sunflower

thanks for e advice.do nt want to terminate my contract yet as i m still ok for now. company allow 45 days HL per yr, i havnt use a single day so far. so planning to take HL frm 6 mth onwards or whenever necessary. although hubby's salary s enough for us, but thinking of e possible expenses during e pregnancy, i stil hav to work as far as i can.

PL

thanks. my vomitting s nt tat bad as i still can take food normally.

mulberry

haha.... ya, e pregnyl jab s intramuscular, it's more painful than puregon. get them to jab u on e butt, wil b less painful.

mulberry,
thanks God i'm enjoying every minutes of my pregnancy, whether when i feel sick or not, and i can feel i become so lazy cause my hubby does everything for me,hihihi, today is better, i can finish a pack of instant noodle+egg for my lunch, i know its not good to eat instant noodle, but when i can eat, i try to eat as much as i can.

weiwei,
too much rest for me actually, hahaha, i open my eyes at 9, ask hubby to get my milk and go back to sleep until 12, then lunch, almost everyday, i wont get up from my bed if hubby still lay down. hahahaha... and i dont feel like going out, cause i'm dizzy to see a lot of people walking here and there. very "kolao" person i be.

Deasy,

I have no doubt that you are enjoying every moment. After all that we have been through, I am sure you are enjoying it.

Hey...try to get hubby to packet some fresh food for you. Instant noodle is not good for you and your darlings. :>

krmeow,
i read u mentioned bout cantonese soup. do they sell it here in singapore? where?
in my place here i cant cook le, only can do small cooking, like instant noodle and boiled eggs, so, everytime i eat, hubby will buy for me from the hawker center, and so far i only take 2 kinds of soup, lotus root and watercress, but people say cant take watercress too much cause its consider cold, and i hvnt eaten watermelon, so called "kua" things, but since last week, when i think i can eat, i'll eat, so i took watercress soup, share with my hubby, everything now share with hubby, and his belly grow faster than mine. wakakakaka....

Jade,
Gd to know that we r cycling ard the same time. How's your appt with Dr Xia Rong yesterday?

BabyLow,
I'm also seeing Dr Loh fr KKH. Have been TTC for more than 2 yrs but no results so far so decided to try ivf. When are you doing ivf?

Petals_bloom,
Are you going to do acup before yr ivf? I'm still thinking but actually not much time left before ivf. If my menses is regular, is it neccessary to do acup?

Theresa,
Thks for yr info on cordyceps. Do you just mixed it with plain water? Is it bitter. Thinking whether can mix with Honey or other drink.

Hi Sunflower, PL, Pixie,

i will be having my first D7 puregon scan this thursday. May i know how your body is reacting to the puregon? Right now after 5 days of injection, dun feel anything except for slight cramp occasionally. wonder if my dosage is enough as only on 200 Units.

Has the nurse advise where hubby will be providing the sperms? will he be collecting it at home or there is a room at KK? Cos i used to do IUI at Care and they have a proper room for hubbies. Think it will be too stressful for him to do at kk if it is in the toilet.

Hi Mulberry,

I just going to start purgeon this Thurs so i am still quite far behind you. Wow ... ER this fri ... u must be excited! All the best!!

Hi Orangedots,
Your Puregon scan is on D8 (you started on 5 July). I also felt a slight cramp yesterday and today (D4+D5) and very tired. maybe because of high dosage (300iu). I have not checked with nurse yet about the sperms collection. I also worried my hubby will be nervous during that day. Someone did say that hubby can do it at home and send to KK.

Hi Wei Wei,
Can you help to advise?

Hi JR, can I have the address and the contact number for the acupuncture that you are going? Thnking of going for acu too. Thanks a lot

Hi Orangedots & SarahFaith,

Here is the address:
Gian Min Medical Centre
Blk 152, Mei Ling Street #01-16
Singapore 140152
Tel: 6475 9621

Orangedots,

I didn't feel much when I first started on Gonal-F. It was after 8 days that I begin to feel bloated and tired. A lot of people commented that I put on weight! :< Nothing much except for backache and a bit of cramp occassionally.

