IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Hi Ashly

Yup, I saw him at clinic D, (morning session)surprisingly not very crowded and waiting time is not long too. U managed to see Dr Loh on your last visit? or you just call KKIVF?

The blood tests u refer to is D3 and D21? That y u need to wait after your af? I can skip that cos I have done with my previous RE.

Yup, he is on leave but should be back by end Dec.

If you really want to start in Jan, you can try to talk to him so that u don't need to wait for long? Actually in my first visit, he did mention that we can do on the next cycle, but we are the one to propose to start on Jan as my Hb wants me to "tiao" my body with TCM first before we start.

Koala
Yes, i did see Dr Loh last week at clinic D. Then he referred me to KKIVF. I was quite "heng" to get him, cos' i had polyclinic referral and the RE i was suppose to see had urgent case at that time.
thanks for your suggestion on starting early, i'll try and bring it up to him next visit (end Dec). Like what 1 of the girls here said earlier, enjoy the festive season.

Koala,
are you saying that Dr SF Loh is on leave till end Dec?
I am injecting Lucrin now and will go for my 1st scan and blood test to determine whether I will be able to start on puregon. So if he is away till late Dec, then what will happen?

Also, the nurse told me that I won't start my puregon on Monday even if the blood test and scan are ok. She said they would have to count the days for me before they tell me when to start. When did you ladies start your puergon? What must the blood test and scan show in order for me to progress to puregon?

By the way, we have been talking about the qualities of our eggs but we hardly talk about the qualities of our hubbies' sperms.
Can someone advise on this area? What can we do to improve the quality?
What if on ER day and unfortunately find out that hubby's sperms are not normal at all, then what's going to happen? Anyone know?
Think I am paranoid but I am so worried as this is the first time....
Please advise.

jeni,

Let me share with you on my knowledge of sperms. You just need 1 healthy sperm out of that millions or more sperms that your hubby can produce. The Embroyologist will pick 1 best quality sperm from that "big pool" of sperms. Therefore, the Embroyologist usually is not worry about sperm, they are more paranoid of our egg quality because the process is more complex. Are you doing IVF or ICSI?

Hi gals, coming to join all of you! I have just failed my 3rd IUI...*sigh*

Going to start IVF in KKH with Dr. Sheila Loh in dec/jan....have oredi met the drs to sign all the forms and the social worker caroline last month. Can check when do we start taking lucrin and for how long huh? want to plan to go for holidays in early dec can or not har? anyway no need to do scanning when injecting lucrin right?

Dawn,

u nd to call KKIVF when ur AF cn then they will tell u when to cm down to buy Lucirn.Lurcin inject for 14 days (if i nvr remember wrongly) then start Puregon and Luricn for 1 week...have to go scan n blood test after lurcin to see when u start Puregon.

Jeni

Yes, he is on leave from 10 Dec onwards, but not sure if he will change his leave cos Sara told me he has been changing his date, cos he is very very busy...

I think if he is not around your ER and ET definately will be taking over by other RE. They wouldn't delay it since you have started your lucrin.

I think the KKIVF nurse is very experience in handling the "date" for us, so u dun need to worry so much. And the lucrin injection period is vary from individual depends on the response of the drugs... so can't compare to others.

Yes, as explained by Bodhi, they only need 1 strong 1 out of millions...

Jeni, the blood test is to test if your hormones are sufficiently suppressed and the scan to check the lining of your uterus. Of course at this time, you also need your AF to report otherwise your lining may be too thick and you can't proceed to Puregon. I remember I was on Lucrin for 3 weeks before I proceeded to Puregon. It's true that usually they're more particular about quality of eggs rather than the sperms cos' only the best sperms are picked to fertlised your eggs. But if the quality of your eggs are not good, it may affect fertilisation and implantation later on.

Dawn

Welcome!!! Hope you have a smooth journey and we jiayu together.

As regard to the holiday, Sare told me is not a problem, but not at the stimulation stage. But, to play safe, u just check with the nurses again.

here is the updated cycle buddies list:-

Catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sadhana (Oct/Nov 2006)
Dawn -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sheila Loh (Dec 2006)
Bodhi - ivf/CARE/Dr C.F Koh, (Mt.E) (Jan 2007)
Koala-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF LOH (Jan/Feb 2007)
Ashly -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Feb/Mar 2007)

Anybody else?

