IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Su - yah prolly i'll go to hypermart for the car seat. I saw a foldable bathtub at Mothercare abt $70, i tot it will save a bit of space at my parent's place. But will look at other options too, thanks for the recommendation.
Wah, so fast you starting work already? My hub too had to go to school tomorrow for a full day of meeting. Sian lah, he will be busy from next week onwards.

Update from my appt just now. Gynae said the bedrest for me can already be lifted, infact I can return back to work if I want to. But I told him I worked at Jurong Island, immediately he said ok no need to go to work. Extended my HL till the next appt. Spend the whole day outside, but we limit my walking/standing. Walk a bit and sit a lot. Hub went to get some IT stuff with my dad, so I sat at Mcdonalds with my mum till they are done hehe..

I will not be going out if my hub and my parents are not ard with me. Will be staying at home most times and just lie down and walk ard my home. I need my mum to be with me whenever i go to public toilets cos doctor refrained me from locking the toilet door. Even at home, I need to be supervised by anyone in my family if I want to shower or go to the toilet. No locking of doors at all. So I dont think its a good idea to be going to work, will just rest at home for the rest of the pregnancy.

Andreanie, the next best thing is rent a wheelchair. I saw pregnant lady often in a wheelchair too.
So you can still go out. =) and shopping.

Tub, transfer already?
Just pray for the success, don't think about other things ok.

Su, keep yourself busy ok then the time at work will pass faster and yay.. knock off time...

Happy New Year everyone.

Time flies fast maybe due to the nature of my job.
Need to settle things for first day of sch next week.
Today half day session work for me

Andreanie, your hubby is also a teacher?
For the foldable tub, you may want to check this forum under bulk purchase (if not wrong) think someone selling it.
Yes, I start work already.
Actually I benefit in my leave. I actually got almost 5 mths break due to dec hols

Tub-How are U?
Su-U would be super busy next week.
Enjoy tis weekend, while stock last.
Andreanie-Is good that U rest if U have the leave.
Happy New year, sistas.
May all our wish come true, to hold the beautiful bundle of joy next year

Hello ladies!!!

I have reached my halfway mark
. 20 more weeks to go! Time is moving rather slow when you're eager for something
. My little boy is a kicker alright... Hahaha! My hubby keeps on insisting that he will be a professional football player. Well... I told him that, "Only if our baby is good enough to earn Christiano Ronaldo's salary, or the very least, Wayne Rooney's... Otherwise, he can be anything else he wants." LOL!!! How many of you here have a football maniac for a husband??? I'm sure you'd understand... :p

@Andreanie: I'm sorry to read about your situation. I think it's a very good idea for you to stay home for the rest of your pregnancy. I have read about placenta previa and I must say, it is definitely not worth the risk to go back to work in your condition, considering the amount of effort, time and money you have spent for that little bundle of joy to be nestling in your tummy
. I really do hope and pray that the rest of your pregnancy goes smoothly.

@Tub: Please do not give up dear. It takes only one fertilized egg to make a beautiful baby. I do hope you've made through the transfer, and have a fruitful 2 week wait. Positive thoughts my dear.

@Jamp: How are you babe? Still "tiao-ing" your body I hope
? A few bits of chocolates now and then is perfectly okay I believe
. I had chocolates, cakes, pastries and so many other yummy sweets prior to my IVF. But of course, like Blue had mentioned, in moderation. As long as you don't eat a whole Charlie's Chocolate Factory's worth of sweets, I think you're in the clear. Hahahaha! Hope you're doing well!

@Su: I really don't know how you do it... Going to work and not being able to see your precious little princess for hours! I think I'll suffer from post-natal depression just from that. LOL! But a mommy got to do what a mommy got to do... Hang in there!

As for the rest of you ladies, I wish you all well. I pray that God gives you enough strength to not give up on your journey. Positive thoughts ladies! There's a light at the end of the tunnel... So, persevere!

Year 2011 is coming to a close, to make way for a more fruitful year of 2012 (I hope!)
. My family and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all a Happy and Prosperous New Year!! May God grant you your desires... God Bless!! And baby dust to all!!!

Hi sisters
Happy New Year To U!
Need some help, do anyone here have CHR nurse after clinic hrs Hp no.? Mui Hong did write in my ivf card n now I couldn't find it...I need to contact one of the nurse urgently... Thanks alot.

