IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Chocolate- yr duphaston on how times per day?
Coz u can increase to 3 times per day, according to Sharon (PC Wong room nurse).
The proluton jab can also take till maximum 3 times per week.
Maybe ask chr to repeat anthr blood test on Hcg level when u going for jab tmr, then u be more assured, as now is still very early.
Now k only rest, take the maximum support & pray.
Nuh dont do progesterone level

Thanks mc_007 and bluenosebear for ur suggestions.

Will insist on another hcg test tmr. This morning used those cheap hpt n tested negative. Very worried tt my hcg is not increasing n it will be a v short-lived pregnancy.

Bluenosebear, didn't know nuh doesn't do progesterone test. U know y? I thot it shd be quite a common test.

Btw, do u all know whether nuh has their own 24 hr O & G clinic? Last nite the doctor at Kk 24 hr told us there is one at nuh. We felt so stupid cos we didn't know n waited so long at Kk. N the doctor kept emphasizing he doesnt want to interfere with the ivf regime at nuh when i requested for cyclogest cos i used it before during my frozen cycle at Kk. So is it really a O & G clinic or those A & E walk-in general clinic only at nuh?

Chocolate- u can just go straight to A&E, they will call the O&G Dr on call. They will then likely call Dr Chew for advise, since Prof is on leave.
Are u seeing Dr Zuo for tcm?
She has a remedy, lotus root, dice it & cook w a handful of glutinous rice, is like porridge kind. K help to reduce the bleeding

Bluenosebear, I called the chr standby nurse last nite to ask wht I can use the cyclogest n she was v kind to help me check with Dr Chew. I thot the A & E dept at NUH is for general cases so went to KK.

I used to see Dr Zou for 6 mths 2 yrs ago before I conceived naturally and before my FET this yr. After tt I stopped seeing her alrd. Thanks for the method on the lotus root porridge. Whole day not much spotting but suddenly bled quite a lot just now. Sigh. My hb is going to get the ingredients later for the porridge. Praying for a miracle now.

chocolate: how r u doing today? keep faith and all the best!

andreanie: congrats on ur new born baby! hope we all could succeed soon too.

Hi lavendar: I visited Dr Zou last Sat, did acu & she gave me 7 days med. my med is 2 packets of powders x 2 times a day, so everyday 4 packets to consume. 7 days med cost $56. ur 14 days med is how many packet a day?

the acu spot & duration by Dr Zou is the same as EYS (though the electrical thingy is additional by Dr Zou), but this is 1/3 of the price! the taste of my med is ok for me. i can still tolerate it. last time I had med from EYS with even more disgusting taste.

Dr zou asked me to do acu 2 times a week, but it's abit difficult for me cos my work/home is very far from AMK. She asked my dh to do acu too.

Hi Mel,yes...Dr Zou gave the same medicine as you, but i blur n consume 1 packet a time only...hahaha! She asked me to do acu 2 times a week too,thats why i wonder should we really do 2 times a week in this few mths preparation stage before IVF.Did u do that often in EYS b4?Now like everyday got many things to eat,q10,folid acid,DHEA plus TMC medicine!

hi lavendar: dr zou told me if really cannot do 2 times, at least do 1 time a week. when near to ivf, 2 times a week. during ivf cycle, will be everyday during stim phase till the day of ET. im trying to do once a week now.

ya so many things to take. I took royal jelly after get up w empty stomach, then after bfast take TCM, after lunch take all the supllements, after idnner tcm again. before going to bed i took raw honey. feel so "bu" haha.

Mel...i become fatter after taking so much bu in these few,mths...haha...

i went to dr zou diligently 2x a week and my,hb went once a week..

i am still seeing dr zou now

mc: you put on weight becos of the 2 babies in ur tummy!! lol one of the happiest thing in life even thou put on weight. "bu" more for both u n ur babies hehe. taking tcm is good, can help to "an tai". all the best to ur 8 mths ahead~~

Blue - 11mm is very good. We need atleast 8 mm of lining to be considered for transfer. Mine is only 7mm on Day 13...Arghhhh!!

Spoke to Dr. Zou about my thin lining she was also worried
she says you are young enough not to worry!!

Mel - I am getting my Frozen embryo transfer. So 14mm was the size of my follies on Day 10. For FET they start scanning from Day 10 only.

Cool - Today is Day 13 my follies is 18.5 mm today & lining is 7 mm only. Dr Chew is looking tommorrow as ovulation day.

Thank you Mel for asking abt me.

Today's hcg level went up to 41. Chr nurse said it doubled in 48 hours so that is gd news but sadly, I m still bleeding. Went to Thomson medical for acupuncture n took their medicine. Hopefully it will help.

Praying hard that hcg will continue rising, bleeding will stop soon n I will be out of this super stressful state.
Wishing all ladies good follicles growth, good lining n everything Shun Shun Li Li!

