IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

hi wan, i wrote to dr asking about the numbness. waiting for his reply.

hi koala, yes i started egg white afew days after i start lucrin. i'm with sf loh.

I'm very tempted to take temp. true will be stressed. but without any indication, also will be stressed.... kkh beta is on day 17.... have to wait so long... my first try i cannot tahan, day 10 i hpt liao.... this time i'm trying to stay away from the evil stick.

Koala, my next blood test is tomorrow. Actually next tuesday should be my real test day but I went on sat 4days earlier cos I test on a pee stick and it's positive. I don't think I can scan yet cos my mei mei is very swollen from OHSS.
I will also pray hard for you
I got a feeling you will one time strike. A good advantage that you did preggie once shows that embryo is able to implant in the womb.

Hi MSH

Hmm.... yes, good to stay away the evil stick, but may be now u don't worry so much first since u still in the puregon stage. I mean so many things that we can't control, just take one step at a time.

Right now u need more rest so that can produce good quality eggs, ok? Emotion plays an important part. But I agreed is not easy to stay cool for the 17 days, compare to the stress in 2WW, jabs really nothing... Jia Yu, ok?

Dr Loh will be replying you soon, I normally will receive his e-mail on the next day.

Hi Wan

Thank you so much. I also hope can one time strike. Mine should have my ET on Mar, so just nice be the Dec piggies...he he...

Now start to count down every day... ha ha. me feel excited and motivated of all the good news this week.

All the best to your blood test tomorrow, ya, u will have a good and high beta hcg. Keep everything cross for you.

Koala, good to have dec babies cos the weather is cool when you having your maternity. Me suay already EDD should be in July and next year will be affected by el nino. July will be damn hot.

Thanks for the well wishes, I will try to give a high beta count tomorrow.
kao_kiss.gif

MSH,
during my 2ww, I drink alot of hot milo and no cold drinks. Even before ET I try to drink mainly hot drinks. I think it will help cos women after giving birth also drink alot of hot milo. Maybe you can try that during your 2ww as well. It might warm your womb and help the baby implant.

hi en hui, ondine,
thanks for the info... wow, u ladies are really young and guess that's also a factor that you one time strike! so lucky!

for those going for beta test this week, all the best!

wow, so happy, straight positives for all!!

Cheers Cheers Cheers!

I went to Guang Ying Liang Liang Temple on Saturday to say my thanks and at the same time wish all to have positive results..guang ying liang liang very 'zhun'..

Ondine
Yes, the Proluton jab is VERY painful, went down my legs as well! But I knew it coming, coz had that before. Think you might be having TWINS!
My count on Sat was 482, up from 181 on last Thursday.Were you give Pregnyl to self inject twice a week and did they ask you to get GP to do the injection for Proluton or ask u go back clinic to inject?

Hi Dodo,
Mine as below:
1. Prof NG at GlenE
2. Extracted 19 and 13 fertilised. Transferred 3 and freeze 4
3. 3rd attempt. Got lucky at 2004 at 1st attempt and now boy is 2 yrs old. FET this year resulted in checmical preganncy. Now 29 yrs old
4. I only take chinese tonic
5. No
6. I tried to be on the bed as much as possible...no cold drinks one mth before the injections till now, though at times cannot tahan, took few sips..

EnHui
Still is positive result, dun be too bothered by the beta, so long doc say preggie can liao.

WanBB
Don't worry too much. Guang Ying Liang Liang will bless you. Relax and keep us updated.

Really so happy to hear so many good news on a Monday morning! Let's all have a smooth pregnancy ahead!

Ladies who are trying, JIA YOU! Chances of success is actually pretty high!

Jo, I did inform Dr Loh beforehand about acupuncture and he said no problem. In fact I even went a day after ER as well, said to improve implantation after ET.

Micky, good to know that your beta has improved. I've just gone back for my 2nd blood test this morning, hoping for the best now

Wan, we are in the same situation. All the best to you too

koala i will try not to think too much. this morning i ask hubby how to get good quality eggs, i don't want to extract more than 15 eggs if only 3 usable, the rest discarded... .got to go for daily PIO shots. ouch. hubby jsut scold me and ask me to relax. any advice gals, how to get good quality eggs? is it really protein?

Wan thanks for the advice... milo my favourite... sure hamtam during 2ww. need my daily dose,... already used to the heatiness.

Micky, I also like going to pray guang ying and draw a lot. But the last trip I went bangkok, I pray to the 4-faced buddha abt my IVF thing. Now suceed, I think I have to go back and thank it.

En-hui, your result is better than mine so don't worry. Mine at day16 dr say beta might be at 90 only at least yours is double. Haiz... Last time not preggie, worry abt not able to get preggie. Now preggie, worry abt beta and scan. Never ending.