Hi Soulasylum
Thank you for the contact no. Went A&E yesterday & done a blood test, was confirmed. Prof is seeing me urgently at CHR this morning. He had ordered me to take a serial of support medicine, will be collecting at the A&E pharmacy.

Dear Sisters,
Thank u for your support during my hardest time, I'll sprinkle babydust once I confirmed more stable by Prof.

I'll stay positive and have faith with my little brave warrior inside me due to my previous experience.

Noi, you went to A&E and did blood test cos of bleeding? How are you now? When are you seeing prof again? Wish you all the best. Take care and rest well.

Dear sisters
Thank u for your support. I repeated my blood test again today, was confirmed. Although it did doubled up but it is still a bit low. Prof understand my concern n said to me "Not to worry, u rest well n let us worry for u!" His words r a assurance to me! Before I see him, I feels so scare n nervous afraid prof will give up my little brave warrior n after seeing him n his words gave me the strength to move on....
Tmr I ll be seeing Dr Sheila n Prof Maheesh n I ll be starting my herprin jab too.
Dear coolcool
Thank u for your concern. I only had a
fifty cents brown spotting on 31 Dec mid nite. Feels so scare n helpless, Hubby insists to brings me to a&e, I told him to wait till morning to call CHR nurse, n ask for the nurse advise. Went a&e, did a blood test confirmed n prof requested to see me on mon.Was very grateful to prof that he still see me on a public holiday n he order one support injection for me. Hubby jus told me that prof r the Guardian for my little brave warrior!
Dear sisters who r undergoing for this programme
Babydusts to sisters who r trying. Jia you! If my little brave warrior can make it, sure yours also can de! Dun give up!

Hi Noi
. Just realised that I referred to you as "Tub" earlier on. So sorry about that.... Hee... Pregnancy brain. Congrats on the good news! I pray that your little brave warrior will persevere all the way through! All the best dear!

Noi-congrats
If u are under Dr Sheila, means that u have some blood issues or condition like tub?
Prof Mahmesh is yr gynea?
Just abit curious abt yr condition, if u willing to share here.
Relax, like what Prof say, let them worry.
Seems like u are in very good hands

Dear soulasylum n bluenosebear
Thank u for your blessing to me n my little brave warrior.

Dear bluenosebear
Prof Wong is my gynae since yr 2006. (Been trying for assisted reproduction since then). I had done 3 iui n 4 fresh cycle, 1 cancelled cycle n 1 frozen cycle(recent one). 1 cycle in kk n all 4 under prof. I success in my 1st try, but, lost my precious one during week 9...after that, I tried for a few cycle without any success! Was very very sad then, I did everything I can, accupnature, Chinese medicine, multi-vitmins (u name it all I tried b4).. We spent all our saving jus to have a child we can call our own. It was financially drain for my Hubby(I quitted my job since 2006 jus to conceived) n mentally stress for me too.
A few mths b4 I had my frozen transfer, I get prof opinion to do some serial of blood test for me. Prof refer me to Dr Sheila
. Prof Maheesh n Dr Sheila r a team, means I had to see both of them n paid 2 consultation fees too. After a serial of blood test, reveal that my blood stream lack of protein s, which both of them thinks might caused my embies failed to implanted, but prof Wong assured me not to worry for the lack of protein s in my blood. His words r very assurancing to me since 2006.
Dr Sheila n prof maheesh r very encouraging to me too. Dr Sheila put me on aspirin 100mg(max dose) for 3 mths (I had been on aspirin min dose for my last 3 cycle after ET). I'll be seeing dr Sheila n prof maheesh later n will be having herprin injection too. Dr sheila suggested ivig b4 my transfer but, due to the costs n i did get prof wong opinion, he told me ivig might not leads to success...Prof Wong know my case well, so I told him I very worried due to my previous history, he was very firm n told me " not to
worry, let us worry for u!"...
Sisters, apologise for the long post..will update more after seeing dr Sheila n prof maheesh...jia you sisters!

Hi soul, I see that you missed me!