Dun worry about the dosage. The doctor will advise you to increase or decrease the dosage depending on the development of the follicles.

The nurse told me that my hubby can produce sperm specimen either at home or at CARE. But there is a time limit. You need to deliver it within 1 hour.

The option was given and I advice my hubby to donate his sperm at CARE. I hope to keep the sperm as fresh as possible and to minimise contaimation or damage during transportation.

Maplebabies,

I am not excited. I am scared! The way the nurse describes it. Sounds so scary. And I got confirmation from Weiwei that the Prengnyl injection (the final injection) is painful.

The nurse gave me the medicine and advice me to inject it at the same place where I do my Lucrin and Gonal-F. I am confused...I look forward to it...yet I fear it.

hi Petals,

For the acu, there is no need to remove your clothes. Dr will poke 5 very fine needles on ur stomach area. Another 2 or 3 on each leg - area slightly below knee - on the inner and outer side.
Then she will hook up the needles with the electric machine. She will put this "warmer" over your stomach area and turn on the power. Mild currents will be sent to the needles. It is ok - similar to the OSIM massage pads that we used.

Then after 20 min, they will remove everything and do it on your back. Another 5 needles at the spine area on your back. No more needles for the legs.

You dun have to remove your clothes. just lift up your blouse and roll up your pants. Same for the back area. My advice is to be clad in t-shirt or blouse with skirt or pants. If it is pants, you have to roll up your pants.

When I was doing the acu at EYS at Paragon, I have a room all to myself. I don't know abt the clinic in AMK. Maybe other sisters here can share?

Mulberry, why do you have 15 days of puregon? I thought usually 10 days is enough? Some even shorter I thought?

I saw dr loh for the first time and i like his mannerism. My husband and I are very comfortable with him. Well, he will be doing the scopes for me, somewhere next week and now i am waiting for my AF. I hope you all would pray for me so that my procedure will go smoothly. Finally, I got myself started with something. Perhaps, I may be one of the miracles who could conceive naturally after the scope... Please keep me in your prayers.

hi Jade/Petals,

For the Acu sessions in AMK, we will be place on individual beds with curtain drawn.. so..rest assured it's quite private, but like those typical TCM clinic.. Dr will still see patients in the same room.. so u can hear what's going on outside but of coz.. nobody can see u

I do think there is some help in acupunture for ladies like us coz when I did my IVF fresh cycle (1st time), I didn't go the ER/ET, and I failed the cycle.

Thereafter, I tried acupuncture for abt 2mths+ prior to my FET and got a positive BCP but sadly, I miscarried at abt 6wks into my pregnancy due to some unknown reasons.. probably my womb still very weak or what.. i'm not sure...coz dr Loh also cannot pin point the reason for my miscarriage.

Btw, there is this talk on how Acupuncuture is benficial to IVF patients coming this Saturday at Raffles Hospital, maybe you gals will like to register for it to understand more?

Here's some brief info I managed to find on the net.

http://www.infertilitysolutions.com/thoughts_acupuncture.html

Babylow

FET means frozen embryo transfer. I had 3 embryos frozen during my cycle and will using that. Hopefully it will succeed.

Orangedots

Hubby can do it at the hospital or at home. But if done at home, I think must be within one or two hours. Not too sure. There is a room at KK but my hubby said it wasn't err...the most conducive. hehe!

Deasy and Wei Wei...
I have this book called The Chinese Pregnancy & Confinement cookbook. Amongst others, this is what it says:
1st Month- when the child is conceived, the nervous system begins ro form in the embryo. The mother tends to favour sour food and should consume chicken essence.

2nd Month- The heart, brain and sex organs are being formed. The mother should eat more meat.

3rd Month- The placenta is formed during the 3 months. The mother must have plenty of rest to avoid miscarriage. She should have more chicken soup.

