hi tany, thanks a lot...

Lina, yup i intend to test everyday to see if line goes darker or not... hehe i bought 20 of the cheap pregnancy test... cheap only $13 plus for all 20 hehe.

December, thanks a lot
yup the nurse at KKH also told me got quite a few cases of single embryo successes so cross my fingers...

thanks everyone and to those who are embarking on ivf in this forum, best of luck !! BFP everyone

Hi Libby,
My doc mentioned I had a "tricky" uterus, and decided to do the ET under sedation. I was okay with that, as didn't feel any pain, and got to remain horizontal for a couple hours afterwards!

However, my embryos were somewhat fragmented, so not very hopeful
...in 2ww now.

Btw, in case u're wondering, I'm with Dr.Loh at KKH

does anyone know the difference between taking pregnyl and progesterone supplements in the 2ww? how is it determined which one should be prescribed? thanks!

Hi Dec

My IVF/ICSI was done by CARE, Paragon. The first one cost me close to $22K in all
the embrologist, Angela Ho said I need more Gonal F injections in order to increase my follicles. I trsf 3 embryos in total, all 8 cells (which are considered very good embryos), but it failed due to difficult transfer.

I was suggested to go for a trial transfer procedure, which i need to spend another $500+, and was not successful. The Gynae, Dr Paul Tseng (affiliated with CARE), told me to go for hysteroscopy, cost me another $2K. He found my cervix/uterus was bended. The Catheter has to go down, and deviate to the right, then can reach the uterus. He said he tried to dilate my cervix for me for the 2nd transfer.

I had my FET transfer done 2wks ago, also 3 embryos. I think his skill is not there, as he still had difficulty navigating the catheter to the right place, even after the hysteroscopy. He even needs to make use of stylet to assist him. He also refuse to put sedation for me (which he thinks is unnecessary). I was given injection after the transfer to ease the severe cramps. Dr Paul said this was the most difficult transfer he has performed.

Before and during my 2nd FET, i signed up for accupunture at Raffles TCM, which i read was supposed to improve the chances.. but it still doesn't help..

I'm at a lost now, cos I've already spend around 40K (2 IVF/ICSI and 2 SO-IUI).. I want to try again, but I need to know which doctor is really skillful in this situation, else I'll be torturing myself again and wasting my hard earned money.

Hi Fingercross

When will your 2ww up? I'll pray for your success. I read abt Dr Loh, but heard the waiting time is long (need to wait like 4/5 months before IVF and the service no good? What are his charges like?

Hi Libby,

I see.... seems your cervix is really in a difficult position...

Hhmm...maybe you can go for second opinion? Maybe can try Dr. Loh @ KKH? Can go for consultation and see what he says about your condition and you see if you would want to transfer to him if you need to for another round...

cos KKH is public hospital... so at least the costs will not be that high.

But of cos I hope that you will be successful this round. BFP BFP to you!!!

Hi Dec

Thanks for your encouragement. Can I check how long is the usual waiting time for Dr Loh? I was told to go to private suite faster. Is there any difference in terms of price? From 1st check up till the embryo transfer, how long (months) does it take?

When are you starting your transfer? Good luck to you too!

Hi Libby,

I'm seeing Dr. Loh at Clinic D at the moment. Waiting time about 45mins or so i think. For me, no difference in price cos i requested for him directly.

I can't advise you on the process at the moment, cos I haven't really been thru it. Just waiting for the go ahead from doc before i can commence my process which i think will be at my next cycle.

Maybe the other sisters can advise u instead.

But based on the flow KKH gave me, from the start of your cycle to ET, prob will take 1.5-2months.

Hi libby,

im with dr loh at kkivf, he experienced difficulty doing et for me too. but i think he is very skillful cos my cervix/uterus is also quite hard to reach. he took quite a while to transfer the embryo and its not painful just a little uncomfortable thats all.. his queue is quite ok. you can call and try. good luck

Dear Libby
Sorry to hear the bad experience u had. Sounds like you need to seek a second opinion. Are u in your 2ww? or plan to try again fresh some where else?

