IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Ondine,
u can test two days or a day b4 ur blood test

THanks Hui. But mine's like Micky's. We test Day 14 after ET so, if I test today, it's only Day 12. It is 6 days after my last HCG though...

What do you all think?

Ondine

If I were you, I won't bother to test the "evil stick".

Just stay back and relax, just hang in there, dear, anyway, TWO more days later you will be getting a BIG FAT +++++++++++.... OK?

Micky

Forgot to say thank you for your baby dust... I make sure I collect and keep them well... Hope one day can be like you too.

now your boy must be also happy to have a didi/mei mei.

Koala,
I've booked to start IVF in Nov. This is my 1st attempt.My Dr is SF Loh,KKIVF. AF already come so was told to start on 22nd this month. I 2morrow going overseas with family. So may not be here for sometime. I hope there will be good news from our sisters when I'm back.

Stacy

Hmm... good to relax yourself first, enjoy your trip, remember to log in when you come back here hoh? bacos seems like everybody will be promoted to mother-to-be soon...but really happy for them for the promotion.

Yi lu soon fong...

Koala,
If you start in Jan, still possible to have piglet. I've seen Dr Loh since June, we r quite indecesive, only wait till August then agreed to start in Nov. We married for 4 years, going 5 years soon. Our batch one, most of them oridi have kids. We still lag behind... Never mind!Since I dun want to have any regrets in life, at least we try , even till our last resort ( as my hb and I always think IVF is the final resort). Sigh! We need to take a long way to achieve our dream.

Micky, Congrats!!

Ondine and En Hui,
hope to hear good news from you ladies too!
Good news always lift spirits...
Micky's good news really lift me up and give me hope.
Hope god will also bless the rest of us here who are trying still...
Everyone jia you!!

Hi buddies,
Been a long time since I log in. First of all, Micky congrats!!!
Enhui, yr turn will be here soon.

I was on puregon injection for past 6 days and was told to do my scanning this morn. Sad thing was they are too small to harvest. Biggest only measure 14 mm and smallest only 5mm. Doc wanted me to continue another 2 more days to see any improvemnt. haiz $$$ flowing out.

BUT I"M HANGING THERE TO SEE THE BFP!!!

Hi Catherine,
is the Puergon injection more painful than Lucrin?
How much did u pay for the puregon injections?

CONGRATULATION MICKY....i told you you will make it.....yeah....so happy for you...you are really the lucky one!!!! Happy and smooth pregnancy...............

Catherine,

dun be sad.. i extended two more days also for the puregon then no nd scan le striaght to ER

Jeni,

Puregon is slightly pianful than Lurcin, due to the pen...when u press the pen to inject the liquid u can here the pressind down that sound..then u will feel the liquid running inside

Hi Stacy

Don't blame yourself. I was indecisive too, but me worst leh. I have my lap on 2004 and the doc already said I need to go to IVF to concieve, but we choose not to believe... well... Never too late, and 3 years down the road, I know if I don't try IVF, my chance is 0, but if I try at least I have 30%.

I feel lucky that I can find this forum. It builds up my confidence on KK cos I always think that KK's doc and service are not up to standard (sorry to say that). I also feel thankful that I can know Dr SF Loh. He really took the trouble to check on my cervix even on my first visit. He told us that if he has problem to go through my cervix part to put the embroys in the womb, then I can't do IVF. So is very important to ensure that my cervix part is ok.

So I trust both of us are in good hands, got faith, never too late...ok?

All of you,
Thanks so much! I believe each and everyone of you will succeed also. Like me, tried 3 times, kanna twice. So one day you will get it. Just Press On!

Ondine
Your test date is Sat, now you can self test already. Jia You

EnHui
Hope to heard good news from you!

POsitive mind generate postive results.
And don't forget, no symptoms does not mean not successful. I have practically no symptoms..no bloating..maybe just mild mild on/off cramping

Hi, I just got my test results - It's a BFP but beta is a bit on the low side (182 on D16) so I will have to go back for another blood test on Mon. Keeping fingers cross now.

Ondine, thanks, now I'm just a little worried about the beta. Actually I did HPT 2 days before (on wed) and saw a faint line. If you really want to know, why don't you test today so that you can be prepared mentally.