Ladies, I'm fine. Had one good grade embryo transferred and blood test this Monday. I'm not hopeful cos tested on day 8 and 9 and it's bfn. We'll see how it goes... If this round is negative as expected, I'll go for fresh again or maybe do a lap to remove my endo first. I saw prof wrote that his secondary diagnosis of me during er is endometriosis. Will ask him doing review later on. Anyone knows how soon we can start a fresh cycle?

Noi, I tried ivig this time round but too bad I'm a poor responder to Ivf meds so I reduced my odds by only having one embryo.

Noi

I see A/P Mahesh and Dr Sheila for my own set of issues and I really find they are not like other gynaes/doctors who just wave the notion try again if this is gone.. They are really just keen to help us start a family.

Although I dont need any IVF but IVIG is another set of story.. I dont know if IVIG works but it gives me hope and I know it is expensive and trust me I have wrote to MOH to rant and ask why they do not subsidise IVIG treatment at all if it is essential to preserve our babies.. I am still waiting for a response and if any of you are have taken IVIG I also urge you to join in the rant to write to MOH for subsidy on it.

You dont have to have a blood issue to see the recurrent miscarriage clinic because it could stem from a lot of things and I for 1 do not have a blood issue but an antibody issue. My NK cells went crazy during pregnancy.

Dont give up! I frankly would if I have not been to NUH after 3 consecutive losses.

Hey Tub! GOod luck to u! Baby dusts all around!

Soul - Thanks for the well wishes. Am recuperating well at home and already out for short trips outside whenever hubby is available. Slow walks and lots of sitting down is my everyday thingy now.

Suyana - Yup my hub is also a teacher! Hehe.. We also have decided to get the normal bathtub instead of the foldable one. But havent buy yet. Prolly later on in the 8th month.

Viv4 - I already start to go out but one week only like 2 times and a lot of sitting down than walking. Walk about 1/2hr and then sit down somewhere for an hour. Then continue again. That's what Dr Chew advise me, can go out but sloowwwwllyyyy.. hehe... Am going to NUH tomorrow to start my Antenatal classes!

Hi ling, big congrats to u! Sorry I din reply to your pm cos I was going through a tough time. The ivig is certainly expensive. I will write to moh once I bfp but till now... I haven't seen any light yet at the end of the tunnel. Money down the drain again for me...

Seems like sure bfn cos I tested today with an early response kit and still nothing showed.

I came across this thread and wanted to share my rather long story with you. I too, went through a long and rocky road towards motherhood.