If u move to another, what happens to the remaining embryos?PLs take care.....and Jia you.

Hi Sagimoo

Are you in your 2ww now? Hope you will be successful. I'm really very disheartened now.. seem like even if i am willing to spend money on IVF/ICSI but my unusual cervix/uterus make it so hard for the process to go smoothly..

Can we make appt with Dr Loh directly? I read from somewhere it had to be referred by a gynae first.. Any difference for Clinic D and the private suite? Tks

Hi Nancy

Today just past my 2ww, and my results are negative.. due to difficulty occurred during transfers, that's why i was very disheartened as both tries on IVF failed due to same reasons. Wasted my money, efforts and embryos..

I have finished all my embryos, so I can move to another doc, doing research to find a doc who is experience with my kind of situation.

Tks!

just went thru the worst experience in life this morningat 2am.. rushed to KK 24Hrs clinic due to some cramps. The gynae says the sac is not there anymore.. both babies are miscarriage.. he gets me to do HCG blood test and i am so scare from 4am when i reach home till 8am. Finally , the calls came and says that my HCG level drops till 113 only.. tears rolled out like tap water. Couldn't stop until now.
The feeling i have now is just like somebody brings me up to 72 floors (suceed with IVF and get pregnant) until that very moment that i was pushed down all the way when i know that i have miscarriage. Cried non stop, trying to focus and stay positive but i lost pyscologically... Really dunno how to stand up again.. mother in law blames me on everything ! No bleeding till now and i really dunno where the baby gone.. should be seeing the heartbeats wk 6 which is today and now everything just gone..

Dear develyn,

I'm so so so sorry to hear about your experience. It must have been a very sad and somewhat frightening experience for you. Don't know which is worse.. not being able to conceive, or to lose your baby once you conceived.

Nevertheless, I hope you'll stay strong. We'll lend you a listening ear. I hope your doc will be able to let you know what went wrong and maybe can try again? The next round, you can then know what to do to strengthen your body to sustain your pregnancy.

Look on the bright side, at least your ivf try was successful, so by God's will, maybe if you try again, you'll succeed next time round
Our prayers are with you. Please stay strong!

Hi nancy,

Saw your post. You mentioned that you will have to go back on Day 2 or 3 of your upcoming menses for scan and jab. This is before starting your Stage 1 Lucrin injections on Day 21 of your cycle?

I didn't know have to go for jab and scan on Day 2 or 3 when your menses start to kick off the Stage 1. Thought just need to inform the clinic, and den purchase the jabs and start injections from Day 21 onwards?

Dear Sierra ,

Ya, it was really a frightening experience.
Worse that i am unable to conceive then i do IVF.
Worst when i conceive and lose it.

I am really trying to stay strong.. trying to be positive. Maybe things comes to fast and i am unable to cope with my emotion to take it immediately. Hopefully when i see Dr Loh on Friday , i can hear from him the cause and positive news.

Gals, please do not be dishearted.. i am really sorry that i have to blast out my emotion now.
Really bless that you all will make it thru' !

oh develyn im so sorry! this must be so devastating. i really don't know what to say but i hope you will find strength and hope in this time. do not blame yourself no matter what. it's hard to see it now, but one day your dream will come true. give yourself time to heal and be good to yourself. take care.

Hi develyn,

It's ok to vent your sadness and even anger. I guess you must be on an emotional rollercoaster ... cry if you must. I think it helps in some ways. I would do the if I were you too ... I hope Dr Loh will be able to shed some light on what happened.

Do be strong. I know it's easier said than done, esp if we haven't gone through what you just experienced. Lots of hugs for you. Will pray for the best for you. God bless!

I don't know if anyone like me was wondering about the difference between pregnyl and progesterone supplements, but I think I found the answer here (http://www.ivf-infertility.com/ivf/standard/procedure/luteal.php) and thought I'd share:

"..The choice for luteal phase lies between intramuscular hCG injections and progesterone. While hCG may result in higher pregnancy rates, there is an increased likelihood for OHSS (ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome) and for this reason routine use of hCG is not recommended..."