Thanks koala for the updated list.

en_hui,

I wish to check with you. Did you do your acu up to ET? Did Dr Zou give u any herb to consume? She gave me nothing to eat..only the acu.

Bodhi

Dr Xia mentioned to me before that there will be NO acu after ET.

As for the herbs, have to get En hui to help?

When is your next visit to do ACU?

Koala,
I am cycling now too. ivf/icsi/KKH/ Dr SF Loh.
Anyone cycling this month with me?

When do we first meet ur dr during ivf/icsi? I hope I can get to see him and see what kind of arrangement has ben made.

Thanks for the all the infor, ladies.
Really appreciate your prompt and informatiive reply.
I have just started my AF today and going for my 1st blood test as well as scan after I have started my Lucrin on 6/11.

Catherine,

Please take care...during your 2ww. Rest well and please remember Never, Never carry stuff that require your strength. This is to avoid straining at your adominal. All the best! Jia You!

koala,

I am going this friday afternoon. You wanna join me? The treatment will last for 40 mins. 20mins for the front and 20mins for the back. Monday was my first time doing acu. Not really painful...only when the Doctor attached the needles with electric current than abit numb and i felt ...you know the heart beat sound ...up and down. Laying down for 40mins quite boring. I am thinking to bring my eye pillow and my ipod there while doing the treatment :p

Koala
thank u for doing up the list! Lets pray all the buddies here can report BFP

Dawn
Good to hear u are starting your cycle soon... will be gd if u can take a short break. I'm going for a getaway next mth too... Jia You

Bodhi, wah Ipod somemore! looks like you're enjoying the acu session. For me even though I have gone there several times, I still get a little nervous each time I was there. Partly becos' I'm scared of pain. To answer your question earlier - I'm not prescribed any herbs too. Dr say no need. I did acu right up to the day before ET. Dr do not recommend acu after ET.

en_hui,

Thanks very much for your reply. Hey...how are you? Doing ok? Do you feel any MS yet? Do take care during the 1st trimester.

O...ya...the purpose of me bringing my ipod there is not to listen to other people consultation. Very "pai sai" to hear other pple problem. I am also thinking to bring a large beach towel to cover the bed to stay more comfortable. I sound like going for a picnic!

One more question, did you go twice a week? Dr Zou ask me to go twice a week up to ET. Dont know whether will it be too much...scare later me "overdose" by acu :p Every week poke twice 40 mins and later start lucrin and Gonal F...poke again. Poke until my tummy got BIG holes liao.

Okie Dokie....

Moonfairy...no worries...you will certainly MAKE IT this time. Stay confident and determine...Mind & Body FOCUS and stay relax...sure get it. You want a pair of Twins or Triplets? :)

Hi Jeni

Sorry huh, forgot you, pai seh...

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sf Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
Moonfairy - ivf/icsi/TMC/Dr LC Cheng (Dec06/Jan07)

Hey, u mean u haven't see Dr Loh?? hmmm.... a bit confuse leh..

Bodhi

I will be going to do ACU next Friday as now still consider natural cycle, only starting twice a week after my Jan menses. Dr Xia said only for that IVF cycle, we need to do twice a week, otherwise, is just do 3 days (for me is 9,10, and 11) before ovalution.

U really sound like going to picnic leh... ha ha... I don't know how is dr Zhou's skill, but for Dr Xia Rong, her skill is very very good, not painful at all. So for me, the big problem is feeling bored lying down there, doing nothing for 40 minutes, so scary.

Hi Moonfairy

Welcome!!!

I received your e-mail. Just to clarify, I have not done my IVF with LC Cheng, cos he suggested us to do so-iui first since I can ovalute regularly.

After the so-iui failed, I have stop seeing him as have decided to swtich to KKIVF for my first IVF due to cost factor. (He quoted us for $13K for IVF/ICSI).

He is a good and responsible RE, but the waiting time can kill me, I need to wait for him at least for 1 hour for every visit ( 1 time have to wait for 2 hours +) and he is too busy as he has two clinics to run.

