IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Hi Emily, sorry to hear about it. My left ovary is also not very active but we were able to detect it during my IUI which eventually failed. I was reading in other forum about a lady who had only 1 egg during ER and others were small of size around 9mm which was not enough to retrieve. In the last moment, her IVF was converted to IUI since she only had 1 egg. And now she is pregnant. So miracles happen. Please dont give up. Keep the faith & move with it. Who knows you might strike in first chance and as Mitera said you wont regret for not trying

Just wondering if anyone of you required to go back for scan 2-3 days after embryo transfer? What is that for?

Mitera, Siddhi, Mitzi.
really thanks for your encouragement, I really touched and tears nearly come out from my eyes..
Mitera, where to you did your ivf ? funny that doctor didnt tell you that 1 of the ovary cant reach.. coz the success rate will cut half. But, it also good la.. at least u dont have much to worry and proceed direct.. We are still thinking if to go for ivf or iui, as for iui, no egg retrieve required. My report shows that I am ovulating. Dr Chew mentioned that my ivf success rate migth be less than 10%. Think IUI also about the same. So was thinking why not give SO-IUI a try..

Sisters, please give me some advise, if for you, what are u gg to do?

Emily,

I did it in NUH too. Did scanning for ovulation several times and also 3 iui with Prof Wong before embarking in IVF. Have u tried so-iui or normal iui before? If not I think you should give it a try before IVF. I learn from all that scanning in all my tries that I always ovulate on the right side which is the one with the normal position. I asked Prof before he said its just the odds. Now that they found that my left ovary is in a diff position, I have a feeling that it's because of this unusual position so my right is ovulating everytime instead of the left. It may be nature's way of trying to correct what's wrong by adaption. This is something doctors probably don't encounter often and do not have an answer for and so, he just told me its the odds. But in any case, with all that months of monitoring during iui etc, I know that my right ovary seems to work better than the left. Indeed had more follicles on right than left during stimulation. So, who knows you may have a better understanding of your ovulation pattern during iui and if the need comes for IVF (I really hope u don't!), u can make a better judgment and decision - at least U know which of the 2 ovaries are functioning better, or both are as good.

For those who with Prof Wong, will Prof Wong prescribe DHEA for those low AMH reading patient?

I'm thinking to consume DHEA,where can i get DHEA? Or have to buy online from oversea?

Hi Emily,

One more thing I want to tell u. I also have one ovary that is very high. I did 3 ivf at Nuh and Prof never thought it was a big issue so I actually forgot all about it until when I read your post and I thought it sounded familiar. I only remembered it this morning. During my 1st ivf, I only knew that during the last scan before egg collection. Prof was away and another doctor (the female Indian doctor, can't remember her name) did the scan and mentioned it might not be possible to reach that ovary. I was young and hopeful then and didnt even think much about it. Anyway, after egg collection, Prof told me he managed to reach it. So I was able to get eggs from both sides for all my cycles. So, like what Mitera said, sometimes it is better not to know too much.

Emily,
If u are ovulating, then I think the choice between ivf and iui depends on your husband's spem quality. If it is just a little weak and not too bad, u van try iui. But if it is poor, then go for ivf. And don't be discouraged by the 10%. If u dont try, then u never know. During one of my cycles, I had twisted ovaries after the 2 weeks wait (quite painful). I googled it and the chance of getting that is 2 %. The chance is so small and yet I got it. I wish I could tell u a more "directly relevant" example, but my point is life can be funny that way, so why not try?

Come to think of it, I think Prof Wong already knew all along that I am having an ovary of an unusual position but he never mention to me for fear of letting me worry too much. Dr Chew only mentioned briefly about it during his first scan for me when Prof Wong is away, but he never mention about it being unreacheable. Am actually really glad he did not say much. I guess Prof Wong probably thought he might be able to reach it during ER.

