IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Hi siddhi,

My next appt will be 2nd day of my period day.
He said if my tests pass, can proceed for injection on the next cycle...

what about you? have you gone for it?

We went to him in Sept that time he suggested to have the test I mentioned in my earlier post. After that we started consulting a doc in O & G. But we realized it as very expensive (since they are using NH lab all the test are double the price when compared to NUH), so we want to move back to Prof Wong. Once I get all the test done we will see Prof Wong (it cannot be before feb 1st week). I got my IUI done from O & G last week and waiting for result. My close relative is a IVF specialist in India and she is also advising to undergo IVF rather than wasting time in more cycles of IUI. So want it to start asap if the reports are fine. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi siddhi,

cross for u too

me hoping also, so that i can start in March

Shi Jia, if everything goes well on pre testing part, looks like we will be cycle buddies...keep updating. Have patience & believe in God.

doramee - yes i have and already attended 2 classes. my class started on 7 jan 2012. are u intending to attend? if yes, u have to wait for the next cycle.

Wow, nice to see many new comers here.
Been very busy since I started work.

Andreanie, you will be on leave till delivery?

suyana - yes im on hospital leave till delivery. I was just discharged on Saturday. Another bleeding episode occured on Wednesday and was admitted again for another 4 days. They already scheduled my c-sect on 24 March 2012 should no future bleedings occured again. Now hoping theres no more episodes after the last one.

Doramee - Yes very interesting, u can ask whatever questions u have in mind. I dont know when the next cycle is, you have to call the clinic and find out.

Hello Jamp, Blue, Cool, Su,Tub, Andreanie, Vi,
Haven't been here for a long time. I've started working and it took my mind off IVF for a while. Work sucks. How I missed my 'boring days' at home 

I see there are many new sistas here. Hello

Mind I ask what supplement or preparation u all take for ur IVF?

I just took my blood test, see Prof Wong next week to confirm okay to go or not to go for IVF.

Thought of getting my body prepare first hence would very appreciate you could share with me the tips.

Hi SHi Jia Xin,

you may try asking Prof Wong personally when you see him as well? forgot to ask him as i was shock when he told me my double uterus thingy may result in pre-mature child-birth. He's pretty straight forward when it comes to question and answer session.

Hi dollyrac,

Oh ok, as I feel he don't seem to believe in supplement like that, as he very westernise and he is a doc so I worry he will give me medicine which I don't wish too

For yourself do u take supplement ? I was reading a lot reference saying tam royal jelly... Not sure should I tRy

Is Prof Wong your gynae or just need to seek his advise? My gynae seems to be Dr Anu but I've just started by suprefact injections so i guess i have to complete the whole course first before i can see any drs. I heard about royal jelly from one aunt but i do believe different bodies react differently and also trying to find out what kind of supplements i have to take as well. any sisters out there who can share please?

Hi Jia Xin,
Agreed that Prof is a very straight forward doc, but, he also got his gentle side too...

Normally Prof will not prescribe any supplements if you din ask him, as he also din prescribe me any supplements, wat he said is lead a healthy life and take a balanced diet.

Hi lee
As for royal jelly, not every one can take it, if u have cyst better not to take.
If anything u not sure, u can always check with the CHR nurses, they r very friendly n helpful.

Hi Jia Xin, How are u? when are you meeting doc again? I agree with Noi that Prof has gentle side too. My last visit to him was very nice. He was smiling and answering our queries very nicely. Are you attending IVF counselling on 4th Feb?

Prof Wong is nice and I like him for being frank but juz a little worried. I'm currently juz taking folic acid and nothing else. Really afraid of waking up in the morning becos of the jab. By the way, I gt a referral letter from poly clinic so I will fall under subsidized rate. Hope everything turns out well.

Tomorrow will be my 3rd injection on suprefact. Time seems to be crawling by so so slowly... Any sisters here have history of epilepsy?

Hi Lee

Same here, he said i may have implantation due to i have bicornuate uterus
but will still go for IVF
I am Under Prof Wong directly, so no subsidy at all...

Hi Noi,

thanks! will properly ask Doc on Friday, I am seeing him next Friday for the result of our test.. GOD bless all go well

Hi Siddhi,

Yes I am going for the talk on 4th Feb

all Sisters
wanna ask... after Pre-Ivf test, is all go well, does it mean at CD21 I can start my IVF program? Or I have to wait next cycle?