En hui

You are welcome, I really happy for you
I think we have been "talking" since you started your cycle, that time I was doing my so-iui, then we discussed abt the acu... we have been through a lot ya..

Hope will be "promoted" soon too..

Do come back to this thread and visit me leh, although u have been promoted. ok?

En Hui, Congrats!!!!! I have another 2 wks plus to go.

Jeni,
The Puregon jab is like slightly more painful than the Lurin. The needle size are the same just the "equipment" use is different. Like wat Hui had told u, it's the clicking sound of the puregon that makes u phobia of injection. Other than that everything is ok.

have not been in for a few days as i was busy with work... really happy to see so many good news!

firstly, a big congrats to En hui and micky! its really great to hear good news from you ladies! really bring hope many of us here who will be trying again.... ;P

could you share your journey, probably in the do's and don't thread so that we can all learn from one another and see what are the areas we can improve on as we embark on our next cycle... thanks!

ondine,
do stay cool and be relaxed! its gonna be your turn soon.... ;P good luck!!

Hi dodo

You are back!! How are you recently? Take good care of yourself hoh.

R u going for FET on Jan?

Ya, so many goods news this week, really motivated, I think Ondine make it liao

Got my Beta results too! And it's a nice positive. My counts are very high. 1100 or something like that. But we won't know if it's twins till the scan.
The progesterone jab on the butt is super painful! The pain went all the way down my leg!!!!

Just got back from a trip. It took me quite a while to read here. I yet to finish reading!

Anyway.....

en_hui,

A Big Congrat! Please take care of yourself and take little one inside.

Hui,

How's your baby inside doing? Can you feel them yet?

koala,

Me har...doing nothing leh...but will be going to AMK to acu this coming week. I plan to start the treatment in Jan 07 but has to start taking contraceptive pills in Dec...i think. Now just preparing myself for the treatment...going to my gynae for pap smear...scan and make sure everything inside is ok. O...ya..and start to eat and drink healthy.

congrats ondine! cool! really happy for you! well, this week really a lot of good news!

well, just curious, could you ladies who have succeeded recently share the following:
1. doctor and hospital u r with?
2. how many eggs extracted and fertilized successfully?
3. how many attempts at IVF so far? if you dun mind, can share your age as well? seems like this is also an important factor...
4. did you seek TCM treatment ? if yes, were you still taking the chinese medicine during the IVF cycle? Also, who is your chinese sinseh ?
5. did u do accupuncture? If yes, was it before the IVF cycle starts? how many months before?
6. any important tips to share on the 2WW? this seems to be one of the most difficult phase of the whole cycle...

sorry, looks like a whole lot of questions but i believe would be useful info for those sisters trying again...

hi koala,
ye... i am back! have accepted that it's just not my turn to be mother yet! haha... i am still considering whether to do my FET in Jan 07... i am actually contemplating whether to change job or not haiz... if that really happens, i will need to put this plan on hold for a while... see how first... anyway, taking things easy first... in fact, have planned a trip to sydney next month with hubby... yipee! u take care too and jia you!

btw, anyone here has any good accom to recommend at sydney? we'll be there for about 8 days...

Hi Dodo,
Thanks for your well wishes.
Ok, to answer your questions.

1. I'm with Dr LC Foong at Gleneagles.
2. I only had 14 taken out and of the 14, 12 fertilised and 8 were frozen. 2 were weak and the other 2, well, they were put inside me.

3. This is my first attempt and I'm 30 this year. Age is important so don't wait too long.
4. I took some Chinese herbs but it was more soup my mother made. I didn't go to a TCM person and I didn't do accupuncture. So, I can't help you with that one.
6. 2WW, hmmm, take it easy, you don't really need complete bed rest but just do minimal activity. I spent a lot of time on the computer, watching tv that sort of thing. Hanging out on the forums is fun too, but sometimes if others are not doing well, it might depress you and you might feel pressured if people talk about how they're feeling and you're not feeling the same way.

I got my husband to take me out in the evenings, just to get some air, to get out of the house. YOu don't want to feel caged up and anxious. The later days of the 2ww will be what is hard so you want to be as relaxed as possible before.

Sydney, can definitely help you there. The Star City Apartments at the STar City casino are really nice and they face the harbour. Very pretty. Not sure how much it'll cost because I went on a corporate rate but it was good. YOu could do laundry, you could cook and you were close enough to the seafood market to eat seafood everyday!

