the temptation is so big and I can ask my sister to buy for me too.

Try again,

I am planning to change my diet to include more vegetable and fruit. I also plan to go regular exercise. And I will be going for shorter protocol now. As for TCM and ACC, I might be starting it again next week. Currently I am taking wheatgrass , vitamin E and folic acid.

Mystyy - I am sorry to hear the news dear. Pls take care of yourself. Rest well, let your body heal properly then you can start your next cycle. Have a wonderful holiday. Wah!!! 1 month somemore... I so jealous. Make sure you enjoy urself okay.

Hopfully - All the best for your upcoming BT. All of us here are rooting for you.

Try Again - Don't mind me asking. I am having a difficult time keeping track who is in what stage. What stage are you at now? If you dont mind me asking... Pls refresh my memory... Me getting a bit old lah.

hihi all,

been lurking in this thread, didn't post much as i felt i had little to contribute.

we have started on another fresh cycle of IVF at KKH and am expected to start on lucrin by end of this mth.

This will be our 2nd fresh IVF, after more than 6 cycles of clomid, 2 IUIs, 1 IVF and 2 FET. I would have thought that it gets easier knowing the procedures as been through it before...but somehow all the to-dos and not-to-dos seem to blur together in one huge mess, i have only vague memory abt what shd be done or shd not be done in a fresh cycle...can anyone help to refresh/update the following issues.

1) TCM
when should one start to see a TCM for accupunture? - purpose for implantation. I have no issues with stimulation - but the embryos cannot implant leading to miscariage or BFN.

2) What foods to avoid and when to avoid them?

3) When to start eating protein? during stimulation stage or the day before ER or after ER ...for how long and what is the quantity? and how should the egg whites be prepared for best effect?

Been reading through the archives threads but gotten information overload.

Hello ladies
Is anyone cycling in December at KK? I talked to my doctor and he said that since my EC/ET will fall close to Christmas, and that is the time that most of the staff is on leave, it would not be possible to do a fresh cycle in December. Is anyone doing their cycle at that time?

Mystyy - I am so sorry to hear the BFN (hugs). Please take care of yourself and enjoy your trip in Norway.

hi Sunflower, thanks. I am going to get wheatgrass soon too.

hi Ros, i am stage 0. Just failed my 2nd cycle last month so not doing anything now. If any plans, will be FET next around next month or Dec.

I m here partly to gather strength to go on and charge ahead for my FET. And partly to learn what i can do better for next fresh cycle targetting Mar 09 if my FET in Nov/Dec this year fail. You may think its bit early for me to plan to fail FET now before i even start it and even plan to do 3rd fresh cycle in Mar 09 ... but actually if i really need to do 3rd fresh cycle in Mar 09, now is the right time to start loading up on supplements and vitamins so i thought better start preparing as though i have to do 3rd fresh cycle in Mar 09. At least by then i would have nurtured my body for a few months if i start doing so now.

Thats my plan for a just in case 3rd fresh cycle. For my upcoming FET, Tintedksy is right. FET is much simpler, but i still have to eat well, shed some weight and continue my chinese medicine and acupuncture. And i am planning to discuss with my doc whether i should do assisted hatching this round.

Anyone here did FET with KKH? Can tell me usually when we freeze the embryos, its a day3 embryo right? Then when we thaw the embryos, it will still be at day3. Do KKH transfer in this day3 embryo immediately or can we culture it further to day4 or 5 then transfer?

Mag i am planning to do FET in Dec? Really? They cant do fresh cycle in Dec. Then Jan is just as bad right? Cos Jan got CNY and if dr SF Loh, then he may even be away in Msia! Oh no.

Hi Mystyy,

Sorry to hear about the news. Enjoy your holidays and take another cycle when u ar ready

Mag,

mine is fresh cycle at KKH IVF, expected ER/ET shd be late nov or early dec. so far no one at KKH mentioned any delay.

try again,
don;t think FET is an issue as it's hassle free when compared to fresh cycle. if u are under SF Loh, he prefers to tsf once thawed, he doesn't encourage growing till blastocyst stage - as he felt the culture medium in the lab is not as good as the womb.

