IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Hi, just to refresh, here is the latest list, hope I don't miss out anybody:-

Catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sadhana (Nov 2006)- Promoted to 2WW.
Stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng (Dec06/Jan07)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan/Feb 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF LOH (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

Cat, when is your BIG DAY for beta test?

Dawn,

Thanks for your help in getting for us the HPT. Very much appreciated but i will not be getting it for now. I have established quite a firm thought that i will do my pregnancy test with my Gynae. I just do not wish to built up the anxiety by doing it myself prior to the beta test day.

Koala,

Hey...thanks for your help. I still have stock. I need to finish this batch first if not keep so long not "fresh" leh.

jeni,

Dont worry about the side effect of Lucrin. Not very straining as compare to 2ww. I do become impatient when i was on Lucrin but hor...on the other hand, my skin was very good too...it glow when i was on Lucrin. :)

Hi Koala,
My beta test on 2nd Dec, another wk to go.
Hopefully will return with a BFP.

I'm going for my blood test and 2nd last Pregynl jab today. The blood test will determinded whether I have enough dosage of that medicine.

Jeni,
U are not the unlucky one to have lucrin jab for 3 weeks, me too. For the whole process, i used abt 2 bottles of lucrin.

Stacy,
Don't worry too much abt the process. Most of us here will be willingly to answer yr questions if we can. Jia You.

Buddies,
Don't know why chest having slight pain whenever I take a deep breath. Hope it's not OHSS. Haiz!

Dawn
Pls count me in for the HPT. Hmm... think i kiasu and order 10pcs 1st lah... pls let us know how to pay u yah! Thanks!

Catherine,

Do you feel tightness on your chest while you are breathing?

You want to try to place a pillow vertically behind your back to open up your chest to ease your breathing. Your head will be supported by the top of the pillow and your back is lying on the pillow and your lower back should be on the bottom end of the pillow. If you feel comfortable with this than i will tell you more on how to place your legs. If it doesn't do better for your breathing, sorry...i also cant help.

Hi Catherine,
I know thw 2ww is killing.
I am so impatient now that I wish i have already gone through everything and known the result already... Haiz...
so near yet so far...

I can't wait for Friday to come so that I can start my puregon...

So, probably it is just stress. If it persists, then you will definitely have to inform your gynae.

Is the injection of pregynl very painful?
Can you arrange Lucrin, Puregon and Pregynl from the least painful to the most painful?

Ladies, are there any other injections that we may have to go through? Can someone arrange them from the least painful to the most painful?

Stacy, how's your first day? R u managing fine with the Lucrin injection?
Hope everything went well for you.

Hi my dear friends,
Thanks for your concern..
Today just started my Lucrin. No pain at 1st shot by nurse. 2morrow DH will do it for me. If too rough, then I will do it myself the next day. Today asked nurse whether Dr SF Loh will be around for my ER/ET. Quite a shock! She said any Dr can perform, not need Dr Loh. VEry sad leh. All the while I have been seeing him and we were recommended to him by my Aunt who also works at KKH. My DH insisted to have DR Loh, then the nurse make a note in our case sheet. Hopefully our schedule will not clash with Dr's leave. According to nurse, he will be overseas from 11-22 dec. My expected ER should be month end if anything goes on smoothly.

hi gals, okay will order 10 for koala and Ashly each. Will order tomorrow nite, so those who want, let me know by then okay? Bodhi, i understand how u feel...i always resist testing until cannot tahan....tat is how my 10 HPT lasted me for 2 years. now no stock oredi....dun feel secure hee hee...

Stacy, yah, tat is one thing i not happy with KKH cos cannot choose the gynae to do the ET/ER. Wow, u starting ur lucrin now, so soon! I onli starting 1st Dec.....seems so far away!

Hi Cat

Hmm... very fast one lah. U just bear with it, if boring, then come here and chat lah. I know is not easy to go through this period. I don't care abt how painful is the jabs, but most stressful is 2WW!!

Hi Stacy

I am a bit confuse leh.. u just strated your lucrin? I thought should be Puregon?

I thought we can have Dr Loh to do ER/ET, unless he is on leave?

Jeni

To me, the most painful is suprefect (same as lucrin) the needle superlong long.

Jeni,
My blood test and scanning is 14 days later, fixed on 5 Dec. Ironically I hope I can xtend 1 more week (3 weeks of Lucrin). Normally 2 weeks is preferred in most case. If my ER/ET push early, my Dr is not in Singapore. Dun know who will take over. Yesterday quite bothered abt this issue, but today wake up tell myself all is fated, just do my part well. Anyway Cannot control external factors. :>

Stacy,
my blood test was also 2 weeks later on the 15th day. But I wasn't told to start Puregon straight away after the blood test. I was told to start this coming Friday (which is the 19th day instead). So maybe yours will also have a chance to be delayed.
Now, I just hope that I respond well to Puregon so that my ER and ET will not be delayed.

