IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Stacy,
you can call KKIVF to ask them what you can do in regard to your condition. Don't worry, they will be able to help you.
Meanwhile, take care of yourself, ok?

Koala, thanks!

Dear buddies
Wow... the thread has been kinda busy yah... sorri... me MIA for the weekend, getting ready for my trip, most prob will log on only next week when i'm back...

Jeni
All the best for tomoro

Just relax and hope u rest well for ET on thurs! All the jabs u went thru' will be worth it...

Stacy
Oh dear! U must be feeling very uncomfortable, is there any way u can contact Dr Loh? Or even nurse Sarah? Try drinking lots of O2... might help to bring your hot flash down alittle... jia you!

Dawn
u too enjoy your Shanghai trip... who knows this might be a "fruitful" trip... heh... heh... sekali strike leh...

Cat
Congrats on your BFP!!! Hooray!! Another "graduate" MTb liao...

Pls spread baby-dust to all here...

Koala
Catch up with you when i'm back... in the meantime, don't work too hard... heh... heh...

Cat,
if a full bladder is needed in order to do ET, then after the procedure, will there be a chance that the embies be passed out when one is emptying one's bladder?!
Have you thought of that possibility? Did you ask Dr b4? Or anyone has?
Just a thought...

Jeni

Understand your worry. I did ask Dr Loh the same question, the answer is "different track" so the embbies won't flow out even you pass urine after that.

Koala, you are so knowledgeable...
luckily you and some other sisters here are able to help people like me to ease our worries...
Thank you... I am so relieved now.

Jeni

He he, I am just sharing wat I know lah, I am a "question child" when I see all my RE... ha ha....

Initially I was worry abt the bed rest, when I understand that KK only let us rest for abt 15 to 20 mins while other private hospital required the patient to lay down for at least for a few hours after the ET. But seeing a lot of sisters' success with KK nowdays, I can relieve cos definately this is not the issue.

You can make it, jia yu...

Jeni, all the best for tomolo ER.

Ashly, aiyoh, cannot make bb in shanghai leh.
Once start IVF cycle, they want u to practise safe sex as the lucrin will affect the foetus if conceive. And they also gave me oral contraceptive (OC) this cyle leh.....

Stacy, did u take the Oral Contraceptive or juz lucrin to suppress the hormones? After taking lucrin how many days will the AF come?

Altas007,
Thanks for yr well wishes.

Jeni,
Don't worry abt embryos being flow out, it's in different holes la. Opps! Sorry for my language. I went to toilet immediately after my ET. All the best to yr ER and ET.

Stacy,
Try to drink lots of water, see whether it works. Water includes soup, ribena, fruit juice w/o ice, but of course plain water is the best.

I'm so tired today. Initially wanted to go shopping with hubby in the afternoon. After our lunch, I was so tired that I asked him to send me home to Zzzz!! He was so disappointed, but I woke up 2 hrs later to accompany him to watch "Happy Feet" Nice show.

Hi atlas!
are you also going to embark on IVF too? Welcome welcome.....

I still got long way to go leh......most prob next Jan then ER and ET....

atlas...couselling by doc or the social worker? anyway, will proceed very systematically in KKH one.

today this thread very quiet hor? wonder how is Jeni after her ER?

Dawn,
For KK, conselling usually done by the social worker. Have u gone thru yours? Her name is Caroline. Very nice lady. She gone thru IVF 3 times and seems that none was successful.

Hi! Ladies,
I'm getting better.Today went for scanning & bldtest, was told can move on to 2nd stage, but can only start on next Thursday ( to wait for Dr on leave come back). Sigh
have to extend lucrin for so long.

Dawn,
I was not given oral contraceptive.Bcos I didn't ask for it. Later I knew that it was given to pple having irregular menses and I became kancheong as my menses all the time were irregular. Luckily this cycle my menses very "zhun". No. 10days of Lucrin my menses came. You are on Lucrin now and going on holiday? Can Meh? Last time I was advised to go holiday b4 D21. And Before you are on lucrin, should have seen Caroline already rite?

Jeni,
How are you today?

