P-Chip
Hope your next FET work for you. I so care that IVF will fail leh. I already had many setbacks...so if IVF fail...I don't know I can be strong enough.

I want to take DOM too. But how often we take it? Can we drink it every evening?

Hi P-Chip,

Dr Yeong was fast, he replied my email liao. He say it's ok w/o the report. I will probably arrange to see him one sat at his clinic.

I think all of us here are crazy for baby including myself. I've also tried TCM for a few months before i started my IVF. I've also tried acupunture to help me improve my Qi. After spending a few thousand dollars, I still cannot conceive. I've run out of ideas liao. Sometimes, i really wonders, beside 'womb too liang' what other reason could the CP give. it is always this same reason for all the ladies who have seek TCM treatment on fertility.

Hi ET, PotatoChip & Crazy4baby

Beside DOM, you all can consider taking dong cong cao. When you take DOM, do monitor your body and see how your body react to DOM. Not everyone can take DOM as it may be too heaty for some of you.

Dong cong cao is neither too heaty nor liang. It is best to double boil on your own rather than take those instant type.

Hope I dun confuse you all.

Hi Hopeformiracle

Thanks for your encouragement. I think depends on individual. If your body can take it, shouldn't be a problem to take DOM often.

Hi ET

Ya he also replied me about report issue if I decided to consult him instead of KK
. You are rite, we r all very crazy or even mad for baby. I have also spent alot in TCM before deciding on IVF. I have already lost count how many sinsehs we have seen and how much we had spent. They were all very popular sinsehs in infertility and end up asking me to try IUI too cos they have already done their best
. Mayb u r right, TCM oni can give this excuse for women's infertility

Morning Crazy4baby

Hope you are better today. It is good to cry it out. Just let me know when you need me to get you DOM

Hi Tomatoes

Izit ok for me to cook the dong cong cao in a slow cooker? And izit adequate to take it once a week? In fact, I have been sourcing for the powder form which Chemistry mentioned before but still unable to find a reliable source. Yesterday, I found this website http://www.lifestreamgroup.com/Traditional%20use.html and manage to find their product in the pharmacy. Thought was powdered form but it wasn't
. Luckily I did not buy it since you mentioned that instant product is not as effective.

hi Toes, chip and all,

Tks for sharing the info on Bai Fong Wang and all other chinese remedies that might help

It is really good to hv u gals out there to share and chat...VERY heartening & comforting at most times

AS all of us share the common Dream and Goal - TO HV OUR OWN bbies
JIA YOU

Hi Potatochip,

U can get dong chong cao from more reliable medical hall like Fu Hua or Eu Yan San. My MIL say the bigger dong chong cao, the better. And 1 person can only take up to max 12 roots each time. She double boil the dong chong cao with lean meat, red dates and those gou qi zi for 2 hrs. Taste quite nice!

Hi Chemistry

Thanks for the info. Thanks what I am doing now during weekend with black chicken (Tomatoes had provided me the recipe b4). Hope is adequate to drink it once a week. I remembered somebody in this thread mentioned b4 that they a tea spoon of powdered form every morning and the result is good. Just can't remember who mentioned it before.

i'm considering SO-IUI in KKH IVF centre, can anyone here help with the procedures, time of wait as well as the costs involved?

i called them up and they said they have only private treatment and not subsidized.

are there any other places that do subsidized SO-IUI or IVF? and what's the price difference and success rates?

i have loads of questions, so i hope that anyone who have been through would be able to help.

Hi babymaking,

are you seeing any RE at the moment? your RE recommended SO-IUI is it?

I done mine at Mt E (but my gynae from Raffles), it's not subsidized. IUI alone cost 400, I spend abt 2.4K in total for SO-IUI, but the add'l 400 was because i repeated the IUI on the next day as hb's count was very low on day 1.

haven't come in this thread for sometime .... so many postings ....

Hi Potato Chip

I also read about the lifestream product but dun really trust as it is still very new in the market.

What chemistry used for her dong cong cao is exactly what I am been using also. Slow cooker is fine. You can start cooking in the morning and drink it in the evening when you reach home. Actually cook it with chicken is ok, but it is better to cook it with lean pork meat if you are drinking it often (unless you hate the smell of pork). Yah, once a week will be just fine.

