IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

Welcome Koalatree!!!
No short trip never mind lar. Try to relax and spend valuable time together during weekend lor.
What drugs/protocol TMC using? Are u going to inject lucrin and puregon also?

Morning Buddies,

Jolene,
Ur AF cm liao?so u strating this mth instead of ocT?

kolartree,
Welcome to cycle buddies..so u oso start this mth?me n xinyu starting this mth..Xinyu will be this coming Mon and i will be 15th Aug so after my trip cm bk on 8th will be very fast le..

i had dine acu b4 starting tmt but i have very big n dark blue black so DR actualli recommand me to mayb stp doin it..but acu is very good for blood ciculation..i did for about 1 mth b4 starting my cycle..

Hi Xin Yu,

Aiya, forgot the drug name that Dr Cheng mentioned to me to replace Lucrin/suprefect, I let you know later? According to him, using this drug, my injection period will be shorter compared to Lucrin/suprefect. (If my body respeonse to it)

He also show me the "pen" use for injection that only use in TMC. But to me, I am ok with the normal needle. (may be he thought most of the lady are scared of needle.) My HB is the 1 who is very happy cos he will not have to jab for me. Ha ha.

Hui,

Thanks for your infor, you have yours at Meiling street? right?

Hmm..My AF will come on 23/24, so if IVF starts on 2nd day, it will be 25/26. very keng cheong, like so many things in mind.

Next Monday will go bk to see Dr Cheng for the blood test report and also my HB's SA report.

Hui

Have AMK address/Tel number? How you find their service? Is lady did it for you? (I prefer lady leh, I think EYS Paragon is a guy). Sorry bombard you so many questions.

Ur Cartoon so cute.

Yup, I think the protocol in TMC is a bit diff from KKH, shorter and faster. Dr Cheng shown us both protocols to us to compare. He said the body is responded much more slower if using suprefect/Lucrin for stimulation.

Actually I can start immediately on this cycle, but Dr Cheng finds that better to wait for another cycle so that mentally we are more ready.

I also did consider KKH, but my case is diff cos can't afford to wait due to the cyst problem. Just afraid that have to go for lap. again, so have to do IVF asap. I have delayed IVF plan since Feb this year.

On 4 Feb this year, I have started IVF with CC for 7 days suprefect but after that found out preggie (naturally) so have to stop but my pregnancy ended up with m/c. After resting for 3 months, Dr FY told me got "water" blocking my right tube, so have to go for lap before IVF. So we decided to go to LC to seek 2nd opinion.

Aiya, me so "cheong hee".

Glad to have you all here, now first thing in the morning when I reach office I will log in here before I start work. Soooo hard working. Ha ha

Koalatree, looks like TMC using totally different protocol. I think it is "Short" protocol. So, total how many days you need to inject? KKH wan needs to inject around 4-6weeks ler (lucrin + puregon).

Hui, why u still here? I thought u fly off today...

Kolatree,

amk ave 8 blk 505.Tel 64560833. is a lady sinseh
i delay my ICSI since last year
sign consent form le but we find that they nvr realli explain much on the tmt so after one year of research hubby decide to go for it..
yeh!
478736.gif
..luckily we have buddies here to help us ans some quest we duno..if not i wun knw too much oso...

Xinyu,
am leavin tomolo not today leh..

Hi Xinyu / Hui,
Not yet lah. counting down will only start in October so got another few rounds of af. After tat I do not wan to see them for the next 9 months. hee, looking forward to tat.
Both of you going for jab soon, good luck to u gals.

Hi Koala,
Thank you. Will try to relax as much as possible. You going acu? Let me know how is it hor. Thinking of going but not sure which one to go leh.

Xinyu,
issit..sorie i made a mistake..

Jolene n Xinyu,
Duno is my birth Control pills or wat my AF todae still very heavy..todae CD4 usualli will be lesser but still got alot of clot..

Hi hi

Thanks Hui, "yi lo shun fong", enjoy ur trip.

