IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

buddies,
yest went to bought Zita West book..although read b4 but still buy n kp

Hi Passion,
Yup I prefer weekday, yes ok for next Friday 18th August right. Looking forward to see u gals. Where is the meeting place? My office is near Cityhall.

Koala,
Our office very nearby hor, maybe one day can meet for lunch.

Qoo,
For me i tell both my parents and in law. Not sure if my in law got tell anyone or not. Maybe yes but I din know. My husband's younger brother's wife delivering soon in few days so going to avoid their full month baby shower. Sigh, just do not want to face all the kapoh relatives, sure make me very unhappy wan.

wow, out of a sudden this thread is very active. good to have more people sharing.

googal, i am ok with meeting up, do anyone msn here? perhaps we can also msn? pls add me as [email protected]

i am working full time but am online during office hrs.

need to go now, will update later.

oops koala tree..instead of googal

googal, i am keen to find out which centre and what is the cost as well.

keeping options open

Hi qoo, my hubby's sperm results was quite good, the problem is with me
My dosage was quite high at the start at 400 iu and even higher at 600 iu on the 7th day of stimulation but still not many eggs. My breasts not that painful today already. Don't know why yesterday was like that. Tonight taking the Pregnyl jab. All this while only my mum, a few friends and colleagues know. Didn't tell my PIL as my MIL can't keep secret....
Think it may be too early for any symptoms, some gals only feel it after they test BFP

Xinyu,
is it? I didn't know. May be he knows I have endo and blocked tubes, so he decided ICSI for me. I don't mind whichever as long as can get to ET stage

Hui,
I like Hong Kong too. Went during winter, weather was really cool and like the food and enjoy the most at the Peak. However, one thing that I don't rreally like is the air seems more polluted there. Everyway I go, there are many smokers even smoking in shopping malls!

Edel,
HongKong so far the shopping i went no smoking leh.. in facts shenzheng then worse..my hubby,male boss,fren n my colleugue smoke freely in the shopping mall..they are allow to smoke in the mall

Wah, have missed out so many posts liao..

Jolene

Thanks. Sure will keep you informed. Did you mention your problem to your sinseh? May be she can do something abt it? For the lunch, Sure, y not?? we are just 1 mrt station away. I come to city hall, meet at Raffles City's food court for lunch, u ok? Just let me know the time. I always go there to makan lunch.

Catherine/Baby making

Welcome to the meeting list!!
1) Passion
2) Qoo
3) Jolene
4) Hui
5) Moon
6) Koala
7) Catherine
8) Babymaking

Agreed with proposed date: 18 August 2006, Friday
1) Passion
2) Jolene
3) Koala

Now, we will wait for the rest to revert on the proposed date. So excited now.

I think the place will be decided at later stage,it will depends on the person joining too and wat foods you all prefer.

Edel

Currently, I don't have thyroid problem. Thanks for your concern. But the specialist classify me as "high risk group" and ask me to cut down seafood if possible.

Hui/Babymaking,
Can't join msn, my office policy not allow yahoo messanger/msn to be installed in our computer... snob.. snob..

Qoo

Thanks for your detailed p.m., will reply you via e-mail.

I didn't tell my MIL/SILs...and has no intention to do so, but told my mother and sisters. HB and I did querrel over these topic, he asked why I can inform my family but not his? But I still insist as I am the 1 who go through the pain of the IVF so he give in to me finally.

Oops, better stop now... sorry for the long post.

Xinyu
Actually seafood can lah, must be well cooked. But still don't eat too much, coz' worry got virus also. If preggy, eat too much crab, later bb will become very notti/michevious and loves to touch this and that. Old wives tales...
But it's must been real difficult since only yr DH knows and he must be really supportive.

Catherine
Thanks for sharing the price. Looks like it's cheaper also compare to Msia cost. Some more can claim medisave. I didn't do much research in Spore at that time, we decided to do treatment in Msia less than 2 weeks, after got our results. We decide everything in just one month time. Went thru lots of ups and downs also with DH

Passion/Jolene/Koala
It's nice to share the news with PIL but still sometimes worry they will spread around the news. I understand they are too excited also but Pantang mah, if treatment not success how? And news is already spreading to whole village. So kindda stress also. Just better keep low profile
My MIL also quite kepoh as they also very concern bout us, as we already married nearly 5 years.

Didi
U know in 2ww, will will be expecting any symptons? Me no symptons , that's why very worry. Am I suppose to vomit, nausea, poor appetiate...etc

Koala/Gals
18th????? Sound wonderful!!! BUT BUT BUT that's my HPT on that day. EE.... can I confirm on that day
Need to see my result leh.. scared scared Or other alternate days? U all prefer to meet up evening?

