Hi Mala,

don't worry too much. Think that all your 5 eggs are all in good grades and will be fertilised.
Get yourself enough rest to prepare for the coming ET. Must let yourself in good mood, ok? Don't think too much now.

my sinseh did tell me before that sleep early does help in thickening the uterus lining. So she kept telling me to sleep early(before 11pm) to increase of progesterone level during the 2nd half of the cycle.

Hi Bliss,
That means the doctor is very careful to put the dosage for you. Maybe your doctor does not want you to get OHSS.

Hi josephine,

I don't know leh. My sinseh said my doc is probably more prudent kind and less 'aggressive' type. Will see how on this coming Sat US then.

Bliss,
u r not alone, i also had 200iu of puregon.

Josephine,
Dr Tan Heng Hao. he wanted to put 2, then hubby and me request 3 to maximise chances and he agreed.
i also get breathless very often. even bending down can make me breathless, so weird.

hey gals,
went for my ER today...

i guess i had the most horrible experience.. well, during the transfer i was like totally unaware of wht was going on. BUT when i woke up, OMG!my lower abdomen hurt like hell.plus i have a terrible cough..cough even more pain..then time to go stand up, i felt giddy.rested another half an hour. Next try, i managed to make it to the restroom,then giddy again. alamak. nurse had to take wheelchair.call doc coz i initially bled a lot. was like a nightmare. think all the nurses know me at KKIVF,plus the patients there.lol. Im the youngest but the weakesT!

still feeling pain in abominal pain!! anyway, they managed to 19 eggs...but now feeling soo bloated..nurses say more than 15 then do bloodtest incase OHSS..so scared lei...

dimple,

how come you bled alot? Who is your doc? Sounds horrible indeed! Poor you, must rest alot and drink more water and eat lots of egg whites.

Hope you will feel better very soon.

Imel,
no wonder i sleep so much and still wan to sleep...

Bliss,
yes, 200iu every day. growth was ok bah jus dat i had to inject 4 more days of 200iu puregon, eventually harvested 16 eggs during ER.

juju,

thanks for sharing. I am less worried now.

Hi josephine and juju,
the progesterone you are taking during the 2WW will make you feel tired and sleepy too. For normal cycle when the progesterone level in our body increases alot, we will feel more tired than in the first 2 weeks of the cycle. This is normal.

Hi Bliss, I'm on a lower dosage of puregon. 150iu. Currently, based on what the doc said, I had about 10 eggs. Going for my ER tomorow. So nervous.. The thought of the anesthesia kinda bothering me a little. Anyway, I hope for the best.

Hi Bakaholic! Congrats! That is a huge number of eggs. Rest lots k. Is your ET on Fri? Prof said mine will most likely be on Sat.

Hi Sri! Welcome!

Josephine,
haha! actually i sleep late, but sleep very long hours... dat's why usually no postings from me in the morning. usually only see me post after lunch cos i only wake up around dat time... haha

Hi austere,

So you were on 150iu puregon for how many days? You are also with KKH? All the best for your ER tomorrow, will go smoothly, don't worry.

Josephine,
I will think positively.

Brace_BB,
I am seeing Dr Zhong Xi Ming at Paragon Eu Yan Seng. Been seeing her for a year for acupuncture and chinese medicine so far.

I've just signed up for the IVF program today at KKH. Really glad that there is this thread where I can find emotional support while I embark on this tedious journey. And looks like I have alot of reading to catch up too

Hi Dimple,

Sorry to hear about your experience. Usually what we did after ER is to drink lots of water to flush out the high E2 hormone and lots of protein from the egg white. Besides this, rest well to let your ovary slowly recover. It usually lasted for about 2-3 days, after that you would slowly begin to feel better. Hang in there and looking forward to your ET. You would be fine.

Hi Pbabe,
Welcome on board

Hi GraceBB,
There is another doctor who is good at acupunture and infertility. He is Dr Tan Kian Seng at Clementi.

Hi Bliss,
I also on 200 iu dosage, and able to extract 21 eggs during my ER. So dun worry about your low dosage. Trust doctor and yourself ok

Hi juju78,
Thanks for your kind words, makes me feel better

Hi Mel,
I see, you are lucky to still have ur tubes...my doc didn't offer me any non-invasive treatment, i gotta go laproscopy again to remove the tube. Thanks for your well wishes

Hi Mala,
Thanks, i'm praying hard too

Dun be too upset, must always hope for the best and think positive ok? Hope that all 5 are goodies eggs, waiting to hear ur good news 2mr.