Xinyu

LC told me for phase 1 only required 2 weeks+. Will share with you all how to go abt. The last session with him is only a very brief sessions. One good thing abt LC is he is very patient loh, I asked him all the questions under the sun, he also ok.

I am also concern abt the cost leh, but forgot to ask LC that day. So blur. HB said we have to get ready for 10K cash first. (which we don't think is enuf). Nvr mind lah, is worth it, if we can strike.

With regard to the SA test, My poor HB did SA test so many times, at Care, KKH, CC's clinic and now is TMC. Really hope that this is the last time. I know he doesn't feel good but still try to joke with me.

Jolene,

Yup, will go on Sat and will call either AMK recommended by Hui, or check with EYS again tomorrow. Let you know how issit yah.

Jolene,
ha ha... u same as me. I was eagerly waiting for my AF after I started Lucrin and I counted the days wrongly and thought it didn't come on time. Then I called KKIVF and the nurse said should still come while on Lucrin. I thought my body reacted strangely as my AF always came on time. Then that midnight, it came liao and I was like, phew... First time I wanted my period to come so badly hee hee :p Don't worry, Oct will come very fast one. In the meantime still try naturally first, who knows you may not even need to start in Oct
I still don't feel any difference while on Puregon. Tomorrow is my first u/s after 6 days of Puregon. Thanks, I hope to see many follicles too

Thot would update the cycle buddies list for u gals as i m bored today...

Hui - icsi/KKH/Sf Loh(Aug)
Jily - ivf/KL Msia(July)
Xinyu-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
scf-ivf/KKH(Aug/Sept)
catherine-ivf/icsi/KKH/dr shelia Loh(oct)
kolatree-ivf/TMC/LC Cheng (Sep)
Edel-ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Aug)
Jolene -ivf/KKH/SF Loh (Oct)

479229.png

Humble,
You feeling better now? Thanks for updating. Went for my blood test for hormones this morning. Hmm hope I will stick with KK after conceive. It's quite convenient with the shuttle service. Just need to walk fr bugis MRT to my office. Planning how after my et got to go injection for full 17 days right. Still tot it's very inconvenient now find tat it's so good. hee.
This is my first blood test on hormone to check if my ovary function like a 32 year old. Nurse sara says if not oh oh, hv to see uncle dr loh liao. I hope there is no problem with my blood test. one worry after another, it's endless.

Edel,
Dun worry, u sure have plentiful eggs. I remember I done my scan quite late around day 10 or 11 find lots of mucus. But for some there is no symptons. so dun worry about tat hor, it will add more stress.

Jolene/Humble

Suddenly strike my mind that I have endo, can I do ACU? Any idea on this? As ACU helps in blood circulation, not sure if the got any impact on Endo??

jolene,
during my 2ww i oso had to inject everyday leh, i dont want to travel to kkh everyday so did with the GP downstairs ($10 per inj). If u oso want like that u should inform the kkh nurse and they'll give u a letter to the GP. Anyway i heard daily prgestrone injection is given only to those who produce more than 20 eggs or so.

Nurse Sara is really very bubbly and friendly i like her very much. I m sure the bld test result will be favourable, ya the worrying starts now and i guess will never end even after our child is married hehe....

kolatree,
I m not sure abt this leh, may be u should ask your doctor and sinseh to play safe.

jolene,
forgot to answer your first question...I m ok but not fine yet la. I m really looking forward to the day i can eat anything and do anything i like.

Koala,
I also hv endo and hv done acu. There should be no problem as acu is suppose to helps on all areas.

Humble,
Oh, so if less than tat will be hcg injection every 3 days right. Read somewhere did mention this.
Yes, nurse sara is very cute. On my 1st visit to KK, i am still thinking which lady is sara and keep looking at e name tags of all the nurse and there she is giving us a briefing on the whole procedure.
Yes, I really hope so.

When is your edd date?? How many weeks now. Dun worry ms will ends very soon.

Hui, wish you a good trip and update us when you return

Koalatree, welcome! I also have endo, didn't embark on TCM or acu although thought of doing so but couldn't decide where to go and didn't know which TCM doctor is reliable and so drag until now, think it's too late for me to do. I think acu should be alright. Is LC your doctor's initial?