Congrats to those who have gotten pregnant through NUH!

I hv one child and has been trying for 2nd one for 1 yr and now thinking of trying IVF in NUH.

Anyone care to share the rough costs and what are the good doctor? How much time do you have to set aside for 1 cycle of IVF?

Thanks so much for sharing

Shi Jia Xin, I guess different individuals have different problems. what is CD 21? I only know I went through alot of tests on blood, test if fallopian tube blocked or not, 3D scan to see if the uterus and other things ok or not than scheduled for injections oredi. Last nite had nitemare on injections also. This morning also self inject. sorry for all the complaints... zzz...

noscon, drs i'm not too sure but have a ex-colleague who is under Dr Chew, he likes to clown around and also encouraging to patients. I can't choose my dr so dr anu is handling my case, she is more stern and is an indian lady. Prof P C Wong heads the dept so i guess Shi Jia Xin's hospital bills will be categorised under private rate.

I'm not too sure about the total hospital bills but the pre-ivf tests come up to around $3k plus. For first timers like us, with govt grant & subsidy, the estimated cash I have to fork out is about $3k plus also but please note individuals may require higher/lower dosage of injections/medications. hope this helps.

I have a history of epilepsy and also having double uterus, that's why the drs will sometimes refer me to Prof Wong. chr nurses are also friendly n helpful so u can consider nuh. went to sgh before but i didn't start my ivf there because the nurses and doctors dun really seems to 'care', i was under dr Yu, private rate and i didn't like the service there so went to polyclinic to get a referral letter under subsidized rate for ivf.

Hi lee,

the procedure paper said if pre-test is pass, can start injection during CD21..so i not sure is everyone the same?

I have went for the scan and blood test, so is there more test to go?
for the test i have went through, heee, you can take a look at my blog :p http://ways2parenthood.blogspot.com/
i did stated quite clearly of what are hubby and my test.

shi jia xin, wah. u even started a blog ah? i actually hesitated for awhile for ivf so i really mustered up lots of courage which i believe only the sisters will understand here. also like you, i have cousins who are also pregnant and some younger ones already gave birth, i don't mean to be mean but i was also jealous and cried(hubby doesn't know). due to my job scope, i also found out a colleague's wife is pregnant as well (i know they have been trying for awhile n the wife also had a miscarriage previously). this made me even more ganchiong to start my ivf journey. i guess all of us have to keep encouraging ourselves as we're the only ones who knows what this ivf journey is like. :D be positive i guess. this morning i woke up from nitemare of injections but didn't tell hubby also as i know he's also worried if i can take it or not. I opted for ivf due to my hubby sperm's motility is zero so i guess he feels kind of guilty as well. but we should also consider ourselves lucky that ivf is an option for us although not a 100% guaranteed but better than being a sitting duck rite? at least i tried and if you're also on this forum, there are others whom have tried IUI several times and on IVF as well. Really admire these ladies for their courage and hope they'll have their dreams come true.

I didn't really go through my medical reports in details as I didn't want to pressurize hubby n myself. I guess you should be starting injections in your february cycle. you working? good luck yah. :D

lee

thanks for answering. How do you apply for subsidy for ivf? So just the pre-IVF tests is already 3k+? Wow... thats quite a bit. Any idea how much for the actual procedure?

shi jia xin

thanks for the blog... it will be very useful for pple who wants to find out more...

noscon, i have the papers/bills at hme. maybe tonite i'll update here again bcos i'm at work now. :D kept the papers just in case. i had to have a special 3D scan due to double uterus, the ivf charges the chr nurses will provide you the papers and explain to you. End of the day, we have to just cough up $3k plus in cash but that is aside to the injections/medications.

Shi Jia Xin, i dun think we have the same condition but I think both of us has something to do with the uterus shape kind of thingy? you can also ask Prof Wong since you did research on your own as well. He'll be happy that you're concern about your own body. That time when Prof Wong told me my double uterus will be a problem i was shocked as all the gynae did not point out to me but Prof Wong said the reason is because my option is also only ivf so there is not much things they can do as well therefore i wasn't informed. lolx. thinking back i realised, oh well, ok lor. Just have to accept it. About etopic pregnancy, Prof Wong did tell me every women have a chance of having that, that's why he told me my case is no different so i also accepted the fact. Try not to think too much.

noscon, subsidized rates you can just go to any polyclinic and tell them you want to have a referral letter to see the specialist for ivf treatment. after that you will be categorised under subsidized rates for the pre-ivf tests like blood tests or scans but do note some referral from chr will still be categorised under private rate. i didn't bother to try IUI becos hubby sperm is zero motility and I'm 33 this year so didn't want to waste my time. my seizures only stabalised about a year ago and i tried for one year but no news so opted for ivf straight away. hope i'll have a better chance of conceiving as well. anyway i heard some couples that both hubby n wife are ok but couldn't conceive also opted for ivf.

