IVF at NUH--feedback pls

hi everyone!

quick update from me..
today i went for BT and US. My follies now which are at their largest of 7-8mm is about 4 follies on each side and many many small tiny follies on both ovaries. Dr Chew said the 8-9 bigger follies still growing slowwwly, so today up my dosage again to 225 for 2 nights. Let's see if this Friday, those follies will eventually wake up from their sleep! Hhehehe... My E2 on the other hand is also rising slowly. Told Dr that yesterday i felt the drumming sensation, he said good means my follies are starting to wake up! Lol! I told DH, my follies like on snooze button. Alarm went off, they keep on pressing Snooze! Hehehe...

Dadwannabe - What does that Chinese character means? I can't read chinese cos I am not Chinese hehehhee... wo she malai-ren! :D
hope your wife is well and everything is ok!

Serene - Yeah! Hello cycle buddy!!!

Blue - Glad to hear that your AMH level is 25!

andreanie: Chinese believe 6 is a very lucky number. That sentence means that if you get double 6, you will be extremely lucky.

Even with a dosage of 225, it is quite fuel efficient. I wish your smaller follies will catch up with the bigger ones soon. You may drink concentrated chicken soup to help your follies grow. Prof Wang said only original chicken soup without adding chinese medicines are allowed. FYI

blue - oh didnt knw i can start eating eggs already! will ask my mum to get me those kampung eggs at the market or any eggs is fine? my mum said those kampung eggs are better cos no chemicals etc.

dadwannabe- oooh! Now i knw! hehehe.... but today doc said i have 5 on left and 4 on right. hope the rest will grow soon!
instead of concentrated chicken soup, can i eat chicken essence instead?

Blue -Happy for you that your AMH results is within good range : ) Did Prof or CHR explain why the first results was so off?

Cool - Congrats on the BB heartbeat. Stay positive and relaxed!

andreanie: My wife also drank "chicken essence" 1 bottle a day during stimulation stage. I forgot how to say "chicken essence" in English that is why I said "concentrated chicken soup". 5 and 4 are the leading follies, the rest will catch up soon. Don't worry.

Blue, great that your bt is now in the better range

Cool, it's cool to see two sacs.
keep yourself relax n definitely you are eager to see you babies in two weeks time.
I was at Chr clinic last Monday afternoon to pay for my frozen embryo. Was also there to have my medical appt.

Good luck ladies n have a nice day..

Blue, fuzzy, Su_yana, thanks.
Blue - happy to hear your previous AMH result is wrong one. You must be relieved now. Jiayo Jiayo..
Su_yana - You are a few weeks away for delivery. How are you now? Comfortable? You renewed for your frozen embryo? How much eh.. I have to pay 500+ for 5 embryos. Just wondering if they charge by no of embryos frozen.
Have a nice day!

Dadwannabe - Ohh ok! So it is chicken essence after all! haha.. ok will get it also!

Suyana - congratulations on your pregnancy! hmm i was at CHR on Monday afternoon also, to exchange my gonalf box. Are you a malay lady? Cos when i came there's one lady sitting down and then the CHR nurse bring her down to the ruby clinic. Heh.
If its u, *waves!*

Coolcool, I only have one. That was my last yr cycle. So decide to just renew. It's $500+ too. It's the same amt regardless the number of embryos I think.

Andreanie, yes I was the one at Chr with a crampy face.. Hehe. U were with a man and a lady rite?? Hehe.. Small world. So you started your cylce?

I had contraction like pain on Monday n thank goodness I had my appt that day. Given medication n now much better.

Suyana - Ahhhh!!! Nice to meet u!
Yup, I was with my hub and my mum hehe.. went down already in the morning but have to change my dosage so have to come back in the afternoon. Hehe.. Yup yup, im on day 8th of my Gonal-F now.

Oh dear, hope everything is fine now for you. When are you due?

hi everyone thanks for the encouragement. today (7th) is the 1st day of my menses and I called CHR. tom they will scan me but prof wong is not around so another dr will do that. also the nurse told me to bring my hubby for waiver signing and 1st injection. quite nervous now. will update again tomorrow. Thanks

hi there I am just curious what are some of your vitamin supplements during and before the IVF process. I am taking vit E, C, EPO and folic acid. my hubby fish oil, vit C & E.

Andreanie, so your ER will be done soon

feel so excited for you.. Hehe.

I'm due next mth 26. See how things go. Gynae said it can be earlier. Anyway i'm going to be there again next Monday but in the afternoon. will be at emerald clinic.
Are you with prof wong?