I oso had bad pain after my ER and can hardly walk straight even until my ET day. Dun worry, some of us do get this kinda symptoms. I oso had bad spotting and pain in urinating for few days after my ER. You dun think so much and rest well for now.

Hey Josephine,
I put in 3 embies heehee....dr loh did suggest put 2 only cos he thot i am still young, but i kiasu and wanted to put 3 cos i not so heng to get triplets lah haha.....Oh, i oso has shortness of breath sometimes, felt like old lady haha...but think shld be normal, just take care not to over-exert.

Hi GraceBB,
I am oso seeing Dr zhong xi min from eu yan sang, same as Bliss
Dr SF loh knows her quite well oso.

Hi Dimple,
You so poor thing, i oso had very bad experience after ER. I had bad bleeding and severe pain when i tried to pass urine. After that got faintness and whole body cold sweat. Was put into the room to rest again and when i tried to get up 2nd time, got faintness again, so scary, but after that i vomit out the milo and felt better. My spotting and abdomen pain oso lasted many days. But dun worry, you will get better as the days goes by, initially i was oso worry that it may hinder my ET, but no problem, i went ahead with my ET 2 days ltr with bloated tummy.

Cale & Maykel,
Thanks for the welcome

Maykel,
I'm also seeing dr SF Loh. YOu are also seeing TCM at the same time undergoing IVF? Can ah? Won't have any interference?

Hi pbabe,
I did consult Dr Loh beforehand and he is ok with it, he and my tcm knows each other, so they would complement each other's treatment. I oso understand that acupuncture oso helps in blood circultion and increases the chance of IVF. i tried acu a few times but was uncomfortable and is only on chinese medication now.

Maykel,
Can you PM me your TCM dr contact? Maybe can also share with me on the cost of consultation. If it's affordable, then I'll also consider going for TCM treatment at the same time. Hopefully with external help will increase my chances of graduating from IVF

juju78,
Thanks for the welcome too!

Hi dimple,
You should rest at least about 3hrs inside before you discharged. Drink plenty of water, eat white egg and rest well.

Hi Maykel,
Ooo ic. My MIL want to put 3, but DR Loh said 2 is enough.
Since the doctor said can not put 3 so I imagine if later I put 3, the space in my tummy not enough for the embies and the embies must squeeze squeeze... not good for the development (maybe that is why the doctor not recomended) Hahahahaha :D
Wat grade is your embies?

hey gals,

thanks for your kind words! im feeling better today. lessened bloatedness. only my cough is persistent.

Then after breakfast ooops...having loose motion!! another sign of OHSS!! gosh!

totally freaked out i tell u...

Maykel & Cale,hows life in 2ww?gettin superexcited for its gonna end?

speaking of youngest, i think im the youngest...83 born...24+. but im the weakest!

Hi Dimple,
Glad that you are feeling better now. My first day after ER also have loose motion, should be ok one, not too worry.

Wow, I think you should be the youngest here. When did you got married?

Are you with KK too? Tomorrow are you going back to do the ET? All the best to you and may you have lots of good quality embryos

Yeah, another 3 more days to go, i can go for my blood test liao.. hee, very excited. It's soon your turn to be in 2WW liao.

Pbabe - welcome..

Dimple - yeah, i think you ARE the youngest..

Mala - how are you feeling today?

Sri - you are doing your supression now? Good start to an exciting journey!!

Bliss - looks like your dates and mine could be near each other..

the graduates - good thoughts!! good thoughts!!

Hey all, for those who are thinking of getting the govt co-funding.. i wonder if you all know about the ruling.. one of the requirements is 2 or less embies per time..

Hi pbabe,
Had PM you my TCM's contact. The initial consult plus maybe 2 weeks of med can be around $170-200. The costliness is actually from the med. So if she gives you 1mth med then can costs up to $200plus. If acup is around $70plus exclude med and consult.

Hi Josephine,
Haha...ya, initially i put 3 cos i knew i not so heng, but after that i was thinking wat if really so heng har? Then dun know embies got space to grow or not hehe.....
I didn't get a chance to ask abt my grading leh
but on the day that i went to do progesterone blood test, i tried asking the nursing officer to check for me, but she say, " aiya, no need lah, sometimes gd ones may not implant and not so good ones may stick, so dun think so much...." so eventually i didn't get to know loh...

