IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

hi xinyu,
the red raspberry leaf tea is for strengthening of the womb lining n uterus.according to my naturopath, it is good to take from CD1 to ovulation.

Passion,
I'm sorry to hear about your BFN. Me also thinking of what to do next. Think I will definitey try TCM. From your past experience, you have good chance of getting BFP again. As for me, I've never 'proven' myself yet, as 1 doctor put it.

Koalatree,
don't be so stressed about the FSH level. I was diagnosed with high FSh by Dr Cheng too, 13.4 , and he said that there was a chance I could be premenopausal. Went home and cried that day and searched internet for answers and found a great website for high FSH women.

I tried wheatgrass for a few months and my FSH went down to 8.2. Although my ist ICSI (with another doctor) just failed, high FSH does not mean the end of the line.

Hi Koala
Qty is another issue, most important is the quality of the embries also. I'm not brave, because I got no choice, coz hubby don't dare to inject. It's really very simple only. No pain no gain
heee...

Qoo

Yes, quality is very important. Hmmm. tat y Mama always "wei ta" than papa. We will do anything for our bb. Anyway, all the pain will be rewarded, dun worry.

U take a good rest hoh.

Hi Annie

Thanks. mine is worst leh, 21.4 is menupause liao. Have to wait until Friday to see how.

U still remember the website? Can share with me?

Can I know where to get the wheatgrass? Organic shop?

Hi Qoo,
Thanks for your recommendation. But I am not too sure i can do it coz i have to travel to M'sia oftern right and me and hd have to work.
btw, wat is pm? Sorry i very sua gu.
All the best for your HPT. will be excited for u. keep us posted ok!!

Moon/Babymaking/Koala
I am just thinking that since you gals have gone thru so much, would you be keen to meet up. It's just that i tot it would be nice to have a chit chat and share our experiences tog..I just feel that sometimes no one else understands better than those who have gone thru it. But if u don't feel comfortable to meet, i will understand too.

Hi Jolene,
Do u have the address of the ACU at Mei Ling Street??

wah, the cycle buddies thread is quiet active liao!

gals, I totally understand how u all feel, I have been there for 7 years. Stay strong and give it all u can........I m sure you'll get the joy of motherhood. Nothing is impossible in today's world, so getting pregnant is made possible for people like us, its just a matter of time. Soon very soon..........all our dreams will come true!

Good luck all!

Passion the address of the meiling st acu is posted in the preparing your mind and body thread, check it out!

Koala tree,
yes u need to tell the acupuncturist that u are going to go thru ivf, do let her know when u'll be starting. She's nice and experienced but i cant tahan the pain liao!

gals! its very important to keep the PMA flowing during cycling

(((((((((((((((((((((PMA)))))))))))))))))))))))))

Hi Humble,
Thanks for your encouragement!!

sorry to ask, u have tried for 7 years? U are so strong.

Will keep the PMA flowing for everyone! All the gals out there, be strong!! U can do it!!

Passion/Moon

Yup.. yup.. Can, can meet up.Sure. I am working at Raffles Place, Moon is not working, how abt yourself?

Not sure if Jolene, qoo, xinyu, Hui (oops, she is still not back yet) and others will be joining us?

Btw, Moon, thanks, I feel much better now. Thanks.

HELLOO!!!BUDDIES!!!I'M BACK!!
After unpack my luggage i log on to chk on the thread le

the weather is hot
..realli nice place..went to disneyland n took the fairy horse(the one goes round n round)..haha...my 1st time

Babymaking n Passion,
so sorry to hear that

but babymaking if u already decide to do IVF pls go ahead dun think le

Xinyu!!
haha..got miss me?

the storm nvr affect at all infact HK is ok..
finalli u start ut injection..my turn soon

but am still havin spotting mayb due to the BCP (Birth Control Pill)

Passion
Count me in!! Want to meet up also.

Hui
U must be enjoying yourself a lot. Be yr turn soon to join me at 2ww..
Bght lot of things? Share share leh

Passion
Click on my name and send private message
PM is private message. Well, no worry, at least we know that there's always another option out of Spore.

Annie

Thanks for the web infor. The wheatgrass is in tablet form? So scread if you tell me it is "liquid", start to imagine how to drink the green liquid? ha ha.

Hui

Welcome back!! miss Hong Kong a lot, went there on July and Oct last year. Shiok in shopping and eating...

So now we have Passion, Hui, Qoo, Moon and myself to meet up. Yup, wait for others to revert.

Humble

thank you for the ACU's infor, forgot to say just now, pai sei, pai sei.

Hopes

Heard from others sister doing IVF in KK, is abt S$7k to 8k.