Try Again - Actually, its Dr SF Loh that felt that December will not be a good time for me to do the fresh cycle cos' my transfer will fall close to Christmas and the staff tend to take leave at that time. I just called KK and I doubled checked with them about this. She said that the staff will be around and if my Doctor is on leave at that time in December, they can get another doctor to do it if I am ok with that. Oh man, I didnt' even think about the problem with Jan/CNY holidays if I postpone it to Jan....

Thank you for all the hugs! I am much better now.

Just would like to ask if there's anyone here under Care@Paragon with Dr Paul Tseng. Any comments abt him and services and Care?

I have emailed to KKIVF and Care and was pleasantly surprised to hear from Care within an hr after my email.

I am also considering Dr SF Loh with his experience in this field and a no of you ladies here have graduated under him. Will have to wait for news from KKIVF with my queries.

Still not decided if I want to stay or not with current doc. I am comfortable with her and the staff and the nurses. But again, pte costs is on the high side. Though it's within our means, it would be much better if we could save. That's why in Nov and perhaps Jan we will fix appointments and gather information. And if by June or so, no luck in ttc on our own, then will we start on our 3rd cycle.

Haix..such is life.

hi Mystyy,

sorry to hear abt ur news. i am sure u will preservere and not to give up. i am sure ur turn will come soon. Like what my DH always says, we have a lifetime to make our dream come true. its just a matter of time, and i feel urs should be coming very soon. pls take care.

enjoy ur hols and who knows thats when u will get lucky

I just went for a consultation. I thought doing antral follicle scan can shed some light on my poor response. But apparently it did not accordingly to doc it can only see the follicle but as for no of egg, it is still a questionable and no test able to see how many egg. Sigh not sure if this is correct. Did any ladies ask their doc about this?

Ac
Which brand of Wheat grass did you buy?

Hello ladies~

Ponytail,

How was your scan??
My goodness you are on a low dosage.. I envy you.. Im on 225iu...

im only on the 3rd day of Gonal-f and Im starting to feel a musle cramp kind of pain around my right abdomin... kind of worried.... wonder if this is normal.......

went for my beta blood test today (1 day earlier than scheduled). its 231 on 18 day pass retreival. wish it was higher. will be monitoring the doubling time over the next week.

sunflower,

the norm is, 1 follicle should contain 1 egg. but some cases, no eggs. Antral follicle count is a good indication for no. of eggs that can be collected. Btw, you should be able to know if your follicles contain eggs since you been stimulated before.

Can you tell me during your last round, how many follicles you have during each scan? How many follicles was at the mature stage (15mm above) during trigger( last scan)? How many eggs did they collect during ER and how many fertilised before you left 1 embryo to transfer?

sunflower, Think it says melrose - it was the organic section in carrefour. Is there any difference in the brands? I just bought the cheapest

Tryagain, Having royal gelly, multivit, wheatgrass everyday & also chinese medicine & accupunture. Will take a break till I feel ready to start again. 2 of my friends struck naturally right after a ivf cycle so don't give up hope maybe we strike naturally in mean time

hi Ros,

i read ur blog, i really share ur sentiments. my hubby never discuss the ivf programme with me. he will jus follow suit. he is supportive but i am doing all the background work, reading abt it, etc.
btw u mentioned, u will start in ur dec cycle, why so. i tot we should start together in nov. tot our 1st day of lucrin will be mid nov.

did u tell ur school abt this? i am not. not telling any of my colleagues too. afraid more stress as they will be more concern and keep asking how i am. but sure glad to have supporters here who are going throug what i will be going thru.

Thanks for info Mag. I hope to do FET this Dec but then again i may not be able to ask for leave at work. So dilemma now. If i postpone to Jan, my 2ww will clash with CNY. And i scared dr Loh go back msia for CNY. Oh no. Guess i might have to make do with a different doctor doing my ET.