Dawn,
You start on 1st Dec. Pretty fast, abt a week after me! You must be very excited. Is this your 1st time? Today My DH inject for me, I find him very gentle, but super-SLOW. I shouted out "Quick".then he injected.Maybe I should do it myself tommorrow.

Koala,
I just started yesterday so I was given Lucrin. I long ago heard of Dr loh's leaves in DEc. When I signed consent form that day, they also reassured me Dr Loh will be around for all procedures. But this time round, the nurse said this is "Overseas" leaves, so other Dr will perform, or they will adjust my schedule to do when Dr is back. Anyway already start the engine, cannot pull the brake, then just accept the fact, enjoy the scenery along my journey.

Jeni,
Oh! You did not start immediately after 2 weeks. For your case, I hope your Puregon will not delay and as for me, I hope there will be some delay.HA HA So funny! Are you also with Dr SF Loh?
Oh yeah! Forgot to ask you when did you buy your Puregon? On the day of scanning or need another trip down to KKH?

Yes! How ironic! hahaha...

I am with Dr Loh SF too. Used to be with Dr Sheila Loh but heard of SF Loh's golden hands from the other ladies in the forum plus the waiting time for Dr Sheila Loh is really long. My hubby is not a patient kind of guy... So we have decided to switch to Dr SF Loh.

I haven't bought the Puregon yet... will get this coming Friday.

So, you won't get them on the day of blood test and scanning as they will ask you to call back at 4 for the result as well as further instruction. That's when they told me to go back on Friday for Puregon.

Stacy,

Please do not worry about who will be doing the ER and ET for you. The most important of all is that you enjoy the entire process and be happy about it. After all, ER and ET is only part of the procedure and is less than 10mins work. It does not mean a ER or ET done by a specific doctor you will have a higher success rate. And i dont believe there is a fertility doctor that do not have failure rate. If he or she is 100% success, i think his pocket now "FAT FAT" liao. I wish to bring this up, is to send a message to all ladies here not to have too high an expection on your Doctor. It will be a BIG "Blow" to you if the result turn out to be not favourable to you. You will than will keep asking yourself Why? Why? Why?...i got the most high success rate doctor to do it for me...But Why? Why? Why?...i still fail! Let me tell you...no one can answer you. So ladies...please prepare yourself emotionally before your 2ww. Thanks.

Hi Bodhi
Thanks for your advice and i AGREE with u... altho i've "psycho" myself that at IVF gives me a better chance of success (say compared to IUI), i'm still VERY concerned if i didn't succeed, cos' i read about other ladies not succeeding even in their 2nd/3rd attempt. Thats why i really don't want to give myself too much hope, esp i know my own body not "zhen qi" thats why can't conceive naturally.
But having said so much, i think we are all here to encourage each other, cos' we are going thru HELL to realise our dreams of being mummies... right?! heh... heh...

Ashly,

Please leh...please dont use the word NOT "zhen qi" on yourself leh. I "see" already very sad for you leh. You must LOVE yourself. You must also get your hubby to LOVE you more. Stay happy and dont blame yourself. But having say that...taking care of yourself is very important and things shouldn't be take for granted. A child journey is very long...2ww + 10 months + 18 yrs. Wah........me old "kok kok" liao.

Dear Jeni,
Got it!Thanks.
Dear Bodhi,
Thanks for your advise.Right now I only focus on doing my part.As for Dr's issue I've reply from Dr already. I agreed with you that no100% is guaranteed, but if change of DR so sudden, new Dr may not know my problem, has to re-study my case again... trust is not establish..
I've rest of mind as Dr Loh just given me reassurance.
Ashly,
We 're experiencing emotional rollar coaster. Sometimes feel good, sometimes bad. Your dream will come true one day. Have u seen SW yet?

Bodhi
No worries for me yah... i laugh to myself when u wrote "I "see" already very sad for you leh"... I agree with u tt we have to take care of ourselves... i'm old already leh... scared by the time my kid (graduates for example), i need walking stick liao...

My dear "ah-lao" always tells me i worry for nothing and always say he is my "big kid" (duno whether to laugh or not?!) *sigh*

Stacy
Thanks for your encouragement! I shldn't be "pouring cold water"... pai seh lah...btw, whats "SW"??

I agree that we need to have realistic expectation but we also have to be positive.
So, we must be mentally prepared and I am sure everyone here has already gone through the psychoing process...

