IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Hi Stacy,
Microgyon shd b contraceptive pill.Think is to prevent us pregnant b4 any injection.
I shd start on 2nd day of my mensus, then take for 21days, from there only I will start Lucrin.
May b I only one side blocked tube, they just want to prevent pregnancy, I think.

Ashly,
I laughed when I saw your posting . The one you mentioned abt"deaf". You know I also got the same feeling that I'm deaf cos during KKHIVF briefing, everything went into my ears then I signed the consent. Out from the clinic, I almost forgotten all and asked my DH what was being told. HAHA...
I think I was too anxious and nervous that my mind "black out"

Synergy,
This is my 1st attempt. My case is mainly male factor and I'm perfectly okay, except irregular menses ( maybe too "FAT" lor).

Synergy,
Heee..Welcome to the FAT FAT CLUB!

My program is in NOV. Today my no.8 days of Lucrin. My Oct menses(suppose to be month-end) delayed until early Nov, so I'm quite lucky that I can start early instead.

Stacy
I'm not kidding... i'm really "blur" and "deaf" when it comes to listening for impt messages... my HB always say my hearing very "smart", know how to filter all the useful/impt points and listen to all those not impt ones... heh...heh...

Ashly,
Wow, you ear can filter good/bad things, so good ah, teach me leh.Cos after I learn, can filter those things that I dunt like to hear in office.

Synergy,
I FT IVF-er, afternoon go out jalan, jalan then came back home for surfing session. My dh asked me to relax and stay at home leh. He will bring bread home for me. I think working also very good, you have lots of benefits.

Synergy
i hvn't master the art of "filtering" office politics yet... will attain that skill when i'm 60yrs old!! u left already??

Stacy
So envious!! Me want to FT IVFer also cannot... wait my HB "collapse"... too much burden on him... heh... heh...

Stacy
Most prob is me lah... don't think Synergy as "pui" me lah...
me going back home liao... will log on tomoro... see u!

Ashly,
Dun envy of me. I also very envy of working girls as they can dress up smartly. My jackets and blouses in the wardrobe are all going to turn mould.Dun have chance to wear leh. Then my DH's bonus has to split with me, if dual income can get more lor. My DH's side also very concerned that why I'm not working ( Not aware of our IVF plan) and sometimes I 'm quite upset.

Stacy
Don't get pressured by your in-laws side... only u and HB can provide support to each other so both of you hv to be strong... as u are aware, its a long journey ahead! Think +ve that u get to "relax" now and do whatever u want, cos' when the baby(ies) comes hor... no time for you to do anything else... breastfeeding, change nappies etc...

Hi Stacy, i also envy you, can stay at home, at least your hubby allow that. My job is really stressful too, but hubby doesn't want me to take no pay leave.Boss also doesn't want me to go on leave.

WanBB, do u mean PCOS patients will have high chance of having OHSS, very scared leh. How much was your puregon dosage? was it very high?

Dear Synergy
Don't get too bothered abt your tummy... i'm not only tummy "pui" but whole body also "pui pui"...
maybe its a good thing lor... heh...heh... at least we can "pass" the 1st trimester w/o too many people noticing right?! heh...heh...

Hi everybody,
tomorrow will be my first scan after 7 days of puregon... have been hvaing bloatedness but hope tomorrow outcome will be satisfactory. If everything is okay, then does anyone know when do I have to go down to the 24hr women's clinic to have the injection? By the way, what's that injection and what is it for? Anyone has any idea? WanBB?? Koala??

Dawn, PCOS patient will likely be over-stimulated cos we always tend to produce alot of eggs during IVF program. Therefore we need lesser dosage of puregon. Which is a good thing to our pocket. I only have 125iu of puregon per day but I inject for 12 days instead of the normal 10 days. COs my follicles are growing a little slow. My dosage is consider very low for IVF. Most of them have over 200iu per day. But OHSS is not a bad thing cos if it gets worst day by day after your last HCG, it might be a good news for you. Pregnancy hormones(HCG) also will cause OHSS to worsten. Therefore I skip the last HCG injection cos I can't take the bloating anymore but i nv recover from OHSS as it got worst and worst for the following week. It's the first sign that tells me I'm pregnant.