Hi lee,
yes that right, i have no subsidy charged as private but still able to get the grants and medisave

the blog was long time ago, but recently just change the direction of the blogs wahaha... thought just to share with people my experience as i realise not many people record their ivf progress so i just start one

well.. i opt for ivf as one of my tube is gone and my other tube.. is more or less the same...i got twice ectopic and really very tire of waiting and trying normal that is why hubby and i decided for IVF, which was advised my fertility doc Dr Charles Lim.... he referred us to Prof Wong one...

I guess, after the pre-ivf tests i should be able to proceed injection right?

SJX, yup tat's rite if all test is ok than shld b able to go for ivf. hmm... next week u seeing prof wong rite? so i guess he would suggest u to start with your feb period if i'm not wrong. haha. sound as if i'm prof wong liao unless u wants u to take other tests. think ur case will be more challenging since you only left with one tube. I'm a free thinker so i hope you can conceive with treatment from NUH as well.

after grants and medisave, did the nurse advise how much you need to pay? normally i'll start asking about the hospital stays etc but didn't want to pressure myself too much so juz waiting until the embryo transfer thing over liao and if i'm lucky and have a baby growing and after everything is stable than start asking. :D or else later if i carry my hopes too high, i'm afraid if it's a failed attempt, i might sink into depression. hehe. so beta take tings a step at a time.

lee
thanks.... hoping to go with PC wong but read that his patients are charged as private.

anyone knows how much it will cost as a private patient?

Hi Lee,
cant start immediately? must wait for another cycle?
i dont wanna wait haaa, maybe i going to ask him to start off immediately..

ya i left one tube but both ovary are working well wahaha, so now i need concentrate how to boost up my eggs quality.

Hi Noscon,
Ya he is charging as private if you want to see him only...
first consulation is about S$155, sub-seq is around S$90. I will update my fee on my blog :p so do follow closely if you dont mind wahahaha....

SJX, need to wait for your feb cycle to come than can inject suprefact on your 21st day mah. after my jan period came than on 21st than i started my injection lor. :D be patient lah. anyway we waited so long liao. I'm e impatient kind so we haf to take things as it comes. u working nt?

sjx
thanks I will follow your blog!
babydust to you! heard some good things abt prof wong.... I have done IUI twice before unsuccessfully so the next logical step is ivf bah....

lee
yeah singaporean....

lee

im working.... but im still curious to see whats the difference between subsidised and private rate....

noscon, overall the difference is on the pre-ivf tests but up to individual. If you don't feel 'safe'/ have special condition like sjx than beta opt for Prof Wong. I guess I can't really do much about my case so any drs will do...

noscon yup... hope to leave it to fate too. I think every ladies here will have the same mentality but every once in a while, i guess we'll have some negative thinking so i'll just pop in once in a while to look at the forums and words of encouragement from the ladies here. Working also helps takes off some stress although it really depends on how supportive is your boss. My boss is ok though, so lucky in a way. Not so much on dragon baby or watever but just hope he/she be healthy. :D

any ladies on first phase of suprefact here? hmm... i seems to be going to toilet more often to pee. duno wad side effects i'm gona have also. anyone care to share?

Hi lee,
i am working fulltime
I cant wait!!! I waited for 3 years and i think it enough haa i will ask him next week if possible i wanan try for dragon baby
i am fortunate that my boss is understanding, also my colleagues.... so i am blessed... and can concentrate on my ivf

Hi Noscon,
hee... thanks for following! will update as much as possible heeee...

I think the diff quite big, for example for consulation private is ard 155, subsidies is ard 70 to 90. Disadvantage is u can choose your doctor and have to wait

sjx, that's gd lor. hope our journey will all be smooth. since we're all receiving treatment at nuh, it'll also be good if we can update each other as well.

Hi lee...
haa i hope so....
u know i prefer here.. this support group is so much friendlier ..
the ivf/icsi group like.... so unfriendly..