Deasy...some of the foodcourt have soup stalls. You can try those but I think the Soup Restarant may be better quality. Some of the soup suggested in the book:
chicken feet soup
salted vegetables and duck
chinese spinach in fish soup

btw, it also says you can try century eggs and pickled giner to stop the nauseous feeling. But cut the century egg with a thread instead of a knife. ^^

hi Orangedots/KRmeow

I think they did mention that the semen should be sent to the hospital within 1-2 hours. When I was with GlenE under Prof Chen, they wanted it to be within 1-1.5 hours.

PL..hubby needs to do his part on ER (eggs retrieval) date. Your eggs will then be fertilised with his sperms. If any of the eggs are fertilised, they will be transferred back to you on ET (embryo transfer) date.

Hubby needs to bring you home on ET date as you will be under sedation and may still be dizzy. You will also have to fast the night before, so you will be hungry after that.

deasy

wow, so envy of u!!! me so busy these days... although friends r try to help me, but still feel tired. anyway, already told boss tat i m carrying triplets today. she s actually nice n understand my position. so i think i wont hav to wori for heavy duty frm now on. for e soup thing, think u just ask e person whether u can take tat soup or not as u r in early pregnancy. some of them r nice n even wil advice u on wat kind of soup u can take.

PL

hubby said kkh wil provide a room for sperm collection. they encourage u to collect there as it wil b e most fresh ones. if ur hubby feel like to collect at hm, must reach there by 1 hr. if u scared hubby cant produce on tat day, can ask him to produce early n freeze it for standby.

babylow

seeDr Loh s veri nice, right?! dun wori, wil pray for u. hope u can conceive naturally after tat n no need to go through ivf. jiayou!!

Weiwei and mulberry pixie,
Thank you for your well-wishes. My only concern now is my work. Please advise. Will be on long HL after scope.

Hope,
I am really sorry to hear what you had been through. Are you on IVF with Dr Loh now?

Deasy,
I agree with everyone that eating well and nutriously is very important during your pregnancy. I went to Soup Restaurant. They have menu on many types of soups that come with descriptions about the soups. Give it a try. Ambience not bad,too...

Hopes and jadedmom,
Thanks, ok I feel better after listening to you describe abt the acu now...doesn't seem so scary. Will check it out and let u know how it goes!

babylow,
Good luck to u, hope ur scopes go smoothly!

nano,
I'm not sure, as I'm also trying acu for the 1st time. I guess no harm trying even though we've only got a few weeks more to go b4 lucrin.

Hi Nano,

For the cordycep, it only require a very small amt of hot water about 5ml and drink it. You will kill all the good mineral if you mixed with other stuff, some medical store do advise to grind the cordycep with ginseng, you can give it a try.

Maybe perhaps you want to attend the Acup talk on this Sat at Raffles Hospital so that you can ask any questions that you have in doubt. You say you dont have time for acup, when is your ER??? I think it is good to do as many time of acup as you can before ER.

krmeow, weiwei, babylow,
thank you for the suggestions, will try to go there, i kinda miss my mom's salted vege&duck soup too, but the flavor will be different here, cause the salted vege we use back then is really salty and smell salty too, hahaha, i tried nyonya style ones, its out of my expectation, although i'm not pregnant at tht time, but i dont really like at all, and tht why i dare not buy tht soup in hawker centre.
anyway, thanks for the suggestions, cause i'm really into soup now. hihi..

hi petals,

Not sure when are they opened. I called them yesterday around 11am and was able to speak with the lady.

She did mention that they are open till 6pm on Wed and for the rest of the days (incl Sun) they are opened till 9pm.

I thought I recalled she said they are opened at 9am. But I could be wrong.

Theresa,

Which hospital are you with? I discovered this forum after I started my IVF, so I had no time to try acu. The more I read about it, the more curious I am. I hope I can get lucky.

Weiwei,
Did u go for acu before your IVF?

Deasy,
Nonya stlye soup? Sounds interesting! Where can I find those? Now that you mention the salted duck vegetable soup...you make my mouth water. My parents cook those soups too. I am considering moving to stay with my parents for a while after my ET.

just finished my D10 scan for puregon. Thurs would be pregnyl and ER will be on Sat. The sizes of the 19 eggs ranged from 9.5-17 mm, and the doc said that there will be abt 8 eggs that can retrieved.

