IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Hi Koalatree,
i went to chris chen for lap a few years ago and i managed to claim the full $10k from insurance, u might want to give it a try. chris chen will know what to write on yr insurance claim form, like what he did for me.
as for the kampung chicken, it is a no no if you are concern about artificial hormones because i hhad asked the uncle at the market and he told me even kampung chickens are injected w hormones. the only choice are organice chickens( avail fr orgainics grocery stores) or free range chickens from certain cold storage but they are very ex.

Hi guest 33

I try to claim the lump sum from my ex-co insurance company. I also got another colleague done the same op with Chris Chen before my op, she also failed to claim even with Chris's Chen letter..... The arguement was the word of "reproductive" and "fertility" in the clinic name.. They relate this to the "pregnancy". Anyway, this was 2 years back. Is over.

Hmmm... point taken, that y I totally avoid chicken nowaday.

Wan

The op mainly is to remove endo clear my block tubes.

Yes, we have been trying very hard, but no results, so have to go through IVF since I have a block tube so the chance is only 50%.

Koalatree, me also blocked tubes. so my chances of conceiving naturally is very very low. Maybe as low as thunder strike on me. your 50% is the chances of IVF? that's rather high.

Wan

No lah, 50% is for the natural conceive... I mean every month I only have 50% cos of block tube. If I ovulate from my block side then no choice but have to wait for another month... so is very difficult to wait and predict.

My chance in IVF is 30% according to TFC RE, but Chris Chen did tell me I have 50% chance, but not really reliable I think cos he use to tell every one the chance is 50%.

I just came back from ACU, very painful when Dr Xia started the electric, really got a shock..

Koalatree,

my first ACU was very painful as well. Almost tear during the session but I find it starts to get better after a few sessions. Maybe my body is numb to the pain already. I just hope all these efforts will eventually pay off.

Hi Buddies,
I was on my 2nd day if lurcin injection and I found that I have a lot of white discharge. Is it norma? Anyone else experience this?

Hi Bodhi

Just update you on your concern if Dr Xia will stay long in Singapore. The answer is yes, as long as she has patients here, she will be here. Of course, we have to accept that our sinseh is just stay here for 1 week in every month. Anything we can e-mail her.

Yesterday I have started my ACU with her, although painful but I think I will endure the pain and continue with her. FYI, Dr Xia said ACU can't cure endo, a bit dissappointed when I heard this as my major problem is endo.

Hope the above helps.

En hui

Yes, I am sure all our effort will eventually paid off...

Koalatree, you got 50% in IVF then you should start early. Percentage will drop with age. Earlier will mean more chances of success. My Dr say I have 60% chance. don't know how true...

Catherine, I also have alot of discharge (creamy white) during my first few days of suprefact. I think it's normal. cos after that first few days (abt 5 days) the discharge stopped completely and my menses came a few days later. The injections also changes my menses pattern which my dr says it's normal. So don't be afraid if you encounter such problems.

koala,

Thanks for your info. hey...i think Dr Xia is honest and professional. At least, she tell you honestly that she can't cure your endo rather than some physcians come up with beautiful story that they can help to cure. My gynae once told me, women has endo does not mean they cannot conceive. They just need to take the alternative route.

I still have not make up my mind. Which physician to see. My AF has not come since my surgery for cyst removal last month.

Do you have any idea, will TCM help to minimise the growth of cyst in the womb? I just worry if i am on suprression or stimulation. Cyst pop up again!

But how are you feeling now? Have you recover yourself emotionally? Please take good care of yourself.

Wan

Me only got 30% in IVf as I am above 30. I think if you RE said you have 60%, very high chance for you to strike.

How are you now? when is your next blood test to determine your hormone level?

Bodhi

You are welcome

Just share with you wat Dr Xia Rong told me, as I have high FSH last 2 cycles, she said this is due to the weak ovary function and also indicate that I don't have good quality eggs. That y she advised me to do ACU to improve my ovary function so that can improve my eggs quality. But of course ACU is not "wan nen" (mandarin).. As to cure endo, the most effective med is "brew med", actually I heard this from the thong chai sinseh three years ago, but don't believe this... so just went to JE medical hall to avoid the brew med.