Hi Develyn,
I have been through an early miscarriage. That period have been very tough for me. I feel like a zombie everyday. You take care.

Hi cribby,
As one of the ladies here , josephine told me she was on progesterone,I wonder about it too why I was given pregnyl - different from her. I found from some website that if eggs less than 15 will be given pegnyl . More will be progesterone

Nancy
Actually, I am getting a bit confused. Dr Chia affirmed me that menses will come within 3 days while Rebecca told me confidently from 3-7 days. As it is now, I am experiencing more and more brown discharge everyday. There was a little red late afternoon. Argh... I will call the centre again tmr. I won't forget to call the centre whem menses come, have been visitng them and calling them quite frequently. Maybe we will meet one another on 28 jan

Mel,
wow! at least urs walk away. my ILs relatives went on & on abt this cure that method & wun let me go... at least my own relatives jus keep quiet esp after my mum told them abt my last preg then the m/c.

Itjabi,
dun be scared. somehow, i got lucky. since day 1 we start suppressant, i actually psycho myself i wld not make it so dat i dun get depressed & think wild like yr 2007 when i failed so-iui & 2006 when i had m/c... i succeed so well dat i got shocked when i saw the +ve on home test kit then the +ve phone call & ivf clinic nurse.

Cribby,
pregnyl or progesterone depends on how many eggs were retrieved during ER

Develyn,
pls take care

Develyn,
So sorry to hear ur experience... It's okay to blast out ur emotion here. That's partly what this forum is for

I experienced heavy bleeding after a jog. It was two days after I was tested pregnant. (so ladies, avoid jogging even if u jog regularly) I was very sad when the doc told me my sac was irregular in size. The frequent blood tests to monitor the HCG level was the worst.. Everything happened so fast that only hb knew. Thus, i am greatful that now there is this forum to share joys, vent frustrations..

Pl take care of yourself. Hope ur doc can tell u the cause and u will succeed next time round

Dear develyn
Oh dear. So sorry to hear what had happened within a day. Dun be afraid to pour out here. We are here to support and listen to you. Pls be strong and try again when u are ready.

Cry out if you need to. Dun hold back. You will get back on ur feet soon. I understand what u mean when u said brought u up to 72 floors and drop down from there.

Last year, I was all ready to start jab on that day when my dr told me i need surgery to remove my tube. I cried for 2 days.

Maybe can consider TCM to "tiao" ur body first. Hugs.......

Bee
The last round my menses came at day 4. So i was expecting something the same. Are u doing TCM? If not, I can ask Dr Zou for you abt the spotting when i see her on friday.

Hi Develyn
Feels so sorry for you. Please stay strong & do a mini confinement to tiao your body. I can understand how you feels now. I miscarried my precious bbs 1.5years ago and felt it was the end of my world. Am very fortunte to have a caring husband and my family support during the hardest time in my life. Cry out if you want to, and move on. We'll be here for you.

Hi Sierra
Yes, i think the protocol is different at Thomson Fertility Clinic. We take 21 days of pills then stop and when menses come, we see doc on Day 2 or 3 to start the jab.

Think there is short and long protocols and some uses Lucrin some uses GonalF.

hi sierra79
The IVF process may differ slightly for different centres. For TFC which myself and Nancy went to, a typical process is

Stage 1
- Call centre on 1st day menses to make appoint to see doc and scan on day 2 or 3 of menses
- Start oral contraceptive pill on day 5, some people starts on day 2 (like me). The pills will last for 21 days

Stage 2
- Call centre on 1st day menses to fix appointment on day 2 or 3 of menses
- On day 2 or 3 of menses, Doc will do a scan. Daily Gonal F injections will start (consider 1st day of injection)
- On day 6 of injection, see Doc to monitor response of follicles (ideal size 14mm)
- On day 7, inject gonal F and Cetrotide (ya, two injections), scanning fequency will become every 2-3 days till follicles reaches desired size
- Once 2 or more follicles reaches 18mm, inject Pregnyl/Profasi and ER will be 36 hours after
- ET is usually 3 days after ER
- 2ww begins and pregnancy test is 14 days later

Nancy,
I am not doing TCM and have stopped taking chinese medicine which is more to cure my severe menses cramp and keep the womb "warm" since I started stage 1. Thanks for offering to check with ur TCM doc

Hi Develyn,
My heart goes out to you - please keep up the hope, and I am sure next time will work out smoothly. Stay emotionally close to hubby as its important...

