IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

I'm new to this forum and will be doing ICSI treatment this month. Now today is my 2nd of my medication. Glad to found this forum, it's so informative .

Btw, I will be doing my treatment in Msia, and the success rate is higher. My doctor is quite famous and so far he never fails his patient, not once. I'm very nervous and excited and worry also. Ths are the timetable which he set for me : Need to check with u all, is this a normal procedures for ICSI treatment?

1) Take 2 blue tablets , Progynova 2mg before bfast (for 21 days)
2) Take 1 yellow tables , Microgyonan 20 (for 21 days)
3) Day 20 during medication, self injection till 6th day
4) 6th day of injection, go to Msia for injections (FSH) and scan .
5) Will be staying in Msia for 18days ,and alternate days, need to go for scanning
6) Injection FSH till 14th days
7) Day 14 or Day 15, collect egg and sperm on the same day
8) Day 17, put embryo back
9) Day 18 , go back to Spore

It's kindda stress for me as need to go on long leave and I really feel very very worry and nervous. I think I'm the only one who doing this treatment in Msia. Are the above a normal procedures?

hi humble.... tink ther's only 1 progestrone test. the last is hcg test.
it's me tt's blur... sorry...
443309.gif

443312.gif
goo_gal, am doing IVF/ICSI in Spore, am not very sure abt the protocol in Msia... but it looks kind of complicated & long...
the blue & yellow tablets r to be taken together??

I am back. Just had a nap..... Put in 2 embries. The other 2 din make it. My transfer was quite long, went in around 830am, bladder not full enough so kept drinking till 850 doctor came in. Everything over only around 930am. My last one also took quite a while. Yeh, it's over now. So now will rest a lot.

Hi Rae,
I was asking on your hcg blood time the day u know you pregnant lah gal. Ha. 338 is your progestrone or hcg result?? Expecting singleton or twins??

Hi Didi,
When you starting your session? Jia you.

Hi Humble,
Yes, will try to rest a lot. My day 14 pregnancy blood time will be on 30th June, just a few days away from yours. Yours is Day 17 right??

hi jolene, glad tt it's smooth & went well.....full bladder is the worst.....
bt it's over nw so look forward to 30 Jun...
i din kn abt the reading of hcg when i kn am pregnant cos forgot to ask.... hehehe.... 338 was progestrone results...

jolene,
congrats on the successful ET! Yes mine is D17 test. May be for FET D14. Ya 30th is close to my test date so we can jia you together. Have good rest and be happy ok!

Rachel,
No worries, take care!

Hi googal,
I m also not sure abt the protocol u hav mentioned, but not to worry ivf protocols differ from clinic to clinic and country to country. Its great that the clinic you hav chosen has seen only successful cases, do check with them how many cases they hav done so far. All the best to u..........

Here it goes........

stumbled_by - icsi/NUH/PC Wong (July)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(July)
Jily - (July)
googall88- (July)

Hi Humble
Yes, will relax and dun think too much. Trying my best.

Hi Rachel,
Hmm, you are so cute, forget to ask ha. But it's ok.
I have my progestrone blood test on next Tuesday. Yours was quite high.

Jily

Interesting to read your case. What is OCP (oral contraceptives?). I guess its similar to the 'traditional ones', but your follicles also take about 14 days to harvest and collect ?

Googal88,

wow. In JB! I guess its similar but there are extra tablets u take. U mean its guranteed 100% success ? U know what the tablets do ?

Stumbled_by / humble
My treatment is not in JB, not too convenient for me to mention here. It's somewhere at Northern Msia, and must take flight there. So far the sucess rate is like 80%. Out of 8/10 treatment is success. The tablets to stimulate more eggs and also my menses.

Raetan
This are two diff tablets for morning and before sleep.

Dont really dare to put 100% hope also, 50% will do. Kindda stress also..
any special diet/food to take while doing treatment?

morning buddies,

goo_gall88,
welcome..doing IVF/ICSI the most important thing is cannot stress..guess buddies here ill knw..so relax ok..

jolene,
congrats!!so will get good news frm u two weeks later k..yeh!!

goo_gall88, guess with the treatment fees, air-tix & accommodation, it's not cheap rite? but watever it is, as long as it's a success, so shld b worth it....

