shazzer,

that's great!
now just rest more. think happy tots, no big movements n don't drink cold stuffs or "liang" stuffs at the moment.

petals,

can i ask if i have sharp pain on my right groin. most of the time it is round ligament pain right? but i'm only 8wks coming 9wk, so fast got such pain meh?

stardiva,
If I'm not wrong, the round ligament pain is nearer to the sides. I read in my Babycentre book that it can be a sharp pain when u suddenly switch positions or cough, or a dull ache when u've had an active day, as our uterus is expanding. I got it quite early too in 1st trim. It's diff from cramps. Just relax by sitting or lying down, and it shld go away after a while.

I am considering going to DR Zhou at AMK. Do you know whether she speaks English? I Might have difficulty communicating with her? Does she prescibe the Chinese Herbal medicines as well?

petals,

thanks! i called tps n they can;t fit me in cos dr loh too bz so the nurse asked me to go labour ward just to check. hubby prefers me to go pte gynae to check. today it seems i am better after resting yesterday. not so pain liao.maybe i walked too much the other day so assert myself that's y pain. will monitor n c

Can anyone advise is IUI / IVF painful? I'm going to do the x-ray for fallopian tube, heard it is quite painful when they inject the dye... izzi true?

stardiva,
If u get severe cramping or any spotting/bleeding, then better go see a doc asap. If just round ligament pain, then better rest more these few days and monitor.

petals,

no spotting jus cramps on my sides like "stitches" type of pain. think i walk too much up n down my hse's stairs. if i don't climb the stairs, not painful jus ache. my mom ask me to shift back home so i don't need to deal with stairs es in later preg when tummy gets heavier , but my home is always more comfortable
====

petals,

btw, when i sit down or rest on my bed, no pain. dunno whether to c dr or not. still have to wait so long to c dr loh. i better look 4 a standby gynae in case. do u know of any that has experience with twins?

Hi Jeanette,
The HSG for me is not too good...it was more painful than i expected. Some pple mentioned it is like menses cramps. I think it depends on the person. For me i almost fainted when i got up...but it could be becos i am having low blood pressure (+ fasting before that).

But dun worry too much and maybe being relax will lessen the pain....

hi all, im a silent reader since b4 i started IVF
had failed 2 IUI pass few mth & go on to ICSI, tis wek today 27 is my 6wek of pregnancy 1st appt scan to done as almost same time as u ladies but im here now not to scare u ladies off. Had read on sunshine case & tis happen to me on 22 dec just fill not wel no bleedin got cramp didnt go off for 2hr in di moring tok saver to walk-in KKH 24hr just to check, was ask to stayed-in, many scan was done Hcg was very high 28000, news was break to me late at nite tat had an ectopic pregnancy hv to do an emergency opt. left tube was remove. Is vry depress, sad, in-motion failer in-deed, but i stil thank god tat given me sens to visit KKH early if wait til today i might hv loss my life. Will stand onto my feet still goes on with IVF after heal.

stardiva,
Yah, sometimes i have that stretching or stitch-like feeling either around the bikini line or at the side of my waist. But it feels better when lie on my other side.
I dunno, but for myself, I've been avoiding stairs and try to take lift everywhere if possible. Cos sometimes i feels like i'm exerting a lot when i climb stairs as my legs are weaker now, plus my heavier weight. Do u have a room on ur ground floor that u can use temporarily? I guess it's up to u.

petals,

i also feel the strain when i climb the stairs. the thing is we did not instore toilet on the ground flr. ridiculous i know. never tot we needed it then. even my dog has 2 toilets. one upstairs n one downstairs n we don't have.haha, now cannot do reno summo so think tonight haver to discuss with hubby liao

Yu mei,

I am very sorry to hear abt your situation. You stay strong. Didn't KK monitor your beta reading earlier before it went up so high?

Shazzer

So relieved to hear your good news! Very pleased for you- a singleton right?

I've been having dreadful Ms- went out for dinner last night and could barely eat anything and had to leave early... waitress was asking if everything was OK with the meal...then threw up in the night... not good. I really wasn't this sick, this early with my son, so I'm thinking their prediction of twins may be right. Will know more on 7th Jan scan I suppose! Just hoping everything will be OK...