Mitera, I never try IUI / SO-IUI before. U mention about scanning for ovulation, I thought ovulation can only detect via BT? So, scanning can detect ovulation and can tell which ovary is ovulating? How is the SO-IUI cost like? Heard that this process do not have subsidise right?
How abt the dosage you take for simulating eggs?

yes, I did read abt ET/EC via laproscopy. THe link u given not accessible
Need to ask Doc abt this and also the cost.

Mitzi, you are really lucky can finally retrieve from both. How many eggs u get in total? and dosage? I a bit worry that Dr CHew mention abt high dosage, not sure how high is that..
I think hubby sperm quality not that important as they will choose 1 of the best.. as my hubby still got 2% ok, so shldnt be problem. I only worry if my fallopia tubes if block. Should I go for the so-call HSG before the IUI? wanna ask for more infor before made any decision.

Lavendar, not sure how is the AMH reading. I am thinking to ask the medical report department to retrieve the report in case I want to get second opinion from other doctor.

Siddhi, lots of baby dust for your coming FET.
Mitzi, u preggie now?
Mitera, take good care and enjoy your 2ww

Hi Emily, din check the forum for a while n just read ur story. Since ur hubby sperm is not a big prob, IUI may be a better choice to consider. I too tried 3 times IUI (not successful of cos) before embarking ivf. But even worse come to worse, there's still chance for ivf. Miracle does happen, so dun give up! All the sisters here are trying our best in everything we could so that we won't regret for not trying. Why not u seek a 2nd opinion from prof Wong or another dr from diff hospital 1st? All the best.

Hi mitera, for both of my ivf cycle, I went back for a check up by prof Wong 3 days after ET, it's not really a scan, prof just check my tummy to make sure there's no pain or severe bloatness etc. 5 mins done.
All the best to ur 2ww. Get good rest n waiingt for ur BBdust !

Hi Mel-if U are planning to do in Sept/Oct, prof is on leave on & off.
I saw him yesterday & he suggest short cycle for my 3rd fresh.
I told him that put as Oct cycle, but I might change my mind if mentally not preapre yet. So he be seeing me again on Sept.
I spoken to CHR nurses, I have to do on Spet instead, as on Oct cycle, he would be on leave on Nov & would be done by other Dr for ER & ET.

thks bluenosebear for the info! I'm seeing prof on 01 June. will consider Sept. you doing any preparation now? or still considering if to go ahead?

Hi Blue, I was at NUH on Tues too. But I think I didn't see u or anyone.
Why did he suggest short protocol? Didn't u have frozen embbies?I BFP this round but miscarried. Think was blighted ovum tho Prof didn't exactly say. Discovered at week 8 plus scan. He looked serious suddenly and I know it was not right... This time I put in so much hopes n effort but all in vain. I even had IVIG.

I saw TCM. Dr said I got weak kidneys, heart and liver. Sounded as if I'm dying! Said this body v v hard to get preg! My mum on hearing this, ordered a $1800 MLM supplement for me! She said her friends took all said gd, they look and feel younger as the product claim to 'rejuvenates our genes'. I don't believe but I readit contains cordyceps and ginseng so go along with the order. I hope it can help me since I have tried 101 things already...

Hi, there.

I'll be doing my second ivf with prof Wong for the 1st time. This coming week, I'll be doing my colposcopy. The nurse said that my pap smear result shows abnormal. Kinda of worry. Anyone done this procedure?

Does weight matters? Does weight has effect on ivf result. During my 1st ivf at kkh, my weight was around 76 kg. now my weight is 72 kg. based on bmi, I am overweight.

Any tips to lose weight within 3 months?

Mel- I see Dr Zuo for accu & taking her med
I can't give answer yet whether to Cheong on sept or not
MelJ- Sorry to hear yr lose.
My appt w Prof was on 1050, I reach at 1010, but only get to be seen at 1150hrs.
I left w 1 embryo. So Prof say is to have higher chance, to do fresh. When I ask next cycle still remind long protocol? That is when he flip flip my notes then say short next cycle. Since last 2 is long & no viable Pregnancy, he suggest short.
But he say if I want long also k.
So what is yr next plan? Did u do d&c?