Ahhh,,,forgot to say, Happy National DAy to all!!!

Hope all of us here can have our baby(ies) in our arm to watch fireworks next year. Cheers..

Hi Passion / Koala,
Yes, me also want to meet. It will be great to meet all of you.

Address of Meiling Street acu
Gian Min Medical Centre
Blk 152 Mei Ling Street #01-16
Tel: 64759621

Have to call for appointment, just need to tell her it's for female problem. Cost is around $26 for 2 hours.

Hui,
Welcome back.

Qoo,
Are you working now? Good luck to you test next Friday.

Jolene,
have u known your results? Everything ok? Don't think u need to retest in Oct since you have tested this mth, as long as it's within 6 mths. After u/s, I don't have many eggs, a bit understimulated although my Puregon dosage is high. Was very upset on Sat when I received the news but today, the nurse told me that I can still go on for egg retrieval this Sat. I'm still glad even if I don't have that many eggs

Babymaking,
I'm sorry that u have gone through all these. I also discovered my blocked right tube and semi-blocked left tube with adhesions after laparoscopy last year. Have been trying natural for about 7 mths but nothing happened and so decided to do IVF. You can consult your gynae whether for your case is it still better to try for more cycles or should start IVF in Oct since u are unsure whether the polyps will grow back. Whatever it is, don't give up and wish you all the best!

Koalatree,
sometimes our hormones can be haywire on certain months. I'm sure you are in good hands and your doctor will monitor your FSH closely. Hug hug... cheer up ok?

Xinyu,
so glad to know you have started your program. Yah, I didn't feel much from Lucrin too. Once you go on to Puregon stage, everything will seem so fast liao

Passion,
I'm sorry to hear abt your BFN. However, you are very brave and have done your best. Stay positive, wish you all the best in your next cycle!

qoo, good luck! Hope you bring us good news soon, fingers crossed for you

Hui, welcome back! You must have enjoyed yourself very much. It's good lah, at least relax first before starting

Humble,
how are you now? Hope you are eating better. I already feel some pain at my breasts. They are sore, tender and a bit swollen. I'm scared, what if I have already ovulated? My egg retrieval is this Sat. Usually I feel this way only after ovulation during my 2WW. Don't have Dr Loh's email and tomorrow is public holiday, so can't ask anyone else. Did you experience this that time? Sorry to keep asking you questions.... don't know who else to turn to...

Edel
Thanks, wish good news coming soon

U doing ER this Sat? Before that, I also feel pain/swollen at my breast, stomach very cramp. Just like yr symptons before ER. Don't worry, even u are ovulating, doctor will still need to give u last jab called Pregnly Jab 10000 2 days before ER to mature all the eggs. If u had that jab, then it's also normal symptons. Can I check with u , is this yr first IVF/ICSI?

Jolene
Yes, had started to work on last Monday. Things are doing fine, just everyday very worry and anxious. Must say 2ww is really tough.

helloooo cycle buddies,
looks like a lot of gals now, think i forgot who's what!!! so sorry gals, i m such a forgetful one. any soul out there who would update the list??? haha...

edel,
thanks, I m ok la, now got bad flu, caughing, sneezing and vomiting....dont worry you wont ovulate now, i also had sore and painful boobs after starting puregon, Are u with doc loh? sorry i m blurr ready! if yes i can pm you his email id, but i m sure nothing to worry. Btw, u hav posted at 2+ am aren't u sleeping well, please sleep well, your body need to produce new cells and its important to produce good eggs.

Hi Edel,
Yes, got my results on Monday after worrying over the weekend. It was normal, they did not reveal my actual readings. So next will be sign forms next month. Time really flies and soon it will be my turn.

Dun worry about the quantity, it's the quality that counts, hope they are top graded eggs. You really have to rest well.

Qoo,
Yes, 2ww is really tough so you have to relax, I know it's really tough.
What are the things to avoid while working?? Such as bending down, climbing up and down etc? I used to rest at home during 2ww but now KK only give 5 days mc, so got to work during than lor.

I am interested to know the cost of IVF in Malaysia, can you PM me thanks.

Hi Humble,
Hope you are doing fine now and please take good care. Do you know when is your EDD??