Tintedsky all the best! I believe what God has granted you, he will not take it away from you.

AC, thanks. Yes, lets hope to strike naturally. I am going GNC soon to get the wheatgrass pills. DH has GNC discount card so will get from there. Oh so royal jelly also good ah? Now i have more things to take then. I had planned to take wheatgrass, vitamin E and now .. royal jelly and DHEA if i can get any lobang to buy them. I never gorge myself with so much supplements in my entire life!

hi lina

kk told me they dont do it for my level of beta as they say its within the acceptable level.

On my own accord, im planning to go to gleneagles to do the blood test again this saturday to check for doubling time..

Tintedsky, i think depends on who you talk to. Some of the kk nurses are abit aloof. But you can insist. Just say you insist. They will get dr to issue the form then you can just do. I think you are right to ask for another test, at least put your mind at ease.

try again

yap. at the corner of my mind, i considered the possibility of the lab difference too.
ok decided, i will just pop up at kk this sat and say i want a blood test. am sure they wont refuse my money right.

sunflower,

sorry i didnt see the earlier message before i post those repeated qns to you.

6 follicles of 17m to 18.5mm... and only 1 egg. If its possible, do find out if they only retrieved 1 egg? or they retrieved a few eggs and only 1 egg is mature to use for fertilization? if its only 1 egg mature enough while the rest immature... it means they triggered you too early. So next round you can inform the doctor what had happened and request he help you ensure you get more mature eggs. If only 1 egg is retreived out of 6 promising follciles. I am very clueless about this situation. sorry.

btw, with antagonist cycle.. if 6 of your follicles grew... means non of them was 'sleeping' ... cause if follicles are asleep, it wont even grow..
my doc explained to me that(dr sheila loh of my 3rd cycle) if my antral follicle count is 8, the chances of antagonist protocol stimulating all the 8 follicle is higher chance since no lucrin.

Dear mystyy,

I am with Dr Cheng, Thomson Fertility Centre. I like it there, cos doc is very personal and he knows what's going on. The lab(which is in the same clinic) is super good. They give sound advices and will recommend the best situation.

Mystyy,
So sorry to hear about your negative result. Do take a good break for your holidays, and enjoy your bonding time with your hubby. I heard that after IVF, your ovary will produce better eggs the following months bec of the stimulation. Maybe you can get preggy naturally. Whatever it is, just relax and enjoy yourself first. It does help to relax. My FSH and LH has returned to normal level this month. I give the credit to the exercise (brisk walking) and the stress-less break I have these few months.

FYI, I’m with Dr E Chua at Thomson, TLC but doing my IVF at CARE. Dr Eunice Chua and Dr P Tseng is in the same clinic TLC at Thomson Medical. There is another Dr Leow( not sure if it is spelled and that’s why the clinic is called TLC( Tseng, Leow, Chua). Tel: 62542878.

Dr Tseng is also the medical Director of CARE Paragon. I heard he is very experienced in IVF. One of the sisters here Mel did her IVF with him and is now preggy with Twins and is seeing Dr Tseng at TLC.

You can either go straight to CARE or call TLC than you can request for the doctor you want. Cost for IVF at CARE is can be around $12k-15k.

Mystyy,
Both the staff and nurses at TLC and CARE are very warm and helpful. Angela is also very experienced. What I like about CARE is that they have shorter waiting time. You can still use your Medisave at CARE but there is no subsidy from Govt.

Tintedsky,
Don’t worry too much about HCG level, they will move up naturally. Just make sure you have more rest and don’t carry heavy things now. Did you call up your doctor and ask if you can have some medication for extra support?

Happy,
Thanks, I am fine, MS on and off.

I will be having my 2nd appointment this Friday and i will be 9w2d by then. I hope my baby is growing well and in good size. Sometimes can get worry when dont get to see how baby is doing all these few weeks.
How about you? How are feeling with the injections lately?

Bliss,
So good, 9 weeks already, should be able to see your baby's hands and legs moving. So your MS is now on and off, think maybe it is getting better.