With regard to the cyst, are you an endo sufferer? What is the cause of your cyst? Mine is due to endo. I have cyst in my right ovary in 2004, it was 6 cm.. After removing it, I took 6 months hormone jab to stop my mensus, but after 6 months jabs, found out that my endo became more serious and had to do another lap.

I spoke to a few sinseh, they have the same view, endo can't be cure 100%, but only can be control, and to get pregnant asap is one and only way to avoid the growth of the cyst as there is no mensus during pregnancy, hopefully the endo "can be" cure during that 9 months.

So to me, to control the endo is to control the growth of cyst.

I think you really need TCM to help you now as after op, we are very weak in "qi", we need to "tiao" a lot with the TCM help.

Thanks, sister. I am ok now and mentally recover from the last failure of SO-iui. And accept the facts that I need to go through IVF to get my own child...

Koalatree, my next blood test on friday the 13th. wonder if it will bring me bad news that day. I feel time is very precious. hope you consider doing your IVF fast. I believe your dr will help you to control your endo and FSH when you are doing IVF.

koala,

Me no endo. I removed a liquid cyst which was actually outside my left ovary. I can actually "keep" it there and let it go off by itself but because of ivf, they want me to have a "clean" womb. Therefore, they need to clean it out.

No worries, you certainly will get pregnant soon. Are you seeing LC or going to KKH. If to KKH you better register soon. I think need to wait for 2 to 3 months.

Wan

Good luck to you.

By the way, I plan to take at least 3 months break before proceed to IVF as my HB morphology is very bad now, so have to give him some time to improve first.

Bodhi

Ya loh, I also think I have to call the hot line to book the appointment first. Actually I am still a subsidies patient with KK, so if I want to see Dr Sheila/SF Loh, must convert the status to private patient.Must ask how to go abt.

Koalatree, 3 months still not that bad. Maybe can start your supression at the 2nd month. cos anyway it takes a long time before your hubby is needed for his soldiers. So by the time he is needed, would be the 3rd month already.

koalo,

Dont give yourself and partner additional pressure and dont worry about the sperms if you are doing ICSI. They just need 3 sperms out of the millions. Therefore, take it easy. :)

Bodhi&Wan

Actually, I feel good now after deciding to take a break for this 3 months, no need to count when to use OPK, no need to worry in 2WW... no need to go to clinic and scan.. the only thing I do is go to see Xia Rong.

I feel so relieved and can sleep well. Really enjoy it without TTC... my HB always say me over worried and too ken cheong and make him also very stress.

Just want to enjoy life before IVF started.

Bodhi

How are you now? coping well? decided to see which sinseh?

Have not been in this forum for bout 3 weeks now ...

Firstly, congrats to Hui!!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Really taking a break from all this IVF, but I want to cheer all of you who are cycling and thinking of cycling.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I walked into IVF with alot of hope and faith. I wished and prayed that God will bless me with a child. However, if it did not work out, I know that this is NOT the path He intended for me. So i rather that My Will did not suffice.
And it did not... Yes i was angry for a while, and frustrated, being physically, emotionally and monetarily drained ...

Thanks from encouragement from family, friends and ladies in this forum Bodhi, Koala, Qoo etc..
I am picking myself up and moving on.
Indeed one's health and well-being is the most important thing ... without it, one cant do anything.
So i decide to just focus on my health now and just stay relax and NOT always thinking about having BB for moment...

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Meanwhile, i went for a pap smear (GP) and its ok.
Will be collecting the blood tests info from Dr Fong and probably schedule a later date to see him just to get him to check if i am ok via ultrascan.

Also seeing Dr Koh Lee Hoon for now. Have been drinking the herbal soups that she prescribed for now and charting my BBT.