Stacy,
may I ask what kind of reassurance did Dr Loh give you? If it is not convenient to share, it is okay. I am also quire concerned about this issue of him going on a holiday although he really deserves to go on one since he is so hardworking... He needs his break too...

I'm Bodhi...i have changed my nick name to sweet_candy. I think i am not ready to the path of enlightenment. I just scolded an ang mo at the yahoo auction from cheating me. Scolded her with my "3 letter sutra"

Okie...me now become sweet sweet liao...i really miss the Sweet Candy Chocolate from the US.

Jeni,
I agreed that he deserves to take his break. Of coarse, he also need to have time with his family. He reassured me that he will do the procedure for me, so likely that I will need to take Lucrin for 3 weeks. :>
You have any idea that KKIVF open on Sat?

Hi Stacy

Good to know that Dr Loh has give you the assurance. At least now u do not need to worry.

Sweet Candy

Need some time to adjust my self to call you the new name leh... ha ha..

TGIF.

Hi Stacy

Yes, KKIVF opened on Sat, from 7.30 up to 12.30, I did my bloodtest last week. Please be eraly, or else very very crowded.

Koala,
Thanks for your info. Sat is opened mainly for bldtest or also for the procedures? How's your bld test result? So you are going to start soon in Jan.Meanwhile,just enjoy the holidays. Kind of festive mood, I can hear Christmas songs everywhere, even in Shopping mall toilet.

Jeni,
How's your 1st Puregon jab? Hope you are okay.

koala,

O...ya...i think this nickname too "sweet" for me. I anyhow "harm thumb" a nickname to use it for now. Let me think of a better nickname and i will change again...hahaha so dun bother to adjust yourself.

Check with you why are you taking your FSH blood test so soon? I thought we will do the blood test on the second or third day of our last cycle prior to Gynera or Lucrin injection?

Sweet Candy
Aiyoh... still quite not used to your "new" name leh... heh...heh... abit too "sweet" lah... until u find a more suitable one then update us lah...
now outside raining... feel like zzzzzzzz-ing...

Ashly,

Now..i wanna change to another nickname also got problem. I used up all my 2 email addresses liao. Gonna wait for the moderator to delete one for me.

The rain at my place stop liao. Me going to my yoga class at 4pm. Now boiling soup for myself...and rest and relax before "party" tonight! TGIF! hor...koala...u going tonight to "poke" right.

Stacy, thanks for your concern.
This time round, I went there by myself as hubby is down...
Was actually quite excited as new gadget and 1 step forward...but when the needle poked into the flesh, I find that it was more painful than Lucrin...mayve I am already used to the latter, that's why.
Hopefully everything goes as plan or Dr Loh will not be in town to do the ER and ET for me

The nurse said the worse case scenerio will be Puregon 16 days but for my age (30), if by 14 days still not responding well, then will have to stop the whole thingy... So, keep my fingers crossed and hopefully, everything goes on smoothly.

Hi! Jeni,
You've take a big step to the 2rd stage. Let's keep our fingers crossed 2gether.You will be alright.
BTW, do you need to inject both Lucrin and Puregon concurrently?

Sweet Candy
Envy u leh... not working... full-time "tai tai"... enjoy your yoga later and your "party" tonight yah...

Jeni
Hooray!! U have now "progressed" further down the "MTB" route... Gd that your spirits are keeping well... Have a good weekend okay!!

Hi sisters,

Acutally very busy, but feeling coming in and chat here hope still can finish my work on time.

Hi Sweet Candy

Me being kia su mah, actually KKH would based on my last results on FSH and LH did on Aug and September. But I am not so comfortable as my last FSH was so high (although was becos of Gynera), so request to do for this cycle.

Yes, will "poke poke tonight. Actually I am quite enjoying ACU except a bit boring. If I take Gynera next month, I might be doing ACU on IVF basis from next months too. Cos no point to do acu base on natural cycle if I am taking the pills.

You are tai tai, so good life huh. Being a housewife is my dream leh.

Stacy

My FSH is still on the high side, (the ideal one should be 6 to 7), but mine is 9. So bo bian have to pay more for the puregon loh.

Cant really celebrate Christmas lah, now in my mind is IVF only.

Not sure if KKHIVF has doctor on Sat, but I saw the nurse did the briefing with the patient.

Thank ladies for your encouragement.

Stacy,
yes, I have to continue my Lucrin injections until they say stop.

Anyone heard about electromagnetic wave repellent maternity wear? My colleague who is trying to get preggy is wearing it now. It is supposed to repel radiation.... supposed to be good for baby growing in the womb.
What do u ladies think about it?
Take our mind off IVF a bit.

