IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Wan

on top of the brew med, I also have to do ACU three days before my ovulation, and take two packs of powder every day.

Now we discovered that my HB mophology has gone down to 0% (previously was 12, 5 then now is 0) Sigh, so I guess TCC is really not easy for me.

This is one of the reason why I hold back to IVF although really envy other's success and wanted so much to start the IVF journey immediately, but really scared of m/c due to my m/c experince previously. And proven that my FSH hormone sometimes would haywire due to my weak ovary function. So now no choice, have to wait for at least 3 months before proceed.

You are under Dr LC Foong, right? dun worry, you are in the good hand. May be one day u will be like Chloe have triplets leh..

Hui, how's your result? Heard abt your case. Hope you are feeling better now.
I ask the nurse at my clinic and she say it's best not to fly. so choice lor. have to forgo the trip.

Koalatree, wow... you really working hard. I doubt I can do so much things. with so much effort, there is no doubt that you will suceed one day. FSH hormones can be regulated using medication. So it shouldn't be a problem. Since it is proven that you are fertile, your coming IVF will sure be successful.
I also wish to follow chloe's footstep and become one of Dr foong's pride. hee hee..

Hello All! I just had my first IVF cycle and it didn't work. Will be waiting 2 months. I was wondering if any of you take any special diets or do special exercise to strengthen the core areas? I heard some people taking high protein and seed flaxes and pineapple during the stimulation phase.

Wan

I have been with JE medical hall for 2 years + but without any succeed. Actually, frankly, I am regreted listen to her not to start IVF but keep on following her instruction taking TCM. I should have been started my IVF earlier... but no point of looking back now.

Times is really precious esp for those who have passed 30+..

Ya, I also dream that i can be the mother of triplets one day.. but my HB very scare hoh... ha ha...

WanBB,
hi.. i got BFP
.. beta reading 322.9 on D17 n 978.5 on D20.. but nd to go back see DR Loh regards for m Liver blood test
..nothing serious so no worries

Shree,
i didnt eat anything special.. only folic acid n some multi vits..before i start my cycle i did some acu..that's all..Oh.. i oso stop drinking cold water

KoalaTree,

Your husband situation is the same as mine......declining each time we do the semen analysis....

Did the doctor tell you the reason for this poor morphology? My gynae hesitated to say but advised my hubby to take some health supplements and vitamins..........

From I know, morphology never stay constant day to day......results depends on man's state of mind, stress level and health......I was pretty discouraged too when I realise my hubby's sperm morphology is just as bad......

Did your hubby go thru the variocele vein operations under Chris Chen? Is 12% before op or after op? I am just thinking hard whether the op helps or not.......amyway, once done is done, cannot turn back the clock....

Sorry for being a wet blanket.......at times, I try to console myself that maybe, it is better not to have a child....well, the more I desire, the more disappointed I am and the more things will go haywire........just like my hubby's case, the normal morphology kept on dropping and no one knows why? Maybe, it is due to all the sress of seeing doctor.......dun know if accupucture helps at all..........

Anyone can share?

koala,

You have not make up your mind for ivf right? Please relax and give both yourself and husband sometime. Dont because of peer pressure and rush for it. The ivf path will definetly be more stress than SO-IUI.

Xia Rong is fully booked! I think i will go to en-hui's TCM physician at AMK.

Cannot eat chicken? Dr Koh said double boiled with chicken breast meat or port meat. I actually did not avoid chicken and just eat moderately. I find it stress if i can't eat this or can't eat that if craving for it. I rather eat it and reduce the stress level. Unless is harmful to our womb.

If you have decided to do it at year end. We may be cycling together har...So...JIA YOU now and we may make it naturally!

koala,

You have not make up your mind for ivf right? Please relax and give both yourself and husband sometime. Dont because of peer pressure and rush for it. The ivf path will definetly be more stress than SO-IUI.

Xia Rong is fully booked! I think i will go to en-hui's TCM physician at AMK.

Cannot eat chicken? Dr Koh said double boiled with chicken breast meat or port meat. I actually did not avoid chicken and just eat moderately. I find it stress if i can't eat this or can't eat that if craving for it. I rather eat it and reduce the stress level. Unless is harmful to our womb.