He had explained to me that TMC is using short protocol instead, will start Gonal-F on day 2 onwards, so the whole cycle is pretty short compare to KKIVF.

Which stage are you in now?

hi, anyone has cramps with Puregon? its like the tummy area very cold and crampy feeling. i put heat pack... it is ok?

I'm back from holiday.
First of all , congrats Enhui and Ondine
580939.gif
Take Care.

Jen1,
How're you? I will be starting my injection next week.I asked the nurse b4 abt Dr Loh's leave. She said he will be on short leave in Dec but be sure around for all procedures. Hope this will not affect us.

Koala,
CAn you please update me in the cycle.

stacy-ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF LOH (Nov/Dec2006)

hi, i just called IVF just now and realised i am registered both for nov and dec slot. nurse told me to start lucrin on the 8th Dec, ET and ER will prob be in mid Jan.....

koala, thanks for the welcome!
i am still not sure if i should rest another cycle b4 i embark on the IVF....nurse says i can think about until 8 dec....

can check with u gals, did u all tell your family that u r doing IVF? your company leh? how to explain the regular time off in the morning and the 1 week MC? sure got alot of kaypos will ask right?

Ok...stacy ...done.

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr Sf Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
stacy - ivf/icsi/JJK/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)

Jia You! Good Luck!

Hi Stacy

U r back!! Hmm.. good, so many of us are here.

So u have started your puregon?

Hi Bodhi

Thnaks for he updating list.

Any program after ACU? Want to join me for dinner? I will be meeting another sister (also from forum) for dinner, just wonder if you are interested to join us?

Any body else interested to join?

i realise a typo error. Ok..i have amended.

Jeni -ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)
stacy - ivf/icsi/KKH/Dr SF Loh (Nov/Dec 2006)

Koala,
it is okay... no problem at all. I haven't seen dr Loh since I started the first Lucrin injection. I saw him when I decided to switch from dr Sheilah Loh to him and he prescribed Microgynon to me. Ever since then, I didn't see him and I don't know if I will get to see him on coming Monday.

Stacy,
I am so happy that you are cycling with me around the same time. I felt so lonely although there many sisters here to provide their support and concern. I have been injecting myself for the past 11 days and i found out that the trick in order not to get bruises is to avoid the blood vessels. It is not that painful... so not to worry.

Dawn,
I didn't tell my parents and MIL as I don't want them to worry as well as giving their opinions on something that they don't know and will never know or go through.
If they are suportive, then that's good but if they are not, then I don't want that extra unnecessary opinions and hence stress.
As for colleagues,I have told the close ones and so far, they have been very supportive. I told them because I don't want the stress of hiding from them and if I am open about it, those kaypos will have no chance to gossip behind my back as no want to gossip to... almost everyone knows...hahahaha
But this is just my personal views, it is up to you and your environment, ok?
Hope this will help.

Hui,
then who will do the ER?

Usually if after the injections of Lucrin and the first blood test as well as the scan show that everything is according to plan, when will we start puregon? Immeidately the next day or a few days later?

HI buddies,
Sorry for the late reply, I was at my mum's place thus no computer access.

Hi Jeni,
I'm at the 2WW stage now.
Out of 14 eggs, only 6 is usable. I transfer 3 grade 3 embryos (2 wif 4 cells, 1 wif only 2 cells). Dr told me the grade not so gd therefore I decided to put 3 in.

Hi Jeni,

Thanks for your encouragement....I am still in a dilemma whether to tell my mum/sis...cos don't feel like keeping them in the dark. Yet, will feel stressed as need to update them....*sigh*
Yah, prob will tell close colleagues in school but worried about those not close colleagues plus big mouths. BTW, what is this Microgynon? What does it do? Still very blur about the procedures in IVF....haha...going to get the lucerin in dec. AF will still comeon time with lucerin injections?

Catherine, hope one of these 3 embroys stick! Jia you jia you!

Hi Stacy,
my Af came long time ago and I have taken about 15 days of Microgynon before I started my Lucrin on 6/11. This coming Monday, I will have my 1st blood test as well as the scan to see if I am sufficiently suppressed, before they start me off with puregon.
Currently, I have my AF again but the nurse told me that it should be this way. However, I find that the amnount is not as much as the normal ones that I used to have.