MSH, I avoid bean product and chicken during my stimulation. I read from other thread say bean product will make the egg quality bad. Chicken will affect your body hormones. Other than that, just enough rest and healthy food should do.

Hi MSH

I think as per western doc's theory, there is no way to improve our eggs quality other than taking the vit to "delay" the aging of the eggs.... So the doc always advise that do IVF asap.

But of course, I think TCM is an alternative way to imporve the eggs quality as it can "tiao" our body.

En Hui

Congrats! Your hardwork pays off now

Wah, you went for acup a day after ER, but after ER, the ovaries are quite painful leh, did acup help to relief the pain for your case?

Jo, thanks

Ya, I went the day after ER. Ovaries were abit sore then but still not that bad. The physician put a small pillow in front when I was lying on my stomach, so that it's more comfortable for me. In some western countries, people even go for acu after ET, said to help alot.

Girls, my beta also came back but not as good as En Hui. Mine still below 100 at 89. But at least it did doubled within 2 days. Hopefully everything goes well.

Koala/en_hui,
my dr say as long as can see heartbeat 2 weeks later then don't have to worry much.
I have to go for an injection twice a week. En hui, do you have to inject that? my pi ko open flower already and the nurse say need to inject til week 12. which is another 15 more to go. Nearly faint inside the injection room.

Wan, what is the purpose for the injection? Is it to support the pregnancy? I am not on injection but have to take medication twice a day for a month to stabilise.

Wan

I think the injection should be progesterone to support the preganancy. If yes, please ask your hb to rub your buttock immediately after the injection as the progesterone is oil base, if not, the next day, the pain will make your whole leg numb, really no joke.

en_hui, I taking 2 kind of medicine, Progynova is twice a day and dydrogesterone 3 times a day. The injection is to support the pregnancy. i think it replace the inserts. you are lucky, don't have to do the injection. It's damn painful and the injection last for at least 2 mins. I jump when she poke the huge needle into me.

Koala, Oopps you say too late already. me nv rub at all. I think tomorrow I will have to suffer again. But it feels okay now.

Wan

It is not late, you can now rub it with the warm towel and it will help to reduce the pain.

Please dear, if you don't do anything now, the pain will be "accumulated" and I am afraid that you would not be able to walk after few jabs. The buttock definately will swell thereafter.

Koala, I also don't know where is the jab already. I think later need to ask my hubby to rub on my whole right bum.

cool! ladies, thanks very much for the sharing! definitely very motivating and informative for the rest of us that's going to try soon or trying again....

errrr... i hv a couple more questions, hope that those successful can share as well...

1. how long was your ET process and could you share your experience then? just to share mine, it was esp long cos i had a polyp near my cervix and according to my doc, my pathway was not so "direct". also, as my bladder was not full enough, they had to insert a tube via my urinary area and "feed" in the water which adds to the agony. my procedure took about half an hour and i was in real agony cos gotta hold urine for sooooooooo long! i was praying so hard for the proc to be over! anyway, for the coming FET, my doc is suggesting to put me on GA so that i will not be so uncomfortable during the proc.
2. during ET, as i had to hold urine for so long, i felt really terrible... according to doc, this can be a contributing factor for the embies not implanting... anyone heard of this reasoning before? also, anyone heard of patients being put on GA during ET?
3. for those of you who took chinese tonic, can share what you take and how often?

thanks heaps!

dodo,
1- my ET takes abt half an hour also. But mainly cos I nv drink enough so they force me to drink 4 glasses of water and the dr waited for abt 10 mins before starting the procedure. I didn't know they can 'fill' in water to the bladder. But my dr did empty it for me at the end of the process so I won't have to get up after the ET. I rest on the bed for 3 and half hours without much movement. My back almost break.
2- I nv heard abt holding urine too long will affect the embryos from implanting cos implantation will start from day 6 to day 10 not during the ET.

thanks for sharing, wanbb...
my doc said i was very tense during ET, that's why he had difficulty to put through the tube... and he said the tension may have affected the condition of the womb and affected the embies. who the embies be trumatised cos i was tensed during the ET proc? haiz... but i was wondering, how can one not be tensed when you have to hold your urine for so long!! ai yo!!! now, i am wondering... if i am on GA, how to hold urine??!!

dodo, I remember hearing abt being tense and womb will contract or something like that. But I also feel very nervous and tense during my ET. Moreover the room is so cold. Will you have to pay extra if you were to go on GA? Cos need to pay for the GA dr also.

Hi Wan

How are you feeling today? Hope you are better today. Hey, u suppose to take rest during this period huh, still on line at 1 a.m ???