If you have decided to do it at year end. We may be cycling together har...So...JIA YOU now and we may make it naturally!

en_hui,

You started your treatment? Please take good care of yourself. Please come here to talk to us if you have any mood-swing problem during treatment. We are here. Good Luck!

MK,

Does your HB drink alot of alchohol especially beer? Alcohol do affect sperm volume and quality.

Yes. You are right. Morphology dont stay constant. I once consulted a Fertility Specialist. He said if the sperm cannot improve after 6 months of whatever treatment or surgery. There are very low chance that the sperm can be healthy or strong enough to travel to the egg. Therefore, one need to really consider to do ICSI.

Hi Bodhi,

My HB has not taken alcohol at all......so, we are just quite puzzled why his normal morphology has declined drastically since the surgery......I really hope that the surgery has not done him worst......we were too anxious when we first met our fertility specialist......

Bodhi, are you doing IVF too???

I dun know as I am still not ready for the awesome process......perhaps, TTC is not meant or fated for us...........

Who is this Fertity specialist? From which hospital?

Bodhi

We definately will go for IVF. Actually now we are planning to give ourselves 3 months to see both sides (HB and I) have improvement before we go for IVF/ICSI. No point going in to IVF knowing that our health is poor and expose to failure.

Ya, Xia Rong is fully booked, but if you talk nicely to the lady at the counter , she can "cham xiong" and give you a slot, normally working hour, she is ok. Her name is Linda. You may want to give it a try? Xia Rong next trip will be on 30 Oct 2006.

I will be starting ACU with her tomorrow, hope it will help my conditions.

Another alternative is EYS at Tiong Baru, the dr name is Qi Xiao Yen, I also heard she helps a lot of couple to conceive, although she is only a GP. She also an accupunturist.

As for the chicken, is becos of the hormone in the chicken body, so when we consume the chicken, it will affect our hormone level. May be you try to eat "kampung " chicken instead.

MK

I think we discussed before over the IVF issue via e-mail. I can't comment on Chris Chen method as my HB didn't went thorugh any op with him.

Hui, congratulation! so happy for you. hope you have a smooth nine months.

Koalatree, I nv rest for a cycle from clomid to lap and IUI and now IVF since 5 months ago. My body also become very weak 2 months back when i have my lap. But i just go head with IVF.
Does your health improve after you taken TCM?
don't worry too much if you go for IVF. Life is like that, always worry abt this and that. If you just go ahead with it, at least you tried your best and not waste time waiting. Time is very precious in women for IVF cos younger then more chance. Of cos must get yourself prepare first. Personally I don't feel much stress. The more you think abt it, the more you will feel stressful. so just don't think too much and look forward to every step ahead. It's only a month treatment.

hui, don't think so soon anymore.

Koalatree, my blood test result is back and got another bad news. I need to continue my supression for another week. hopefully next week things will be better.

Hi Wan

Yup, I read from the other thread and know that your ER will be away on your ET day. Is that confirm? Any adjustment can be make so that your ER will be around?

Did you talk to your ER what trigger you for the high hormone? Your diet? Dun mind me asking what is the hormone that you are referring to? FSH?

Hui, no choice leh.. my hormones always wanna play afool with me.

Koalatree, it's true that my ER will not be ard. So I email him to ask if I could delay the stimulation by a few more days. Then I can go china and come back for the ET with him ard.
If I'm not wrong, should be my LH and not FSH. Cos of my PCOS, my LH level always very high. He mention that the first time I test is 21, now it's down to 14. He wants it to be below 5 then can start the stimulation. Haiz..

Hi Hui, congratulations! Was following the thread about you in hospital and all. I'm glad it worked out well for you.

I'm in the same boat with Wan, hi Wan! Doing the initial jabs. Blood test on Monday. And then see how...like Wan, I'm concerned about the Dr being on leave... so don't know what's going to happen...

Ondine

Welcome to cycle buddies thread, which stage you are in now?

Wan

Hmm.. stay positive, ok? I am sure that you and your ER can work out the best solutions.