A big congrats to Micky, En hui and Ondine.

Dodo and ondine
I think those hotels facing the harbour have very good views but can be quite expensive.

However, it is better to stay near the city where transportation is more convenient. Accommodation further from the city is cheaper but it can be quite remote and not so safe.

And also, you may want to check out the red light district and stay away from that area. I can't recall the street name now.

Ondine, congrats! Your beta looks really good. Chances of multiples quite high too

Catherine, it will be your turn very soon. Good luck to you

Dodo,
1. I'm with Dr SF Loh at KKH.
2. Picked up 14 but only 6 fertilised and I had 2 transferred.
3. I am 29 this year
4. Did acupunture about 1.5 months before I started. Believe it did help me.
5. I was already back to work during 2WW so was good that my time was occupied most of the time. I surfed the net a lot reading up forums, blogs and articles. It's true that sometimes reading about other people's failures can be demoralising. However, I chose to stay positive.

Hi Ondine

A BIG BIG Congrat to you, think it should be twins, actually your doc very smart huh, he knows you can make it so just put two... if it was three, then now might be 3... he he. May be you will be having "long feng tai"?

How is WanBB, she also with Dr LC Foong right?

Wish you have a smooth nine month.

Hi hi Bodhi

Yes, you are back too !! Suddenly everybody is here. How nice..

I will be going to AMK to do ACU in Dec too and starting from Jan, will have to increase the timing liao cos my cycle will be starting in Jan. So may be we can see each other leh.. good to watch out your diet, but to me, I still drink coffee, but totally give up my favourite teh tarik.

Hope we can "cycle" and succeed together, jia yu, ok? I hope we can be like Micky, Ondine and En hui.

Hi Dodo

Me also have work problem, cos will be changing boss in Jan, but I tell myself baby come first, I will definately take two full weeks during 2WW and if I strike, I might take 3 months unpaid leave to stay at home for my whole 1st trimester. Anything will not be as important as my bb plan.

You too, don't let your work stress you so much. Take care, ok?

Enjoy your Sydney trip.

Koala, smell my nick from far!

I have a beta of 42 which I consider low but it's still positive. Still waiting to check if it's a normal pregnancy. hopefully everything goes well for me and baby not inside the tubes.
Was having very bad OHSS so nv chat in here. Only complain in the Dr Foong's thread but of cos not abt him.

So how are you doing?

hi gals, i'm starting on puregon,.. very anxious ..... scared too many eggs must go for PIO everyday, at the same time, scared not enough egg ....... aiyo.......

can u share your puregon dosage and the number and size of the follicles by day 7 of injection pl?

BTW, anyone had spotting during lucrin/puregon?

MSH, I have spotting during suprefact(a suppression drug also). My dr say it's normal. But I don't encounter any during puregon. I have a scan on day 5(9mm biggest) and day 10(18mm). I only inject 125iu of puregon for 12 dyas. Low dosage cos I have PCOS.
OHSS is very terrible! Have been suffering from it for 11 days already. Tummy bloated from 25 inches to 35 inches and weight increase 11kg! so better don't stimulate so many eggs, just enough will do.

Hi Wan,

Ha ha ha, missed you so much mah...I did drop by Dr Foong thread to see how you are doing, but it seems like "move" too fast that I couldn't catch up..

Me very happy that you are here. he he.

Congrats to you, and like I told en hui, don't worry abt the beta, as long as it is abve 20, it consider +ve liao. It will be doubled up every two days. ok? Pray hard for you to have a smooth pregnancy

Sorry to know abt your OHSS, but luckily is over and all your hard work will be paid off when your bb in your arm ya.

Me? still in TCM and ACU, swtiched to KK, now under DR SF Loh and will start the cycle in Jan. So now always come here to "keh po" and see how ppl doing . He he..

This weeks we have four success cases, (Ondine, micky, En hui and you...)Wah, really light up our hope.
hope to catch some baby dust from you all.