Jeni, You should be talking abt HCG injection which has to be taken in a clinic at abt evening time. The (HCG)injection is to help ovulation in the next 36 hours. Which will be your ER time. So the injection must not be 10 mins earlier or later than the dr's stated time. After your scan tomorrow, they might pass you the injection and tell you what time you go to the clinic and the time of your ER. You can just go to any GP to take the injection, don't have to go women's clinic. It will cost abt $10 to $20.

Hi Cat,
How're you doing? Tommorrow you are going to have beta test. Good Luck
598009.gif

Dawn,
Do you start Lucrin today?

Jeni,
How's your scanning? I suppose you will be ER soon. Keep us updated.

OHSS (Ovarian Hyperstimulatio SyndromeS) is a condition very much dependent on individual response. No one can predict whether or not one will have tat. OHSS can occur to those taking clomids (for IUI) or injectable forms of gonadotropins (eg Puregon).

Increase risk of OHSS is when you have more than 15 oocytes during your injection phrase, hence the term hyperstimulation. I had 24 oocytes. As such, my gynea observed me very very closely and was warned of the symptoms of OHSS.

The bloatedness we experience is due to water retention. For those of you have had OHSS before, and being scanned by ultrasonography will be able to see the water contained in the cavity.

In order to ease these bloatedness, one method is to take in lots of protein. By the process call osmosis, water retention can be reduced by protein intake. I was advised by the ART clinic to eat at least 10 egg whites during my OHSS time.

Just to correct WanBB - tat bloatedness has nothing to do wif sign of pregnancy. It is just coincidence tat you are pregnant after OHSS.

I am not a doctor/gynea but am in related field hence I can share a bit of my experience undergoing ICSI and the underlying principles here.... been doing a lot of research on these b4 my trial. My son is now 13 mths old. I still have 6 embryos frozen waiting for me to carry them :>

Hi mommy1009,

thanks for your info and input on OHSS. Can i check with you the egg whites (protein intake) is to be taken half boil or fully cook. If half boil alittle tough to separate out the yolk. How do you manage that? Thanks.

Today is my no.10th day of Lucrin, AF still didn't come. Tink most likely to extend longer.Anyone who experienced AF didn't come during 3 weeks of Lucrin suppression? How?

mommy1009, Opps.. My dr told me that if my OHSS nv recover in the next few days after my last HCG jab, it might be my baby producing the HCG therfore things just got worst. I'm not an expert so I just listen to him. But end out what he says is true. And it also applies to another one of my cycle buddy with the same dr.
Sorry if it's the wrong information.

Bodhi, a protein drink will be easier to get rather than having egg whites. Very yucky if you take too much of them. The protein drink comes in chocolate and strawberry favour. So still not that bad.

Wan,

thanks for the inform on the protein drink. Are you referring the drink that those men use to build up their bulks (body builder drink)? O...that drink taste quite yucky leh. Looks like milk but dun taste like milk.

HI everyone,
just came back after my scanning.
I have got 5 follicles on the left side and 11 on the right side. I wonder why such a great difference between the ovaries...
However, only 3 measured 16 - 17mm, 3 measured 14-15 and the another 3 measured 11-13.5 and the rest is about 9 - 10.5.
So the Dr said I have to inject Lucrin till Monday and Puregon today as well as tomorrow

I will have to go to 24hr clinic for the injection of pregnyl on Sunday and my ER is on Tuesday early in the morning...
So wish me luck...

Hi Jeni,
Wish you LUCK!All the BEST! YOu will make it! Actually your process is quite smooth.
Did Dr Loh perform scanning for you today?

Stacy, At the beginning of my OHSS, I take 2 cups a day. Then when I got better, I take one cup a night. It was only when you have OHSS then take. Cos the protein drink will help dehydration and will remove gas inside your stomach. Fart alot after drinking it. So shiok at that time. hee hee.