Hui/Babymaking
I had add u gals . Mine : [email protected]

Hui, how come so quiet today? Shop till drop leh...

Hui

Noted. Thanks.

Qoo

Aiya, forgot your big day leh.. U prefer to change the meeting day before or after that? let see how others response.

Btw, have replied your e-mail.

Koala

Koala
Dont worry bout me... just go ahead with 18th...who knows, my hand very itchy and test earlier. Doc asked me test on 16th, but due to some reason, we hold till 18th...

Morning Hopes,
hmm..not sure abt the average wait leh..but u let them knw when u wan to start they see they can slot u in aot lo..

Buddies,
i will go KKH on Mon instead on Tues.
coz HB's colleague wife mayb goin to deliver so he may nd to exchange shift with HB

so will go n learn injection on mon then tues inject ourselves

Ops! At home i was just thinking..hmm.. maybe Qoo's HPT is on Friday. So sorry Qoo! I feel we shouldn't leave anyone out, it's our 1st meeting u know!! ha ha.. In that case, why don't we change to Wed (23 Aug)or do u want it on a Sat (19 Aug)?

Hi Hopes,
Normally it depends on your menses cycle. Once your menses is over u can start the program. If it is your first time, you may want to make an appt to see your gynae 1st to have an understanding on the IVF pgm.

Morning Ladies!!!!
Koala, seafood can caused thyroid problem?? What are the symptoms of throid problem?? How you know that you got this problem? blood test?

hui, my laptop got some problem... Now using my server PC to online, but no msn. I am good, just tiring and got PMS.

xinyu,
PMS!! oh my god?
what happen?wat u thinking?
muz be happy n stress free ya..thinking finalli start cycling will be a happy thing

wow, happy tt the new grp of cycle buddies r meeting up....
must b exciting...
484679.gif
Wishing all cycle buddies best of luck & MUST HAVE PMA!!!!!!!

hui must b blur since ther's so many cycle buddies..... :p kekekeke......

Here's the Cycle buddies:-

Jily - ivf/KL Msia(July)
Hui - icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Aug)
Xinyu-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Edel-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
Koala-ivf/TMC/LC Cheng(Aug/Sept)
Jolene -ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Oct)
catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/dr Sheila Low(Oct)

Hui,
really ah? I haven't been to Shengzheng but would like to go Taiwan. Heard the food there very good, yummy :p

Koalatree,
glad to know that your thyroid levels are ok. Are you at high risk of hyperthyroidism? Because I heard if it's hypothyroidism, seafood is supposed to help as it's rich in Iodine. Anyway, best is to have a balanced diet

Hi Rae,
I just realise a mistake in the list. I started mine in Jul, not Aug, so update here again

Here's the Cycle buddies:-

Jily - ivf/KL Msia(July)
Hui - icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Aug)
Xinyu-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Edel-icsi/KKH/SF Loh (Jul)
Scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
Koala-ivf/TMC/LC Cheng(Aug/Sept)
Jolene -ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Oct)
catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/dr Sheila Low(Oct)

Koala, do u have thyroid problem? is it hyper or hypo? I will b doing ICSI in Sept but I have hyperthyroid. thou it is under control but i am still taking medicine in low dose. any idea if it will affect ICSI?

Hi Koala,

Hmm that is good. We can meet for lunch at Cityhall. Could be very rush for you right. What time can you make it?

Hi Moon,
You prefer to have lunch?? I tot of meeting Koala at Cityhall, want to join us? Welcome any buddies who can't meet for dinner can join us for lunch next week. Let me know the prefer date.

Hi Passion,
For dinner, I am ok with 23rd Aug.

hi hui, no prob....
cos suddenly too many newbies & u were able for a few days.... ur heart still in HK, i tink... :p

thanks edel for updating the list...
wow, lots of SF Loh patients...

BABY DUST TO ALL
485557.gif

hi jolene, am doing ok. Had done oscars test last thurs & result is low risk. Am gg into 13th week now.... u will b starting in Oct... gd luck

buddies..
i email dr loh yest...
assking him if we can take vitamins and this is his reply..share with u guys :

Dear April,

It is nice reading your mail and thanks for the website. Some of my patients told me about the forum/ website once but I did not look it up. Thought it is too stressful for me. I feel as much failure as any patient who fail IVF. Can you imagine the stress that we have, given a possible maximum pregnancy of 50% and the number of patients who are counting on us?

Anyway, it is good to take those vitamins, which are readily available in most multivitamin tablets like centrum.

I have a quick glance at the forum. ICSI in KK has no extra charges. ICSI is done if there are less than 8 eggs in KKIVF. If there are more than 8 eggs, provided the sperms are OK, some eggs will be treated with conventional IVF and the remainder with ICSI to give the best of both worlds.