Ladies, is it like this too? Or is my lining too thin? If lining is too thin, then it is not good.

Dawn,
r u a teacher too? Don't be afraid of the gossips from the big mouths as don't add unnecessary stress to yourself. Colleagues who support you will tell them off for you if they hear their nonsense and they will look bad. You just have to make sure you are not scared to face them and give them a confident and challenging look like 'I dare you to make negative comments' Also, for my parents and MIL, I don't want them to nag at me about IVF forever esp times when my children are down with flu or fever. Hence, I didn't tell them and don't plan to tell them. Let them assume that it is natural... hahaha

Don't be afraid of what others think. We are a bunch of brave ladies to go through this. Others won't understand what we have to go through so let them talk bad and look stupid!! What's goes around, comes around. As long as our hubbies love, support and understand us and we finally carry our own babies through our hard work and pain, it is all worth it, ok?

Microgynon is for pple who have irregular periods as they want to use this contrapceptive piils to regulate it before they let them have Lucrin. If your period is regular, then you don't have to go through this. They should have told you whether you have to take on the day when you signed the forms. Did they?
Hope this will help.

Catherine,
Babydust to you!

Buddies,
Just to share with some of u who are still confused about the IVF programe. Below are my procedure so far.

1) Lucrin injection for 3 wks (extended 1 wk due to hormones not supressed)
2) Nurse will call up to see when to start Puregon injection (at the mean time continued with lucrin injection)
3) Puregon injection for abt 1 wk (v-scan to see whether eggs big enuf; ideal size of 16-17mm)
4) Continue Puregon + lucrin injection till 2 days before ER.
5) Pregnyl injection (10,000 units) done at hospital at night.
6) No injection at all the next day but must fast at 2230H for ER the following day.
7) ER day. Change into the hospital robe, doc will give u sedative. Within 5 min, most will snore like a pig. Only wakes up abt 3-4 hrs later. Nurse will sereved milo and explain how many eggs being retrieved.
8) 3 days later, ET. Not all eggs retrieved will become embryos, thus dr will asked u again hw many u want to put in. Proedure takes abt 30 mins with full bladder and after that pregynl injection will be given in the interval of every 3 days.
9) Will have to return to hospital for blood test to see the level of Hcg on 1st wk. On 2nd wk, return for preg blood test.

I hope the above can help some buddies or readers about the procedure of going thru IVF.

Dawn and Jeni,
Thanks for yr encouragment. I'm hoping at least 2 stick then I can close shop liao.

well I did inform my mum, PIL, friends and some close colleagues. But the news somehow spread to those "not so close" colleagues, anyway those colleagues don't mean any harm, in fact they came up to encourage me instead. Now mostly my whole office knows about it and I've been having this attitude that if they asked, I'll say, if not, don't bother to explain. Don't worry so much. what we nid is to enjoy the whole journey of IVF. It's a bit tough I admit, but the result (regardless of gd or bad)at the end of the day is an experience where not everyone will have the chance of going thru.

Sorry, I've been very long-winded recently.

I have an input on the contraceptive pills prior Lucrin injection. Contraceptive pills such as brand name Microgynon or Gynera, etc are actually help to supress the FSH hormone. It helps to stablise the FSH to further enhance the suppression together with Lucrin during your preparation cycle. The contraceptive pills can be used on women which has regular period as well as for women with irregular period. It really depend on your RE's preference.

Therefore, dont worry about taking or not taking the contraceptive pills. It does not affect the success rate. It is just part of the preparation process. After all, if one who have went through the preparation cycle and treatment cycle successfully. The key to success in having a baby/babies is IMPLANTATION.

Hi Catherine

3 is a good number, must have positive thinking and "talk" more to them hoh..

Are you taking leave for the 2WW?

Hi buddies,

Als wish to share on the contraceptive pills, after I have taken Gynera on Aug, my blood cyst was "gone", but on the next cycle, my FSH was shoot up to 21.9, which was same as a menepouse lady!!! Luckily it dropped to 9 on the next two cycle. My previous RE said, the pills actually has interrupted my FSH hormone system.

Hi Koala,
I do "talk" to them but really scare all 3 got stick to the "wall".