Kaira and Jas,
thank you girls - and wish you the same - lets hope we have a lot of BFPs on this forum soon

Hi Libby.
KK cost is much lower - would definitely be under 10k, even if you are not using medisave. I think Dr.Loh is skilled in the OT, as I have had 2-3 procedures done by him, with minimal after-effects. However, I think he is more of a "traditional" IVF doc, which is not much of a help in case the problem is genetic/ immunity related (as I think mine is). Don't get disheartened - wish you BFP next time

Develyn, i am so sorry to hear about your miscarriage. please take good care of yourself and take care ...
regarding your mother in law , just ignore her, try your best to stay positive, i know it is really difficult but try k, we are all here for support . please please take care ... * hugs*

develyn, so sorry to hear about this. take good care. anything, just write your feelings out. might not reply you but will listen.

sierra79, i will be starting in 26 may or 23 june if my cycle comes as accurately as i hope. i was contemplating starting asap but really cannot afford to have a good 2ww. will need to run around for coordination work and meetings. got the flu bug these days too... heard from my hubby colleague that his wife was horizontal for 2 days after the transfer.

Mel + Juju, thanks for the advice. i m ok with the old folks. they are just trying to find things to say and they are too old already..keep on forgetting what they last said. My mum keeps on harping on it too but I start diverting the speech and talk about food or tv...otherwise i will tell them i am on my way to 5bbs.

Hi Libby, you can make an appt for Dr Loh at Clinic D 6294 4050. First consultation $85, subsequent $50. Not inclusive of blood test or medication. First consultation bring all medical reports with you, get ready with your questions, bring hubby with you. Blood test must be less than 6 months for both of you. He is swift in actions but in my opinion, he looks overworked.

iwant5bbs,
it would be best if u stay at home & rest during 2ww. even if go to work, have to stay relaxed. to optimise chances.

December,

Im also with doctor Loh
Will keep each other posted ya.Havent gone for counselling though.Have to make appointment.

juju78,

Thanks for ur support. Guess have to juz relax and take it easy. Juz that at this time of desperation u juz cant help it sometimes.

develyn,

So sorry to hear abt ur miscarriage. Be strong and have faith in god. Dun let wat others say affect u.Know it is difficult but nobody will understand wat u r going through n they will juz make u feel worst with watever they say.Be strong n god bless.

Be strong ladies. God will bless us sooner or later. We juz have to keep the faith.

develyn,

so sorry to hear about what happened. Stay strong and take good care of yourself. We are all here for you. Hugs...

Hi Finger Crossed & Iwan4bbs

Tks for encouragement, i'll call Dr Loh's clinic for the earliest appointments, hope he is patient enuf to hear my past history, and is confident to do it for me.

All the best to all

Hi jas,
where do you purchase the HPT? can share the lobang?

Hi finger cross,
BFP! rest well for the 2WW.

Hi libby,
hugs! don't give up, do try again.

Hi develyn,
so sorry to hear that. I know how you feel, the terrible feeling of putting you top of the sky and falling, hitting really hard on the ground. I miscarriage at 2 weeks. Cry all you want now and after that, pick yourself up and move on. Please be strong. Like what sierra mention, you have a successful try is very good already. Don't lose hope.

Hi nancy,
i am with Dr Zou as well. I saw her using her pc the other day, forgot to ask her if she has an email. Maybe we can email her when we have queries. Will ask her next time see her.