Will keep u ladies updated.

best regards

gracie

koala,

I tell you har...while i am having this unintention mid way "break" from ivf. Now, i dont feel like starting the treatment. Life is such a breeze without need to "poke" "poke" every day and go for blood test and scanning! I can eat what i like and jump as high as i could! :) Neverthless, i will still need to go through the treatment if i still can't manage to conceive naturally this month.

Ya...goodness me...i still have not make up my mind which physician to consult. Dr Xia Rong is leaving Singapore next week perhape i shall see Dr Zou at AMK. I will keep you posted on my treatment with Dr Zou so that you have an idea of Dr Zou if Dr Xia is not able to be here during your treatment.

I really have problem selecting TCM doctor because i can't tell whether she/he is good. And they don't have any scan to see whether got improvement or not. Only the physician they know and always see them think, think think, and write, write, write on the card to keep record. And i dunno anything and worst i can't tell whether i feel better or not and which area i have improved.

keke bodhi, i face the same problem as you do when it comes to tcm, what my friend who successfully conceived via TCM has this to say..that it all boils down to faith in the TCM and perservance to continue the treatment for months or even years till it shows results.

Hey Gracia,

I am glad that you are doing well
I hope that you body condition is doing good too.

You are seeing Dr Koh for your TCM? I give up on her. Her waiting time is too long for me. I need to wait averagely 3.5 hrs for my turn. Too stressful. Ya...try to stay with her for 6 months to 1 year and see whether you can achieve it naturally. She has alot of success cases that require a 6 months to 1 year TCM treatment. At the meantime, please take good care of yourself and do drop by here if you have the time.

babymaking,

Give me a FIVE!

My HB is a die hard fan of TCM because he see improvement on his body condition but not on his sperm quality or quantity. On the other hand, i dont see any improvement after taking herbal soups and all sorts of black pills. I am sometime puzzle will i be overdosed by all the TCM herbals! and become not effective on me.

Bodhi

Ha ha, same here, I will be starting yoga next month and can do what ever I want now, feel good and free. Frankly, ttcing give me hard life since beginning of this year:- IVF, pregnant, m/c, cyst, change RE, birth control pills, so-iui.... looking back, now I start to understand y certain couple give up on ttcing, really tiring...

Gracie

Glad to know that you are doing well. Our body and mental really need time to adjust back to "normal".

I trust TCM will help you in building up your health.

As for the baby dream, it it just not the "right timing" only.. but, I am sure one day it will comes to us.

Do drop by and say hello to us, ok? Wish u all the best.

Koala

I am new here.
I am going to do my ivf/icsi once my next cycle starts.
So, hope to get some support over here.
I have switched from Dr Shiela Loh to Dr SF Loh as I have heard quite a few good things about him. Hopefully with his golden hands, everything will go on smoothly.
Besides, my chinese physician told me that with procedure like this, it is better to get a guy dr... don't know whether it is true or not.
Anyway, have read what you gals have written and wondered acupunture really helps in the pre and post ET. I have read from the America Pregnancy Association web that it does help. So, does anyone have any idea about this and whether to do acupunture now on the brink of embarking on the journey of ivf/icsi is useful or I need to do it at least 3 months before?
I was given Microgynon, by Dr SF Loh, to be taken on the 2nd day of my coming cycle. Did anyone take it and what's the side effects?
Anyway, good luck to everyone here!

I'm a newbie here... started my ivf cycle sometime mid-sep and just did ER last Fri and ET today...

gosh! the ET experience was more horrible than i thought.. had to drinks lots of water to get a full bladder, doc came in and felt that bladder not full enough so gotta fill up the bladder from below!

never mind, after that, when doing the procedure, could not find the way through my vagina/cervix, and kept asking me to relax... how to relax with a full bladder?? I was praying very hard throughout for all to be over... wel, my case definitely took longer than expected cos the doc says my cervix a little off side...

now... i am left with the final lap, i.e. to just relax at home for 2 weeks and not move around too much... the only thing left to do is to pray hard. ;P

have anyone of you reached this stage or at the same stage as me? Any advice on the best way to burn time and relax? haha... got a funny korean drama that i am watching right now. well, hope to occupy my time so that i will not think too much...

well, best of luck to all ivf cycling mates... when there is a will, there is a way!

hi Jeni and Dodo,
Welcome aboard. I'm currently with KKH doing IVF too.

