IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Serene, should be ready anytime now. Lining?

Dadwannabe, yeah the jab Is really sore. It can be sore up to the bone. Must sayang her ok.
The size is ok. Week 6 now?

Dadwannabe, I think mine was 11.7mm at week 6 and I was worried sick bec can not see HB yet. But my hub kept reassured me that everything is well bec Prof never say anything other then 'Good'.
The HB was detected at week 7.

Serene- They not increasing yr dosage?
It is like so fast yr turn to ER liao. But when is my turn, its is like taking forever.
Vi-Ya, that is what I'm doing lor, whenever go toilet is to kan cheong see any sign or not.

Vi4: Yes. It is a bit annoying that Prof always says "good" and nothing more. We want to hear something more reassuring, right?

Blue: Not only we saw the sac, but also NUH printed a photo for us. They gave us a small album to collect all U/S photos. But we are not completely happy yet because we were hoping to see two sacs this morning.

I must agree Prof does not say much.
He's a man of very few words.
However, if you do have anything just ask.
He is actually willing to explain in detail.
I think he's style is, 'if u ask,I'll talk. If not I keep
quiet '..

blue, yup. He increased my dosage to 300iu for 3 days b4 i see him on Sat. Mi in short protocol, tats y faster. Dun worry. Time flies. Ur turn will come veri fast.

vi4n, my lining is 9mm. As my follicles grow abit unevenly, think er will b next Tues or Wed. Hav to see my Sat scan.

dadwannabe, congrats on seeing the sac. 2weeks later can hear heartbeat.

Serene, ok the lining Still need to have some catching up to do.

Dadwannabe, hm try to feel happier when see the sac or baby ok ;) I know you expect twin but singleton also lesser complication.

I agree Prof just say "good, good" and then finish already. tomorrow will be my next BT and US. he decreased my dosage to 75 and 37.5. hoping I dont develop OHSS will update u.

Vi4n- I'm at D21 but not on any med yet. Saw Prof Ng today and he recommend me to do modified natural cycle ( I think same as Pink?). He said worry my E2 will trigger my endo and he felt that since my AMH is good, can go for quality egg rather than quantity. I was initially hoping to start D21 suppression jab today. He said I can oso do long protocol if I want. In the end, I decided to heed his professional advise on the modified natural. basically no need suppression, just take clomid on day 2-6 then gonal f low dose (150) to gently stimulate FSH to prevent egg die off. Something like that if I interpret correctly.

Pink- how did ur OR go? R u supposed to hv transfer on Fri? Today many many patients at clinic and I heard the nurse talked abt one on Fri.

BTW one sister here asked abt Prof Ng clinic time previously. The nurse mentioned Prof now sees AM only and some PM at Novena. U may want to check.

Mel, that protocol sound better ;) because it's shorter.
Anyway u choose this dr so better to trust him n follow his advice

So what's next for you?

One more thing to share. Prof Ng said one may have many many follicles but generally, follicles with eggs is usually not very high, single digit. So I guess perhaps no need to over-eat egg whites during stimu stage??

Vi4n,
u r right. Since I chose to go to him I have to trust him to know what's best. It's a bet. In this protocol very likely got nothing to freeze for FET but touchwood!  Hopefully succeed and get a healthy baby still next time. Haha.
It's a bet. But he said he has this patient on this protocol yielded 7 follicles and all 7 with eggs. This protocol norm is 2-3 follicles only. That's why he say quality rather than quantity. If lucky, can be like that girl got more follicles.

Good thing is, this protocol is really short and I guess it's less 'damaging' t our bodies bah since only involved clonus and low dose gonal f and one time dunno what to delay egg release or something. It's not something NUH gives, at least no my previous time so I can't rem the drug name.

So just wait for Day 1 then call to make appt for Day 6 (requires medi) and jab a few days then OR liao. V fast. But I forgot to ask cost. I rem Pink said hers 12K. Considering so little med and min follow up U/S I wonder where the costs go to? Maybe the lab, hospital and Dr's fees. Anyway if can succeed, no amt of $ is considered ex.

Hi everyone! Sorry for the late update!

I confirm going for ER this Saturday. Today my biggest follie is 19mm on the right side and 16.5mm on left side. This time there's more follies on the right than on the left! So funny right? Hehehee.. anyway today will be the last dose of Gonal F. Still maintaining at 225. Have to go back tomorrow to CHR for another scan and then going to explain to me abt the ER.

Pink - I guess you're resting now. Hope everything went well for you today.

Dadwannabe - Singleton or twins, I guess at this point it doesn't really matter much. The fact that your wife is already pregnant is such a blessing that you guys have to treasure from this moment on. Do encourage her and pamper her ok!