Hi Didi,
Hmm another two months to go. So you build up your body first ok. I will get very kan cheong few days before the test. Can't imagine what is going to be the result. Must think positively.... You too jia you ok.

Hui,
Thanks. I hope to post good news. Keeping my fingers cross....

Hi Hui
Just can't help of being worry and stress. Haven't apply for leave yet, can't think of reason to tell my boss, at least 14 unpaid leaves.

Rae
I only spend on the ticket and treatment. Will be staying at my relatives house. It's kindda long holiday, and yet I can't tell them why am I there for 2 weeks. That's why I'm so stresss..
I had hard time convincing my hubby bout the treatment and when he agee, me so happy.
My mum keeps reminding me what to eat and not to eat every day.

Humble, Thnx for doing up the cycling list.
stumbled_by - icsi/NUH/PC Wong (July)
Hui - ivf/KKH/Sf Low(July)
Jily - ivf/KL Msia(July)
googall88- (July)

Waiting for your good news, very soon now.

Goo gall88
Me too will be starting IVF this month in KL Malaysia. RU with Glen Penang? which doc? Heard the success rate there is also 80%. Mine is short protocol, do not have to go thru suppression stage:

1) Take 2 cycles of Microgynon (for 42 days)
2) D2 scan for any cysts
3) D3 start FSH till day D12
4) D14 egg collection
5) D16 or D17 or D19, put embryo transfer

Me too have to travel approx 6 hrs journey to & fro per treatment. As Rae says, as long as it's a success, so shld b worth it.

Stumbled by
OCP (oral contraceptives pills)-birth control pills, to stop ovulation in order to shrink the cysts that i'm having. traditional ones? not really but bcos i'm having cysts on my ovary so have to shrink them first before starting treatment. Since the OCP also have the effect of those jabs in suppression stage so i can skip the suppression stage and go straight to stimulation stage. The rest of the procedures from stimulation stage onwards are similar to the normal protocol.

goo gal,
hmm...i already told my boss i'm goin thru this tmt..so i can get time off or AL easily..u shld let ur boss knws too...at least they shld knw so easier for u...they will kp their mouth shut wan( my personal opi)

Hi goo gall88 n Jilly,
May i kn if this is yr 1st ivf? What makes you choose m'sia ivf centre over singapore. How much is the ivf process? Why do you need ivf? Sorry for being so lor so, just want to find out more for another option. thank q so much!

jily,

thanks! I m soo scared to think of the result, will surely keep you gals posted, like you said, hopefully its good news.

Have a smooth cycle!

jia you all cycle buddies

Jily
Nope, its not in KL. 6 hours will be very stress, I would suggest that you take a flight from JB to KL, expensive a bit, but save time, and also more safe. U know, the journey is so far and also the road is so rocky. Diff clinic have diff protocol. I will tell u which doctor after the 2ww . Promise not to reveal the doc name till success.

Hui
I cant tell my boss , as worry that he will be unhappy. Well, still cracking my head when to tell.

Humble
Dont worry, think positive. Have strong faith. Sorry, me bit kuku, dont really know what are the shortform in the forum. I rem I saw it , like the definition of AF, HB, etc cant find it anymore.
Can guide me

Just to share my story with u all :-
We been married for 5 years, and only TTC 3 years ago. We hold back the first 2 years, thinking that we still want to enjoy and also not ready yet.
Then try for 3 years, still nothing
Actually, we don't really have active life sex also, as DH always traveling.
After 1 year still nothing , then I use thermometer to measure my temperature every day (for 1 year) then I give up. Thought that when the temperature is high than other normal days, then that's my ovulation, and we try on that particular day, but still nothing.
Then bought the ovulation predictor kit also (try for 9 mths) still nothing. At that time, I had very irregular menses and every time I miss my period, will buy the pregnancy kit but negative result.
Also had eat fertility pills for 2 years. Then swop to chinese medicines (3 months only) which can make my womb more stronger. But still nothing. I myself went for body check up, and check that my uterus/womb are fine, and everything is ok , except for irregular menses and doctor gave me pills to regulate my menses also. Then menses had been very very regular every month for 1 year plus. Just hate it, when mensen become so super regular L Everytime menses come, feel so sad

I never told DH about all the ups and down I went thru, don't want him to worry too much also. He don't even know that I'm eating medicines and pills, and also bout the thermometer.