Would like to ask for your feedback:
a) Does pregnyl help to increase the size of the eggs ?

b) Would eggs of abt 12-13.5 mm be able to catch up ?

c)How painful is the pregnyl jab compared to Lucrin/puregon ? I assume it would be better if we take the pregnyl jab on the butt ?

d) How many eggs can be retrieved from an average person ?

Sorry, so many qns. I'm quite concerned about the few eggs that doc said can be retreived.

sunflower,

(a) Pregnly induce the maturity of the egg I think/

(b) Nobody can tell whether the eggs can catch up. They might. Afterall, you still have tonight and tomorrow and Friday for it to grow.

(c) The number of eggs retrieved from ER depends on the individule. Waht we see now are only sacs containing the eggs. Some of these sacs may be empty. There is no standard number for egg retrieval. Some end up with none.

sunflower,

Like the sisters here advice me. Don't worry about the number of eggs retrieved. What we need is that special 1 egg that can give us a baby or two or three. hehehe Just rest well.

Right now, I am in a state of frenzy because of my fear for the pregnly jab tonight. I am told to induce at 2230 sharp. Not more than 5mins difference from stated time I was told.

Hi Sunflower & Mulberry, all the best for your ER this week, so excited for you gals!

Me just about to start purgeon. So ... purgeon usually 10 days enough already? I forecasted 14 days of purgeon then another 2 days for ER and ET so expected HL start last week of Jul. But if only 10 days of purgeon needed, then i may start ER and ET week after next? Wooo ... abit scared.

Dunno how will purgeon jabs be? As it is, lucrin already painful and i so scared, left bruises on my tummy area.

Sunflower,

I think your doctor wants to wait for the majority of the eggs to reach 20mm. The timing that they choose for retrieval normally is a time when most of the eggs are approximately 18-20mm. Along the way, some will be sacrificed. But those eggs that are too matured or not matured enough will still be collected on ER.

I have a total of only 10 I think. Of the 10, 5 on each side I believe,only 6-8 may be used. I was sad at first but the sisters here told me that I only need to focus on that one or two egg/s that will help me realise my hope of motherhood.

Stay jolly girl. We want happy eggs. Weiwei was always so positive and jolly. See....she has got triplets leh! We must xiang ta kan qi!

Deasy,
I love the salted duck veg soup too. My BIL is a baba, sometimes his parents will cook and he will bring for us...hmmmm... yummy!!! So far, have not found any places that is better than that.

Babylow
I too hope that you will conceive naturally after the scope and need not go thru IVF.

You scope is it keyhole? If keyhole, than recovery will be fast. About 1 week. If fact, the last time when I did mine, I am able to move around after a few days. But happen that during that time, is was near Dec. So i rested until Jan than return to work. HL wise, I just told the nurse the date to write and Dr just sign. But that was in GE, I am not sure about KK.

BTW, saw the news last night about the lady who gave birth to a pair of twins and died during the C-section. So sad. Wonder which hospital is that....
So sorry, I am just very much affected by the news.

Maple babies,

Lucrin and Puergon are about the same. if you pinch the fats and inject, most of the time it dun hurt. How did u end up with so many bruises? Did you rub it? Don't rub the injection spot, just apply direct pressure for a minute or two, then release it.

I discovered this forum when I first started my Lucrin. At that time, a few of the sisters here were already in ther 2ww. I was full of envy too. But then...it will soon be my turn. Time will pass real fast.

In fact, I thought mine is slow. I am on extended Gonal-F. A total of 15 days. I already lost track of how long I;ve been put on Lucrin. Probably a month. hahaha

JR,

Did that happen in Singapore? That is indeed very sad news. I did not read about it in straitstime interactive. Any online news that carry this news?

JR,

Did that happen in Singapore? That is indeed very sad news. I did not read about it in straitstime interactive. Any online news that carry this news?