Did my colposcopy last weekend. Thank god. The result is ok. There' no problem and doesn't effect my fertility. Managed to ask the doctor if weight plays an important role. He told me that if I want to conceive naturally. Yes weight plays an important role. But in ivf, it does not really plays an important role. But it helps. Hmmm.... Hearing that make me a bit confused.

Some say yes to weight and some say not really. Now, I am in two minds to do or not. Well, my bmi is 29. What I was told, it is better to do ivf before 40. As we age , our fertility decreases. Hmmmmmmmmm.........

Now I am in process of losing down. Kinda of frustrated when I weigh the same weight. Should I just go for the ivf procedure or just wait till my bmi goes 21?

Chocolate: hope the acu helps, all the best, jia you jia you!

Nel: my TCM sensei told me age is the most important factor in ivf. To me, it's a very difficult mission to lower BMI naturally, unless taking those shakes or supplements. but then these stuff dunno got side effect or not. i dun dare to take while prepare for ivf. just sharing some thoughts.

Blue - sorry for my late replies. My in-laws are in Singapore so keeping me busy... Today I ovulated and now my lining is 11 mm
Looks like Red Bean Soup & Dr Zou magical hands worked. Waiting for ET now

just to check with you all do DR Zou accept walk in or need to make appt can just do the acupuncture? thx

siddhi: all the best to ur ET & 2WW!!

Piky: if u wanna walk in, better go earlier... she opens at 9am. or else better make appt. dunno if can only do acu, better to ask dr Zou for advices. but she doesn;t charge consultation fees, only charge for acu and/or med.

Thanks Mitzi and Bluebosebear.

My hcg rose from 41 on mon to 79 today. Although it almost doubled in 48 hours, when I asked Dr Chew whether it's on the low side, he commented the norm is at least 200 plus on their official blood test date but he consoled me tt he thinks it's a viable pregnancy. His disclaimer is only time will be able to tell since there is nothing we can do to stop my bleeding n i m already on full support - 3 progesterone jabs a week, 3 tablets duphaston a day plus all the inserts. To get reassurance, I requested for another blood test on sat.

Had my transfer on 3rd May so today is 13dp3dt rite? Anyone can advise whether it's too low? Am so worried cos today's bleeding is getting heavier.

Chocolate, 79 is slightly low, but I have read lots of cases starting with a low number and being fine, as long as it doubles. Doubling is the mst important thing. Have u seen Dr Zou at Ang mo kio? I read that she has some formula to stop the bleeding, something to do with lotus root. I also read that some people bleed but still go on to full term. So, just keep faith!

Thanks Blue & Meo!!

Ladies, where can I find Brazil Nuts. I want to take it during my 2ww. Tried at NTUC finest @ Ang Mo Kio but they dont have. Anywhere else where we can find Brazil Nuts?

siddi..you can get it at carrefour

chocolate..kkh clearing std is 250 at D19..as such, i think there is still hope if it keeps doubling...dun giv up

Mitzi, I was seeing Dr Zou 2 years ago and when Bluenosebear told me abt the lotus root + glutinous rice remedy, I tried it for 2 days but it is not helping. Not sure if I got the proportion right cos lotus root by itself is cooling. Maybe I added too much. Anyway, thanks a lot for ur suggestion and now I m trying to bed rest as much as possible.
Praying hard tt I will be the lucky ones who will eventually go on to have a healthy pregnancy n baby despite the bleeding.

Siddi, u can get Brazil nuts at Pat's Oven at City Square shopping mall if u stay around the area. It's cheaper than Carrefour. Those big Giant outlets also sell brazil nuts. I got it at the one at Parkway Parade before.

Thanks so much Mc_007 for ur encouragement. As my bleeding got heavier since yday n really looked like menses, I went to my pte Gynae this morning for another hcg test. He also ordered a progesterone test for me. Waiting for results now. Very kiasu n paranoid this time as we do not want history (miscarriage) to repeat itself. Ur scan is tmr rite? Very happy n confident for u tt all will go well!

Mel:

Thanks for the reply. I am 34 year old. My bmi is 29. So I am still in process of losing my weight down. Kinda of frustrating that it goes stagnant.

Currently I am taking Blackmores gold to prepare my ivf. As well as eating royal jelly in tablet and honey in the morning. Taking goat's milk well. Eating spinach too.

Well do you think this is enough? Do you think I need to lose my weight 1st before my ivf or just proceed my ivf?

Now I am postponing my blood test. Still thinking....need your advice

chocolate...how r u today? hope yr bleed is better

nel..if i were u, i will go ahead since age is of,much,impt than,weight..success rate before 35 is abt 50% but 35-40, the success rate drop to 30%. so much diff.

whr are u planning for ivf? u can try to lose weight while waiting for yr queue which is easily abt 4 mth

Hi Mc_007, congrats! Read from the other thread tt u r hvg twins. Have a smooth pregnancy ahead and I trust tt u definitely will with the strong symptoms!