I only rest 9 days including the 5 days MC. U must think it's a werid number. Well, I work as a shift worker and the MC starts just on my 1st day of off
I only took extra 2 more days to rest.

Today marked the end of my 5 days MC, really getting bored at home. Finished the serial my mum passed me within 2 days. And I pestered my hubby to bring me out shopping just now.
At least some freash air.

Hi, thanks for the explanation on Microgynon....went down to KK today and was given Microgynon! haha! cos my menses very very irregular.

Was told to start lucerin 1st Dec, and go for the 1st scan 14 Dec. Usually when will the menses come har? after we stop taking the Microgynon or lucerin? I may want to go overseas for holidays, if after 14Dec, still have to go to scan regularly or not?

Nurse also told me will get very bored with 5 days of MC when i ask her if can ask for 2 weeks MC, but feel like resting leh.

Jeni, yes I am a teacher. Suppose it is not a good feeling when the whole school of 100 plus staff gets to know about it. I will let my P and a few close HODs who will be planning timetable/relief next year know. Glad to know that u have strong support. I know the close colleagues will be supportive......not the rest.

Cat, like your saying of thinking of IVF as a unique journey that we are taking....think that was what the cousellor mentioned too. How do you feel now? Who takes care of u at home? wondering about all the lunch/dinner during the 5day mc. haha....think so far oredi!

Koala, oh dear.....the contraceptive pills has such bad effects on you !?? u still taking them or stop liow?

Dawn

I have stopped the pills since Aug. Just done a test on the FSH and LH yesterday, hope everything is ok, I really hate to take high dosage of stimulation drugs, very costly and last round when was on so-iui, make me so so painful and have to take 1 day mc to rest.

U know the doctor might "classify" me into non responsive group and give me high dosage based on my previous records..

Talking abt to let others in co know I will be on IVF?? The answer is strictly "NO"... cos I think will add more stress to us. I will only tell my boss I am going for a minor surgery, that all...

Hi Cat,

Just take this opportunity to rest lah, if I were you i will be more than happy to stay at home and do nothing... ha ha...

As regard to "3" little one will stick, Y u scare? Is a blessing leh... For me, if I really have that chance to have 3 in one time, I will take it,.. very greedy hoh..

I definately will "cheong" for 3 to increase the chance. Of course it is also subject to they quality.

Hi Moonfairy

Where are you now, so many days din see you huh????

Compare to TMC, KKH is more procedural, may be this is the reason y they can keep low cost, but I am very happy to stay with them now cos I really can feel the cost difference, like the blood test cost, it is half of the TMC cost. Ttcing has been eating up on our saving...

LC Cheng is good cos he is not the one who will rush you to do IVF, he needs to observe you for 2 to 3 sysles first before proceed. You are in good hand and sure will succeed this round.

koala,

If you are on Gynera. You will certainly have higher FSH because it stop you from ovaluating. Therefore, one should do a blood test on FSH prior taking Gynera in order to determine the stimulating drug.

Bodhi

Yup, I was told this only after I have tested high FSH, but the RE said it is not necessary apply to every woman... so I am a bit confuse.

How are you now? so continue twice acu per week until your IVF? You should be on short protocol?

This morn went hopsital for my 2nd injection on Pregynl. Before I could take the jab, I vomitted like nobody business. The feeling was very bad and I had shortness of breath too.

Nurse at IVF centre informed me if these things happened, just tell the nurses at 24-hr clinic. When I told them (including doc at duty), they dunno what to do with me. Just gave me some medicine to stop the vomit.
Doc even told me she's not trained to handle IVF patients. Haiz.

Koala,
My hubby scare if all 3 successful, finacial wise we'll have to fork out alot. My hubby was still joking saying that must b the 3 rascals that cause me to vomit today, so 2 is enuf. But I won't mind to have 3. Like the Chinese saying, "Boat will straighten up once arrive at the berth". 2 weeks later then see the result lo.

Dawn,
After ET, I went to stay with my mum, so meal wise is being settle for only 2 days. As my PIL stay only 1 floor below me, therefore the rest of the meal is being settle at their place. u don't worry so much about food. As long as we maintain a balance diet should b all rite, we have done our best.