Sorry for replying so late. My breathing is so bad that even when I walk, I also pant & pant.

Jeni,
Glad that u have proceed to stage 2. The night pregnyl injection is the most painful in compare to all the rest. Yr leg muscles will b cramp the next day and thus will walked limping. But not to worry too much on that.

Koala,
Thanks for yr advise. Will try it tonight. But I'm a "side-sleeper" dunno can sleep straight anot.

Any ladies here has any idea what's the purpose of having high postergeon (spelled wrongly) level? Called up nurse today and they told me it's very good at 535, but dunno what it means.

Tomor will be my last day of pregnyl injection, yipee. NO more injection liao.

koala, Ashly,

Me no tai tai. If i tai tai...good life lor. Me at this condition...no one wanna employ me leh!

Catherine,

Progesterone is a type of hormone. It is an indication whether a women ovaluate or not. All women under IVF treatment, the progesterone level will be monitored. A low progesterone level will lead to miscarriage.

koala,

I will be going ACU early afternoon today instead of 4pm. Hubby wanna do ACU too and follow by lunch. We will meet again..ok.

How was your ACU yesterday?

Wow Catherine,
You have no more injection. That's GREAT!!!:> I still hve a long way to go.Was Pregnyl injection done daily by the nurse? Take good care and have more rest.

Hi Jeni,
I've not heard of electromagnetic wave repellent maternity wear..hmm any website for this product? Well! IVF is not everything to us. Think of approaching Christmas, New Year, many great sales, big BONUS really make our process a joyous one

I'm new here. Saw this thread accidently. I just completed my ICSI 1st cycle. I supposed to do SO-IUI but bcos of gd response of follicles growing, Dr Loh advised me to convert to ICSI

Catherine
Your Progestrone is beri gd, so got a gd chance to success.

For the rest of the ladies
After I have gone thru the process, I can say tat you must not be pressure. Take it easy and do enjoy the process though it was painful of needles poking our body and thigh.

I do not know if I can help to encourage all of you but the most important is to trust yourself and doctor.

Stacy,
Pregynl injection is done by the nurse but not every day (every 3 days after ET). U can also reqst to do it yrself at home but it's very troublesome. They have to mix 2 bottles of medicine then inject into the body.

I saw the electromagnetic wave repellent maternity wear at 1 of the notice board in KKH, selling in some shops there. Never go there to check the price though.

Nurse Sara gave me the last jab today, told her abt my breathing condition and she advise me to see doc on duty on Monday. Might nid to admit to hospital for observation. Monday then see how.

Hi gals, sorry for MIA these few days....really busy in school tying up ends, writing reports.

After doing some research, I thought it is better to go to this auction site (yahoo in singapore) to get the HCG test strip. They sell 10 strips for $7 including postage. so that is $0.70 per strip
If i buy from states, cos we are ordering 30 strips only, plus the delivery charges, we may have to pay slighly more than $1 per strip. hee hee.....very calculative hor...but spend so much on IVF oredi...must save $$$ whenever possible! Hee hee....

Cat, u mean must go for the pregynl injection every 3 day? in the morning or nite? gosh, that means i will have to inform school to plan for relief again. Btw, progesterone level high, means the embroy will stick easiy to the uterus!

http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Ten%20%2810%29%20Pregnancy%20test%20strips%7EFree%20postage:10567974

Ashly, have you gone to Dr Toh?
I have been trying to contact her but to no avail. How did u manage to contact her?
Have you seen her yet?

Hey ladies,

You may wish to check with your doctor whether you need baby aspirin.

koala,

You have experienced mc b4. You may wanna check with your Dr Loh whether baby aspirin can reduce the blood clot and enhance your chance.

Hey Bodhi

Why use back the old name huh? ha ha ha... sweet candy good mah.

I have been to ACU for 3 days, friday, sat and sun..1st day hoh, lost my way, went to the wrong side, call Dr Zhou, but she din know the way, so, I have to ask ppl on the street, by the time I reach there, it was already 7.20, and by the time I finished, it was 8.30 p.m..so tiring.But the uncle very nice,(he is the boss of the shop) he personally bring me to the nearest way back to MRT. so nice...

I went there on Sat at 4 p.m., thought can see you leh, but no body there, I was the only patient, so we talked everything under the sun. Now I know y you want to bring your big towel, I was so pai sei to listen to ppl problem too.

Your husband also doing the ACU? good lah, how long it will take? how much does she charge? My husband did his at Dr Tan Kian Sing, is S$28 for 20 minutes session, (only the front part), so we find it a bit ex.

Btw, wat is baby aspirin? anything to do with prosgesterone?