MelJ: sorry to hear your lost. if u are seeing TCM now, it may help to "bu" ur body. life style is also impt. maybe u need to change ur life style, such as sleep early etc. sleep late will burn ur "kidney energy" which may take some time to replenish back. last time my TCM always scold my hubby for sleeping too late. she said 10pm shld get in bed, and sleep by 11pm, which is quite hard for us hehe. anyway, take good care n jia you!

Nel: did prof mention what's abnormal from ur pap smear? i got colleagues lose 12kg & 14kg respectively in 3mths time by taking HerbalLife shakes. but i dunno if it's safe for us while we preparing for ivf/preg. fyi only.

btw, can any sister enlighten what is d&c?

Blue- I forgot my appt time but I know I saw Prof shortly on arrival no wait. Maybe was a later time cos nobody.
Sometimes I find we have to find out reason why certain things done certain way. Cos u did succeed on long previously also and short means no suppression. I dunno but for me, Prof told me previously cos I responded well w long so continue long even tho in many previous attempts I have never once BFP except this last one. Rem my prev experience in Gleneagles, no suppression can run the risk of unequal maturation of eggs and lining...

I didn't do D&C. I opted to use meds n managed to pass it out.

Prof said can do FET only after 3 mths after this mth menses. So it will be sept/Oct for me. Anyway I've stopped work... I need to tiao my body and not much time left to keep trying. This can free me to go accu and resume exercising. I stopped since I returned to work and work stress was much more than previous.

Let's keep each other motivated in our journey. We will make it as long as we dun give up! Hugs.

Melroze- Thks for your advice. I think in Sin, it's really difficult to get to bed by 10pm if we work. Come home also need to do work, how to sleep early. That's why fertility rate is low here.

Talking abt this shake, my mil also taking some shakes. I dont know the brand but she took for a month plus and claimed she lost a few kilos (she wasn't fat in first place) and her lipid profile has improved to her best record even tho she is not taking her meds for cholesterol. She is v happy w the results and telling people abt the shake. Haha. Cos I am normal weight it didn't interest me. Some more everyday one meal is the shake thing, I prefer my solid food.

Nel- if the pap smear result is abnormal u may want to consider retesting to double confirm. Check with Prof.

Nel- the only thing I know is the shake is from nuskin. I have seen my mil taking tablets from the same series/set. The tablets r the blockers; take before food intake.

MelJ: u are so right. It's really difficult for us to sleep early. we usually go to bed at 12am-1am. Now i try to adjust it, go to bed at 11pm, read a book or listen to music for a while then try to sleep by 12pm. not easy, but slowly trying to adjust. it's easy to say but difficult to maintain this routine.

Melroze- I see u don't fall asleep easily If I'm not stressed (usu over work matters but now no more!) I can fall asleep within 15 mins. Haha. My hubby hit the bed and within 2 mins he is asleep. This shows how tired he is which is another reason for me not to work do that I have energy to take care of him (the house).

MelJ: haha yes, it depends but i realise i tend to sleep better if i do some reading before sleep. and I have to sleep before my dh, otherwise once he starts snoring, i will not be able to fall asleep hehe.

I have been thinking whether to quit my job for a long while, but still cant make up my mind. sometime i scare if i quit my job, but still cannot conceive, i may be more stressed... some more no financial freedom... tssk tssk... but i always envy those "tai tai" life haha. seems u are enjoying work free life now. good for you. enjoy and stay happy & healthy!

MelJ-my 2nd fresh with 225IU Gonal-F, almost going to OHSS. But yr short protocol in Gleaneagles was very different to the short in NUH, right? I will still be using the same dosage 225 Gonal for short cycle.
I also abit in dilemma also, coz I was thinking, Prof also cannot give the exact answer whether the lining or follicles size k be even or not, unless I give it a try.
I will have to ask somemore qs during my Sept review.
I going Dr Zuo this evening, I will ask her also abt the unequal follicles & lining in short protocol.
U have how many snowbabies?

