JT - *wave back* glad to hear you are enjoying the 2ww. weather is really nice today for resting at home...

Kimmy, has ur hub tested for thelssemia? if ur hub is negative and u r a positive, can proceed coz ur child will just be a carrier. no impact. but if both parents are positive, then the child has a v high chance of being positive. if so, u may wan to consider if u wan a kid.

Hazel, they only ask if my family members have and I said no. Think my husband clear cause they didn't say anything when he took his more than 2 weeks ago. Said doc is concerned and ask me re-test blood. A bit sian. It's like a dampener b4 I've even started

I heard acc helps. How to say it in Chinese when I update doc zou

kimmy-acc don't help if U are referring to thalessemia. Likely U are a carrier.
Don;t worry, I'm also a carrier.
Like what Hazel says, if hubby ok, then likely be a carrier or not even a carrier.
Is a genetic problem, so accupuncture won't help.

Kimmy>
地中海贫血症

Daintreez>
bfp!! Congrat!! Spread us tons of bbdust on fri k..;)

Koirc>
if no go thru dnc is the best. Hope u will hv a miracle next wk.

JT>
u just been thru a chemical bfp? What was ur hcg bt result reading that time?

kimmy-don't think so.
Maybe KK meant that the full blood count blood test show signs of thalessemia, so t hey wans U to go down to test on the acutal thalessemia BT to see which trait U are.

BNB - thanks for clarifying. So meaning I need to ask Kkh if hubby is also and whether I'm minor or major right? So meaning after this then they can advice if I can still proceed?

kimmy, like wat bluenosebear shared, accu wun help. is inherity, that means, either ur mum/dad is a carrier. that is why u are a carrier. so, it is in ur family tree. in chinese it is called "di4 zhong1 hai3 ping2 xue3 zheng4".

if ur hub is not carrier (i.e. negative), then is okay. but if not, u 2 have to discuss. goggle the web for more information on got thelssemia. is a serious inherity problem.

kimmy-Be reassured that though the chinese words sound like very serious, but if is carrier only, U won't not feel any symptoms.
U maybe wans to read up more in the web.
Hope this helps

Bnb - ahh ok I get it now. Yea they said next week also can. Just that now I got letrozole in my blood stream so I don't know whether suitable to re test a not.

kimmy-Likely they will ask hubby to do the test also, becos NUH wans my hubby to do, though his full blood count shows ok, but different hospital has different protocols.
U can't be major, becos major need blood transfusion every month.
If U are carrier & hubby is not, likely don't need much counselling, still able to start IVF.

Thanks blue and hazel. Yea will read up more on it bcuz I had no clue abt it till the call earlier so I'm
Completely thrown off guard. The Chinese name does sound intimidating!

Thanks again ladies and for this forum where I can get reassurance so instantly

Bluenosebear, full blood test cant tell. in KKH, not everyone will be tested of thelssemia before start of ivf. i ever asked before why only some women need to do the test. i was told, the dr can tell from BTs done previously to decide if the patient need to do thelssemia BT.

kkh is very careful, if is positive. they will ask for retest again to confirm. be it BTs or other things.

kimmy, like wat i said, it has nothing to do when u did the test, what u eat, etc. it is inherity. one of ur parents is defintely is a carrier. just that they dun test they dunno. carrier dun hv any impact to their life at all. ONLY when the person is POSITIVE then it is serious. to be thelssemia positive, most parents are carriers.

u can google on the webssite for more info.

full blood count only shows if the person is anemic. coz patients with thelssemia is usually anemic. also, they are usually quite fair too. the drs will know who are higher risk of carrier to ask them to do specific thelssemia BT.

i hv done a few blood count BT. but i hv nv been tested of thelssemia coz i asked the ivf nurse before.

request ur hub to be tested also when u redo the BT. in most instances, only one party is a carrier. unless very suay,

if i am not wrong, kkivf may not do ivf for couples who are BOTH thelssemia carrier. same for HIV patient & their partner. anyway, i can be wrong.

just redo the BT and get hubby to test also. dun worry for now.

Hazel-actually not true that full blood count blood test can't see, is actually a cheaper way to see, as the MVC cells would be abnormal which would alert the Dr to do the thalessemia trait test.
Though it might not be accurate if U wan to be very sure, still need to do the thalessemia trait test, which might cost $80+

JT in that case I insert thru vagina.. Me too dunno and nvr insert thru rectrum.. Previously also I insert thru vagina during fresh..