Ashly,
Long time didn't joke with you. Quite miss our last laughing session.Good Form of Therapy hor!
603691.gif

Dawn,
Enjoy your trip Are you on F&E or tour group? Free time, can go Xiang Yang Jie, Nanjing Jie for shopping.My brother & family is stationed there. How i hope I can go there too.......

thanks for all the concern.
So far, ET is the worse in my opinion. I don't mean to frighten anyone but I was having such bad cramp and I could hardly breathe as when I breathed, my right side (as in stonach area) ached! Even now... move like lao tai tai...

Is it just me or is it also bad for everyone?

WanBB and Catherine, can you tell me whether you have the same experience as me?

All in all, I manage to get 12 eggs and this coming Thursday will be the THE DAY!
Hopefully they fertilised well ...
Cross my fingers!

Jeni,
Pls take care and have more rest. How long is your ET? Can feel the pain when wake up or while extracting? Not bad ha! you got 12 eggs out. Your timing is also quite good.

Stacy,
I have no idea how long is my ET as all I could remember is that they injected some medicine and then I was given the oxygen mask. After that, Dr Loh came. He smiled and I said hi to him and the next thing I know, I woke up with a nurse besides me, taking my blood pressure and heartbeat. I guessed should be an hour plus.
I can feel the pain when I woke up. Till now, it is still bad...

Hmmm... what do you mean by my timing is good?

I missed so much. i have problem catching up.

Catherine. Congrats. You had OHSS?

Jeni, good leh, 12 eggs, don't need to inject progesterone daily. my bum run out of plpaces to poke liao. today nurse sarah told me i'm developing rashes. arrrggghhhh.....

tell u gals hor... i think i game over liao. i i'm having spotting. so sad.

jeni, my ER was painless. i was told i have to hand over my name stickers to dr in the room, i didn't even get to see him, knocked out already. then i was wide awake in the recovery room. but my first attempt 's ER was hell. i had severe cramps and backacke from ER to end of 2nd day. different people experience is different, so don't worry, just rest and don't move about. in afact i advise you, if you feeling pain, then go rest in bed, don't even log on till you are better,need to take care of your body in preparation for carrying your embryos. all the best on thu

MSH, don't say 'game over' when you haven't tested yet
you will have the chance, ok. Be positive as you have always encourage me

Jeni, I also have a very bad experience with ER. I woke up feeling very cold and shivering. I bite on my teeth til half of the teeth chip off. And the pain in my womb is unbearable I had to take pain killers. I rested for abt 6 hours after the ER then can go home. I can't move during the initial 3 hours cos of the pain. Once I move, the pain will be so sharp it's like knife stabbing into me. I cried and cried before I was given the pain killer.
For ET, it takes abt 30mins but after the procedure, we have to lay down flat for 3 hours straight. Cannot even go to toilet. Must urine while laying down. The feeling sucks! My back hurts like hell after the first hour. For KKH, I heard it's much simple.

atlas, hee hee...dunno why i keep thinking u are with KK ...sorlee.

Stacy and Cat, yes yes, have seen Caroline already otherwise cannot proceed with all the jabs. The nurse told me can go overseas leh, as long as I am back by 14th for my scans and blood test. She even gave me a written form to inform the immigration to let me bring the lucrin medication + needles on board the plane.
Stacy, i am going F&E in shanghai, staying near nanjing jie too....any nice food that i must try there? hee hee....food is my life!

Jeni, u very brave....i hear already very scared. They will give you the Hospitalization leave starting today izzit? for how many days max? 5 days or 5 working days?
your pain sounds serious.....how to move home if so painful? can walk?

Jeni,
My ER was nothing. During ER, after the sedative and b4 seeing the doc, I already K.O. Think my skin too thick, can't feel anything when I woke up too. I only remembered the nurse trying to wake the gal next to me. After waking up, nurse Sara informed me that I had 14 eggs but during ET only 6 eggs are fully fertilized. I don't feel any pain at all. U just nid to hang in there, if the pain persist, just eat panadol.