Hi Koala, I'm into day 10 of the suppression jab. My husband gets a big thrill out of giving it to me every evening.

MK,

I have consulted 3 fertility specialists. Dr Sheila Loh, Prof PC Wong and Dr Charles Lim. I have consulted with Dr Chris Cheng once. And of course with my long time Gynae.

Actually is very interesting about our life. Nobody can tell what's wrong to our body. Especially the hormone. Likewise, our HB sperm's quantity and quality. We will just has to try our best keep ourself Happy and Healthy. And if this doesn't work. We just need to try the scienfic way to get ourself pregnant. If we dont give it a try, we will never know whether it work. If i am still young, i can take my time and keep trying. But, i feel time is really running out. I do not want to run after my children at the age of 60!

koala,

You are starting your ACU with Xia Rong. How many days she need to "poke" on you? What's the acu for? built the womb?

hey koala, i actually has this idea. But my Gynae said it is not worth doing it. I told him i dun want to stimulate by drug since every month i have eggs. He can actually do a ER for me to extract the egg and perform ICSI and do a ET. I still thinking...really not worth it meh. I know is not norm. But possible right? Hmmmm...

Hui/koalatree, thanks for your concern. I'm feeling better now.

Ondine, you're here too! I think you will complete your cycle earlier than me. I just confirm with Dr that I will delay my stimulation til 14th Oct then will have my ER on 25th Oct. So I can go to china! hee hee. but have to take the med with me when i'm there.

Ondine, he nv say anything. He ask me to speak to him next sat when I start my stimulation. So guess i have to make an extra appointment just to discuss abt my trip and the schedule.

WanBB & Ondine,

are you with KKH too? I also just got my blood test results y'day and told to continue with another week of suppression. Was so sad when I heard that

en_hui, me also extend my suppression to another 2 weeks. I already had 2 blood test and both came back to be bad news. I calculated and by the end of my injections which lasted abt one month, I would have 50 injections already. Sounds so scary.
Me and Ondine with Dr foong at Gleneagles.

WanBB, when my AF did not report last week, I already kind of expected that I might not pass stage 1. True enough, y'day I was told that my lining is too thick so need to wait for AF to come. This is only stage 1, not forgetting that the jabs have to continue into stage 2. By then, we probably lose count already.

en_hui, I take pills to induce my menses so it came on time. But still not good enough. My hormones too high to start stimulation. How long have you been taking the suppression jabs? You under lurcin? How much do you jab a day?
Sorry so many questions. was curious abt lurcin. me using suprefact and jab 50cc everyday. will only need to jab 20cc during stage 2.

my tummy full of scar and running out of places for the jab. SOBZ

WanBB, I have been jabbing 10 units of Lucrin daily for 14 days now. At stage 2, it'll be both Lucrin and Puregon.

Is Suprefact similar to Lucrin?

I also have many marks on my tummy

en hui,
the marks will go off

mine already gone.. so dont worri..

Calling all Buddies Cycling now!!!
the most important thing when u are cycling is must stay +ive..
, this realli help

so stay +ive and cheers!!
533941.gif

en_hui, 10 units is very little compare to my 50! wonder why my dr nv use lucrin. I will also be using puregon for my stimulation.
I think suprefact is similar as lucrin. both are used for suppression.
The scars turn into mole like dark spots. so ugly.. They are like freckles on my tummy. hope they will go away soon.

en_hui, I've had my 15th jab this morning so I think we are in the same boat. both of us need a long time suppression. Dr says my body not taking the suppression drugs well enough so my hormones level is high. I assume we will be in the same 2 weeks wait. hee hee.

My estimated ER and ET dates are 25th oct and 27th oct respectively. When are you going for your blood test?

See updated list for cycle buddies:-

enhui -ivf/icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Sept/Oct)
Scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
Catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/Sadhana (Oct)
Jo -ivf/icsi/KKH/Sadhana (Aug/Sep)
WanBB -ivf/icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (Oct)
Ondine - ivf/icsi/Gleneagles/LC Foong (Oct)
Koala - ivf/icsi/TMC/LC Cheng (Dec/Jan)

I dun koe how is scf and Jo now, so just keep them in the list first...