Humble,
thank you, it's so sweet of you to update the list. Mine, Hui & Xinyu in Aug, wonder how's Jilly (Jul)? Hope 2nd trimester comes quickly for u, then may be can enjoy your food better

Jolene,
so u doing your blood test on day 2 of your menses in Oct or will be done earlier? Mine was done 1 mth earlier before I start IVF. I started to have some mucus just now, feel a bit pain on my left lower tummy. Yah, I don't want to think too much into all these, must try to relax

Hi Edel,
In fact I done it today to check my levels. I am not sure if require to retest again in the month of October when I start my program. Huh, the symptons start liao. try to relax and enjoy your weekend.

Jolene

Phew, thanks. I have called EYS Tiong Baru, Dr Qi for the first try. The girl told me is $16 for half an hour, consultation fee is $12.

A bit keng cheong after reading your and hui's exp...

Edel

Yup, The full name of LC Cheng is Cheng Lap Chang. He is the Director of Thomson Fertility Centre. Me a bit lazy to put in his full name.

Humble

You will be enjoying your foods with your 3 little one soon .. hee hee.

hey hey gals

been lurking in the few ivf threads but not posted yet as not sure of plans.

had an miscarriage 9 mths ago and d & c done. ha d an ectopic 2 months ago and lap & d & c done. last thurs, after hsg on tue, gynae found some growth in womb, so last fri did another d & c and hysterscopy.

now at a lost as to when can start on IVF program. HSG results not good, right tube blocked due to previous ectopic and left has adhesions.

hence gynae suggest IVF but no time line given, is it too soon to consider oct/nov? or shd i wait a few more cycles?

btw seeing sf loh at kkh ivf centre

Hi babymaking

Sorry to know abt your m/c. I also had 1 m/c and blocked tube problem. HB and I decided to go for IVF by end of the month without any delaying.

Personally I think to go for IVF is a BIG decision to be made, Becos of the 30% sucessful rate, after embarking IVF, couples must "prepared for the worst but hope for the best". (NOT EASY LAH...) And also woman is the one who suffers all the pain (phisyically and mentally) more than man, so we must prepare our dearest HB to get use to our mood swing due to the hormon changes.. Now everyday I am telling my HB, hey, u must give in hoh during this period.. ha ha

All sisters here are very helpful, so dun worry. We are not alone.

Sorry to ask, I thought d&c is only done to remove the fetus, why you did d&c due to the growth in womb?

Take good care.

Hi babymaking,

You must have gone thru alot of heartaches. U are so strong. But just wondering, since u can conceive why do u need to go for IVF? Your previous ectopic, didn't your gynae remove the blocked tube??
My blocked tube cause ectopic pregnancy during my IVF, and it was removed. And i had m/c too.

As far as i know, so long your next cycle is over, you can start. Mine is SF loh too.

Hi Koalatree,
u are right, mentally u must be prepared for the worst. I had gone thru 2 failures and it was not easy for me mentally when it was not successful.

But i wish u all the success!!

Hi Xinyu,
I had some bleeding yesterday, so upset that i decided not to go office, and cried at home. sigh..

Hi Passion

You are very strong, BIG BIG hugs to you. I believe you will fulfill your baby dream one day!!

Went to the 3 liabraries to seach Zita West's "Fertility and Conception" luckily got it. Initially thinking of buying at Popular,wah, very exp leh.. $47.35.

Very good book, last round I was blur blur to start my first IVF..Don't know any thing. Now at least know what my gynae talking abt.

Hi Koala,

Yes, I also borrow Zita west from library. It's very hot. I have got it few months ago, return and after find it's very difficult to borrow. Just last week manage to secure a copy liao. It has lots of useful informations.

Hi Jolene

I found it in Sengkang liabrary. Consider myself very lucky cos it was shown in NLB's records it was not on laon on Thursday nite, but I was not able to go to sengkang on Friday due to work commitment, so bo bian have to wait until Sat.