Bluenosebear, MelJ: I was on long protocol for 1st cycle, and short for 2nd. prof din mention anything abt unequal follicles & lining leh... my results were similar for both cycles. Gonal-F dosage was 300IU for me. personally I prefer short protocol leh, much less jabs!!

Thanks Emily and Mel! Yes Mel it's not a scan just checking for bloatedness. Its hard to enjoy tww. I googled everything, symptoms, signs, what to do and what to avoid etc, and ended up stressed that I couldn't sleep at night.

Blue- yah the one at Glen wasn't same short as Nuh. Itcwas my most unpleasant experience. but my understanding of short is wo suppression. Reason why u and me for eg had long I believe was cos our blood tests showed we may respond to long. I always think people w high E2 probably shd have suppression.
I rem u have PCOS. That means having many follicles. If so, the risk of having varied maturity wouldn't it be higher?? I had 225 for Gonal F all the way for all my fresh attempts cos Prof said I responded well which true lah, not too many follicles and size ok and maturity ok. I rem that time u mentioned he have u cont 225 and if i rem correctly that time there was smth that shd have reduced to 175 le right? Maybe u shd ask Prof to rationalize to u. I feel Prof sometimes needs some 'pushing' from my personal experience lah. I think cos he has so many patients, every patient he thinks so hard he has no hair left (oops)!
My last round if I rem correctly I had 100% fertilization so I shd have 4(?) snowbabies left bah. Whether they ok or not is another factor... But really at embryo stage quality probably isn't accurate. Cos the embryologist told me the two I put in were v gd grade w three being best and mine were classified two-three which means better than two, lower than three. Still...

Mel- i resigned from my earlier job to do my first fresh. Then it didn't succeed and I stayed home cont to try and try until recently then gone back to work. I was bored after 'waiting' for nearly 2 years! Then this year I thought I wanted to try again cos I was much more prepared in terms of taking care of health and ks in anything that I can help myself. I asked Prof to refer me to immunologist to check and he said he thinks nothing wrong but relented. But results showed otherwise so I was seeing two Drs for the last fresh. I have many experiences that make me consider seeking second opinions which so far I always discover something lor. I will still go to prof for ivf but I know I must do my due diligence myself in certain things too. Moving fwd, I know if I can get bfp again, I will want scans at fetal care centre not just at clinic. I will cont to see the other Dr to help me w bb dream. I will cont to be KS to ask to check this and that. Nowadays Prof will accede to all my requests to tests even hysteroscopy which I told him I want to do when he returns. KS but if I dun help myself no one will le.

mitera: oh no, it's better not to read the symptoms and signs. you need to stay happy and relaxed as much as possible. i know it's hard not to think of it, but dun stress urself out. Find sthg u interested to distract u, like watch drama/movies. jia you jia you.

MelJ : I admire ur determination. i will try to ask prof more question too during my review, which is long delayed after my failed cycle.

Mel- Hope nobody needs to be like me... One night I was thinking of the amount of $$$$$ spent on this bb making journey not considering the loss income then I told my hubby so much until can pay for tuition fees in Uni loh. I also dunno if i will cont until i run out of money. My in laws my parents all think i should stop doing ivf due to the body damage. I think i m too result oriented until i cannot let go wo succeeding. Maybe the end point is until i have no more health and $ to continue bah. Haha.
We all need God's blessings...

MelJ- wah really admire u. K analyze so much
I didn't ask so much, coz my 1st fresh dose was the lowest think only 150, then increase after scan. Only like 9 retrieve
So 2nd fresh he increase dose.
For short protocol, suppression will be given but is not suprefact, is certroide( don know spell correct)
I discuss w Dr Zuo (tcm) she say k go ahead & try short, should not have prob abt uneven growth of follicles

MelJ: your end point will NOT be "no more health and $ to continue", but happily holding ur baby in ur arms! keep faith =)

blue: what's the problem with uneven growth of follicles? as long as get good amount of good eggs retrieved can le, rite? is there any side effect?