Gambatte - my reading is only 7 when i went for early bt after i have red blood flow. When i went back for another bt on my actual day, it dropped so gone case....

Shainie - even Dr Zou also feels that better to insert thru vaginal. I checked with my friend who bfp. She also insert thru vaginal.. so i think it should be equally effective

Thanks hazel for info. Will def read up on it. Just spoke to hubby and he told me not to worry cuz nurse told him on his blood test no news is good news. So he told me about friends whose spouses are carriers and their kids turned out just fine

Sorry for sounding any alarms earlier. Am better now. Was just in state of shock earlier cuz wasn't prepared and dint know what it was and all.

But yeah that will prob explain why I used to faint quite frequently when I was in school and I used to tell docs that Im anaemic cuz one health check showed that I had low red blood cells then the doc told me not to anyhow diagnose myself as anaemic when I'm not tested for it. So that's why I stopped saying it to other docs I consulted in the future.

DH said will acc me to re-test in case nurse wants to re-test him too but he mentioned he tested before and in army and he doesn't have. So fingers and heart crossed that its only me then we can be on the baby journey...

Sunstillshines,
Yes, try to be relax in your coming FET. I know its easier said than done. Do pamper yourself with your likings/cravings but with limited amount. Hv u considered another fresh cycle? Sometimes cycle 1 is really a trial & error and dr can fine tune the 2nd cycle based on cycle 1's results. But don't give up hope on your remaining embbies. Each of them is a CHANCE. Are u on Dr Zou's TCM ?

Ron,
I am fine! .. Taking each day as it comes...Counting down to my D-day!.. Are u doing your FET with Dr Yeong or back to Dr Cheng ? U r also with dr zou right ?

ok announcement sisters, conceive well gold at Guardians selling at 20%. Twin pack @ $46 (usual price, one box @ $46, while Unity sells at $56). FYI for those who may be interested to take it prior to ivf cycle.

Dear Sisters, just woke up from a nap.. finally get a rest a while after last night's loss of sleep

Will update the BT results on Friday...
hopefully can start spreading bbdust to all sisters...

Carrot, keep us updated too ok? ^_^

Jass, Fi, your BT also coming soon...all the best!

Thanks to all the other sistas well wishes... will keep myself positive till Friday... btw 99 is a nice number... so really hope the number doubles up ... still having slight cramps once in a while.. facing a nasty client tomorrow and hope i can keep my cool

Mabel, totally agree with you. One moment I m worrying like mad and at the same time telling myself to stay positive. Tired and drained mentally and emotionally.

Hazel, *hugs* it's ok that we maybe in doubts at times, but never lose faith in yourself! Believe n yourself! You will be carrying your bundle of joy in 9 months.

Koirc, *hugs* must be really tough for you... Hang on in there what ever is the outcome...

Ladies, just got back from Macau. Caught a cold! And no luck at the jackpot too! Btw, just collected my blood test result. Tomorrow going for me scan. So worried. Worried about molar pregnancy and multiple pregnancy. Trying

Daintreez
Oh so u actually did it earlier then dun get too worry now
Am sure ur hcg will increase by triple by then, hv faith and I m so happy for u

Joanne
Oh so the insert Is only started 2days before ET then wats other pill must take on day 4? Thanks

Kimmy, just checked with my dh. He asked you to redo the blood test again. Normally, if only 1 party is the carrier they will carry on with ivf, you just need to be mindful that the baby may also be a carrier. So don't worry too much. God bless!

daintreez..hi, sorry reply late cos me went out to bake muffins at frenz hse n just came home

Hope all is gonna be great news for u tis fri..pertaining to yr question abt adoption...my SIL n bro tried 3 failed IVF (even with egg donor from a relative on the 3rd try).tats why family accepted their decision to adopt,no choice also..who wanna spend so much to adopt n hassle? bo bian leh.. family is so happy cos baby boy is really really cute..whole family accepted like its won loh

summer (if ur there) do update me if u do wake up like around 2-3pm n get bk to sleep around 4-6am ok?? im suffering from tis syndrome..dun know if im alone or its my mental state tats playing trick on me

Carrot, thanks for your reply. Will definitely hear gd news from you.

How about others who bfp, do you all still take tcm.

hi Nell..sori me new..juz wanna check wiz u tat u BFP..and yr 1st u scan is round the corner izit..cos me BFP on 30/5 n my 1st scan is on 14/6..izit tat is the time whereby they will b able to stell u if its singleton or twins izit..nurse juz ask me to go scan so i also blur..any idea what r we expecting for this scan??