Bodhi, Ya those are the drinks that dr recommend me. Cos anyway if you really dehydrated until go hospital they also put you on protein drip. So might as well drink at the comfort of your house. I think it will cost lesser than staying in the hospital. It don't taste so good when you first drink it but slowly you will get used to it.

Jeni, the difference might be cos of your previous month ovulation. The one that just ovulated will produce lesser eggs. That's also what my dr told me when I ask him this question.
good luck to you!

Thanks ladies for your encouragement....

Stacy
Dr Loh did not do the scanning and the consultation today... it was another dr who did the consultation and the lady who did my last scan, did the scan for me today.

Thanks WanBB for the infor... btw, did u experience some discharge that looks like egg white at that time when you injected yourself woth puregon? I am worried that I may have an early ovulation before OPU...

Jeni,
How many days was your last AF? I've discovered some spottings, not sure is it menses? Today no.10day of lucrin.

Jeni, you are on the right track. your follicles sound good for day 7. mine was worse than you :p hehe... better don't say, wait even more obvious me old egg. hahaha.... and you'd not ovulate early cos u doing lucrin everyday. so don't worry about that. good luck for your pregnyl jab on sun.

Stacy, its normal to have spotting with lucrin. i had it and checked with dr loh b4, it'd go away once you start puregon..... relax and dun think about the menses not coming. the body can feel your worries one, then purposely don't cooperate. keep yourself busy, good time for shoping now!! how i wish i could go out.

MSH,
Thanks! R U staying at home during 2ww? Me HuSiRuanXiang alot. Maybe too Free! Today I didn't go out leh, no KAKI. Only stay at home listen to music and sweep floor.

yes me at home. everyday, eat, sleep and watch tv only. only other thing is sit there and watch my fishes. i have a pair of swordtail. recently, the mummy fish gave birth, so i have 4 baby fishes to watch. unfortunately, the mummy fish passed away yesterday, about 2 weeks after giving birth. the daddy fish keep swimming here and there looking for his partner. so sad

test date is 14th. hmmmm exactly 14 days more. appetite is nt growing... i was just telling hubb instead of developing a craving, i've developed food aversions instead. anything also don't want.... he bought my usual favourite curry veg, and i wrinkle my nose and refuse to take... in the end he had to eat it. oooops,... hahaha.

MSH,
Your hb must be very caring and patient guy. Very XingFU.Instead of what you usually like to eat, you have any new craving?

Stacy, not cravings at all!!! be it current or new. i force myself to eat only bcos hungry i scared faint or gastric only... so suffering.

my laundry is piling up, hubby not free to wash as he always buy me food then rush off to office. every nite came home late. last nite came back at 1am... so poor thing cos sway sway, he needed to rush a report this week. tomorrow my parttime maid come,got nothing for her to iron..... see if can ask her finish fast fast and leave, cos i want to sleep.

MSH,
Your 2ww is long, long wait. Good Luck!
598744.gif
Feel free to chat here when you are bored. I'm going to watch show now.

Stacy,
mu Af came around that time too but it wasn't as much as before so I was quite concerned about the thickness of my current lining.
By the time I started my puregon, it had finished.

Today a lady spoke to me at KKIVF and she told me that she put in 3embryos 2, 3 years ago and and now she got a 2 year plus son...

Put in 3 but imagine if all 3 strike?

I am going to put in 2 only...

What about the rest of you?

jeni, its 17 days, i have another 14 days to go.

just now, i had a dizzy spell. was feeling very nauseous and giddy. i lied down for almost an hour. luckily it disappeared, as suddenly as it appeared. during that time, i was craving for kiam sng tee.... haha.... and i was just worrying i have no craving. actually i never liked kiam sng tee at all.... at home dont have and i was dizzy, don't dare to leave home, go downstairs to buy.... was so tempted to call hubby ask him to come immediately. luckily didn't else sure get scolding when he come and find me well. i'm going to stock up on some tomorrow, hope i don't get anymore attacks b4 i get hold of them