Blue- oh didn't know short also got suppression. This centrotide I think I used before when in Glen. Can't rem details.

Mel- That's so kind of u... Tks for ur kind words. Yes I want to make it happen!

Today was my first scan for natural FET with Dr. Stephen Chew. My folli is 14 mm & my lining is 6 mm only. What is the appropriate size for lining? any idea ladies?

Hi emily tey, I tried to PM you but your setting doesnt accept PM.
For high ovary not accessible from bottom, eggs can be retrieved via abdominal. Unfortunately not many doctor do abdominal retrieval. All doctors in NUH dont do it. The only public hospital that do abdominal egg retrieval is SGH. Some private doctors do it too.
You may PM me for more details.

Siddhi: your 1st scan is on D5 of stim phase rite? 14 follicles & lining of 6mm is considered good rite? what did Dr say?

Think 1st scan is still quite early. but by the time of ER, as blue said, lining shld be >10mm. I found from internet, the good lining range is between 10-16mm, with triple stripe pattern seem to be optimal. but prof never mention the lining or the pattern to me before leh...

I am actually in my 2WW. Had my embryo transfer last Thur and today is my 8dp3dt. This morning when I was inserting my crinone gel, I saw spots of blood when I pulled the tube out. Then when I was removing my bowel, I saw a small blood clot (reddish brown in a streak of mucous). Sorry if tmi. Just now when i wiped, there was some watery red discharge.

In my previous fresh cycle n FET, my menses came a few days before the blood test. Is this going to happen to me again? Am so sad as my blood test is on next Wed. Called CHR nurse just now n was told to monitor as the earliest I can do a blood test is on Mon (12dp3dt).

Anyone with such experience?

Chocolate: it may be implantation spotting? monitor till tomorrow see how. if got worse, do inform CHR nurse immediately. they may ask u to go BT urgently. good luck!!

Hi Mel, thanks for ur reply.

Certainly hope tt it's implantation spotting. But I hv no symptoms at all like no bloatedness, no sore breasts etc.

I wonder whether it's becos of the crinone gel. M passing out some red tissue which looks like the dried form of crinone. (Sorry if tmi).

Chocolate: are u using any other med other than crinone gel? last time i was given estrofem as well, which is red color. when it mix with crinone gel, its abit reddish. anyway, no symptom doesn't mean bad news mah. just try to relax and monitor for 1-2 days. all the best ya

Mel, I am using Crinone only. This morning more bleeding and quite clotty. Went to Nuh to do blood test and is waiting for result. Am prepared for the worst.

Hi everyone! Its been a while since I last logged into this forum!

How is everyone doing?
Just to share, I had my IVF baby on 29 Feb 2012 under Dr Stephen Chew. Those who are under him, don't worry as he is a very knowledgeable and caring doctor. Funny too! Hehe... He will definitely do his best and advise u accordingly based on your case.

Jiayou to all of you!

Mel, my blood test is positive at 15.7 on 9dp3dt. Was given a progesterone jab and duphaston. But spotting didn't stop n i m still hving it on and off despite lesser volume. Was kiasu n went to KK 24 hr O & G last nite to request for additional support. Requested for cyclogest to insert via rectum cos am afraid tt crinone gel is not suitable for me. It's so saddening to see the blood stained tube after inserting every time.

Will be returning to NUH for another jab tmr. Prof is not ard till end May so Dr Chew said my next blood test would be on the original date, ie Wed. My hb and I discussed and we think we shd be kiasu n request for another HCG and progesterone test tmr to check on the level. My hb seems positive as he doesn't know much. For me, I m preparing myself for the worst as I m very worried tt it could an ectopic pregnancy or the spotting is a sign of a non viable pregnancy.

With a past miscarriage where we did not have experience n did not ask for whatever possible support we can get, we are doing whatever we can this time. Just hope that this pregnancy will stick.

chocolate...i think is better to request for another progesterone and HCG Bt..at least you will feel more assured.. hope that yr hcg goes higher..