I had very good and understanding PIL. MIL only asked me twice, first time she say "Two of you have good career, house, car, etc, can try to plan for BB, this year is Monkey year, very good year". Then we just nodded our head. And second time (maybe 3 years later), she say " perhaps two of you can go to KKH and do a body check up". DH told her " We know the best what we want, don't ask me this again". I just keep quiet. I must say that MIL is very understanding and she really treat me very well. No nagging, no bragging, no gossip, etc. I have 2 nice sister in laws also, they never ask me this question, and even tell my MIL that "don't worry ma, two of them know when to have kids, let nature take its course, don't stress them". Then until now, MIL never ask both of us anymore. I feel very guilty everytime I go home for dinner.

DH never say want to go for medical check up. Both of us just let nature takes it course. I'm Msian and SPR now. Then one day, my mum ask me to go for check up. This doctor in Msia , and coincidently me and DH also had booked ticket for short holiday back to hometown. Never told my DH bout the check up arrangement. And on the day we arrive, I went to see doctor first, coz I know DH would never agree to have body check up. U know lah, guys feel very inferior when ask them to go for check up. When reach clinic with my mum, the doc still want DH to go together and doctor refuse to let me do check up, coz he only consult couples. So no choice , had to go back and told DH bout it. Pluck lot of courage and confidence to tell him. He angry of course, and hesitate . After persuading him and tell him the trauma that I been facing, he become soft hearted, and agree. So we went to see doctor the next day. And had full body check up. And doctor recommended us 3 methods of treatment (IUI, IVF and ICSI), and also the duration and price. The doctor say, I want my patient to listen to me and trust me, if I say its suitable for you to do IUI , then you do.

One week later, the blood test and semen results is out, I called the doctor. Found out that DH having very low sperm count. Only 10% is normal, and if we try to conceive naturally, it will be impossible. Chat with doctor bout 1 hr, and realize that the low sperm count is also due to DH nature of work. Doc suggest we take ICSI.

Then, two days later, I spoken to DH bout the results, and he is very very upset and affected by the results. And want to put on hold the treatment and give us another two years. We quarrel again. We didnt speak to each other for 3 days, we just work late and want to avoid each other. Long long story lah, 4 pages also not enuf. Anyway, 2 weeks later, try again, and pray and he agree loh.

The price range for :
IUI RM2K RM4K (6 months only)
IVF RM10K
ICSI RM14K-15K

The reason of choosing the treatment in Msia, coz I know how good is the doctor. In Spore, max we can put 3 embryos only, but in Msia they can put more. We can choose the gender also, but for 1st baby, we dont mind , as long as healthy baby. Oh yes, the doctor is also success in twins and triplets. Anyway, as long as my treatment is success, we dont mind to pay bit more. Its quite stressing for us also, as need to fork our own savings, cant use Medisave also. Thats the pro and con.

After reading this forum, noted that doctors in Spore would suggest IUI for 1st and 2nd time.
Acutally , I not sure how much is the above 3 treatments here? Can anyone just pm me if not convenient. Just the price range. Thanks.

oh yes, hee..hee..btw.. my nick is qoo_gal88, the blue cartoon QOO, not goo...anyway it's ok

Humble , just browse the 2WW and got to realise yr date is 26/7. Wow, very excited for you, be strong ok. Keep u in my prayers.
Too many posts for me to read liao, any link to all the 2ww dates and ET dates? Will keep them in my prayers. Thanks.

goo_gall88,
I m sorry that u hav to go thru so much alone dear..but guess what u r not alone there are many of us here who hav similar story. Mine is somewhat similar to u and it was not easy for me to come to this stage.

The doc you hav mentioned sounds great, the amazing thing is u can choose gender, waah...soo good! All the best dear!