Su-take care, now third Tri sometimes might have like 'false labour pain' but it should not be consistant.
Wah cool, U still have 5 frozen embryos, so envy le....hehe
fuzzy-I did not ask CHR, as I too happy & relieve to hear my normal result.
Sounds as if is BFP news lor. haha
I was thinking maybe is fated that I not suppose to do this month, so let it be ba.
I'm so busy this month, so also relieve that I going to start next month only.
Maybe will ask Prof when I get to see him.

Hi May, not sure EPO & Vit E can still continue for yrself. Maybe U wan to ask Prof tomorrow when he do the scan?
So U are short protocol, since U are jabbing tomorrow?

@bluenosebear ok will ask dr tom for vitamins.

i read that some of you took essence of chicken or egg whites (both will be my 1st time to try if ever)
how do you take essence of chicken and egg whites should be taken raw or cooked/fried. how many times a day

Suyana - Nope, Im with Dr Stephen Chew.

Oh you are due soon! Can't wait! girl or boy?

May - I think i prefer to eat hard boiled egg whites. Not sure how many times a day, I think 4 times? Ladies, pls enlighten me also!

It's a girl.
Yeah false contraction but that's enuf to make me puke my food. I was quite weak to even walk.

Su- sayang sayang, tahan abit more & u get to see yr beautiful princess.
May & Andreanie- don need raw but soft boil kind, becos need to up intake to 6-8 so easier to take & won't feel so full compare to hard boil

May: Drink chicken essence 1 bottle a day will help. egg white cannot eat raw because it will remove vitamin K from your body. Boiled egg white should be your best option.

Ladies, do u feel your body heaty while on stims?
Cos I'm feeling heaty now. Can I drink Eno or eat paracetamol?

Andreanie, you can take normal paracetamol. Not those extra panadol.
It is normal to feel heaty. Drink lots of water.

Su - Now i feel a little bit bloated. Can i drink Eno or something?
So its normal to feel heaty ey? Ok thats a relieved!

Andreanie, it's normal to feel heaty during stimms, my TCM dr advised taking at least 2l of water a day. I always feel very flushed when I'm on the injections, so I don't dare to take chicken essence as it might be too heaty for me.

Blue, glad to know that your AMH is within normal range, get ready to cheong the next month

Serene, how are you?

Quick update on my side: I have 3 follicles today (think they are 8, 10, 12mm & lining 8mm) and is given green light to proceed with my modified short protocol as the nurse called it. Yeah, seems like this approach is better for me, just hope there are eggs in those follies! E2 is 309 and LH is 5.2 so they want me to go back on Sat for BT and to collect Cetrotide.

Blue - Ha ha ... I know what you mean as in it's such good news that it overwhelmed everything else. Take the opportunity this month to get your body better prepared for the new cycle : )

Su - So nice of you to still come in regularly to encourage us and share tips. All the best for the last trimester and wish you a smooth delivery!

hi pink, i m fine but stressful @ work due to work schedule since i know i will b on 19days hl in 2 weeks time. Must finish some of my tasks b4 i go on hl. Today will b my 3rd day of gonalf. going for u/s n bt tomorrow. Hopefully will hav more follicles growing. My 1st scan on Wed show 9 baby follicles. This round we r cycle buddies again : ) For ur moditified short protocol, r u taking any stimulation jab? Speaking of Cetrotide jab, there r more steps to prepare the Cetrotide jab as it come in powder form. u hav to mix it wif the distilled water provided. Remember my 1st jab, i spent 15mins mixing n transferring back to the sypringe. think i will b starting cetrotide next week also. Btw, did u continue ur accupuncture? I did not go tis time round.

Hi May, are u in short protocol too since u start jabbing in ur 2nd days of af?

hi sistas, anyone know wat kind of food/supplement to take to increase blood circulation to the ovaries n uterus?

hi sisters, I just came from NUH and Dr Chew was the one who took my US and I had my BT and 1st jab of Gonal F 112.5 for 4 days. will be coming back on tues for US and bt. what is AMH? why didnt the nurse or dr chew informed me that?

Su, take lots of care during this period and Have a smooth delivery next mth.