All buddies,
When KKH this morning after my 2 weeks of Lurcin injection for blood test and ultrasound. But result came back that I have to continue another week of lurcin injection. Praying hard that next week AF will come as follows and my hormones will be supressed.

Hi Jeni and Dodo,
Welcome! Dodo, your experience sounds a little bit traumatic. If I were you, I'd be shaken by it.

I'm into the 2nd stage where I've started the stimulation process. ER will possibly be after the holiday stretch next week. Thinking about it makes me all nervy!

But like Dodo, I've stocked up on programmes that I can watch during that time.

Catherine, hang in there with the lucrin and suppression.

Hi Jeni,

I'm with Dr SF Loh too. Currently in the middle of stimulation. I started going for Acupunture about 1.5 months before I started on the program. I understand from the physician that acupunture helps to stabilize our hormones and thickens our lining for implantation. Don't think it's too late for you to start now.

Catherine, I too had to extend another week of suppression the other time. After I speak to a few people, I realised that it is quite normal. Anyway, once your AF comes, everything should be alright.

wow... that's quite a number of you in the middle of ivf cycle!

cat,
fyi, i also had to extend my lucrin injections for about a week before my hormones were supressed... I was taking chinese med from Ying Chuan then so my gynea, Dr Fong Yang advised me stop for the time being and after about a week, I was told to start on the egg stimuation injection; are you taking any chinese med? I was told not to take any herbal stuff at all as it may affect the hormones. sorry for my ignorance but wat's AF?
kao_confused.gif

ondine, en_hui,
oops,
hope i did not scare you gals with my ET experience... ;) well, i am not a person who can control my bladder very well thus it was an even more agonising experience for me! dun worry gals, i believe yours would be faster than mine! The whole proc should take only about 10 mins or so if the "pathway" is smooth la... haha.. which is typical for most people. I am one of the exceptions!

anyway, just to share some suitable dramas for you gals to while away time during the ivf programme:
1. "My Girl" - *very funny, haha! watching in progress*
2. "Save the last dance for me" - *more of touching, but most importantly, it has a happy ending!*
3. "wo shi jin shan shun" - *recommended, have not started yet*

will keep you gals posted if i have other good dramas/shows to recommend!

Jeni,
So are you starting in Nov? Me too.. will be going to KKIVF on 1st Nov to sign form and counselling. Very excited and hope the day will come soon. I'm also seeing Dr SF Loh not given Microgynon, bcos last consultation we were still not agreed to do ICSI and he let us try for a few months. The next day,My AF came then I think dunt wait anymore n quickly booked to start.

Hi dodo,

your story din scare me lah, but it's good to be aware in case it happens to me as well. Thanks for the movie recommendations. I was thinking of Princess Hour since it's quite hot on TV now and I don't get to watch it because of the program timing.

Stacy, so you are starting your program in Nov?

En Hui,
Yup! in Nov. What abt you? doing your ER/ET yet? How long u need to jab b4 that? What is the frequency that require you to go back KK for scanning/blood test?
All the Best.

Hi Stacey,

I'm now in stage 2 - stimulation. I think my ER should be end next week.

For stage 1, I was on Lucrin for 3 weeks and now stage 2, puregon should be between 10-14 days.

I went for scan and blood test after 2 weeks on Lucrin then another scan/blood test a week later after 1 extra week of suppression.

Hi everyone, I am happy to know that I have so many buddies here. I think support is very important at this point.

En Hui,
Thanks for your infor in regard to the acupunture. Can u recommend me to your accupunturist? Also, good luck to you!

dodo, good luck to you too! Lots of babydust!!