Treasures,
You don't speak Mandarin?
Dr Zou doesn't really speak English, mainly Mandarin, and she's picked up a little of the dialects from her customers. But if u need someone to translate, maybe the lady who handles the shop counter can help as she is a local. Dr Zou does both TCM and acu.

petals,

the pain is gone cos i rested in my room n didn't go downstairs at all. think it's really my stairs.now i'm wondering how am i going to get out of the hse n when my tummy gets bigger, dunno how. oh well, at least i don;t need to c dr now

Hi Vanilla_pod,

Thanks for sharing your experience. I know that my tolerance level for pain is quite low. I have endometriosis, every mth the cramp that I have during menses almost kill me. I am quite scared if IUI / IVF is very painful...

yes, it was a relief to see dr loh that day. he was so assuring and that motivated me to be more confident. right now i'm just trying to be positive and take it one step at a time cos i feel like i'm not really in the clear yet.

hi ML,
will you be coming back to s'pore for your scan?

hi rose,
i don't speak mandarin too, and remember that part of the reason for me not eventually going for TCM was when i tried calling for appt etc, it was so difficult communicating already. i remember going to the EYS at tiong bahru wanting to see the dr and immediately the pple at the reception say, "dr cannot speak english!" but of cos, i'm just using that as an excuse cos i know of many non-mandarin speaking ladies going for TCM also. bottomline, i was just lazy and gave up on it. but i think if you try the EYS at Paragon or Raffles Hospital, they'll definitely speak English.

hi stardiva,
better rest and try not to go up and down stairs too many times. take care!

hopes, how are you today?

Hi Jennette, u r welcome. Unfortunately HSG is the basic test to check on the fallopian tubes..so have to go thru to ascertain further. u will be fine... just relax and it will be over very soon (around 15mins)....

Hi rose, ya the TCM doc in Raffles Hospital can speak english...i think if u sign up by 31 Dec using UOB ladies, u can get a 5% discount on the IVF Booster package (which is 5 times acu)...

Hi Hopes - any updates? Twins?

Thanks Shazzer.I am glad all is good for you. I have tried Raffles, its ok but I think after seeing so many ladies falling pregnant after treatment from Dr Zou, I decided to go there.

Petals, you were right. The assistant at the counter help to interpret for me. Dr Zou, seems to be very experience in dealing with IVF patients. I started the accu as well as the TCM now.
Does she give TCM while you on injections on FET?

Treasures,
I did only acu just before i started the jabs for my fresh cycle, not FET. Didn't want to do tcm. Glad it worked out for u today. Yeah, they seem to have a lot of ivf patients who go there.

I'm still very new to the terms used here. Can someone explain what's FET? And is there a difference between SO-IUI and IUI? Thanks!
kao_embarrassed.gif

rose,

yes i will encourage u to go dr zou. she can always arrange someone to communicate with u just like pupi. somehow it works 4 me. i've tried raffles n not very impress.
i didn't take the tcm meds at all cos i dun want it to interfere with the jabs

shazzer,
ya, seems like no choice i can;t really go out nowadays. each time i jus go out 4 a short time, i'll end up having to bed rest the next 2 days!

any of u with dogs? my mil n mom r ganging up to get rid of my dog. nag n keep saying how a bad mother i will b if i kept my dog etc. i was close to tears. today i cried the first half of the day thinking if my dog will leave me, i don;t know wat i will do. think i will slip into depression n cry everyday

my hubby will talk to both of them soon cos it's affecting me, sigh

hi little twin star, I can understand how u feel abt your dog coz my mom also always try to nag abt my & my sis dog with her bb.

Both me & my sis stand vy firm against her & simply tell her tat our dog is in vy way juz like our bb too, so it is impossible for us to let our 'elder bb' go.

My niece is now abt 2yrs & she is great with her dog sister :D & my mom slowly accept it too :D

hi twinstar..

I have a doggy also.. I also dun intend to give up my dear doggy just bcoz of my pregnancy. Our doggy has accompany us thru thick and thin right? I think eventually when my baby is born, I will keep them in a room with a very good air purifier.. hope that will help. :p

Otherwise, I will temporarily leave it at my mum's place first for a few mths.. but eventually, I will bring my doggy back.

rose..

i think the way to determine FET pregnancy due date is same as fresh cycle.. ie, once we put the embryos in, it is considered as 2 wks and upon beta test, it should be abt 4 wks, so, it will be up to 38 to 40 wks for full term . of coz.. if multiples.. could be earlier then

mrs choo, hopes

i know i'm suppose to be happy during pregnancu but i keep crying today es when i think of my mom making me choose between being a good mother n keeping my beloved dog. each time i think about it, i cry n cry.cos doggie n i already made our sacrifices ( dog is now botak so they can;t complain about fur, i stopped carrying my dog n seldom pad her liao ) m trying to listen to happy music to help. my mom don;t even know y i'm crying. she didn't bother to ask, she don't even know she has caused me so much stress. i know we'll be able to keep our dog if we insist , but then to mom, that would mean i'm being an irresponsible mother n bad mother, it really hurts me. as usual i lost weight again. i better stop this emotional outburst cos bad for my babies

think hormones kicking in big time

hopes, how r u hanging on?

Ladies, (Those who undergone FET)

Do you wait 12 days or 14 days for pregnancy test after FET?

Did you have assisted hatching done during FET?

Stardiva,
I think you should talk to ur mum and mil and stand firm if u decide to keep ur dog. Maybe u can get someone else to help clean up the dog poo while u r preggy so u don't keep bending and mopping. But when baby is born, u can put a safety gate at babies' nursery so that ur dog can't go in. Don't let them make u feel guilty and abandon ur dog as i feel that u can have both ur kids n dog. Don't feel sad ok?