- Conceived through 1st cycle of Clomid but miscarried at 14weeks in Jun ‘08 due to PPROM. Cause of PPROM unknown
- Went to Charles Lim at Mt E and diagnosed with PCOS. Given metformin and went through 4 FSH cycles before conceiving again. Miscarried in Jun ‘09 at 24weeks again due to PPROM. Went to NUH A&E when waterbag broke.
- Continued to follow-up at NUH and went through a battery of tests (blood test, HSG, etc).
- Like the 1st miscarriage, the reason for 2nd miscarriage was not conclusive.
- Had depression after the 2 miscarriages and saw psychologist for over 1 year while undergoing fertility treatment.
- 6 months after 2nd miscarriage, decided to try again and was referred to CHR under Dr Anupriya sometime in Jan 2010.
- Quit job in Oct ’10. Finally decided I had enough of the rat race and wanted to focus on what really matters, i.e. getting pregnant
- Managed to conceive again after 4-5 cycles in end Oct 2010 (found out 2 weeks after I quit my job) through Clomid, FSH and IUI but ended up being an ectopic pregnancy. Miscarried after 6 weeks in Nov ’11.
- Started going to see TCM at the advice of friends.
- Took a short 2 month break at the advice of Dr Anu while seeing TCM. Given Chinese medication and acupuncture. (I was really focused and determined on achieving my ‘goal’. (My mindset was either I succeed or die in the process of trying.)
- Conceived on 14 Feb ’11, first try after the break.
- Hubby and I kept this pregnancy a secret from everyone, including family for the first 24weeks. Was prescribed with aspirin, Clexane (low molecular weight heparin LMWH) injections, duphaston, etc right from the start.
- Referred to see Dr Sheila Vasoo and she recommended IVIG. (from my blood test results, I have a borderline case of Thrombophilia and slightly elevated level of NK cells, but again, they are not conclusive)
- Started monthly IVIG in end Mar ’11. Went through 5 cycles in total until I reached the 3rd trimester. Each of the 4-hourly infusion costs $2.8k
- As mine considered a ‘high risk pregnancy’, I saw Dr Anu and had ultrasound scans every fortnight for the duration of the first trimester to check on the growing fetus and the condition of my cervix (after I passed the first trimester, I went for scans and check-ups every single week.. it was like a pilgrimage).
- Diagnosed with gestational diabetes and had to have insulin injections coupled with strict diet control.
- At 24weeks, the scans started showing that my cervix is shortening (incompetent cervix). Dr Anu ordered bed rest at home and a cervical cerclage was scheduled a week later on the 1st week of Aug.
- At 28weeks, started experiencing preterm contractions and went to NUH A&E.
- Spent close to 3weeks in the Delivery Suite hooked up to monitors to monitor the bb's heart rate and had Salbutamol infusion. It is a drug to control the contractions but it kept my heart pumping at a furious 115-120 beats per minute for the entire 3 weeks 24/7. Spent the entire time at the Delivery Suite lying on the bed (yup, pee/poo/eat/sleep) and hearing babies being born in the other rooms.
- The cervical stitch was removed by Prof Biswas at 31weeks and the drs. were all prepared that I’d go into spontaneous labour.
- Miraculously, the contractions stopped and I was sent home on orders of complete bed rest (except toilet privileges). Drs. were hoping that I’d make it till 34weeks.
- Another miracle happened and I made it to 37weeks 2 days (which is considered full term)
My very previous bb boy was born exactly a year to the day I quit my job. He weighed a very healthy 3.2kg (was expecting a small baby from the scans). He is almost 3 months old and every time I look at him, I still find it hard to believe he is mine.
I’d be eternally grateful to the Drs. who took care of me - Prof Biswas, Dr Sheila and most importantly, Dr Anu. Dr Anu took exceptional care of me both physically and emotionally cos she knew what I went through previously. Even the nurses were extremely nice to me.. especially the 2 nurses who did my IVIG (Staff Nurse Kang and Nurse Neo), Dr Sheila’s nurse, Rose and Dr Anu’s nurse, Alice. My experience with everyone I came into contact with at NUH during this journey is nothing short of outstanding and extremely pleasant despite the daily injections that my hubby had to administer for me.
Just before Christmas, hubby and I brought our nearly 2 month old baby back to NUH to say ‘thank you’ to all the drs. and nurses who at one point or other walked this journey with us. We gave cookies to all the drs. and nurses from CHR, Women’s Clinic, IVIG, Delivery Suite and Diabetes Clinic. My parting words to them were ‘I’ll see you next year’! Yup, I’m being very greedy but I am already looking forward to having another bb if I am blessed again. But of course hubby and I have to save up from scratch cos this journey burnt an enormous hole in our finances. No regrets though… our bb is priceless!
Wishing all of you success in your journey towards motherhood. Keep the faith and you will be rewarded with your bundle of joy one day.
I’d be more than happy to answer any questions that any of you may have

Shane - I was also given the Salbutamol when I had major bleeding 4 weeks ago due to low placenta. And yeah I also had the same side effect, my heart was pumping very fast at the same rate as you almost instantly. But I was monitored in the Delivery Suite for a day only after that transferred to normal ward since bleeding starting to stop and no more contractions. The things we do just to get our bundle of joys.

I hope I can carry my baby till at least 36 weeks also.

Shane, thank you for sharing yr story, u r a brave mama!

I am contemplating changing gynae, am under prof wong now. I would like to hv a dr who can take care of me throughout my pregnancy. My questions are:

1. Do u know if dr Anu does procedures such as hysteroscopy or laparoscopy for patients under her?

2. How is dr anu's consultation timing like?

3. Does she see patients in emerald clinic?

Prof does only iui/ivf treatment, the rest of the procedures he'll refer to other drs whom he said are specialists in those areas. But I always feel that It's best the dr in charge do all other procedures as well especially those investigative ones as they know their patient's condition best, and what they are actually looking out for.

I had m/c in Oct 11, prof wants me to do a hysteroscopy before embarking on 2nd fresh cycle. He referred me to a dr Fong. Heard some not so good comments about him, also, I prefer a female dr.