I am so happy after reading the book, my HB understand how important ACU to me before IVF, (Initially he was not agreed to do ACU). I mean I don't want to do somthing behind him loh, I think we will have to get each other support on the way of IVF to make it work. His "ok" is very important to me.

If you can't find the zita west's fertility n conception, there is this other title , its 'zita west's guide to getting pregnant', its similar but i find it more comprehensive. there are a few copies in the library. You may also want to read books by alice domar, its abt body/mind connection for fertility. happy reading!

Hi quando

Thanks. Will try to find out. Just worry can't "digest" so many information within this few weeks.... ha ha ..

Koala

Hi buddies,
Does the ACU means accupuncture here? I blur blur la. Does it really help in conceive beofore IVF treatment?

koala,

sorry to hear of your loss as well. How long ago was it?

I just had a emergency lap and d & c to remove the ectopic pregnancy 2 months ago and another d & c to remove some polyps last friday. is it too soon to start again by oct/nov?

passion,
sorry to hear of your unsuccesful ivf.

got preggy both times via clomid + IUI after 3 unsucessful cyles, hence the double loss is very heart breaking.

now after the ectopic, the right tube is blocked..and the left, sf loh found some adhesions. to top that, it seems the womb qaulity also deterioated as after the hsg last tue, there were some polyps, i suspect those polyps are fed by high estrogen levels from ectopic pregnancy.

dun know if it will regrow again anytime soon.

add to that mix, i was diagnosed with fibromyaglia - pain all over the body with no cure. the doctors think it's psychological but the physcharist thinks it's real pain.

the last 1 yr, been hospitalised twice, had 3 ops and countless hospital visits.

dun think i can accept failure in this ttc journey again.

hi babymaking,

i see. u must have gone thru alot...i can understand how u feel. It has never been easy but i really admire your perserverance. What ever the outcome is, you must always remember that at least u tried...... i know it is not easy. I really wish u all the best and hope u had good news to share with all of us.

sorry what is ttc?

Hi babymaking

BIG Hugs to you first. Is not easy to been through all these. Please take good care.

Hmm.. You want to consider TCM to "tiao" your body to make it strong first before consider to the next cycle? The womb needs to take sometimes to recover once D&C done. And for the time being just rest and relax.

Catherine

Yes, ACU will help IVf process. You may refer to Zita West" Fertility and Conception". She explain quite details how ACU helps.

Jolene

Me very down today after seeing Dr Cheng. Initially was preparing a lot of questions to ask him on IVF, but can't ask even one of them after he informed me that my FSH is extremely high. (Should be less than 6, but mine is 21!!!)
I was "freeze" at that moment, asking myself y everytime to go for IVF, sure got something corp up!!!

I know FSH is very important to determine whether we can start IVF. He said it might due to
(i)something wrong with my system; or
(ii) the effect of BFP I took last cycle.

He asked me to go back to see him again on this Friday to check whether my egg is growing to confirm the reason the high FSH.

I feel very lousy, can't stop thinking wat if next cycle still like that, how??? so can't start IVF liao. Sigh..Of couse, I am praying everything will back to normal next cycle.

HB's SA results is prefectly alright, so now is depends on my condition.

Morning ladies....
I started my lucrin injection yesterday..so far so good.

Passion, How are you?
ttc = trying to conceive.

Hi Koala,
Please dun feel sad, we have to make sure our system are tip top condition in order to proceed. I understand your disappointment but please dun lose hope. I am sure Dr Cheng will be able to help you. Have you go acu yet, it will helps. Cheer up.

Hui, you should be back today, right? Eat a lot, shop a lot? Hope the storm is not affected yr trip...
Yesterday, I asked nurse Sara "what can do/eat, what cannot do/eat". She said can eat everything except chinese herbs. And she said can eat chicken, soya,....

Hui, update us yr status
Miss you leh

Xinyu
Great that you had started the lucrin, don't worry, it will be yr turn soon. I did asked my doctor also things to eat. Doc say it's perfectly fine to eat chicken. As long it's cooked food, then its fine. I told him that Chicken is injected with hormone jab and will this affect our embries or etc? He say as long as our food is cooked, all virus lah, hormone jab lah, had been destroy. So it's ok to eat chicken.