Treasures,
FET is using ur excess fertilised embryos from ur earlier fresh cycle that were frozen. No more hatching or jabs reqd.

twinstar..

try to tok to ur mum.. tell her a doggy is a living thing and has feelings also.. cannot say dump just dump.. tell her u'll get the best air purifier once baby(s) are born, see what she says..? i totally understand how u feel, whenever i see pets being sent away coz owners are expecting, i'll feel very sad, so i tell myself never to do that to my doggy.

rose,

whether or not assisted hatching is required will depends on the embryo's quality.

during my 1st FET, assisted hatching was required bcoz the surface of the embryos are a bit thick.. the embryoist are afraid that they might not be able to implant well if the surface wasn't lasered to make it thinner.

during my 2nd FET, apparently the thickness is ok, so no assisted hatching req'd
phew.. saved a few hundred dollars..hehe..

if u are doing FET at KKH, the waiting period is also 17 days before they do the Beta test for you. that's why i did the HPT on my own first.. 17 days is just way too long..haha..

Thanks Hopes. You got pregnant on your 2nd FET?

I am currently doing TCM and accu from DR Zou. 3 times a day of TCM. Should i be avoiding any kind of food during this period?

Does DR Zou do accu on embryo transfer day or a few days later after transfer?

If I am on medicated cycle, does she still go ahead with TCM?

rose,

I actually got a Positive for my 1st FET too but I didn't hold on to it long enough and had a miscarriage close to wk 6. That's why I'm hoping that I can hold on to it till full term this time round.
For my first FET, i only did accu and no TCM, so, this time round, I took abt 6 mths rest to recuperate and build up my body with accu with TCM.

I was also with Dr Zou
Nice lady right? Always giving encouragement.
I have asked Dr Zou before too, any food to avoid, she said bascially can eat as per normal but avoid cold drinks and food that are too cooling (liang).

Dr Zou will recommend doing accu the day before the transfer. She dun really recommend doing accu after transfer. For my case, she recommended some TCM (powder) for abt 17 days (up till day of blood test) to help the embryos to implant.

I think u gotta check with her whether it's ok to consume TCM with other medication. Usually she will say it's ok, just keep two hours apart from the consumption.

Petals..

me lagi blur last time.. tot assisted hatching and blastocyst is the same..haha..

too many terms.. too confusing. :p

Petals, no problem. There are a lot of terms to know and can be quite confusing.

Hopes - I know you will be fine this time around. My prayers are with you and all the ladies here. Dr Zou is very nice. She knows her work very well. Do you know which kind of food is liang?

I am just wondering is it ok to have cold showers instead of warm/hot showers? Does that affect your womb?

rose..

fruits like papaya, watermelon & coconut are very liang.

cooling drinks like barley and liang cha try to avoid.

common meat and vegetable items should be quite neutral

oh yah.. as for the showers..

try not to shower in extreme temperatures.. warm (not HOT) shower should be better for us

ladies..

anyone know if it is ok to consume panadol or gastric pills? i seems to be feeling faint and have gastric all the time

hopes,

don't self prescribe. go to the dr n let dr know u r preg. i also have gastric. ,dr loh gave me mylanta but i try not to eat it. instead i feed my stomach n the pain goes away. my twins r hungry so i have no choice but to eat, but it is not so bad now. think panadol is ok, not the extra hor. but pls go to the dr

take care!

Hi ladies, finally got to see Dr (after a long wait) ytday. Managed to clear with DR a list of medicine i can take.

For flu: Fedac, Piriton and Decolgen
For headache: Panadol
For heartburn: Mylanta
For constipation: Lactus

He has also started me on multivitamins and i can stop my progesterone and folic acid once this batch finishes. At least i now only need to take 1 pill a day. phew!

Petals, DR Loh said my sneezing is due to sensitive nose, the nasal spray will not help, it only helps for nasal congestion. He does not recommend nasal spray for me at all.

Hopes, suggest you check with Dr Loh or GP on the medication. The last time the GP prescribed me Zyrtec, Dr Loh say this medicine is NEW ask me to avoid...

Michelle,thanks for the infor. I have bad sinus at times and was wondering what to take if I fall pregnant in the future.

As far as I know nasal spray, contains hormomes which might affect the body. I even asked about the yellow tablet (clorophirimene).. Dr Loh says it is ok to take. Just for infor for all.

Hopes - Best to check with Doc, as you wouldn't want to take any risk.

stardiva,
Yah, you should start building up an area in your bedroom for all your needs, like water bottle, snacks, etc so that you don't need to walk up and down unless necessary.

Hopes,
For panadol, only the plain ones are ok. Better avoid the other types like the flu and extra strong ones. Check w Dr on any other meds that u need.

Treasures,
The nasal spray that's suitable for us preggies is the one made up of only seawater, no hormones.