Congrats Noi, do take care

Tub don't be upset. Miracle can happen.

Shane, you really went thru a lot. It's a happy ending for you.
I gave birth last aug to a baby girl at Nuh too. Through ivf which I did in dec 2010.

**Hi Andreanie,

Congrats on your little bundle of joy that's still growing in your tummy! Try to talk to your baby and ask him/her to be good and stay put! My hubby talked to my bb every single nite for the 3 wks while we were in the Delivery Suite and asked him to 'tahan' longer. Once I reached 37wks, hubby told bb 'ok, anytime you are ready, you can come out'.. my waterbag broke the very next day!! LOL..

Do try to stick to bedrest as much as you can, esp at this stage and with your bleeding scare earlier on. I swear it really makes a difference. Also, bedrest means lying down flat or at 45degrees.. sitting is not considered cos the pressure/gravity is still on your cervix/tummy. This is what I learnt from the sonographer

Hehee.. yah, Salbutamol is my 'best friend' cos without it, my bb would most likely have been born preterm! In fact, all the drs and nurses have nicknamed my bb the 'Salbutamol Baby'!

** Ling, I totally agree with your rant!! Hubby and I were b*tching why couldn't we use our Medisave or why isn't IVIG subsidized!! Govt says birth rate is low, but hey, I don't see any help for people like us who are trying so hard to do our part! I'd love to try for a second child, but the cost of IVIG really scares me.

** Hi jamp_jamp,
Here are my answers to the ques you had:

1. Do u know if dr Anu does procedures such as hysteroscopy or laparoscopy for patients under her? - I don't think Dr Anu does those procedures, but I stand to be corrected. I believe each of the drs. specialize in a certain area, so if Prof referred you to Dr Fong, then he could be the one who specializes in those procedures. Eg. my cervical cerclage procedure was done by Prof Biswas (who is a wonderful and fatherly figure btw) but Dr Anu was there in the OT with us).

2. How is dr anu's consultation timing like? - When I was seeing her in 2011, her clinics were on Tue, Wed (new) and Fri (try to avoid Fri afternoons cos it is usually very crowded and the wait is longer than usual).

3. Does she see patients in emerald clinic? Yup, I see her at the Women's Clinic at Kent Ridge

If you are keen to change to a female dr, you certainly can consider Dr Anu. Hubby and I felt really comfortable with her and we trusted her totally for the entire conception (she did my IUIs) and pregnancy duration.

** Hey su_yana, Congrats on your little princess!! Yup, I am glad my story had a happy ending, that's why I decided to share it here to spur everyone.

A friend who had been trying to conceive for many years after m/c of her ivf twins shared this with me and I thought I'd share it with everyone here:

"Thoughts on Becoming a Mother"

"There are women that become mothers without effort, without thought, without patience or loss and though they are good mothers and love their children, I know that I will be better.
I will be better not because of genetics, or money or that I have read more books, but because I have struggled and toiled for this child. I have longed and waited. I have cried and prayed. I have endured and planned over and over again. Like most things in life, the people who truly have appreciation are those who have struggled to attain their dreams.
I will notice everything about my child. I will take time to watch my child sleep, explore and discover. I will marvel at this miracle every day for the rest of my life. I will be happy when I wake in the middle of the night to the sound of my child, knowing that I can comfort, hold and feed him and that I am not waking to take another temperature, pop another pill, take another shot or cry tears of a broken dream. My dream will be crying for me. I count myself lucky in this sense; that God has given me this insight, this special vision with which I will look upon my child that my friends will not see. Whether I parent a child I actually give birth to or a child that God leads me to, I will not be careless with my love. I will be a better mother for all that I have endured. I am a better wife, a better aunt, a better daughter, neighbor, friend and sister because I have known pain. I know disillusionment as I have been betrayed by my own body, I have been tried by fire and hell many never face, yet given time, I stood tall. I have prevailed. I have succeeded. I have won. So now, when others hurt around me, I do not run from their pain in order to save myself discomfort. I see it, mourn it, and join them in theirs. I listen. And even though I cannot make it better, I can make it less lonely. I have learned the immerse power of another hand holding tight to mine, of other eyes that moisten as they learn to accept the harsh truth and when life is beyond hard. I have learned a compassion that only comes with walking in those shoes. I have learned to appreciate life.
Yes I will be a wonderful mother."