I'm sure ure gonna be a great dad!

Andreanie - Take these couple of days to rest well to be in top form for ur Sat oocyte removal. Hope you have many good follicles with eggs and 100% fertilization rate! 

Andreanie- take care & get ready for yr ER.
Mel- hope tis protocol goes well for u too.
I'm at tcm now doing accupuncture, hope I get to zz soundly tonight

Mel, the egg white is more for prevention for OHSS.

Andreanie, exciting now hoh... Take these few days to do whatever u wanna do or eat first with your hub because after this weekend you will need to watch what you can eat or do for so many more months to come cOnsidering you will breastfeed and etc

hello, can i join? i din know there is an NUH thread.. if know, i wld join NUH already...nearer my home actually. i tot only KKH do this program only.

mej : what is good AMH? mine is 97 like so high. too high means no good right? PCOS

Hi mum wannabe - NUH range is >=19.8 pmol/L is considered Gd ovarian reserve. But I have read somewhere that there's a 'guideline' for diff age range. 97 so high?? Same measurement pmol/L? Too high from what I know is PCOS.

Vi4n - I see. I thought I read somewhere some sistas recomm take egg whites as high albumin for more follicles/eggs. So now we know no need take more :)

Blue - thanks  I do hope so. Let's see how my follicles go to really know... Keep my fingers crossed. I hope ur AF come soon and happy acupuncturingand a gd nite sleep.

Mel, that time I know is for the protein intake. Same as taking Ensure milk.

Mumwannabe, so u are with KKH now?

Mel, not sure for the fresh. But for FET, my hub needs to do blood test but not SA test. I asked Prof what's the connection when no involvement from hub at all for the FET. He also doesn't know but it is govt or hospital procedure.
Waste of $$$

Vi4n, I think hubby BT was for hepatitis or HIV testing if I rem correctly. Yah but maybe to safeguard the fetus? I think in private no such BT cos I was not asked to do any at all. SA test was I asked Dr to do cos I thought maybe good to know since hubby's last test was >1 yr ago. But now I think think, since it's ivf, good or no good also like that. Even if good will also wan to have ICSI mah right? Cos need to take at least AM leave for hubby cos must bring in specimen in person.

hi ladies, do u hav discharge which is veri long and stretchable like e discharge u will get when u r ovulating soon during ur Stim stage? I m wondering whether i will be ovulating soon. But should not b coz i m in cetrotide jab which suppose to suppress ovulation. I m feeling bloated since tis morning. Hopefully tats the sypmtoms tat my follicles are growing.

Vi4n, u started FET on 10th Jul so how's progress? How many embbies u froze fm ur fresh? I'm a little confused. U wrote on 13 July about HB. R u already a mummy and this FET is to try for another?

hi everyone, just started my cetrotide jab until sat with gonal-f. will be seeing prof again or sat. just wanna ask your opinion re assisted reproduction insurance, my hubby and I are both on work permits here in SG (foreigner status) and I am not sure if I am going to deliver here in case IVF is successful. nurse told me to decide and I need to pay premium depending on number of embryo transferred. my question is it reimbursible if ever I decide to deliver in my home country? If IVF failed, will the insurance be carried over on your next IVF or will it be terminated? Quite confused because it says 2 embryo cost like $300 and if 3 almost $1,000. Thanks for your insights

@ serene: yes I do have sticky discharge discharge with cramping on my tummy on my 1st few days of jab gonal-f.I think it is normal as gonal f stimulates the follicles

Hi goodgrl, The insurance is for ONE time only. That means, touchwood, if unsuccessful, need to pay again; it's for each time u put in embryo/s. The other qns, sorry I dunno, maybe other sistas may know.

Vi4n, I think the blood test has got to do with HIV testing if not wrong.
Well I find it funny too y need to do that when you are doing frozen cycle.

Hi sistas, saw Prof this morning, will start cycle in Aug. May I know what I shld take note in regards to diet to prep the body?

Vi, so thotful of you to come up with the name list :>

He he suddenly so many entries...

Mel, yes this is my try for a second child ;) my girl is 1yrs old now. Photo in the above archived.
Now jus taking mercilon, 5th day. Doing medicated FET.

For fresh cycle will need to do SA because ICSI is optional.

Blood test is needed because the government wants to know how many people are infected with HIV. It has nothing to do with the IVF. BT also includes Syphilis, Hepatitis B, C and HIV. This test for hubby is only required in public hospitals.

Sperm test is only valid for 1 year. If you have the test done in other hospital, NUH also accepts it.

Serene,
I remember will have discharge here and there.

