hi Ping,

Can you add me in the chart? I'm starting my Lucrin injection today, 8 sept. Starting from stage 1 again. Hopefully this time everything will go on well.

Morning ladies and a warm welcome to new comers.

Kalki,
Sometime clinics are very busy on Monday morning bec of the weekend break. Think they are doing fire-fighting. Don't worry so much, give them some time, call them before 12noon if they didn't call.

austere,

yes, i thought it is a bit early that your doc want to take pregnancy BT on 10dpET. Coz normally, hospital will take the BT on 14 dpET at the earliest. I am with KK. For KKH, it will be on 17 dpET.

which hospital are you with? If the BT result can be accurate if done on 10dpET, then it will be so good for you, dont have to wait that long.

Hi Ponytail,

The basic pregnancy test is a beta pregnancy test. Basically, the beta pregnancy test is the most common and is known as the beta HCG or B-HCG pregnancy test.

Hi happy,

I am feeling ok. My heavy bloatedness reduced alot after successfully done my 'biz in the toilet' on Sat. :p Guess it was all the gas inside making me so painful.

I was feeling as per normal yesterday. However, when I woke up this morning, feeling very slight cramps.

Frankly speaking, I am feeling bit worried and anxious about my BT in 2 weeks time. I know it is still early now, but just cant help it. I try to think positively and just tell myself everything will be very fine.

Hi ponytail,
Beta test is the blood test to be done to detect pregnancy which is very much more accurate than urine test as the exact amount of hCG in the blood is measured. So it is usually done when menses is due, or around at least 14dpET for ivf.

Hi happy, bliss

ok thanks. a lot of acronyms to digest.
btw, are your hubbies with you throughout the process? how to get your hubbies involved?

Bliss,

Good that your bloatedness has reduced. Those gas really make us look like we are 5mth pregnant. Besides the ginger drink, did you take the Ensure milk or egg whites? Does it help?

Think you are doing fine, don't worry so much. To me you ER and ET sounds good.

Ponytail,
My hubby has been very supportive but he is very busy with work. So I try not to go to the clinic on my own most of the time unless there are important discussions with the Doctor. Hubby needs to go down also for some blood tests and semen culture. Some clinics even need to do 1 or 2 sessions of sperm storage before ET.

Which doctor are you seeing?

Hi Bliss
yesterday i also had a very bad feeling in my lower stomach area, then made sure had two vitagen then today morning everything clear.

Anyway I suspect it is the result of two much of protein. (Had like one full bowl of chickpea)

hi happy

My doc is prof wong at nuh. thanks for the link
my hubby also needs to freeze his sperm. we're going down later this month when my period is here. so many tests to do, q sian...

Ponytail,

Heard NUH Prof Wong is also very experience in IVF. One of the sisters here Miss Hae is under me if I'm not wrong. She is having a triple now.

I'm seeing Dr E Chua from TLC Thomson.

Hi Austere

So surprised that your blood test is on so early. Mine is 17 days after ET which is on 15 Sept. I know exactly how you feel especially when your symptoms have somewhat subsided. I'm not going to self-test either.

But hang in there,ok. I'll say a prayer for you.

Hi Kalki

Don't worry! Everything will be all right. My prayers are with you too.

hi happy

yes, he is. but the thing is he'll be away during my estimated egg transfer and embryo transfer days... :-( so another substitute doc will have to do for me. or else i lengthen injection period and wait till doc is back. Dr Chua is also v experienced i heard.

Mala,

17 days after ET is a long wait for you. But remember, your eggs are of very good grades. So I’m sure you’ll be getting good news soon.

I’m starting my stage 1 today. My Gonal-F will be put at 300iui. Can I know how old are you and what is your dosage? I’m concerned that I’m given a too high dosage to start with bec this is my 1st IVF. But again, bec I’m 35, maybe she feels that I need drug for stimulation.

Ponytail,

So you heard of Dr Chua before. Most of the sisters here are doing at KK, NUH or Gleneagles or another Dr at Thomson. So far I'm the only one under Dr Chua.

happy

yes, my fren had ovarian cyst a few years ago. i think it was dr chua.

have you heard of dr stephen chew before? he is the substitute doc doing the ET for me while my doc is away. i'm sure he's very experienced too but just want to get some feedback.

Ponytail,

So your ER and ET will be done by another Dr. I think it is fine bec it will be too costly to lengthen ur injection. I even prefer a female Dr to a male. So I know it will be rather awkward for you.

When will he be back? Is it possible to have a long suppression period to “lengthen” the cycle till your Dr returns? I’m on a longer suppression bec my E2 bloodtest is too high to start the stimulation. I’m not sure if there are any other implications, so it is always better to listen to the doctors advice.

Josephine, Congratulation you have graduated. Do you have any symptoms?

stage 1
Sri - 25 Aug
Seiki

Stage 2
Mel Wong - 25 Aug
Kalki - 28 Aug ER 6 Sep

Stage 3 - 2WW
Dimple, Bakaholic - ET 28 Aug
Mala - ET 29 Aug
Austere - ET 30 Aug
Ping - ET 1 Sep
Patricia - ET 4 Sep
Bliss - 5 Sep

Graduates
Bebecraze08
Elle
Imel
Feibb
Maykel
Cale
Josephine

Hi Ping,
Backache, cramps, fast hungry. ^_^

Hi Happyever,
I do not know it is twins or not.
At first the nurse only said it is very good.
Then I ask what is my level then she tell me 1000 plus then i force her to give me the exact level. Hahahahaha :D

I will come to KK again to buy medicine, later I will ask is it twins or not. Hehehehehe :D

Hi Happyever

To tell you the truth, I'm feeling hopeless because I have no symptoms whatsoever other than the nasty intense cramps which hit me while I'm sleeping and after a dream.

