IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

hi all, Hui's been feeling unwell for the past few days and has been waking up to vomit in the middle of the night, hence today after seeing doctor at 24hrs clinic kkh, was warded as blood test shown her hormones level to be too high.
hope she recovers soonest...

Hi Wee
Thanks for updating us. No wonder din see her posting today. Was worried for her also. Will pray that she recovers soon and ask her to rest well. It might due to overstimulation of injections. She will bring us good news next week and tell her to rest well and ready for journey of motherhood
Thanks. Msg from qoo

hi qoo...hui's on drip now, will convey ur goodwill to her...didnt expect the last lap to be the most stressful n straining part of all in the icsi cycle itself...countdown to last 5 days

at the meantime take good care and god bless all you pple from this forum

hi bodhi, thanks for your encouragement...hui wont be discharging so soon yet, cos the doctor wanted to monitor her as the injection has caused thickening of her blood resulting in poor circulation or something??

she ask me to help her send her regards and good wishes to all her buddies in this forum

Wee,
Thanks for the update. Is Hui feeling better now? I have a feeling Hui will definitely make it. I remember few months ago, a lady she is in the same situation as Hui and needs to be hospitalize. and bingo she strike twins and hope this is a good symptom. Jia you hui.

Bodhi,
Sorry, sorry for the delayed reply.Yes, I think my former embryologist is lay cheng. You know her? I din see any other embryologist there. Not sure if she is the only one there.
I have company insurance on hospitalization insurance. I hope that is sufficient to cover if I need to go for op. touch wood, dun want that lah... ha.
I have a feeling my af is coming soon. so i will start cycling soon.

Hi Jolene,

No worries. It take some time to read through the posts here. It took me a while to finish reading too.

"touch wood" lah...choy choy choy! You will not need to do an insurance claims.

Your AF is coming...finally can start your treatment liao. Happy for you...hope this will be the last for now and you will not see AF for 10 months. Are you going to start with birth control pill first or go straight to Lucrin? Take care and stay very cool har.

I also waiting for mine to come too...me after the surgery also lost track, dont know when coming.

vendy and jolene, on behalf of hui, thanks for your concern...
I had an agreement with hui tat no matter what is the end results come this fri, *touchwood shld it be unfavourable, we dont take it too hard...disappointment is unavoidable but the one thing that is beyond our control is that everything in this world is fated, we have already done what we could within our means.
I hope you gals in the cycle can keep a relaxed mind throughout...our body is a complex yet sensitive system. Being too conscious and too tensed up might stress up the body system hence contribute to failure instead. Keep a relax mind so that the body can continue its daily routines and it will sort itself out...
umm....hope to see more hubbies coming in here to share their experiences and thoughts though

Hi Wee,

Sorry to know abt Hui's condition, is she better today? She has all our support here and she will be able to make it ! We wait for your good news.

Best Regards
Koala

Jolene
Ee are u talking bout me
? I was hospitalised too and was on drip for 5 days also as my condition is very severe. Doc say I have OHSS (over stimulation of ovaries) . My situation like Hui also, cant sleep straight every nite after ER (been sleeping 45degree for 2 weeks) , bloated, vomit, cant sit or walk straight, breathless sometimes, heartburn, etc. Cant even eat or drink, will vomit whatever things go in my stomach. Mine symptoms at that time quite similar like Hui. Thinking back, all this pain are worthwhile as Im in motherhood journey with my twin bbs

Wee
Ask Hui to be calm, relax and keep talking to embries. She had come a long way and she will have our prayers

Wee and Hui,
Both of u have come this far, pse continue on this journey. How is she today? I've been working midnight shift and has not been reading the forum till now. Poor her. Send my regards to her ok?

1 more day and u'll know the result soon...Jia You

Hi Qoo,
Oh, ya, you have the same problems and u strike twins right. I was referring to another lady in the forum tat posted in Feb. So with two cases here, it's really true tat those with over stimulation stands a good chance.

Wee,
Glad that hui is feeling better.
Thanks for your advice. We really have to take it in a more relax way. Sometimes we are really too tense up. For me, I am calculating everyday when will I start my injection till er/et until nov. Ha. This is also a kind of stress. What is meant for us will happen, it's really fated.

hi meow and babymaking, thanks for your concerns
, hui still not ready for discharge as her stomach still bloated...

hi jolene, a nurse told hui that somewhere inside the ward, there's another lady who's having identical symptoms(but in more severe condition) and has been warded there for quite some time, and the thing is that she's pregnant also...so hopefully the theory is substantiable

ya...really got to relax more, u ladies have stress, the hubbies also have stress, stress over which spot to poke the syringe into, poke faster or slower etc....lol

wee,
I also know a lady who did ER, ET, Hcg test and first scan with me in kkivf, she was also hospitalized for a week for severe OHSS and was pregnant with twins, praying it will be the same for u and hui too.

jolene and other gals,
Long time i never post here, how r u gals doing, Good luck to all of u.

Hey koala,

can you share the contact of the tcm doctor that Xia Rong's recommeded? I think is at AMK. But i lost the contact.