Hi ladies, just saw my menses today, right after my blood test. Just a quick question, prof wrote down endometriosis In the er form's diagnosis. I was wondering if they could diagnose endo via er and when is the soonest I could do a lap? My last lap was in 2006. After lap, when can I do iui or Ivf?

I'm so demoralized.

Tub,

You can start to try the cycle after lap. My frd with SGH had a lap and Dr Loh say if my 3rd cycle try IVF but my friend was really determine and manage to get preggers on the 3rd cycle. She went for the IVF counselling to prepare herself and so apt was preggers

Dont be demoralized! You are in good care now.. If you need a listening ear do PM me =)

Shane, Yes the IVIG is a bane I totally agree.. what the heck was with the cost.. I urge you to write to MOH as well esp to prep for your next pregnancy. Nurse Kang/Neo and Rose are really over the top with their dedication. I so wish I can join your bandwagon and tell them I see them next year ... but my goodness the cash outfit is not for the faint hearted but I am bearing your words in mind it will be worth it.

Girls lets just gather our strength and hold the faith! All these effort will not be in vain! If otherwise we had at least had a good fight and did not look back with regret that we did not attempt.

Thanks ling. This process has taught me to treasure those around me. My hub told me not to let this incremental happiness ruin what I already hv. How true but how tough...

Gals, anyone knows if prof does lap? Or will he refer to another gynae? I may go back to my fertility gynae in Mt e and try iui with him after the lap. Alternatively, thinking of sf loh in Tmc also. Anyway lap and iui no subsidy...

Hi tub,

do u refer lap as laparoscopy?
if yes, laparoscopy can claim medisave and insurance as it is consider as a surgery

Hi jia xin, my insurance doesn't allow me to claim for lap because I stupidly declared that had endo a few yrs bk.
but nevertheless, still can use medisave. Any idea how much we can use? Problem is I don't know when I can do lap after Ivf.

wah this thread is good.. being a quiet reader since.. getting nervous now as my first IVF appt with prof wong is this wednesday. dont know what to expect

Tub,
why can claim? i also got it and did twice and i claim as hospitalization..

Shane, thanks for your sharing, it's encouraging. Thanks for answering my questions too.

I called CHR, nurse told me if I change to dr anu, she'll do the same thing - refer me to dr fong. Hubby didnt support the idea to change dr too, so looks like i have to stay put

Tub, prof doesnt do lap, just like what Shane said in her earlier post in reply to my questions. He will prob refer you to dr fong. If your mt e gynae is willing to do for you, you can ask him to do it. For me, my gynae told me she's not 'the best person' to do the hysteroscopy prof wants me to do as she felt the best person to do it is the fertility specialist him/herself. Too bad this doesnt happen in public hosp.

But for your case, perhaps you may want to do it in NUH since they have your history? Will lap be linked to any immuno issue?

Hi Ladies, I am planning to undergo IVF with Prof PC Wong @ NUH this march. Can anyone give me brief idea on the expenses and the waiting time with him.

Underwent IUI @ O & G yesterday and hoping for the best but the doc was not very hopeful as DH sperm count is really low. So want to move directly to IVF. We are working on cost part. Please help.

Hi siddhi, welcome to the thread. I did mine in June. It costs me S$ 9154 (excluding pre-ivf tests, insurance and embryo freezing).

Hi coolcool, thanks for your immediate response. from your previous post got to know u are expecting, many congratulations to you and best for luck for coming months. Which doc you went to? Do you have any feedback for Prof wong. Have met him once and found him straight forward.

Do you have any idea on the waiting tym in NUH for IVF?

Hi coolcool,

your 9 thousand plus include grants and mediasave?
I thought approx about 5K from pocket for the IVF procedure?

today is my first appt with Prof wong, dont know what to expect. Can some one share with me?

Hi Siddhi,

I am not expecting. I was pregnant in my first fresh cycle. But at 11 weeks, bb's heartbeat stopped. So had to do D&C. After 2-3 months, I tried my first FET (frozen embryo transfer) and it failed. So now I am preparing my body to have optimum condition for my next FET.
I was a subsidized patient when i did my fresh cycle. So most of the time Dr Anu took care of me. If she was not available, Dr Chew or Prof Wong took care. Then I upgraded to be a private patient for my FET and since then Prof Wong is my Dr. Yeah.. I find him straight forward too.