Goodgrl, The insurance is for the need if you or baby have complication and need to stay in the hospital (NICU) after delivery.
So I don't know if it is not a successful attempt will it consider void? refund? can you check further with CHR?

mumwannabe, KKH def is longer wait among all the hospital. NUH i think 1 month.

Jamp, keep your womb warm by taking those chicken essense, try not to take cold drink very often, eat first born eggs, drink ensure on 2nd stage, some take brazil nuts as well, drink more warm water. but most important is relax...

This thread is so active now that I had trouble following catching up the posts. Am now staying at the hotel with DH so no internet access in room, have to go to the business centre.

My OR was smooth yesterday, no pain at all, only felt crampy whole of yesterday. Retrieved 3 follicles and Prof just called me to update that all 3 are mature and fertilized, hurray! This cyle yieled me 3 times more eggs than my first cycle. I am going for Day2 transfer tomorrow and can only put back 2 embryos coz it's govt policy that women under 37 can
only put back max 2 embryos. Will update after my ET.

Mel, you are on the same protocol as me, but the med is different. I use Letrozole as Clomid will give me migraine. I'm on Menopur instead of Gonal F. Good luck to your cycle and may you grow as many as 7 good eggs like the patient Prof
Ng mentioned. The major cost goes to OR and ET, the package price for modified cycle is 7.2k to be prepaid before OR. Another 4k is for BT/US and Meds. I am happy with the result so far altho it is more exp than NUH.

Serene, all the best to you too.

Su -> in third trisemester.
Coolcool -> in first trisemester.
Dadwannabe's wife -> in first trisemester
Pink -> ER on 13 July
Andreanie -> ER on 16 July
Serene -> ER next week?
Goodgrl -> ER anytime this week?
Mel -> D21 of stimulation??
vi4n -> medicated FET started 10 July.
Bluenosebear -> waiting for AF
Jamp -> start with Aug AF
Mumwannabe -> status?

Serene, I also have the egg white like discharge too 2 days before my OR, it's a sign that you are ovulating soon. Altho I only have 3 follies, i also feel very bloated few days before OR. Don't worry, that's normal.

I am continuing to take Blackmores Conceive Well, Folic acid and Vitamin D. What else should I eat / avoid after ET? Any advice?

Pink, congrats... =)
Wish you all the best with your embbies ok..
Day2 transfer is very early hoh. normally KKH i think is Day3. NUH will go longer up to Day5. I was Day6. But mommy's womb is the best place for embbies to grow.

Why are you in the hotel anyway? =) enjoying yourself?
btw, no too hot water to bath or soak yourself after transfer ok.
Just use normal luke warm water to shower.

Pink.. if you already take Conceive Well, don't need to take folic acid separately, or it will be overdosage.
Avoid cold drink. drink more warm water.

Yup, he would do day 2 transfer for people with few eggs like me as he thinks the womb is a better place to grow the embryos.

I stay in hotel as DH is back on a business trip and the hotel is paid for by the company. We live in HK currently and I fly back specially for IVF. Thanks for the advice, i will guai guai stay on bed and watch my Korean drama after ET. As for cold drinks, I stopped taking it completely like 6 mths ago as advised by TCM dr.

goodgrl: I think the insurance only covers delivery in Singapore. Also remember that you can only buy the insurance before your ET. I and my wife wanted to buy the insurance after confirmed BFP but it was too late.

Dadwannabe, so you have no insurance coverage? if using govt grant is a must. So in a way if really you are having a singleton, it will be better. he he.. i'm just trying to help you look positive way. =)

Btw, Dadwannabe and Mumwannabe, no relation ah? =)

Vi4n: You are right. we have no insurance. In fact, when my wife was tested BFP, we were scared that if it turns out to be a triplet, then we will go bankrupt immediately. That is why we rushed to buy the insurance, but declined. Like you said, singleton is good for us too.

Mumwannabe is not my wife la. My wife doesn't read this thread. Maybe I should change my name to Dad-to-be. :D

Pink: Congratulation that you got three fertilized eggs. You must be very excited. I feel so happy for you.

Hi, I called great eastern insurance and yes if u decide to deliver here insurance is a must because of a risk of multiple pregnancy resulting to premature babies. You can buy the insurance before the ET and if u get pregnant and decide to deliver abroad they can reimburse the premium.

Dadwannabe -> dadsoontobein9months. ha ha..

Yes the cost of NICU is not cheap. Plus singleton the baby has less chance to have complication. Just keep on praying for healthy baby/babies ok. =)

Hey Pink, GREAT news!, Yah u are 300% under Prof Ng leh! I wish you have a smooth and fantabulous ET on Fri and your wish WILL come true!!