Hi Dimple,
You mean loose stools is a sign of OHSS? I didn't know that leh, cos from my ER day, i keep having loose stools and tummy upset now and then, but no doc told me i got OHSS leh...sekali my bloatedness is OHSS and not signs of positive, OMG!
Right on man, i am getting more and more kan cheong as fri gets nearer, now every nite can't sleep well...
Wow, you really young leh, wat makes you want to do IVF? Must take more vit C then can build up ur immune system. Tat time when i got sick and i didn't want to take med, i just took vit C and it works very well for me, you try bah.

Hey sisters,
Can I ask your advise? I'm thinking if i really heng heng preggie, I wonder if i shld leave my job. But it would be a pity cos i got promoted recently and few more mths got big bonus. Initially thot of leaving after bonus but my work can be stressful so dun know can tahan that long or not....Actually my heart ask me to leave, but there are 2 things i need to sort out. First is my fat bonus, another is, how am i going to spend my time not working?? Cos these few wks at home already very bored liao wor....Any thots or suggestions? Thank you.

Hi Maykel,

I am sure u will strike lah, don't worry. Ladies in this thread very "heng", I am also very sure I will strike for my FET in Oct..ha..ha..

Regarding ur question of whether to leave ur job or not, I think u can ask ur gynae about the "quality" of your pregnancy. If yours is normal (i.e. no high risk of miscarriage), then maybe u can "tong3" until get bonus? Just continue and see how "bad" is your 1st trimester condition i.e. morning sickness and tiredness, lack of appetite etc. If really can't cope, then have to leave and rest at home lah.

My friend told me during the 1st 3 mths, she sit infront of her computer and just zoom out, super unproductive! Luckily she is an accountant, so not like marketing or sales job with tight deadline. She coped by going home to rest on time everyday but do OT during the weekend to catch up with her work. My colleague has no morning sickness symptoms at all during the 1st trimester but she can't sleep well at night now that she is in 2nd trimester, so weird. I guess every lady's condition is different and u have to see how is yours before deciding. No point jumping the gun and quit then stay at home and zzz...

Hi Mala,
Dun be sad ok? you have come this far and 5 eggs is still a good number.
I dun have much pain except that i can't stand too straight as can feel some tugging on the abdomen. I took a painkiller before i head home but i felt some bad headache and bitter taste in my mouth after that. Had to quickly eat something and slept thr it. maybe the painkiller reacted with the remaining anaesthesia?
You just rest alot and not move too much.
I had this weird feeling of UTI when i pee after the ER but seems to have gone off now.
I was having slight OHSS prior to the ER (BT shows high estradiol level) and I was trying to keep myself from freaking out as i was having negative thoughts that i won't be able to continue.

Hi josephine,
I did't have any drip when i woke up. Was a bit groggy like taking those drowsy flu meds..but mind still alert. All i wanted is drink water and eat..
I was pretty much knocked out after they administer the anaesthesia and even dreaming about something when the nurse woke me. My jaw and the area under the chin was aching though. Weird huh?
The bloating has gone off after the ER so I didn't take much high protein stuff.

Austere,
Good luck for your ER. dun worry about the sedation. I had the same worry too. When you get into the OT, the docs are nurses will be busy with you and in no time, you will be knocked out. It's probably the waiting part that is agonizing. Btw, the day ward room is really cold so you may want to get a sweater or extra blanket. I got slight cold after that.
Remember to take your antibiotics to prevent infection. Is your hubby going with you? It will be better if someone is there. You will need the emotional & physical support.
My ET is tomorrow.

I did an update. wow, the thread is moving so fast nowadays.

Hi pbabe, welcome to the thread.

stage 1
Kalki - 18 Aug
Sri - 25 Aug

Stage 2
Mala - 11 Aug ER 26 Aug
Bakaholic - 14 Aug ER 25 Aug
Austere - 15 Aug ER 27 Aug
Ping - 16 Aug ER 29 Aug
Dimple - 17 Aug ER 26 Aug
Patricia - 21 Aug
Bliss - 23 Aug
Mel Wong - 25 Aug

Stage 3 - 2WW
Maykel - ET 13 Aug
Cale - ET 14 Aug
Hopefull_BB - ET 15 Aug
Josephine - ET 22 Aug

Graduates
Bebecraze08
Elle
Imel
Feibb

Hi Ladies ,

I'm now 2.5days surviving without cigratte after 20 years of smoking habit............... can i hold on to it any longer ???? and i have fixed appointment with DR Loh SF will be 16 SEP 2008.

Maykel,
If financial allows, would be good if you quit. If your current job is very stressful, then will be affected. Maybe you can ask your superior if they can lighten your workload while you are pregnant.