Koala,
haaa! Dr Foong's thread moving fast cos I complain too much.
really going crazy during that period of time. Actually now also very bad but got used to the pain already.
still don't know if embryo will be in safe position or not. Better don't congrate me so early. You know my tubes are damaged so very high chance that the embryo might just run inside and implant. Moreover beta so low, chance of ectopic pregnancy higher for me.
You also starting your cycle. Great! don't wait any longer. Faster get it over and done with. I heard Dr SF Loh is good! alot of successful cases under this name. Wish you all the best!

Congrats to Micky, En Hui, Ondine, WanBB.

Wah, straight positive for all of you gals this weeks!

For those that go for acup, may I know if you inform your doctor about this, and what is their opinion on acup?

thanks wanbb. me on 400iu!! so painful after the puregon injection. the whole area gone numb. anybody with dosage of 400iu and above experience this? i scared not normal... my body rejecting the medication

I manage to complete most of the posting here. And Congrat to all which has tested positive...please do take care yourself and the little ones inside you. A journey of 9 more months to go :)

Hey Koala,

You are doing it in Jan 07? O...we will be cycling together than. If your preparing cycle is in Jan 07. Our 2ww will be during lunar new year. I may be doing my ET a day before eve of lunar new year. If there is a delay...i wonder will the clinic do ET during first or second day of lunar new year? <faint>. Try to stop your coffee lah...since you can tahan not drinking cold stuff for the past few years...just get rid of the coffee for alittle while...dunno whether caffeine will affect the hormone.

MSH, 400iu is really alot. did you press hard on the injected part? Must press hard and long so that won't be so painful and won't suffer blue black. I think with that amount of drugs injected, it's very normal to feel numb for a while.
I took BBt on and off during my 2ww. Got a temp rise on the 7 day pass my transfer. So I assume it implant on day 6 after transfer. I will not say it's accurate cos it depends on individual. But taking BBT will confirm increase stress.

a BIG congrats to the mommies to be.
Your good news really give me and I believe the rest of the ladies here hope.
I am currently still injecting Lucrin (7th day) and at first, was quite ok and there were no bruises.
But these few days, I don't know why...
got bruises here and there and the one day that I injected myself,
I got 1 big bruise on my left side... now a few more small ones as well.
What have I done wrong? I pinched hard and the bruises would come if I bled after the needle was being pulled out.
Did anyone also experience churning (like lots of gases inside) on the lower abdomen like when you are having diarrhoea?
I am worried that I may have to stop...
Am going to KKIVF on the 20th to do my blood test and scanning to see if I can start my puregon. Do I have to call KKIVF about the recent bruises and churning in the stomach?
Can someone tell me how much should I bring along for the puregon injections?
Please advise as this is my first time... am a bit worried...

Jeni, you must make sure you already injected everything in before you start to pull out the needle. If you inject and pull halfway, you will bleed. Press on hard and long enough so that you won't get much bruises.

Hi Wan

Thanks, Do pray hard Dr Loh can help me.

Hey, I also got block tube, remember? last time when I was preggie, also worried abt the etopic preganancy. But my previous RE said, the etopic is nothing to do with our blocked tube, (I don't know if Dr Foong agree) some ppl have good tube, the implantation (natural or via IVF) also can happen in the tube. Anyway, keep fingers crossed, ok?

When is your next scan? or blood test?

Hi Bodhi

Ya lah, should stop coffee, cos I keep telling myself, will stop when I start the jab, let me enjoy first.He he...

I think mine won't crash with the CNY cos mine is long protocol. I probably start lucrin on early Feb, cos KK count 21 days from my Jan af, then I will on 2 to 4 weeks lucrin, so when I can start puregon, will be mid/end Feb liao..My ER and ET would be on early Mar, so you will be faster than me hoh.

You check with your RE whether they open on Public holiday? As for KK, wat I was told was they will still do the ER and ET for us even is fall on Sunday or Public Holdiday.

Hi MSH,

I took BBT during my 2WW too (normal,and not IVF)as my sinseh required me to do that, it is very accurate cos once my temp drop, my af will report on that very day or the next day. But must make sure that take on the same timing of everyday.

But I guess in 2WW IVF, if you don't want to stress yourself, just forget abt this first and just wait for the blood test date.

And understand how u feel, we will worry at every stage in IVF. For me, I start to worry my Jan cycle liao.

U start to eat egg white? most sisters said can improve egg quality and reduce OHSS.

U are under KK too?