Jiaxin & Andreanie, 9000+ is before deducting medisave or grant.

Hi Shi Jia Xin, I called up NUH & tried to find on costing part. They advised it can range from 10K to 12K (before medisave & subsidy). This excludes pre IVF test & doctors consultation fees. I went to O & G as well and they advised somewhere around 18K and not eligible for subsidy also. As per my understanding the most expensive is the injections we take to active follicle....if you respond well with clomid the cost will be much lesser...

Cool cool, so sorry dear....keep up the hope. When are you planning your next cycle? How many of your eggs fertilized? and once we do FET i guess the cost will be much lesser?

Hi siddhi

thanks for the clarification...

O&G is consider private right?

I doubt i have subsidy, the most is the grant..

ok. let stay hopeful... let me update you later.. my appt is this noon

Shi Jia Xin, yes O & G is private. No subsidy, grant there but can use medisave. Dont get nervous. Prof Wong is straight forward person. Everything will be good...just keep the faith.

Shi Jia - Im not with Prof. I chose Dr Stephen Chew instead, Prof Wong's right hand man. Went straight to NUH Emerald Clinic for appt. No referrals. Private patient but Singaporean so still can get govt subsidy and use medisave.

Siddhi, I am now seeing TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) Dr and taking herbs. Now it's one month already. I will continue for one more month and then I will start my 2nd FET. And the protocol for my FET is long medicated protocol. So it takes about one and half month. So I think I can do the transfer the earliest in April. Yeah.. FET costs less than fresh. But for me it still costs 4000 cos some of the tests have to repeat and also bec of medication.
In my fresh cycle, 10 eggs were retrieved, 9 matured, 7 fertilized. Out of 7, 6 were good grades and one is satisfactory grade. Now I only left 3 embryos.

just to share my 1st failed cycle costs me around 10K without subsidy and excluding pre tests/blood test/ pap smear as I am not singaporean. went straight here no referrals too

coolcool, nice to hear from you. Wishing you luck.

Shi Jia, how was your visit? hope everything went well with u....

Hi hi

Ok sharing my experience for my first visit.
Prof Wong indeed a very straightforward n don't give any promises. My condition is unique, so he told me I may have implantation issue but will see when the days come..now is waiting for my menses to come for the blood test which I think u all call pre ivf test.
My hubby went for the blood already, and today is about 300 plus bucks which I am quite okay with it as when I was at mt E and glenE for blood test alone i sure pay more than 300 but at Nuh the blood test for both of us is less than.

So now praying menses to come !

Hi Shi Jia, What are the blood test you went through. Prof Wong advised me the following test:
1. Anti Mullerian Harmone - S$ 35 in NUH (was charged S$ 90 at O & G, O&G uses NUH Lab for all the test)
2. Chlamydia - S$ 70
3. Pre Conception Screen - S$ 157
4. HSG - S$ 300 (Can be done any day before Day 10 )
5. Fertility Infectious Screen - S$ 120 (for DH)

Are these test same what Prof Wong asked you. Will he start your IVF process once you menses start?

Morning siddhi

i think some of the tests are the same but i think i seem to have more

This is what i copies down from the invoice and slip:

* Insulin (fasting)
* Chlamydia trachomatis DNA
* Chlamydia trachomatis (PCR, qualitative) - <font color="blue">not sure are both the same,</font>
* Andrology, Semen Analysis
* Anti-Mullerian Hormone
* Fert Infectious Scr
* Thalassaemia Screen
* Amenorhoea
* Ultrasound Scan (Special)
* Fertility Infectious Screen

is it more than you?

Hi Shi Jia, we underwent the following test before meeting Prof Wong:
For me:
1. Thyroid Scren 1
2. Progesterone
3. Rubella IgG
4. Amenorhoea
For Hubby:
1. Conventional Semen Analysis
2. Glucose Tolerance Test
3. Male Harmone Profile

After this we were referred to Prof Wong as HD has a low sperm count. Guess the tests will differ according to the reports. When is ur next appointment?