Bliss,
My Gonal-F injection is going fine. Today went to see Dr Chua for 2nd US Scan. Follicles growing fine. Have around 12 follicles at 12-13 mm at both sides. The rest are small ones, so doctor is not counting them yet. Was on 300iu for 1 day and 225iu for the last 5 days. Doctor asked me to reduced to 150iu starting from today and start drinking more water and taking egg white. Think she is worried that I’ll have over stimulations. But I’m doing fine, only abit of cramp on both sides 1-2 hours after injection of Gonal-F. The rest of the day everything ok.

Bliss,
However, my body is giving me problem with new drug. Yesterday being D5 of stimulation, I am put on Cetrotide for suppression bec I’m on a different protocol GnRH-antagonists. Than I have reactions at the injection site. itching and swelling. My face became flushed and feverish as if I’m having fever. And was having very bad headache yesterday. Brought this up to Dr Chua attention today when I went to see her.

She was very concerned and asked the nurse to do the Cetrotide injection for me and ask me to stay back in her clinic for observation. I stayed there for near 1 hour. And the allergy came back again. All the nurse were very surprised and gave me ice-pad for cold compress. To them, this is very rare. Dr Chua did a quick examination of my blood pressure and heartbeat and she called up CARE to asked for a change in medication. So I’m going to CARE tomorrow to administer new durg. Have to stay there after injection for a couple of hours to make sure I don’t have side-effect. My body is very mafan one, this is not the first time I “react” to drugs. I had very bad allergy experience before that I was under emergency rescue by doctor in the hospital when I had miscarriage the other time. It was very shocking and it was a double set-back for me. Have to face my lost of baby at 16 weeks and have to recover from allergy. Dr Chua is very careful when she use new medication on me. My hubby also insists that every time he must be around when I take a new medication.

After that incident, I’m even more certain of what I want in life. I want my own children and a happy family. Teaching is my passion but my life will not be complete with my own children and family.

Wish me good luck and things will be smooth for me. I’m still feeling mild discomfort but I’m positive and will want the best to turn up for my baby-making cycle.

sue - today went for my 1st scan. 5 follicles on left and 5 on right. i dont know what size. anyway i have to continue with 112.5ml. have to go back for another scan this sat. hows your jabby so far? when you going for your scan ?

tinted sky - i didnt know there can be some 'kosong' follicles, i.e. no egg. did you say you only have 1 egg and this 1 egg worked for you? must be very lucky do you know how to improve folicle health.

happy - wow, your follicle grow by quite a lot. thats good news. how many days of gonal F for you so far ? I am on day 5. i hope can improve follicle growth and egg growth. like want roti prata with egg, not kosong. wow, sorry to hear abt your miscarriage. you must be very brave. i also had 1 miscarriage before, and that was immediately after i came back from honeymoon. can you imagine, so sad right ?

ponytail,
Wow those are really good numbers of follicles did you ask him how thick is your lining?
My 1st scan will be this Friday... will miss you by a day again ~~~ hehehe

I was told that Dr Wong will not tell you the size and lining thikness so much as and get the information out of him!

So next time dont forget to ask!! and keep a tab on the changes~~~

Specially the lining. You have to know whether it is growing or not! ok~~ ;)

ponytail,
5 on left and 5 on right means you have 10. That is consider good bec you are only on 112.5ml. Can I know if you are on Gonal-F? any diff in the unit?

I'm now Day6 on Gonal-F. Ya, putting those negative things aside, I want my follicles to be healthy and of good quality.

Jia You to both of us!

hi all...

Whoa.. Haven't been on for some time, saw that you girls had lots of posts..
Dun think I can catch with with all, but I wanna say congrats to both comfort and tintedsky.. Hippeeee.. Enjoy the next 9 months.. May you have a healthy 9 months to come..