I was on 450iu Gonal-F (I'm 40 by the way). In my previous ivfs, I started off with a dosage of 300iu. I remember my doctor saying that for those above 35, 300iu is the ideal dosage to start off with. So don't worry too much. I'm sure you will be producing lots of follicles with lots of good quality eggs because you are young.

Hi Josephine

Congratulations! I'm so glad that you made it. Now all you have to do is rest and eat well. Take care!

hi Mala,

Don't worry, no symptoms is also a symptom. http://www.ivfconnections.com/qpostransfer.htm

For your reading.

What symptoms should I be experiencing if I am pregnant?

From having talked to women who have gone through IVF, I have come to realize that there is not a standard set of symptoms that you will feel if you are pregnant. The range of symptoms differs so widely that it is hard to even begin to answer this question. Symptoms during the 2-week wait can be caused by a number of different sources: the medications you are taking, your body recuperating from the IVF cycle, an impending period or an impending pregnancy. Below are some of the symptoms that women have reported to me before getting a positive result. You may experience some of these symptoms before your pregnancy test, but the only way to verify what you are feeling is a pregnancy test done by your clinic.

absolutely no symptoms
pre-menstrual-like symptoms
breast tenderness
cramping
nausea
food aversions

hi Josephine,
Congratulations!! Ur number so high heehee....can join us in the ivf-mtb forum already

But usually the nurse would not commit and tell you if got singleton or twins or not, they would give standard ans and ask you to wait for your scan kekeke....

Kalki,
I'm now staring on Lucrin only, so still in stage 1.

I was just asking Mala about her dosage for assurance bec I know my Dr is putting me on 300iui once my E2 test passed.

Hi all ladies,
Hope all of you are doing well...
Updates from my side. Today is day 14 of lucrin,
went for scan & blood test.
I need to call up @ 3 pm today for my results.

Hi josephine,
Congrats buddy....
were you there a t KKIVF today morning? I was there for my scan.

Hi Mala,
Have hopes dear.Things will definetly work for you. I'll definetly pray for you.

Hi kalki,
All the best for your ET.

Hi Ponytail,
Me too 29 yrs old ... Hoping for the best

sorry happy
today every bad day for me so trying hard to
de-stress.
Feeling quit down, looks like my mood swing just has kicked in. But trying to recover.
Sorry again

josephine,

CONGRATS!!!!! :D Knew you will get a big big positive! So happy for you leh! Somemore, will probably be twins!
All the best and continue to rest well, eat well. Do update us more of your good news.

Ponytail,
my husband has been very supportive and thoughtful during the whole ivf journey. He did all the lucrin and puregon injections for me at home. And for these 16 days, he is taking time off from work during weekdays either in the mornings or afternoons to drive me to KK for progesterone injections. He is doing the housework of course.

Happy,
ya, like what you said, my tummy looks so bloated that my mum and sisters said I really look like 5 months pregnant liao. Yes, I eat egg whites everyday still and also Ensure milk. But now I reduce my intake to 3 egg whites per day. I took 7 egg whites on the day after my ER! I think that was the day that I ate the most number of egg whites in a single day in my entire life. Hahaha!

Ping,
how are you feeling? When is your beta test?

Patricia,
How are you feeling these days too? I have been getting slight cramps for the whole morning, bit worried.

Hi Happy,
Yes, will be waiting to see ya there!

Hi Bliss,
How are you feeling, bored at home? ;)
I really admire you gals who can really take the egg white, i never ate a single one throughout leh, but i try to take cooked egg daily.

Maykel,
I am feeling ok. Not bored yet, coz only 3 dpET. And anyway, I have been staying alone at home most of the time since I quit my job, so I am very used to it.

I am getting the cramps that feels like menses is coming... is it normal? Me bit worried.

Hi Kalki

so dr chew did for you twice? what is PT?

Hi Ping & everyone

I'm at Stage 0, cos have not started the jabs. can i know from you is this your 1st ivf attempt ? also, silly question but any tips to stay positive ?

Hi Bliss,
Oh okie...remember to rest more ok?
I've oso had bad cramps for quite long ever since my ER and it lasted throughout my post ET. Different pple would have different reactions. So guess we are the ones who are prone to the cramps bah. As long as you know you did not exert and rest well, i think it shld be good enough. I understand that there is alot of anxiety during this period, but just try to relax urself ok?

ponytail,

yes, this is my 1st ivf. Had one failed iui before. Trying to conceive for 3 years liao. Had tried all ways to conceive, so had been disappointed and devastated thousands of times. It is definitely not easy to stay positive all the time and be unaffected by any failures. But I guess, sometimes it is the numerous times of failures and disappointments that makes a person to be stronger and has more courage to face the unknown.

Anyway, I think must do personal reflections, asking what you really want in life and what are the most important things to you lor. For me, it helps, especially there was point of time that my life was just trying to have babies and nothing else, and so forgetting to appreciate and cherish what I am having. And then when faced with problems and failures, I got depressions very easily and was very sensitive towards people's words.

So that is what I thought can help oneself to stay more positive and not give up.

Maykel,

ok ok, thanks!

I will try to be as lazy as I can and rest like a hamster. Hahaha!(I keep a hamster at home and it just sleeps and sleeps whole day long without fail. I really admire my hamster to be able to sleep for so long and so sweet. :D)