For me not so gd. My blood tests result from pte gynae yday slide from 79 to 71. This morning's blood test at NUH even worse as it went down further to 32. Was actually prepared for the worst after yday's blood test.
Not a single drop of tear shed today cos hb and I are quite immune already - miscarriage in Oct 2010, failed fresh ivf in Aug 2011, failed frozen cycle in Dec 2011 and probably a chemical pregnancy or miscarriage this time round. Just abit more disheartened this time round as we really spent a lot of time, effort and money on this cycle. It's really another big joke Heaven has played on us - shortlived happiness + the additional stress from the repeat blood tests + numerous visits to 24 hr clinic, pte Gynae, acupuncture, healing, praying at temples, etc.

With all these, I'm convinced tt the timing is not right and I will not force things that is not meant to be at this moment. Will take it easy for the next few mths and tiao my body with TCM. May try again next year when I m ready.

Don't mean to let any negativity affect any of the ladies here. Just letting go of my frustration with this ttc issue.

The rest of the ladies still trying, jiayou! I will join u all next yr! Hope by then most of u wld hv graduated alrd!

chocolate: really sorry to hear abt ur news. it's indeed frustrating and disheartening goin through all these roller coaster emotional tortures. take it easy and get some good rest from the break. who know that miracle might happen that ur dream will come true naturally =) cheer up and jia you.

Nel: I tend to agree with mc that age is more impt. most importantly is stay healthy. after u give birth then worry about losing weight ba lol. jia you jia you~~

chocolate..feel sad to hear abt the bad news...rest for awhile to tiao back yr body...i definitely understand how u felt as i also had 2 failed iui plus 1 aborted ivf converted to another failed iui...

however, dun giv up and i believe we will all make it one day. take care

Chocolate-Hugz hugz
Take this time not only to tiao yr body, but also to relax. Maybe go for a trip.
Dont give up.
I would be doing my 3rd fresh, despite mc in 2nd fresh, failed 1st fresh & most recent FET.
Let's jia you together.

Chocolate, sorry to hear about your loss. I can understand how tough it is for u right now. You will feel better. Go of a short holiday if u can. It does help somehow.

Chocolate: thks for your well wishes too. let's jia you together.

Piky: I asked abt Dr Zou appt, it's recommended to make appt so that u dun need to wit for too long. If u walk in, u will have to be queued after those who got appt, unless u are lucky that someone didn;t show up, then they could slot u in earlier.

Hi Mel, thank you for checking for me. Last friday i try to call Dr Zou clinic but nobody answer the call and divert to fax. Can i check with you her contact isit 64560833?

Today im going for my very 1st appt at e clinci G wonder wat i will expect them to do on me? Or wat do i need to ask?

Piky: the number is correct. try to call earlier in the morning. sometimes i call in the day also no one pick up. btw, take note of their opening hours and lunch break.

=====snip from another thread=====
Her consultation hours have changed slightly, it's also updated in the online shared spreadsheet under TCM DRs tab.
Mon - Thus: 9.30am - 1.00pm; 3.30pm - 8.30pm
Fri: 3.30pm - 8.30pm
Sat, Sun & PH: 9.00am - 1.00pm
Closed on Wed.

Hello ladies!

I've been MIA for quite a while now, concentrating on moving to my new place and also the last stretch of my IVF pregnancy. Just to update, my prince has arrived, healthy and well at 40 weeks exactly, weighing at 3.380 kg
. He was born on his due date and labour was not induced, normal delivery
. I'm here just to cheer you sisters on... Don't give up as long as that fire is still burning. Remain positive always
. Miracles happen at every moment
. So, don't worry too much.

@Andreanie: Hello! How are you coping with your new addition? He's almost 3 months old now if I'm not mistaken? They grow so fast! So treasure every moment!

soulasylum, coolcool: thks, and it's so encouraging to know ur successful stories. really hope I could graduate and join u all soon. enjoy ur motherhood & pregnancy ya!!

Thank you ladies! I'm certainly enjoying every moment spent with my little dove
! Cool, happy to know your pregnancy is progressing well
. Blue, Mel, and all the ladies out there who are on this TTC journey: You are all in my prayers. Stay positive ladies!

Mel and mc

Thanks for the advice..... I am just worried that I have to face another failure.

During my 1st ivf at kkh, the doctor did not advice me to eat any supplement at all. Did not eat any supplement at all.

Now, reading this threads, I learnt that I need to eat supplements as to prepare for the ivf. My weight back then was nearly obese.

Now I am losing weight slowly as I heard from some people, it helps our ivf procedure.

Now I am eating blackmores conceive well gold, royal jelly in tablet form, honey, spinach and goat''s milk. Anything I need to do or eat as to have a successful ivf result. I felt so determined after reading this threads.

I read about lining stuff? What do I do or eat so that I could have a good lining? How about the quality of the egg grade? Do I need to eat anything to have a good grade?

Soul, congrats to you

Enjoy every moment of it.

Cool,congrats On your pg. are you still with Nuh?

For the rest, good luck for your ivf journey.