Hi Jolene
I will PM you. As after ET, I had rested for 1 whole week. Doc say no rushing, don't walk too fast (as he know Spore pace is too fast), don't carry too heavy things. I also not sure what things to avoid. Maybe senior (humble/chloe) here can give some advices. I know my mum don't allow me to mop the floor, do housework...etc. But can't stand the mess, anyway, today clean all the fans, and do some mopping (but with magic clean) , so no need bend down. Wash toilet/clothes..etc. I know lot of pantang but how can we stand all those undone housework. Can't expect HB to do housework, as long as he don't help to mess up, i will be very grateful loh

U mean climbing up and down, hhmmm.... better don't loh. And don't move furniture also. Aiya got long list do/don'ts from my mum. As my PIL don't know that i'm doing the treatment, only my parents and sisters. So that's why she more concern. My hubby travels very often, this whole week not around, so that's why my mum super worry bout me. Worry that I do housework which not suppose to, but I tell her, don't worry lah, I be careful. Just don't stand/sit for too long. After ET, better lie down most of the time

jolene,
I doing ok, thanks so much, I m so glad that the result came back favourable, so get set ready ok! My EDD is stil not clear la, i'll confirm it during my next appoinment.

qoo, please dont do any house work until friday, I dont know whether doing mild housework will affect or not but i didnt do anything, just laze aroung the sofa and eat well, oh i did go for short walks at times. Oh your PILs dont know abt the tmt ah, i was in the same situation during my first cycle and ended up doing all housework as MIL will not be happy. But this time we told mil and got her help too.

Few more days, rest well ok!

Humble
Oh, no!! Too late, just done everything. Suppose to get in the PT maid to come today, but decided not to as HB not at home so quite dangerous. Well, after this no more housework. Why till this Friday? My HPT is on next Friday. Hee
U confused liao. Well, short walk like 10 mins yes, with my dog. Need to bring her do her business everyday. But if HB around, then HB will bring her down.

Thanks for yr concern.

Edel

Thanks. Will update u all after Friday's appt. I will use OPK to confirm if I am ovalating this few days, if yes, it means my egg is growing, so everything should be ok.

Jolene

Wah, signing consent form loh, yup, yup, u will be having good quality eggs. Understand that your work is quite stressful, must relax relax, ok? Take good care, dear.

Qoo

Aiyo, don't do the hsework again lah. I am also the 1 can't tahan dust, but never mind lah, just for this two weeks only.

Humble

You drink more water and rest well, ok?

hello ladies..!!

HaPPy NatiOnal DaY to everyone!!

koalatree...thanks for the estimation!! at least i noe roughly how much to set aside...

hi goo_gal88,

i think u just forward the mail u wrote to me to Jolene can already..otherwise gotta type all over again damn siong..hehe..:p

Hi hi, updated list,

Cycle buddies:-

Jily - ivf/KL Msia(July)
Hui - icsi/KKH/SF Loh(Aug)
Xinyu-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Edel-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
Koala-ivf/TMC/LC Cheng(Aug/Sept)
Jolene -ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Oct)
catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/dr Sheila Low(Oct)

Buddies going to meet up:-
1) Passion
2) Qoo
3) Jolene
4) Hui
5) Moon
6) Koala

Miss out anybody for both lists?
and any other buddies want to join us for the meeting up, u r welcome!!

Hello, Happy National Day!

qoo,
you are right, me doing ER this Sat and this is my first program. At first I thought I will be going through IVF but this morning I saw that ICSI was actually indicated on my form, so now really confused. My pregnyl jab is tomorrow night. Thank you for sharing, now I'm relieved. I was so paranoid :p Rest well when your maid is here. I'll be moving temporarily to my mum's house during the 5 days mc next week. She will cook for me so that I can rest well. I'm also like you, cannot stand housework undone, so if I stay at my own place, I will be stressed out with the undone housework! Wow, your test is next Fri liao, very fast. Excited for you. Would you be doing your own hpt before going to the clinic?

Humble,
poor gal, do eat more fruits to supply your body with more vitamins. Have you seen a doctor yet? Don't take own medication, doctor prescribes one will be safe to consume

I'm also with Dr Loh, hee, thanks for offering to pm me. Think no need liao, you and qoo have answered my quiries, the big rock has been lifted away. Oh, I was so worried last night that I couldn't sleep. Tonight should be able to sleep better. You take care too.

Jolene,
that's good news. Yah, we tend to worry over every stage. I thought I would be able to relax and take it easy throughout but I was wrong. I seemed to have countless of questions. Luckily got the gals' help here. If not, more sleepless nights. I try to think this way too, quality, not quantity. I would be glad even if I only have 1 embryo to transfer in the end, that's still hope

hopes,
missed you out the other time. Welcome
IVF in KK is estimated between $7K - $8K. I was told that if you could go through embryo transfer, you can also claim $6K for first timer from your medisave account. However, this $6K is claimable from stage 2 onwards (i.e. from Puregon stage onwards) and you can't claim the consultation, scanning, medication, blood test and insurance fees. Hope this helps

koalatree,
your Fri appt is to scan is it? Don't worry, all will be well. Did u do your FSH test on day 2 of your cycle? If not, that could explain why it was high... thanks for the update!