I really wish you could conceive with the treatment.

God Bless.

SF

Hui

Thanks for sharing, can see that SF is a good and caring doctor.

Hi meeting buddies

Sorry, I couldn't make it at 19/8, Hb booked a trip to Genting next week. (Ya, a bit shocking to me) He afraid that we are not "mobile" to go for holiday once IVF started. So just go for a very short trip. Pai Sei pai sei.

Meeting list (meeting date)
1) Passion ( 19/8)
2) Qoo (19/8 or 23/8)
3) Jolene (19/8 or 23/8)
4) Hui (19/8)
5) Moon (out with 19/8)
6) Koala (out with 19/8, but ok with 23/8)
7) Catherine (?)
8) Babymaking (out with 19/8, but ok with 23/8)

Not sure for those who can make it on 19/8 want to go ahead first?

Jolene

Sure, Tuesday ok with you? I am ok to come over don't worry, 1.00 p.m. to meet you in front of Bodyshop? Let me know, ok?

Moon

U want to join us?

Edel

I am "hyper" group, so can't take seafood loh.

ahnie

I don't have thyroid problem now, so not on any medication, but is considered "high risk group", i assume that you must disclose the drug you are taking before IVF/ICSI started? I suggest you to highlight this to your doc on your next visit.

Hi all buddies

Update you all on my Friday visit, the egg is growing very well, so very unlikely I am menopause. LC asked us to try more this few days may be I can preggie naturally. But to us, after 3 years non-stop trying, it is not so easy.. any way, I find LC is a good doctor at least he is not "pushy" in selling his IVF programme as my previous gynae.

Hi Xinyu,
I was told that the food there is very good, so would love to visit one day. I have stopped Puregon. In fact, this morning I went for the egg retrieval liao. Saw Dr SF Loh but was knocked out before I could speak to him. When I woke up, the procedure was done. A bit painful when the anaesthesia went off. Going for embryo transfer on Mon, very excited!

Hi Hui,
thanks for sharing the email with us. I don't have any personal contact with Dr SF Loh yet. The first time I saw him was before I started the program and he spoke to me and my hubby for a while and then we were counselled by Sarah and another doctor. The second time I saw him was this morning but did not have a chance to speak to him. Throughout my program, he always wasn't the one to see me after my scan leh, don't know why. May be I should start emailing him too

koalatree,
feel relieved for you. That means you can start the program soon!

Kolatree,
im fin with any date but still muz let me knw in a week advance
thanks for organizing this meeting

Edel,
mayb he's biz coz he not onli in KKIVF and he's oso a gynae
that's y he's abit biz

juz nw forgotten to see the vitamins

Edel
Good luck on yr ET on Mon. How many eggs retrival today? Very excited for you.

Hui
Thanks for sharing with u such a wonderful information.

Hui,
oh so he is a gynae too, is he your gynae? Last time when I was trying natural, a gynae prescribed both folic acid (to prevent spinal bifida of baby) and Omega 3 fatty acid pills i.e. fish oil (to aid in baby's brain development if you conceive). May be you can find these 2 types

qoo,
thank u, hee hee... need all the luck
Dr Loh managed to retrieve 7 eggs, not a lot but I'm contended and hope some will fertilise to enable me to proceed to ET. How are you so far?

Only 2 days and the thread has flood!!! Keep it going!!!!

Sorry, I can't join on both dates for the meeting. Both days working night shift. Sob Sob!

Hope,
The estimated wating time for KKH is about 2 - 3 mths, depends on the slot and also all those blood tests to be done before the treatment.

Rae,
Wow, that is fast so now in 2nd trimester. Take care. Ya, if everything goes well should start in October.

Koala,
Yes, tuesday if fine. Oh, how long is your lunch time? Will it be too rushing? I will email you my contact no.

Oh dear now I can't make it for both 19 & 23rd. It's really not easy to coordinate the best dates. Please go ahead if majority of the gals can make it on 23rd.

Edel,
Good luck to your ET tomorrow. Rest well and we are waiting for your good news.

Hi Jolene

My lunch hour is from 1 to 2. Don't worry, I should be able to meet you at 1 p.m. sharp infront of Bodyshop on Tuesday, Ya.

I have replied your e-mail.

Me just worry whether 1 hour is enuf for both of us to chat... ha ha...

Edel

jia yu jia yu for tomorrow.

jolene, yes time flies & soon it's ur turn...

Edel... relax during ET & rest well after that... all the best

hui, hv fun
finally it's ur turn...

Hui,
Jia You, Gan Ba te!!!

Jolene,
Hi, both of us will be starting in Oct at the same hospital. Hopefully we can see each other there to give support. Have u done yr 2nd Day blood test yet?