Wan

You try to pitch your stomach harder before do the injecting, this can avoid the "blue black". When u reach stimualtion stage, is your ER using the "pen" type? it is less pain.. and try to jab on alternate sides of your tummy.

Yes, Lucrin is same as suprefect, I asked my ER before.

Bodhi

I need to do ACU with Dr Xia on 11th, 12th and 13th cycle day, 3 days continuously before the ovulation. As she said I have preggie before, so she will use natutral cycle method on me. 1 session is abt 40 mins, I am going for 1st 1 in this afternoon. A bit ken cheong.

hmmm... as for your idea, you really "creative" leh.. but will they do the ER and ET for you as if there is only one or two eggs?

If your idea can work, then we can save a lot of $$ on the IVF liao, cos can skip to pay the drugs that cost us bankrupt..

Wan, I think Koala is right. I pinch very hard for a few seconds first before my husband jabs me. Maybe that's why I don't bruise. But my reason for doing it is simple...
I pinch hard, so that hurts, so that when the jab goes it, that doesn't hurt so much because it's numb from the pinching.

Hee.

Thanks Koala for the update.
There're quite a few in October it seems.

koalatree, pitch harder? But will feel more painful leh. so I always relax my fingers abit.. Maybe that's why I got blue black. The nurse at my clinic say after the jab must press hard onto the injected part to avoid blue black. but my hubby always carry on with his own things without helping me to press on the 'wound'. I also don't know where is the spot he poke cos he nv press for me at all. in the end I just blindly press.
I already have the puregon pen. Bought it last cycle when I doing my IUI. it's much better cos the needles is smaller than the ones used in suprefact.

Bodhi, the ER and ET itself cost abt 7k for gleneagles. So I don't think it's worth it to just take one or 2 eggs to work with. The drugs is much cheaper as compare to it.

WanBB, yup, I think our timing is about the same. I should be doing my ER/ET during the Hari Raya week as well if everything goes smoothly *keeping fingers crossed*

Koalatree, you must try to relax during ACU otherwise the needles difficult to poke in. After the 1st time, you will get used to it subsequently.

Ondine, I will try your method tomorrow. To pinch myself hard so that the pain will overshadow the pain from the jab

Wan

Yes, My hb pitch me very very hard before the injecting, but after the injection, you just need to relax and dun dicturb it.You try and c if it is work?

Wah, ER and ET so exp? I think becos of the use of the operation room.

enhui,

Thanks for the advise, I will try to relax...

en_hui, Hopefully our hormones and lining don't play us out again. or else need to delay.. sianz..

koalatree, I think can try it out tomorrow morning when having the jab. anyway still got many many more days to try different pattern. even thought of just continue to sleep and he inject me. Haa!
The ER and ET is fixed cost so have to pay no matter what. I think KKH will be very much cheaper.

Wan

I had a lap with chris chen in 2004, wah, the op theatre fees is really a shock in my life. But Gleneagles' is very exp compare to TMC and Mt E as I know.

Yup, I am considering to switch to KKIVF now as I really broke after contributing to TCM, ACU and my last SO-IUI.... sigh...

Koalatree, it will be good if you have the time to quene in KKH. I find them rather slow in everything and even scan also need to go to another diff department. So i decided to stay private. I heard Chris chen is quite ex right? my lap also cost me a bomb. abt 6k a few months back.

Wan

As we are planning to take a break, so I guess I will have sufficient time to "q" in KK.

Chris Chen? my op was 10k and can't claim any insurance as his clinic name is bearing "reproductive" word as per the insurance company.

And actually I started my IVF with him on Feb, but discovered that I was preggie after taking 6 days lucrin jabs... I spent S$3k in the 2 weeks for all the medication, consultation and blood test....but ended up still m/c. So is fated loh, he can't earn my money...

koalatree, your op really ex! 10k is alot of money. enough for one IVF. Moreover cannot claim insurance. what did you do for your lap?

3k for 2 weeks? I think he is really expensive dr. Since you can get preggie naturally, have you been trying out these few months?