I am still drinking dong cong cao from 2nd trimester onwards.

Hi Tomatoes

Thanks for the advise. You r right, I don't like the taste of pork with dong cong cao (just don't know why. I am fine with pork ribs), thats why I am using black chicken.

Babymaking

There isn't any hospital subsidizing for any ART treatment. The subsidize only apply to the initial check up and consultation (provided you are referred by polyclinic). I have tried IUI at SGH before which cost about S$500. You may read up this website for the procedure http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/ProblemsConceiving/SO-IUI.htm.

Hi Annie

Ya, u MIA from this thread for quite some time huh. How you getting on with your pregnancy?

hi bbmaking,

I did my SO-IUI at kkivf 1 year ago. Are u seeing a gynae at kkh now? u need their referal to start so-iui at kkivf centre. Like I told u before, basically I spend less than $2k for the entire treatment. Of course it may be more exp if u need more stimulation jabs (that's the most expensive part).

The procedure.... first register at kkivf and your hubby plus yourself will get a blood test to test for hhiv, hepB, rubella...etc. If u r not immuned against rubella, then u need to get a immunization jab and wait 3 mths (hope i din remember wrongly) before u can start so-iui.

on day 2 of your next cycle, gotta go down to kkivf where the nurse will brief u on the entire procedure again and teach u how to use the puregon pen to jab yourself. on cd7, you will need to go back to kkivf for the first follicular scan. Its normally in the morning before normal working hours. I usually go there for scan and review then go back to work. They will tell u the follicle growth rate etc and the RE on duty will review your response to the stimulation jabs and recommend the subsequent dosage. From there, you will be there once every 2 days for the same thing untill the RE feels the follicle are big enough and good enough. They will then give u a hcg trigger jab to mature the eggs. The target is normally 3 big follicles at most. If there is much more than 3 big follicles, you will be given the option either to abandon cycle or convert to IVF.

On the day of IUI, your hubby will need to produce the sperm in the morning and then 2-3 hours later, the IUI will be performed after the sperm is properly washed etc.

You will be given progesterone suppositories to support the luteal phase and a possible pregnancy. on cd21, you will need to go back for a blood test to find out whether the progesterone level is adequate. Subsequently you will go back for the blood test for bHCG to test for pregnancy.

that's all.... as I said earlier, the exact amount you will be spending will depends on your own response to the stimulation jabs.

I think all treatment in kkivf centre (iui and ivf) are not subsidized.

Hi potato chip,

I'm the kan cheong type leh. A little bit of thing & I'll get very uptight, worried, & paranoid. That's the reason why I've decided to take more rest at home after ER. Even if this improves my chances by 1%, it's definitely worth it.

P-Chip,
gd morning. thx, will let you know once I need more DOM.

Tomatoes,
I heard abt dong chong cao is gd n my mum used to brew it for us too.. but i read fr a magazine that actually dong chong cao not suitable to boil, result will be better if just add boiling water and soak it a while (like make tea), repeat the dong chong cao for 2 or 3 times before throw it away or eat it if u dare. (If I am not wrong was from a mag name as EZ Health, something like this). so brew/double boil or add boiling water is better?

dong chong cao super expensive right? S$100 just few string only... usually where u guys buy dong chong cao? I scared may get fake one or lousy quality one.....

so many thing DOM, dong chong cao, bai feng wan, how r we going to schedule to take? can all take concurrently?

hi babymaking,

I managed to find my old post ....here was the approximate bill breakdown and what i went through in summary ...

Puregon - 3* 300IU ($400+ each) = $1200 ++
IUI - $400 ( but mine is 2* = 800)
Medication - clomid (?), progestrone pessaries (60+)
Gynae Consultation - 3 * 90 = $270
Scan - 2*60 = $120

Total > $2450

I took clomid from Day 2-6, and Puregon 75iu per day from Day 5-8, Day 9 scan shows follicles are not growing fast enough, so dosage up to 150iu from Day 9-11, Day 12 I had my HCG jab, and IUI was done on Day 13 and Day 14.

hope this helps.