Some of the short forms we use here:
DH/HB - Husband
AF-menses
PMA-positive mental attitude
ER-Embryo retrieval
ET-embryo transfer
FET-Frozen embryo transfer
TMT-treatment
TTC-Trying to conceive

I cant remember anymore for now...hee hee

Ya my test date is 26/6, thanks for the prayers....I 'll pray for ur success too. For now, only Jolene and me are in 2ww.

qoo_gal,
i had the same situation like urs...i married 4 years..tct frm beginning..so went KKH to see doc then do pap smear,doc found that i had CIN2..after operation everything ok then HB do Semen test...result came out my HB onli 1 or 2 sperm can swim abit onli..he oso ver upset..but i told him i had pro oso..so we work hard n decide t try ICSI lo...

the tmt in malaysia oso not cheap leh..

qoo_gal,
i had the same situation like urs...i married 4 years..tct frm beginning..so went KKH to see doc then do pap smear,doc found that i had CIN2..after operation everything ok then HB do Semen test...result came out my HB onli 1 or 2 sperm can swim abit onli..he oso ver upset..but i told him i had pro oso..so we work hard n decide t try ICSI lo...

the tmt in malaysia oso not cheap leh..

qoo_gal,

After reading your story, it is motivating to know that we have other options other than Singapore
Awaiting for your good news

qoo_Gal

thanks for sharing. it is not true in spore the doctor will discourage after 1st or 2nd IUI. That's the case for my doc- he let us try as many times as we want, up to us. But of cos, i didnt try after 4th time failed.

I think u are brave in keeping the thermometer, medicine thing from your HB! I think it is better to share your burden with him. For me, at least i can share with my mum and my hubby, cos none of my friends know about it. For u, u have no one to share(except us?), i think it will be difficult. Maybe two of u can talk things slowly...

qoo_gal, u hv been suffering in silence for too long... for local doctors, they will advise what's best for each couple after some tests etcetc, it's up to the couples whether to go ahead with it. for my case, after my 2nd attempt SO-IUI at KKH failed, the gynae suggested to try another round but we don't want to cos of our age. we tink it's best to try IVF since we r in our early 30's as higher chances.....

446403.gif

Yes this is my 1st ivf. I'm Msian and staying in Msia. My IVF cost is approx RM15K. In fact, according to my gynae ivf is my only option. For me to conceive naturally, gynae said not impossible but unlikely bcos my tubes (both) are blocked due to endometriosis. Furthermore DH has low sperm count oso. TTC for about 2 years then went for check up and both of us were diagnosed of our infertility. Tried TCM for 3 months but not successful. Then decide do not want to waste anymore time old oredi, 2 more years to 35. Actually we handled the situation quite well and calm. We decide to leave all these in the hands of god. Sometimes i actually wonder whether i am going against god's will, taking thing into my only hands. But come to think about it, IVF also is not 100% guaranteed success. The reason i go for ivf is that i do not want to look back & regret when i'm old. If at the end of the day i dun have BB i will say i have tried all possible options. At this moment adoption is a big no no to me.

hi jily, like u, time is nt on our side or anybody's side..... i agreed tt we shld take a chance, regardless of results, at least we will hv no regrets later on in our lives cos we kn we hv tried.....
but of cos, this is individual's preferences & decisions.....

Rae i totally agreed with u. I hope 1 day i'll succeed like u.

Humble, congrats on ur BFP, so happy for u. Another successful case, more encouragement to the cycle buddies here.

Rae/stumbled
Yup, I only tell u all bout my story. The themometer and brewing medicines is the most diff part, had to be secretive at all times. Me also very silly lah.

Jily
Had u started on medication? I still have two more weeks to go for self injection

All

I have started on self injection to stimulate egg
....if everything smooth this process should take about 2 weeks.

qoo_gall88,

anyway, now your hubby knows about all these, u should bare your heart to him. If frustrated/unhappy, can share with him - but of cos dont overburdened him with the same 'nagging'...heehee

Hi qoo gall88
started birth control pills. If everthing goes well, will start stimming/stimulation on 1st week of july. R U now at suppression stage?

Hi cycle buddies,
Its a BFPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP............

Thank you for your support and encouragement.

Sending a lot of PMA and baby dust your way and wishing success to all..............

Humble,

Congratulations.

Did you husband collected sperm at home in the morning before your appointment or he produced it at hospital?

Is there any preferred method?

thanks all,

cutemiracle,
my HB collected it in the clinic, sorry I dont quiet get your second question (blurr me!)

do u remember how many follicles u have on your first scan (egg stimulation) Pls indicate the day (My first scan is Day5)

hi Humble,
Congratulations! Have been in a few threads that you have started off and hence come to know about you!

Take care!!