Stacy P,
I have done both the medical and psychological counsellings, signed all the forms etc... they are not stressful and quite assuring. Then you have to decide on how many eggs you want to put into your unterus etc... Now waiting for Dr Loh's green light to take Microgynon.

I have some queries.

1)How many fertilised eggs do you girls decide to put into your uterus during your ET? Rationale?

2)Has anyone taken Microgynon before?

3)Do I have to take the injections with it and together, they are considered as stage 1?

Someone pls advise.

Hi Jeni,

here's the contact:

Dr Zou Yu Min
Blk 505 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
#01-2670
Tel: 64560833

I was told that Dr Zou is a good friend of Dr Xia Rong from Eu Yang Sang. They use the same method for ACU.

Sorry can't contribute to your qsn on Microgynon cos' I din take it.

Hi Jeni

Still remember me? We talked abt KKIVF in the other thread abt two to three months ago. Glad to "meet" you again here.

Now I am taking a break and taking TCM before proceed to IVF.

Further to en-hui's posting, I would like to add that Dr Xia Rong told me that I need to tell Dr Zhou I am Dr Xia's patient, so that Dr Zhou will use Dr Xia's method.

So far, I have done 1 cycle of ACU under Dr Xia.

Hi Jeni,

thanks for your *bb dust*!! heehee... ya, agree that support is very important during this period as it is pretty rough going and trying and yet, you have to keep a positive mind!!

anyway, regarding your queries on how many embryos to put in, I just listen to the embryologist's and doc's advice. According to them, putting in 3 embryos would maximise the chances. I have also discussed with my hubby on the numbers and we are ready for triplets if it really happens...

all buddies,
err... so far, no one is at the same stage at me, izzit? i.e. the last stage whereby u have to just stay at home and be a 'tai tai', (the positive way to look at it la
) haha...

anyway, jia you to all, whatever stage you are at, perservere on and mostly importantly, GOOD LUCK!

"when the going gets tough, the tough get going!"

Hi en hui

I am in the same stage as you now, on stimulation, eggs pickup estimated to be end of next Fri.

Fingers crossed!

Hi Micky,

are you with KKH too? Just went for my followup scan today. My ER is scheduled on this coming Mon. Didn't expect it to be so soon.

Hi en hui

Times flies, now is your turn to have ER. How many eggs do you have? So your ET is on next Wed? All the best hoh, u will be the next one mother to be.

Still proceed with the ACU after ET?

Hi koalatree,

to tell you the truth I was still in shock when I was told that my ER is on Mon. Today's only my D8 on Puregon and I thought the standard is 10 - 14 days before one is ready for ER. I have no idea how many eggs I have. Was only told briefly that I have some which are matured and a few more going to mature in 1-2 days' time. Other than that, I was not given alot of details.

I will most likely go for ACU a day after ER and that's about it.

How is it going for you? Life not TTC should be more relaxing right?

En Hui,
Good Luck! So you will be ER on Mon.What about ET? Catch up with you nest time. Remember to update us.Take Care

Hi en hui

U din see Dr Loh meh? Or you see other dr on duty? When is your last day of Puregon?

But, I think should be alright, KKIVF has a lot of experiences in handling this, so I am sure that they must have access your condition before deciding your ER date.

As for the ACU, I know one sister from the "support" thread is doing the ACU a few times with Dr Xia after ET, she also with Dr SF Loh. She has tested +ve with quite good beta. U want to ask Dr Zhou on this, if can increase the chance of implantation?

Abt myself, ya, now very lazy to think abt TTC, just BD whenever we want, frankly, I dun even know when was my ovulation day and almost lost count on my cycle days. Me a bit sian in keep tracking all these after the last failure of so-iui.

I also thought that may be after taking all stimulation drugs, I may be not ovalute at all for this cycle.

Ah, just update you I have scheduled my first appt with Dr Loh on next Thursday at clinic D.