Hi Potato chip,

Have been busy with work and coping with the discomfort, sometimes find it's so tough but I am willing to endure all these lor. I am abt 9 weeks now.

You take care and pu your body, I believe it helps as I have faith in chinese med as they have come from such a long way.

Hope to hear more good news on the thread ...

Hi Poohy,

saw your boi's pics some days ago ...so cute.
thanks for sharing ...

hi annie,

i'm considering my options now. i've just started on first cycle of clomid and have read that the chances of conceiving via clomid for subsequent cycles are rather low, so instead of wasting time and effort and stress of waiting - i want to consider other options such as SO-IUI and IUI or even IVF (not sure about this one yet)

how did it go for you?

potato: thks for the link, i've been there before. it seems to tell me everything except what i want to know - which is the cost and the waiting time. LOL

I'm referrred via the polyclinic to KKH and have experienced up to 5hr waiting time for a doctor's visit. i can't imagine if under going SO-IUI or IVF got to wait that long EACH time to get treatment. The stress of waiting will kill me. :p (not a very patient person)

How much did you pay in total at SGH? for IUI as well as scans and injectibles and follow up?

How did it go for you? My issue is that i got PCOS.

Pooh: thks for your detailed reply. sorry for the many questions.

how long does each visit to the hospital take? How does the RE(what is RE?) review response to jab? where is the jab done? is it painful? Is the IUI done by the doctor you are seeing? is it the same doctor who does the scans, tests etc?

i've been seen by Dr Loh SF in KKH, anyone has any feedback about him?

hi Annie,

thanks for looking up your old post for me. i really appreciate your help.

congratulations. you must be so excited now. Do take care.

Hi Potatochip,

My father took the dong cong gao in the powder form. He got the medical hall to grind with some other herbs. He just mix 1 tablesp of the powder with 1 cup of warm water. Some medical hall can also make into teabag form for u.

Hi babymaking

May i know which clinic you going to now? After referral from polyclince then are you still under subsidised rate now? Heard that there are no subsidised rate for SO-IUI or IVF.

Hi babymaking,

The waiting time at KKIVF for each visit should not take more than an hour. However,for SO-IUI you will only be attended by the gynae on duty which may not be your gynae. For IVF/ICSI, you will only see your gynae for egg retrival and egg transfer.

Dr SF Loh is my gynae. He was also the gynae who did ICSI for me. Now still seeing him for my pregnancy. He is a very nice dr, and very approachable. Did u wait to see him for 5 hrs the last time? My highest record is only 3 hrs.
If he is just back from leave or o/s duty, the waiting time will be very long!

Hi annie,

Take care and bear with the discomfort a while more. I also felt terrible during my 1st trimester and only start feel better from 16 week onwards.

hi babymaking,

no problem, hope the info helps.

Do have a talk with your RE, whether it's gonna be SO-IUI or IVF depends on several factors, they will be the best person to advise you.

dun worry about the jabs, initially I fear the jabs too. :p You will overcome it.

thanks, i will take care.

Hi Annie,

Which mean U & I paid the same price for Puregon - 3* 300IU ($400+ each)

Guess this is the Private Clinic charges...

But i heard in the Govt. sector the Puregon charges is much cheaper and can be half the price

Not too sure...Any pointers out there?

Hi chemistry

Are you a subsidised patient at KKIVF? May i know whats the difference if you choose private? Will there be a difference in the cost. Pls advice.