Hi Dodo

Your Re checked your cervix before going for ET? The polyp discovered only when you do ET? How abt the scans before that? The reason I ask is I also have a shadow (he also suspects they might be some polyps) at my cervix part, so my RE immediately conduct a Mock ET for me to ensure that he wont have the problem in entering the pathway.

I think the longer we hold the urine, we will feel worst and with a full bladder, definitely is not a pleasant experience.

Koala, feeling much better already. the bloating go down by 3 cm. Finally! I cannot sleep too early or else will wake up very early too. Backache is troubling me. Sleep little by little at a time.

Wan

Just bear with it for a while, but I think preggie lady normally will have badache.

Me feel very tired this few days, a bit moody too. just talking to my HB, feel regret for not signing up in Dec IVF, he asked me not to be so keng cheong. Sigh, we tend to worry everything since we decided to start TTC..

koala, if you sign up for Dec IVF you might have to bed rest during CNY. Everything happen for a reason. So don't worry abt it now. Just enjoy your jab free days.
BTW, my bum really hurt like hell today. Thursday have to jab again. Don't know if can don't jab or not.

Hi Buddies,
Just a little update on myself.

Went for my ER this morning, was fully concussed after the sedative injection. Wasn't awake until 3.5 hours later in another room.

I asked the nurse how I ended in that room, she joking told me that I walked on my own.

Well, nurse Sara informed that I have 14 eggs being retrieve today, which also explained why I'm having cramp at the moment now. Having difficulties in walking too, now walk super slow.

ET will be 16th morning.

Hi WanBB,
ya, you r right! the doc said that the womb may contract or something due to me being too tensed la.. GA, definitely will have additional cost, have not checked how much though...

hi koala,
i was on 2 cycles of IUI before doing IVF and that procedure also involved inserting the tube but my doc said the polyp was not there then... guess there was no need to check the cervix since i just did IUI...

catherine,
take care! ya.. just after ER, you will feel cramps, at least for today and tomorrow.. and good luck for your ET on 16th!

micky,
errr... just wanna check with u, what do you mean by a chemical preg?

hui,
so, during your ET, your bladder was not really full? in this case, could your doc still do the proc? and was your proc fast? how long did it took?

Catherine,

WOW!! 14 eggs..
all the best and good luck to you

Dodo,

i drank about half of a mineral water bottle only..the ET proc is very fast..no feeling at all like doing pap smear only. i think less than 10 mins i finish my ET..then rest for awhile then started to walk liao.. don't feel like peeing also cause never drink much water

dodo
chemical preg means the embryos has implanted but later dislodged or stop growing...my BHCG was 22 which doc said hopefully will increase, but it drops to half few days later, so gone lor..

Hi Catherine, wow! 14 eggs same as me
hope you have many fertilised successfully. In the meantime, take it easy and rest well. You should feel less sore after today.

Koala, starting later may have its advantage. At least you get to enjoy the festive (X'mas & New Year) in peace. So don't think so much ok

Thanks dodo, Hui and En Hui.

I really got difficulties in walking yesterday after the ER, much better today already. Did anyone of u have any special diet during the 2WW? I remembered the egg white stuff but couldn't recall it's during the injection or during the 2WW.

My hubby won't be able to accompany for the ET tomor due to his work. Wat's the experience like after ET?

Hi En hui/Wan

Yup, You are right, I think better don't think too much during this period is good just to stick to the original plan.

Can have jabless days for Christmas but not CNY, cos should have started lucrin for CNY time.

En hui

So you choose Dr Loh as your gynae? When is your next checkup?

Catherine, the ET is very fast and you won't feel much. Just walk slowly after that just don't jump or run. You'll be fine, don't worry.
As for diet, definitely no cold drinks, I took normal food but avoid too spicy ones. I read that its good to go for whole meal, wheat etc.

Koala, I haven't decided that. Also depends on how many bbs are there. If 2 then better stay put with KKH otherwise, I might consider going elsewhere. My scan will be next wed.

Hi hi Ashly

Ya, me also under Sf Loh. Like other sisters, Sure he can give us a BFP...

Yes, I did my blood test for Hep B and HIV when I first visited Dr Loh and on the same day have registered Jan IVF with nurse Sarah. The next visit is on mid Jan to sign the consent form and to meet the social worker.

How abt you? I guess you have a lot of times to prepare yourself.

Hi Koala
Is good that u did the tests during your 1st visit. During my visit last week, asst nurse Ms Tan told me to go for the blood tests after this mth's AF (i.e in Dec). My nxt appmt to see Dr Loh is at end of Dec (for counselling lor)... Heard he's going on long leave in Dec.
BTW, u went to see him in clinic D? As much as i want to start earlier, the q for Jan '07 fully booked already... *sigh*