I lost my temper waiting for my turn to consult Dr Koh Lee Hoon. The quenue was and still very long. It really stress me that i need to wait for 4 hrs. Thus seeking for another doctor now. You may PM me. Thanks.

Hi Bodhi, if you are referring to the Dr for Acupunture, here's the contact:

Dr Zou Yu Min
Blk 505 Ang Mo Kio Abe 8
#01-2670
Tel: 64560833

Hi Bodhi

Ya, the address has been given by en-hui. But I am not sure if she can also help us in TCM. You may call and ask first.

There is another ACU and TCM at Meiling Street, let me know if you need it.

Is really very stressful to wait for 4 hours, no joke man. I have a list of TCM that gathered from Forum, if you need it, I can send to you.

Or you want to try Xia Rong? She is back to Singapore on 2 Oct.

En-hui,

Can I ask how is the timing of your ACU? Xia Rong told me that to do for 3 days continuously before ovulation for the natural cycle.

koalatree,

as I'm now cycling, my frequency for ACU treatments may differ from yours. I do it twice a week and intend to continue until ER.

Dr Zou told me that for some ladies who need to regulate their cycle or ovulation, they will go for a few days before and after ovulation.

Enhui

Thanks, I will check with Xia Rong when I see her again on the timing of ACU if I want to go for IVF 3 months later.

Are you still on 1st stage? Now I am considering should I switch to KKH due to the financial constraints.

Hi all, have been lazy to update cycling list lately:-

Hui - icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Aug/Sept)(2WW - 28 Sept 2006)
Vendy -ivf/icsi/KKH/SF Loh (Sep) (2WW- 2Oct 2006)
enhui -ivf/icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Sept/Oct)
Scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
Jolene -ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Oct)
Catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/Sadhana (Oct)
Jo -ivf/icsi/KKH/Sadhana (Aug/Sep)
Babymaking -ivf/icsi/KKH/SF Loh (Nov/Dec)
Koala - ivf/icsi/TMC/LC Cheng (Dec/Jan)

Please let me know if anybody want to add in to the list.

Thanks enhui. for the address. AMK is nearer to my home. May i check, is the waiting time long? More than an hour?

koala,

I also do not know whether do i need TCM treatment or i just need the ACU only. Usually, the chinese physician dont prescribe much herbal for me to eat leh. Only the ban feng pills and ask me to boil the "pa zheng" soup with chicken. That's all.

I actually wanted to see Xia Rong. Her clinic location is convenience and also near my Gynae and Lab Clinic. But she will not be here permanently leh. That's the problem. Just worry, she can't be with me in the middle of my ivf treatment.

Hi Bodhi

I was advised not to consume chicken during my last IVF as instructed by my previous RE. I am a bit kia su, trying to avoid chicken nowadys as I know I will be going for IVF.

I will be seeing Xia Rong on Monday, may be I try to confirm with her again when she will be back to Shanghai permanently and let you know in due course.

For me, I always think that as we can't take any TCM/herb during IVF, so it will be no different if the sinseh is /is not around. If i need to do ACU during IVF, I will be going to AMK, so should be any problem.

One thing need to highlight to you is Xia Rong gave me her personal e-mail address, so whenever I have question when she is not around, I can always e-mail her to clarify.

FYI, my HB went to see Dr Tan Kian Sing on Friday, HB was told that he needs to do ACU to improve his sperm quality, and will be doing ACU at least once a week. Pray hard that he has improvement after the ACU. Dr Tan also ask me to go to see him as well, but for me, I prefer to see a female accuputurist.

hi koala

Thks for updating the list, but pls exclude my name from the list as we have decided to give it rest.

anyone knows how Hui is doing?

Hi Bodhi, so far I did not have to wait for my ACU. I think you are start as soon as you get there (just call in advance to inform them. The treatment is about an hour.

Koalatree, I actually wanted my HB to go for ACU as well but Dr Zou told me no need, wonder why? Dr Tan Kian Sing is from Thong Chai?

Hi enhui

May be your HB soldier's quality is ok?

For my HB, his mophology keep on dropping that make us worry. Dr Tan even told him that we shouldn't go ahead with so-iui last month and if I can get pregnant, most probably d pregnancy will ended up m/c. But this part my gynae didn't tell us, but told us that his volume is excellent. Sigh, but anyway, is over now.

I am not so sure if he is from Thong Chai, my HB seen him at his clinic at Clementi.

Anyone here can share the contact details like contact number for Dr Tan Kian Sing from Thong Chai??

Hi MK & Enhui

I have posted Dr Tan Kian Sing contact detail in matters of the heart - "IVF anyone?"

Please kindly go to that thread. Thanks

Good Luck!

Kimly HN

I tried to call Dr Tan Kian Sing contact number as stated in your posting but no one answer....the line seems to be engaged all the time....

Contact no is : 68723237.....is that right?

Anyone here seen Dr Tan and manage to increase normal sperm quality?

Hi MK,

The phone is the correct one. My hubby has only 1% of normal sperm quality before seeing Dr Tan Kian Sing. After seeing Dr Tan for 9 months, his normal sperm quality increased to 5%.