Chemistry,

how's your ger doing in you?

sometimes i feel relieved when i feel uncomfortable, if I feel nothing I will worry, so mao dun.

i am counting down to 2nd tri, hope things will get better. :p

Fond: i'm seeing Dr SF Loh at Clinic D (i think), it's the one at the basement next to the Sperm bank.

i'm a subsidized patient, and so happen Dr Loh was on duty that morning.

from what i understand from KKH IVF centre, there is no subsidized treatment for ART. but medisave can be used (up to 3 or 4 cycles), except that if u need IVF in future, you would not be able to claim if u ahve used up those 3 -4 cycles.

if anyone has contrary information, please update me.

chemistry: thks for the info. how do you find Dr Loh in his scanning skills? He did a internal scan on my first visit and i end up feeling bruised for the next couple of days.

annie: did you start from subsidized rates or were you straight in as a private patient?

i understand that as subsidized patients cannot choose the gynae, so each time, would be a differnt doctor who will see ya.

but it seems that whether private or ubsidized in KKH it's still different doctors who will review your case each time you go to the hospital. isn;t that kinda disruptive?

hi babymaking,

I am not a patient of KKH, because I have been seeing my gynae at Raffles Hosp so she was the one who did the SO-IUI for me.
IUI was done at Mt. E because Raffles do not have the facility.

oh dear, sorry annie, i have confused ya with chemistry.

chemistry: perhaps you can help me with this then. did you start from subsidized rates or were you straight in as a private patient?

i understand that as subsidized patients cannot choose the gynae, so each time, would be a differnt doctor who will see ya.

but it seems that whether private or ubsidized in KKH IVF it's still different doctors who will review your case each time you go to the hospital. isn;t that kinda disruptive?

Hi I am new ! glad to find this support group .... i will be going for IVF treatment soon at KKH .... a bit anxious ... especially i heard that we need to jab ourselves ... scary ... needles make me go cold ......btw, is there sth that i should be aware of ? any advice on exercise / diet / relaxation .......

Hi fond,

I used to be a subsidized patient but now I'm a pte patient. The diff is subsidized patient cannot specify the gynae they want to see. Price is a big diff. Consultation cost is 3-4X higher for pte patient (if u are seeing a Snr Consultant) and test are also 1-3X more costly.

Hi Annie,

Actually, for u now, got MS symptoms is better than dun have cos that means your pregnancy homones are high.

My gal is fine, she is quite an active bb. Same like u, if I dun feel her kicks or movements for a few hours, i will start to get worried also.

Hi babymaking,

I start off with KKH as a subsidized patient. Saw Dr SF Loh too. I understand they usually assign subsidised patient to 2-3 gynaes so that they will only see either 1 of these 2-3 gynaes during visits. For your case, u may be seeing Dr SF Loh, Dr Sadhana or another MO as a subsidised patient depending on who is on duty during your appt. As a pte patient, u get to choose the gynae adn he/she will attend to your case. However, for SO-IUI, I understand only the gynae on duty will handle the treatment and u cannot specify gynae even though u are not subsidised.

I find Dr SF Loh's scanning ok leh. He is the only gynae in Clinic D that handles scanning for his patients personally. Always see him push his scanning machine in and out of the room. The other gynae will ask u go to another dept for scans and they only go thru the reports. Maybe u were too tensed up during the scan and that's why u felt sore after that.

Hi , i am new here ..... there is no subsidy in KKH if we are seeking IVF treatment right ? I am seeing Dr Sadhana next week ... anyone is seeing her ?

chemistry: thanks for letting me know abt the roster, didn't know there's only 3 docs on it. i thought each visit is a different doctor. :p

re: Dr Loh only doc that does scanning
hmmm, then i must be really lucky that day despite the wait. cause it's my first appt and all.

since no one else complain abt his skills - then the problem is me lor. LOL, perhaps u are right - i wasn't prepared mentally at all to have a internal scan.

chemistry,

last time i see my gf shaking or patting on their tummy to make their bb move ... probably have to do that sometimes...

hi babymaking,

you referring to the vaginal scan? i am uncomfortable with that even after a few scan ... but just have to relax ..

hi babyfaith,

I was like you ...so scared and worry abt doing the jab myself, but dun worry, the pen is actually dummy proof and you won't go wrong with it, as for pain , even if you have a low threshold like me, it's bearable, definitely more bearable than to pop a baby.

As for diet, basically i tried to avoid all the cooling stuff and have ample rest, otherwise you can read through the posts and see what chinese med you can take , the gals have listed a few and ways of taking it.