Hopes
Hee... thanks. I tell her the prices and if she needs more details then will 4ward her the email.

Koala
Thanks for updating the list. Lots of buddies cycling in this month, wow, happy for u all. But noted most doing IVF? Hhhmm....IVF in KK is $7-$8K ? How bout ICSI in KKH/TMC? Can pm me, kepoh to know leh. Thanks

Sometimes u just can't tahan the dust...especially when I'm away for 3 weeks. HB don't do much housework.

Edel
Is there any price difference between IVF and ICSI? Well, what did yr doc adv you, to take IVF or ICSI? During yr scan (on Puregon jab), how many follicles you have? Don't worry, since yr Pregnly Jab is tomorrow nite, then only yr eggs will be mature
I be doing HPT at home
since my treatment is done in Msia , so haven't really decide on which clinic/hospital/doctor. Wish +ive then I will decide on the clinic. Good luck for your ER and update us. Wish u more eggs

Oh, I cancel the PT maid this morning, coz' HB not around, travelling this week, so it's quite risky for her to come. Me also paranoid. So better hold the cleaning plan till next week.

Btw, where is Jily? She doing treatment in Penang, Msia, and it's been long time didn't hear from her. Calling for Jily, are u ok? Update us yr status!

Hi qoo

Have pm u the answer with regard to your question and also plus my questions on the M'sia IVF. Hee hee.. just take this opportunity to ask you loh.

Edel

my FSH was tested on the 4th day of my last cycle. My Friday's appt is to check whether my egg is growing or not, if yes, then very likely the high FSH is due to the effect of the control pills taken before.

Of couse, my doc said will have to check my blood again on my 2nd day of my next cycle to confirm.

I am paranoid liao, last round when I started IVF, the blood test reflected my TSH level not good, the previous doc suspects I have thyriod problem and ask me to see another specialist. Sigh. Now want to start again got this type of the "similar" news.

Koala,
I dun know if my quality is good as my previous embrylogist commented my egg shelf is really hard so tat explains why we can't conceive naturally.Next will be my womb must be in good condition. Dr Loh did comment my womb a little enlarge so not sure if endo is still there. Ah ya still hv lots of worries like polyps appearing again as very prone to those little stuff in my womb. Like you sometimes I happily goes for appointment but always there are some problems, also a little paranoid. So keeping my fingers cross everything will goes smoothly this round.

I am sure you will be fine and able to start soon. Good luck to your scan.

Where are u all meeting? I won't mind meeting all of u if time permits. Just post on the thread. By the way, got the book Zita West "fertility n conception" from Kinokuniya at a discounted price.

Goo gal,
Thanks for asking the doc abt chicken and soy products. I'm glad u are doing fine. Did u do the acu before the treatment? I'm interested with the price in M'sia too, u can pm me and I can share my price in KKH too

Hui,
Welcome back home. I had my holiday to Taiwan/HK/BKK before deciding going thru IVF this July. HB told me this will b the last holiday for me this year.

I did enjoy myself in Disneyland, how abt u?

qoo,
I don't think there is a price difference during the supression, stimulation and egg retrieval stages but not sure whether there is any difference during the fertilisation stage. For IVF, the eggs are left to be fertilised by the sperm but for ICSI, one good quality sperm is injected into the egg to fertilise it. Not sure why Dr Loh selected ICSI for me, may be because I had an open surgery before that affected my left ovary and he might have expected that I wouldn't have many eggs. I only know that I may have about 6 follicles that could grow to a good size for egg retrieval. The rest too small and can't wait for them to grow anymore. Hey, u can do some research on the clinic or hospital you would like to visit in the meantime to prepare first
Yup, postpone the cleaning plan first, baby plan more important now!

Koalatree,
me pray that ur FSH is due to the birth control pill taken earlier. Still have another day 2 test, so have faith
Did u consult a specialist? Thyroid problem treated liao? Don't worry, I have a colleague who always has thyroid problem but could still conceive. Now she got 2 boys.

Catherine
In fact when I started the treatment, I didn't realise that acu is good before treatment. During my treatment (medication), then only read the forum and realise lot of sisters went for acu. I did checked with my doc, and he also not sure whether it helps or not. But my mum thinks it's not good since so many needles poking
Since lot of gals been thru acu and really helps in the treatment, then should be fine.