Kindly come to that thread and I hope I can answer you more.

Hui,

I hope you have discarged from KK. Take a good care of your health.

Kimly HN,

I am glad that you replied.....

Well, actually my hubby went thru some operation to help to correct the variocele veins sometime this year and we all hope that after the op, the sperm quality will improve.....but since the op, after a series of semen analysis, the sperm quality has been declining and the last test showed only 1%......it was rather depressing for both of us.......I understand that sperm quality varies day to day and is not constant, depending on one's moods, general health and stress level......so, keeping my fingers cross that his sperm quality will improve.....

Kimly, did you get pregnant too naturally or thru IVF?

Sorry, what's the thread again? Can you relink so that I can come to the thread which you are coming to?

Pls help!!!
anyone knows whether it's okay for us to travel after our ET? The travel date is a few day after my estimated ET. anyone knows whether can travel during that period of time? I'm going china so will be on a 6 hrs flight. izzit okay?

Hi WanBB

We are not encouraged to travel after ET as the embroys will still "floating" in our womb before implatation happened. Normally, the implatation happen after 5 to 12 days after ET, so we are advised not to move around, not to carry heavy stuff but just rest and rest... and we are spending so much money and effort on the treatment to preggie, so better don't take any risk to expose ourselves to failure....

Koalatree,
I agree with you. I also fear that traveling will affect the floating embryo. I'm having my suprefact now and have not started the stimulation as my hormones are too high. This there any way I can delay my stimulation without having to forgo this cycle?

Wan

I dun think is possible, I spoke to my RE before, the lucrin/suprefect is to supress our hormone for certain period only, the effect will lapse if no stimulation done after that..

So if you dun proceed to stimulation stage, you might need to take suprefect longer to ensure that the supression is strong enuf.. That y, he told me that in TMC they don't recomend long supression, the hormone might vary in that such long period...

Sorry, if I confuse you. U check with your RE on this?

Koalatree,
thanks for the prompt reply.
I guess I have to check with my Dr. Mostly won't be able to travel that period of time. Already having my 14th supression jab this morning so I won't forgo this cycle. So sad..

Ai ya, Wan ,

Never mind lah, u must think how nice in future you can travel with your little one...

There are quite a lot of success today, really happy for them and hope one day we can be one of them.

Koalatree,
Ya I read in the support thread. How envy. Or maybe it's a good month for good news. Hopefully we'll be one of the good news coming up next.

Hi WanBB
After 7 days of ET, I did took a flight and journey is only 2 hours. But during 2ww, it's better to have rest and rest. My gynae says it's ok to take flight but personally I still feel depends on individual. And if you have the choice, better dun take the risk to take such a long journey flight. All the best and may yr dream comes true

qoo_gal, my estimated ET is only 3 days from the flight date. I'm worried abt being over-stimulated and if I'm overseas, I have to be admitted there and imagine in china hospital. Yucks, very scary. I have PCOS so my Dr says I'm prone to over-stimulation.
So do you feel anything during your flight?

Wan
Oh...if u have PCOS, better don't fly. Try to postpone yr trip and nothing is more important than yr 2ww and bb. Embries still floating during the 1st week of 2ww and will only implant from 6 days onwards. Better don't fly unless really necessary .
I had brown staining after my flight and was so scared. My whole panty liner is real wet. Quicky call my gynae and he say it's perfectly fine leh. He said if brown stain more than 1 day, then must go see doc. But luckily I don't have any more stain. But really very scared at that time.

qoo_gal, during my last flight to bangkok, I also feel cramp which I suspect is becos of air pressure. And the 2nd last time I fly, my menses come while in the plane. I think the flight force my menses to flow.
Haiz.. no choice. Better not waste the effort, jabs and that 10k for nothing.

Wan
Yaloh, we had come such a long journey. For sake of bb, must really take good care of ourselves. How many days u are now in 2ww?

qoo_gal, I'm haven't even started the puregon. My hormone level too high so have to take a few more suppression jabs before another blood test. Tomorrow will be having my 2nd blood test. Hopefully my hormones guai guai be low. Then I can start my puregon on wednesday.
I feel very bruised now after 14 days of jabs. Imagine start puregon, have to jab twice a day. Wonder if I can take it.

Hi buddies,
I'm embarking to the journey of treatment today. Going to the hospital now, will keep everyone update.

Wan,

Wish you all the best in your blood test, keep us informed ok? we will jia yu for you..

Now I have to wake up very early to brew and drink the chinese med before come to work. very scary smell, but wat to do, Xia Rong said I must drink twice daily to cure my endo.. Hopefully it works..

Catherine

Just started your lucrin jab today? Wish you all the best hoh..

Koalatree, just back from the blood test. will get the result this afternoon. Hopefully my hormones will be low or else more suprefact for me. Thanks for your jia you. I will also jia you! hee hee...
I thought most of the chinese med also comes in pill form already. brew and drink sound very bitter. moreover twice daily. But no choice, just bear with it. hope your endo will be cure soon and you can stop the brewing.