Serene, yeah, we are cycle buddies again and hope for a BFP together too!
I am only taking Menopur from D6 in addition to growth hormone from D1. It is more like a natural cycle so they are not looking at a high no. of eggs, but aim to have quality eggs retrieved. I will be very happy if they can retrieve 2 mature eggs this time round. I think Cetrotide is similar to Menopur, I also have to mix the powder with the solvent for injection. Menopur stings so I don't like it, Gonal F is better, easy to handle and no stinging.
9 follies is a good start, hope they grow well. I can imagine you must have a lot of work to finish up, try to ask your husband to help with the housework so it can take some stress off you.
This time I did not go for acupuncture too, it's very far from my place and my Dr also doesn't advocate it. Let's compare and see if there is any difference from our first cycle.

May, AMH is a blood test of your ovarian reserve and is an indication of how your ovaries will react to stimulation drugs. They should have tested for it among other preconception tests that you took. Check and see if they have anti-mullerian hormone among your BT results? However, I am not sure if they do the test for everyone or only those with medical history and who are older. Perhaps you are still young and have no issues, so they don't test it? in any case, you can always call and check with CHR.

Fuzzycat, it's my pleasure to be here

wow, seems many of you are doing your cycle now.

All the best ladies.

Pink, sound like the progress is good.
Wish you all the best..

Serene, wish you all the best too.

Will be waiting for the good news from both of you. =)

Serene, I took Dome. but once 2nd step, stop already.
I took Dome, chicken essense and the first born egg.

Pink & Serene great that both of yr progress is good.
So Pink now is considered start short protocol already? Like wat Serene ask any stimulation drug for u?
Ya I will cheong next mth,

Blue, yes it's a modified short approach for low responders. The stimulation drug is menopur, not Gonal F or Puregon. Seems like it's not a common drug used, just hope it works for me.

Pink - Oh ok, i also seldom drink water. Guess its time i should start drinking water! No wonder body heaty.. :S

Update from me - Yesterday went for BT and US. Biggest is 10.5mm. Dr Chew said my eggs special.. growing slowly but surely on the 225. So now maintain 225 for the next 3 days and will come back again on Monday. Seems like my egg retrieval would either be end of this week or early next week cos likely they have to prolong my GonalF a bit longer than usual.

Have a great weekend everyone!

i started taking new moon essence of chicken not bad as I imagined! how long should I take this? (throughout the cycle or coninuously) Thanks

blue - yup yup now taking hard boiled egg whites, starting at 2 per day. Wanted to gag already hahahaha.... cannot imagine must take more in the next few days!

hi ladies, update on my scan yesterday. 9 visible follicles size at 8-9mm. going to see prof on mon again. hopefully more follicles appear n they continue to grow bigger.

hi vi4n, thanks for e well wishes. hope everything will go smoothly for me n bfp tis round. u will b doing fet in next cycle right? all e best to u too

hi blue, glad to know ur amh level is good. tis cycle u try naturally. if bfp dun need to cheong next cycle

hi may, since ur dosage is quite low112.5iu,most likely ur amh level is good. dun worry.

hi su yana, is great to hav u here to give us support
by e way, for e ivf u had done, all in long protocol? no changing of protocol?

Serene- how I wish.
8-9 follicles sounds good, they will grow swee swee together till ER.
Did u take immunocal & egg whites this round?

Hi Serene,
all my 3 attempts are long protocol.
My first cycle, I bfp but had a miscarriage at week 7.
So when I did my 2nd fresh, I asked prof if
he is going to make any changes. He said no since
my first worked well for me.
Only diff was the dosage for gonalf.
My third attempt, my gonalf was higher than first 2.

I've received my hospital bill but I am quite comfused about the bill. They deducted only 3200+ from my medisave account directly. The medication and the rest I paid for myself since I don't get goverment grant. So I just need to wait for the cheque (which is 6000-3200), right? Pls enlighten me if you have received the hospital bil already. Thanks.

Cool,
yeah ask CHR nurse to interpret for u. But somehow, if you need to make any payment, that should have been done before ET. Any access they will send u by cheque.
BTW, why did they deduct only 3200 from your medisave?

Hi Serene,
To answer your qsn on how to improve blood circulation to the pelvic region, try these simple yoga postures http://www.squidoo.com/fertility-problems-and-yoga. I am practicing yoga every few days and I feel good. Think I will stop after my ET.

Sistas here, anyone can recommend some good Korean dramas to buy? I want to get some books and DVDs so I won't be bored during 2ww.

Ladies, anyone experienced heavy lower abdomen while on stims and feels like period cramping? Also a lot of cervical mucus? I'm experiencing them all now.

It is cos of follies growing?