MSH,
Don't worry so much when u haven't tested yet. Spotting might be implantation. I had that during my 2WW too. Be positive. Baby Dust to u.

Yeah, I had a very bad OHSS. Can't breath and to make things worse I was down with cough and flu. I was admitted to hospital for 5D 4N and was found with water in the lungs. Now still serving MC at home till 13 Dec. U at 2ww now??

ldn't sleep last nite. so worried. will have to observe if beeding still continue tomorrow.

thanks didi, yes, i should not give up so easily. but i was so shocked yesterday. i have calmed down. hubby say pray.

Catherine, really, u had implantaion spotting? do you remember which day u had it adn how long it lasted? i was day 8 yesterday, counting ET day as day 0. i had it from around 6pm to early this morning. woa, your OHSS sounds bad, water in lungs no joke. hope you are better now. how're u feeling now?

I feel better today. Pain killer is useless as I took panadol and they dodn't relief any pain for me

As for how to go home, I drag my feet with my body half bent. Luckily, hb was there and he supported me. The ride home was bad esp when the taxi driver hit a bump...like WanBB said, sharp knofe stab right through...
I couldn't sleep well after that as I couldn't find the right position and my tummy was bloated that caused more pain... in the end, got to rub my tummy to release the gas...oops
but it is shiok.
I am still bleeding whenever I go to the toilet... I hope it is not AF as that would cause my lining to be thinner and that may affect my embies implantation. I am worried about that.

MSH, don't give up yet as when I watched Discovery Channel, under test tube babies, there's a lady was having AF and she thought it's over but when she went to check her beta on the day that she was told, she was pregnant. All are not lost yet... maybe you can call the centre and ask them for advice.

Cat,
so what factor decides whether one has to have porgesterone jab everyday? Is it the number of follicles or number of eggs?
I have got 16 follicles but 12 eggs.

Hopefully my embies multily well...

MSH,
My spotting was only for a day or so, but I had those white muscus stuff on/off. I was so scare too cos I remembered that time was ard my AF period, luckily it's just spotting. How come u having progesterone jab everyday and in the bum too?

Jeni,
I'm not too sure abt having progesterone injection every day. Mine was every 3 other day. Yr situation sound bad. During my 2WW, I can't sleep side way, what Koala taught me was to place a pillow below yr chest and sleep straight. If really want to sleep side way, u have to curl up yr leg like prawn so tat the tummy is not "straighten" which will further the pain. All the best for the growth of yr embies!!!

MY OHSS think fully cure liao. But I'm still having bloated tummy, dunno whether it's BB/BBs growing inside, I already start to wear materinity wear cos all my tops can't fit.

I can still fit into the jeans if it's wore below the tummy.

To all ladies going thru IVF,
JIA YOU!!! U'll be there soon, although the journey is abit tough but we just enjoy it while we can.

Jeni,
Nice to know you are better today. Your ER sharing must be very tough. You are a strong lady and you've cleared this stage. All the best.Move on to the next one. Now, let's cross finger and hope fertiliation is successful.
604575.gif
will take care of you.

What i meant by your timing is good, is at least you fit in to Dr's schedule. As for my case, extension is deliberately made so he can be back on time for my ER. I've to carry out more injection, spent more $ and take longer duration.

Dawn,
No idea where to eat. Many years ago, I stayed in Nanjing Jie at Peace Hotel(5stars)but service very bad.Morning breakfast only care for AngMo, called them for service, they simply ignored us. The local food there don't attract us-too oily! We went to Ajisen (Nanjing Jie) for Japanese Food all the time. Still be prepared service was really bad,when busy , just threw chopstick to us and we must learnt to catch, at least price was pretty cheap.Maybe thing changes over time, service may improve by now. I like shopping there. Many bb's items very cheap leh, maybe you can buy and reserved for your coming baby hor?

Jeni/Cat,

staining has stopped. i hope its ok. nurse sarah said don't think about it, and don't keep checking and wiping. hahaha.