Tried to PM u but can't. Nvm, I can share the price here : IVF - RM11K , ICSI - RM14-15k. Estimated amount and also no of dosage for each diff ppl. Total I spend is RM12.5K, due to my low dosage of Gonal and Lucrin. Err....me bit confused , had u started cycling? My doc use Gonal F for eggs stimulation instead of Puregon. But he say both results are the same. My dosage is quite low for Gonal F (187.5UI) and reduce to (150Ui), coz at that time my eggs are growing very fast and quite number of eggs. He told me my dosage is the lowest among his patients. Anyway, my ovaries are overstimulated and got real bad cramp/bloatedness after ER and ET.

Edel
Thanks. For my case, doc choose ICSI for me coz DH sperms only 10% is healthy. His sperm count is a lot , but only few is healthy. Don't worry, as long as 6 follicles is good number,and usually they will retreive more than that. And choose the mature eggs/correct size. What is yr Puregon/Gonal F dosage?. I also can't wait to do research, but wait till result on next Friday. We were considering to do check up/scan/labour/confinement in Msia. Just only think bout it, keep fingers crossed on Friday will decide from there

Didi
Yes, in 2ww. Feel discomfort after ER/ET for one week. Now not much discomfort. In fact, I also very worry, and how I wish there will be symptons like cramp/bloated/swollen/etc...coz' read in other thread that, if the above continue, is a good sign of +ive. Sorry bit confused, which stage are u in now?

Gals
Today went to MIL house and have dinner. PIL don't know that I'm doing treatment. Therefore, she cook spaghetti with prawn/clams/mushroom in the mushroom sauce. That's my fav, then I told HB , that I can't eat those clams/prawns. It's seafood. Then DH say, Doc already say u can eat anything as long it's must be well cooked food. I just too worry, but anyway, take 2 prawns, and 2 clams and more spaghetti and sauce. MIL was suprised that why I eat so little, I just tell her no appetiate. It's quite torturing as MIl don't know bout the treatment, and also whatever she cooks, i must eat a little bit
Luckily I only went there for dinner on weekends. Today holiday, so exceptional case. She loves to cook those lotus soup, dang gui, etc.. My mum says too 'liang' for me, so better don't eat. Aiya, of course listen to mum advice loh.

Did u gals tell PIL that u doing treatment? For my case, only my parents and sisters knew bout this. PIL are still PIL and u know lah, sometimes they will just spill out the beans to other aunties. DH also asked me not to tell them.

Morning ladies!!!
You all very active during holiday hor...

Hui, welcome back! Sure miss you very very much. Got gift for me or not...
I think for yr spotting, check with KK better.

qoo, for me, I din tell anyone. Only me and my hubby know. Because my mum and MIL both very big mouth. I dun want the "whole village" know about it... After success then tell also can lar.. But why cannot eat SEAFOOD???
At KKIVF, there is no price different between IVF and ICSI.

Edel, Dr Loh prefers ICSI wan...I think, he confidence that the fertilise rate is higher..

Good morning everyone.

qoo, thanks for sharing the pricing. In KKH, the price is ard $6-$7k but we can claim $6k from the medisafe for the 1st time treatment, $5K for 2nd treatment and $4K for 3rd treatment. Max claim only 3 times. I'm starting my cycle in Oct and have yet to do my 2nd day menses blood test, still waiting for "good friend" to come.

I did tell my PIL and my mum abt the treatment. They are really concern that after 4 yrs of marriage, I'm still childless. My DH told his parents that his soldiers can't march but never tell them that I might have a block tube and ovaluting problem. :p

morning buddies...
wow!!just one day nvr check post i miss out alot..
now the thread is very active nowadays..

well..hongkong..hehe will visit again!is a must!!!nice place. but i got sunburn
so hot now over there..

alot of things to see n buy but too bad onli had a day in HK not engh
..will go again..
went to shenzheng for the "window of the world" n luohu to shop
..nice place too..
then hongkong went to eat,Disneyland n The Peak..
ery nice..tae alot of pics

morning gals,
my goodness, what have i missed out??? Have not checked for 1 day and so many messages already.

hi hui,
wah...good trip yah! I have always wanted to go HK... but never got a chance.

Qoo,
My PIL knew about my 1st IVF attempt. But my subsequent attempts we didn't tell anyone coz it becomes very tough when we failed. As for food, I guess if you eat in moderation it's ok.

Hi Koala,
Wah...the response not bad ah for the meetup.
Shall we meet on a weekday, let say next Friday?
Is everyone free?

qoo, me haven't started yet. I see .... maybe you are one of thoses sisters who haven't got the symptoms and get preggie. Let us know the good news, Take Care