Mystyy-so sorry abt your cycle... Am very glad to see that you are quite positive.. Looking forward to your next cycle with lots of positiveness.. I am/was with Care @ Paragon.. Like happy said, I have been a patient of Dr PT for sometime already.. About 3 years plus.. When I had to resort to IVF, naturally, I went CARE.. The staff are really warm... They are willing to meet you at anytime you want.. Angela is very experienced and detailed.. She and Dr PT are willing to answer any queries you have.. Once you start on ER, she will give you her personal number to call anytime, in case of anything... I have all good things to say about CARE... I like their warm and caring attitude.. It makes me feel better, and not alone... Let me know if you have anymore queries... Do remember that this is a private clinic, so, no govt subsidy... Only medisave... Also, private is more costly... But the people at CARE are really caring..

Happy - oh man, you poor girl, hope the new drug is better for you...

Tintedsky

Saw your blog, Congrats !!!!
When is your next blood test again? Rest well…..
And don’t take too much ginger and garlic too.

Actually I don’t know if I have only 1 egg, (I was suspecting something else, but got to trust professional) . As from the report this is what they said out of 6 follicles, there is only 1 egg and it matured and fertilized. But I cant believe that out of all 6 good sizes one. I ask the doc whether am I too early when he make the decision to trigger. He said no and I am responding well the drug. But there is one thing different, I am in a longer protocol, I extend my suprafact/lucrin for a week in order for the doc to be in time for my ER and ET. Even Chinese doc whom I am seeing is very shock too, we will expecting more and happily waiting for the egg.

Hmm.. I ask about this Antral follicle count, my doc told me it is hard to tell if there is egg inside or not even if I try the antagonist cycle. So I am not sure about this too. Somehow I think I will change the doc this time. He cannot even remember whether did I did a blood test the other time. I think he overlook my case. For the antagonist cycle, start with gonal F at day 2 of menses and then Cetrotide. Am I right?

Happyever

Are you are lurcin too at the initial stage?

sue, happy - yeah well, i do hope the follies keep growing cos i remember doc saying that there is attrition at every stage. so many many means better chances, but i also want to focus on quality leh. abt the lining, my doc always buzzing in and out of the room, hard to talk to him unless i phrase the question in advance. i thought he will let us know if anything unusual, so if he doesnt say anything it must be normal. anyway how do you control a thing like lining. there's no pill or jab or things to eat. so even if its thin what can you do ? btw, i'm on gonal F

aiya today another trip up with my jabbies - the stupid gonal F pen wasnt working !!! i had 1 last dosage from the 1st pen and i couldnt pull out the stupid trigger. so lucky lucky lucky i had a new box with me today. but means tomorow or fri i have to go again and get more gonal F cos it cant last until this sat when i go for my checkup again. what a bummer.

i also very scared (touch wood) that i'll drop the bottle of suprefact or something. do you think i should get a spare bottle for standby.

yep jia you jia you to sue, happy and pony

Happy,
sorry to hear you having allergy. But you will be fine this time. Really hope you succeed this time round and be a happy mother! Praying for you.

Mel,
glad to hear from you again after some time. How are you feeling these days? You had your 2nd appt already? So is it twins or triplets?

Hope you are feeling good and happy.

Alyssa - Hi there dear. Thanks for reading my blog. The blog started off with my journey of TTC but for now it is just my thoughts an ramblings since there is nothing much I can write there since I am not doing the fertility treatment this month. Perhaps next month onwards I have more to contribute as I will have started my IVF cycle.

To clarify, I will be starting my lucrin shots in 3rd week of November that will be the 21st day of my cycle. So the process of injecting of puregon and 'harvesting' the eggs etc should start after then on. That means I still have to face 2 more visits from AF.

YOu starting around the same time too? That means we could be cycle buddies. I am more excited than nervous at t his point. Dont know how I feel once I have started the cycle. For now I am not telling my school as I have asked for transfer. I think it is best I keep quiet. I really do not want the pity and sympathy from these people. You dont know the colleagues I have... Many 2 faced dragon. It is enough that I know that I have the support and encouragement of all the ladies here.