Hi Babymaking

Like what Annie has mentioned, the jabs are really nothing. I had delayed my IVF cos of the jabs. Like you, I was so worried abt de jab and the bloating (side effect for some pp). After going through the IVF, I felt that is really not as scary as what I have expected. Some time I even pretend to be painful just to get my hb sayang me,kekekeke. In fact, it seems like my hb felt the pain more than me lei. Maybe I have too much fats
. I am also very comfortable with ER and ET. So don't worry. We are all very brave women here. Jia You!!!

Potato chip,

my hb always turn away whenever i jab myself. He doesn't even have to guts to see! haiz! I guess that's why we women have to take on the role of childbearing .. hahaha ..

hihi potato chip

thks for your kind words. the jabs are a concern but not too much, i'm more worried about the internal scans and how often it is done as well as insertion.

eh embarassing, even more so if each time different doctor *blushes*

Hi babymaking,

I got to know the way KKH assign subsidized patient from a nurse also. So far, I have seen Dr Sadhana and the MO. If the MO is still the same person, I tell u she is terrible! U are lucky to see Dr Loh as a subsidised patient. Usually, they only assign a small group of subsidized patient to see Snr Consultant. Most got to see the other group consisting of registars and MO only.

Usually, if u see a gynae at the general clinics like Clinic A to D, the rooms do not have a scanning machine. I have seen Dr Loh pushing the machine from KKIVF to his room prior to the start of his clinic and then pushing back to KKIVF at the end of the clinic. Even when i see him at Clinic D during my 1st trimester, he also never ask me to go to AMC to do the scan. He does the scan personally.

Hi babyfaith,

Dun worry, the needles are very thin and the pain is less than an ant bite. If we can take it, u can too. As for Dr Sadhana, I only saw her once. She appears friendly but I'm not sure of her skills/experience.

Hi annie,

My gal is just mischievious. She like to play "hide & seek" with me. During my last visit, i can feel her moving & kicking, but when my gynae scan, she kept still with one of her hand placed on her head. My gynae shake my tummy, she also dun want to move. My gynae say she is wondering why so many of us are staring at her.

Hi Annie

Same for my hb lor. Initially asked him to learn to jab for me, end up he is more frightened than me. Every morning, I have to wake up 5 mins earlier for the jab n he was sleeping. On wkend, I have to pretend very pain, bleeding lah, blue black lah, then he sayang me. Anyway, he tried once to jab the puregon for me. I felt more painful than I did it myself cos he was so panic and slow
. I had a gf whose hb is so brave. He even jab the progesterone for her. Really my idol.

Chemistry,

your ger is so cute...
and she's smart to know she's being observed ...hehehe..

Potatochip,

my hb dare not jab for me but he offer to prepare the alcohol swap etc for me, but when i poke, he will quickly turn away.

The progestrone jab has a much thicker needle right? Wow! He's good.

Annie

Same for my hb. At most, he will help in the preparation. He would also turn away.

Yap, progesterone jab is the much thinker n longer needle that go into our muscle. For KK patient, we even have to sign consent form to jab on our back. He did it without sweat. Hb and my eyes almost pop up when we heard what he did.

chemistry: Dr Loh sounds like a very dedicated doctor.

For my first visit with him, he gave me his email address, so i thought it's an open invitation to email him for any queries.

He replied my email once, but then subsequently never return my email when i ask him something about subsidized cases.

subsidized patients different treatment?

I am new here... been following the thread. Am contemplating whether to do IVF as a last resort for quite sometime. Going to see Dr Loh for the very first time tom. I am having my second day menses, not sure whether I can still see him cos he won't be able to scan me

If I get a referral from polyclinic, does it mean that whichever doctor I see during my first appointment will become my main RE?

hi chemistry
Since there is such a great price difference then why you change to private? Who is your doctor now? Sorry for so many questions.

Morning to All.

Hi Fond

Not that Chemistry 1 2 change to pte. Is that, once we proceed with IVF, we are considered as class A patient. So the rate will be higher than subsidized rate.

Hi ChilliPepper

You can still see him cos he may want to do a day2 blood test on yr hormone level. As for scanning, I remembered I ever done a V scanning with Prof Chen before. He told me is fine to do the scanning on day 2.