After my ER doc asked me to drink frequent water but a half mouthful each time. Drink a bit everytime but must be frequent. Don't drink only plain water, in fact he encourage me to drink soya bean drink, milo, ribena. I thought we not suppose to eat soya products, scientifically he say it's not proven. Well, I listen to my doc and drink few sips of soya bean before my ET. He advise all his patients to drink soya bean also, and everyone turn out to be fine and good results also
. Just to share with u all. Still up to individual.

qoo, How r u? better now? still bloated? Where r u now? M'sia? Agree, I think eat everything moderate shld be fine.
Have you try/heard of this Red Raspberry Leaf Tea? Anyone know about this.

Hi XinYu,

I am ok, mentally recovered. Just thinking when to start my fresh cycle again. I went to KK this morning for blood test just to confirm I am not pregnant. But I am pretty sure I am not coz my menses are here. The nurse was very nice. She encouraged me to try fresh cycle again since i actually did conceive during my first attempt but had ectopic and m/c.
So u start yr lucrin already yah. So are you excited?? By the way, thanks for all your concern, you have been a great buddy!

Hi Koalatree,
Hug.. hug..Dun stress yourself too much. All of us had our own problem too when doing IVF... so it's not just yourself. Take one step at a time. Lets see what Friday's result show, maybe everything will be alright after that! Cheer up ok!!

Moon, The nurse only told me must tap away all the bubbles to hv accurate dosage. Luckily you told me here. Thanks...Thanks...

Passion, great to hear that you are OK. I agreed with the nurse. Try to build up yr body again before trying next round. Stay positive!
Yup, I am very excited!!

Xinyu
Yes, i feel much better now ,back in Spore. The cramp and bloatedness had subside and tummy back to normal. At that point of time, it was so scary, my stomach was so huge. Eat everything in moderate but frequent. This is my doc advice before and after ET. Drink water also half mouthful. What is yr Lucrin dosage? Just ensure no bubbles. I did the injection myself. Don't worry, it's pain free

Passion/Moon/Babymaking/Koala
Great to have you gals here and understand that u guys are cycling soon. It's heart wrenching that u had been thru so much and really not easy to come all the way here. I'm not trying to promote anything here, just to share with you all. I did my treatment in Msia, and shall anyone of you interested to know more bout the treatment, pm me. Will explain in detail and price also. This doctor his success rate is quite high. In Msia we can transfer more embries so I think this are also the one of the advantage of having more embries, meaning higher chances. I'm on 2ww and waiting for HPT on next Friday. I transfer 4 embries. But DH sperm quality is very low, so also keep fingers crossed. Thanks

qoo, lucrin only 10units/day. How about you? Got any side effect from lucrin? I am not scare of pain but just not dare to inject myself. My hubby helps me... Your test date is this Friday? Wish u a lot of luck.

Hi Xinyu
Mine is 20UI for 16 days, 2 days before ER. So far, I don't have side effect, lucky me no blue black. So nice of yr HB to help you. I asked my HB to help, he say he scared to hurt me...very silly him. So I did the injection myself. Then after 6th injection, AF come. Mine test date is on next Friday (18/8). Thanks
Good luck to you also.

Jolene,Passion

Thanks, thanks..Last nite "kick" HB to study room to sleep, cos no mood to talk to him. (Me so bad). He complained to me this morning, I feel guilty loh.

Yup, he also said I should stay positive. So now just wait until Friday and see Dr Cheng again.

Jolene

I have yet to do the ACU cos HB very busy last week, I want him to go with me for the first session. He asked me to go to Mei Ling's street instead of EYS since so many of you have tried there before.

May I asked if I go to Mei Ling's street, do we need to tell the lady before hand that we are doing for IVF?

qoo

Wah, 4 at one time leh... wish you all the best.

And you are very very brave to inject yourself. I dare not do that even though I am not scared of needle.

Yup, I am interested to know the procedure in M'sia. Will p.m. you later to find out more. Thanks in advance first.