KK gives daily progesterone jab if you have >15 follicles, otherwise its pregnyl every 3 days. Cos pregnyl will cause more bloating, scared too many follicles jab pregnyl will get OHSS. so Jeni, i think u are down for daily progesterone jabs liao. welcome to the club. Get your bum ready. hahaha.

if don't jab bum, then got to jab on thigh which i think is more painful, the first day after ET, the nurse didn't even give me a choice, she just told me jab on bum, then make me sign a consent form, cos jab on bum may hit some nerves, so musst sign consent form. must be alot of ladies prefer bum, i mean jab on bum

Didi, how are you? me too sian over my 2Ww, never ask about you. Got MS?

MSH, I do not happen to have MS
(touch wood) until Dr Loh says that I am lucky to my hubby, don't know good or bad, just let it be......

How to contact Nurse Sarah? I'm under Dr Loh and have no impression of her.Is she stationed at KKIVF or Clinic D? I think when Dr is out of town, I can call her when I have problem.

sigh... staining is still there. whole afternoon. i lied down and it became better. does implantation spotting last so long? i so scared, cos very near to my day 14 liao.... nurses have been telling me, menses will come after day 14 earliest.

Stacy, you can just call kkivf, all the nurses very nice one.

Didi, that's good. take care.

MSH,
be strong and don't think too much ... like I said, that lady whom I saw from the show had her AF and she couldn't believe it when the nurse told her that she was pregnant.
Cross your fingers and pray, ok?
605151.gif

Haiz... must get my bum ready huh? Is it better to jab on the buttock or thigh?

I am still bleeding and I don't know whether that will affect my lining... another worry...

Stacy,
thanks for your encouragement!

MSH, don't worry (I know it is easier said than done), I have been thru that phase, I started worry and sulking on day 12 onwards

Didi,
U r at how many weeks already???

MSH,
Don't worry so much. Just pray hard.

Jeni,
Did u call up KKIVF centre to check out wif them y u r still bleeding? Tomor yr ET day rite? Jia You. Baby Dust Baby dust

MSH, Are you having your inserts? If so, it can't be your menses.
don't worry abt the bleeding. Menses won't come so early. It's mostly implantation. I have my implantation bleeding at day9 after ER, day6 after ET. But for my case only little pink spot. Not really 'bleeding'. After that day, my temp soar very high from 36.6+ to 36.9+ and my OHSS got worst and worst.

Jeni, I also think you should tell your dr to check abt the bleeding. I'm in extreme pain that time but I nv bleed. Good luck to you tomorrow.

Stacy, from your description, seems like their service is real bad.....aiyoh, how many years ago was that....i sure hope they have improved over the years.

MSH, will pray for you.....hope it is implantation bleeding like what other ladies have said.

Jeni good luck for you ET!!!!

Stacy, when are you starting your puregon jabs? How many days of lucrin have u done oredi? did blood test?

now very bored....juz jab lucrin everyday.....haha ET and ER looks more exciting...but think will need to wait til xmas.

Stacy, thank you for your concern.
I have 6 fertilised eggs and they are all grade 4 and I have a lining of about 9mm.
My hubby wanted to put 3 embies so we have done that. Now, I am officially into the 2ww. Dr Loh was great and ET was painless.

MSH,
I have to inject myself with pregnyl every 3 days. Luckily, the needles used are about the same as the ones used for Lucrin... So, I am quite comfortable with it.

WanBB, I asked Dr Loh regarding the bleeding and he said it was due to the piercing of the follicles... so not to worry as it will clear by itself.

Ash,
I asked the nurse already, no chinese medicine during this period so I don't intend to call Dr Toh but she did tell me last time to call her only when I got grade 4 to 5 eggs and a lining of at least 9mm which I just barely fulfilled. So now, I will just have to rely on my own.

Thank you everyone for your encouragement and concern during this period. I will continue to keep everyone updated.

Hi dawn

Do you jab lucrin everyday in the morning or night? Have you any idea whether morning jab is better or will it make a different? Just wondering as I am planning to jab Suprefacts at night when I start.

jeni
Why is it that Dr Toh only want you to call her when you got grade 4 to 5 eggs and a lining of min 9mm. What will she do if you meet these requirements? What is considered good lining, 9mm and above?