Hi Nancy, Bee

Thanks for the clarification. Indeed the procedures differ very much between the 2 clinics. Thought I missed out something from what I understood from KKH! :p

Iwant5bbs: I can't even say for now when roughly i can start my ivf. Cos of late, my AF has been a bit haywire. For 2 mths now, have been coming a day late each month. Previous months, still 2-3 days earlier. Nowadays my cycle seem to stretch 30-31 days when in the past it used to be a regular 28 days. Arrgggh! But IF, IF, IF cycle is stable, AF should come mid-month... so my Day 21 (using April's cycle) should start around early May (maybe 2-5May). If I wait for May cycle, then will only commence in early June.

It's hard for me to predict due to my slightly "haywire" cycle of late. And this is posing a major problem for me, as my boss has agreed to post me back to SIN for my ivf. But I'm afraid the cycle is such that it'll overlap with my handover period! Still hvg headache on how to get round this cos everything hinges on my cycle for the month. Sigh ...

Hi Develyn

Very sorry to hear of your miscarriage. I know it's difficult but try to stick to the positivities. I really don't know what to say except to ask you to be brave. We all have our sad stories.

For those of you who are working, how many days would you recommend to stay at home and rest after ET?

Hi Jas

Don't think we are seeing the same doc. I am given the long luteal treatment table, which sounds like what most of you described, except the drugs are slightly different.

Hi Kaira and Juju,
Thank you, your replies about pregnyl/progesterone make sense.

I'm also on the 2ww now. I found this article that said,
"In 1988, a report was published calling into question the logic of bedrest after IVF. The arguement was that since the uterus is tilted in the body, that in the upright or standing position, the uterus is almost horizontal. It made more sence, then to have an IVF patient stand rather than lie down. when this IVF group then encouraged patients to get up after an embryo transfer, their pregnancy rates actually increased!"
(from http://www.ivf1.com/ivf-success-and-bedrest/)

What do you guys think of this?

thanks a lot for the hugs and loves.. Yeah, i do feel like crying every now and then but now i am back in office.. so it is quite embarassing if i just blast and cry.. Until now, there is still no bleeding and i will need to check with Dr Loh to get the menses back to regular. Well, i am still very sad and scare. Yesterday i even sleep and cry at the same time. Now i am superz exhausted. Once i close my eyes, everything reflect. Body started to change back to normal, no more nausea , pain + cramp on abdominal , nipples start to change from sore to normal. Then i started to be sad again..

Btw, anyone knows good TCM in the east ? Think i really need to "tio" my body le.. feeling very weak and tired now.. very very.. sob

cribby,
to add on to what some who responded to your question:
yes, the difference of using pregnyl and progesterone jabs depends on the number of follicles extracted during ER. If more follicles(more than 15) are extracted, there is a higher risk of having OHSS, so progesterone will be given which will not cause further bloating. On the other hand, if fewer follicles are extracted, the patient usually experiences less bloating and so pregnyl will usually be given as it has side effect of causing bloatedness.

Develyn,
Hugz....it is very sad to hear about your miscarriage. Do spend some time to grieve and cry. But do not give up, like what some said, you are in fact considered successfully conceived once thru ivf, so there is high chance that you will succeed the next time. You must stay positive and be strong as usual, you will definitely be able to overcome all these devastation and agony.
Your babies are waiting for you to try again and they can come to you to be your precious ones.
I will pray for you.

develyn -sorry to hear about the loss ... Hugz for you ....

Just to add on the bed rest for 2WW - it was advisable for ladies to get up and work a bit and you could even do sum light shopping - do not just rest in bed .....

I guess it is up to individuals ... some prefer not to think about it as ET has been done and b positive while unders will broad over it and will constantly be worried... Yes we should be worried but the more worried and anxious we become the more panic we will be ...

So advise from Dr Yong - just go out there and be normal n positive ... you had done ET and now is the results to be positive or in sum cases negative - for those with negative dun despair n giv up trying, go n find out the flaws and work hard towards another cycle and hopefully you would succeed the next round

Dear Bliss, thanks alot.. I will cope with the grieve.. then walk out from that shadow. Meanwhile, i really hope my in laws can stop giving stress and remarks. M-I-L has put salt onto my wound yesterday and even make me feel worse. Hubby just says what happen already happens so just try again... i am really praying hard that i am having depression. Is it normal to tear at any moment..?