IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

min81, now cd 6.. can anyone advise if taking 75iu everyday then go scan at cd 9, isit ok mah? tot some docs will closely mointor.. i juz dun wanna miss the ship again...

Lakigal, most ppl will feel this way including me.. its not ur fault... u will get stronger as time passes.. Jy!

BabySteps, why not call up the clinic n ask? I have not induce my menses before... so couldn't help much....

Laki, it is very normal to feel this way. After all we are all human and wanting to get pregnant is the most natural thing in the world and as old as time. Don't beat yourself up about it and I know it sounds very cliche (and we always say it) but it is important that you remain positive. This is because you have already done all that you can. You take care of your body and you have access to the best medical assistance available today. There is nothing more we can do except to have positive attitude about it eventhough it can get so difficult sometimes.

For me, I went through the roller coaster just like you and every sister here. Feeling blue and sometimes cry when my AF is here and wonder if I will ever get pregnant. But after more than 1 year, I realised that getting pregnant is sometimes comes down to probability. And this attitude helped me pass my second year of ttc easier. Doctor gave me a 15% success for IUI and 30% success for IVF. With that kind of chances, we won't even bet on it in a casino!! But because we want to make sure we have tried our best, we just kept trying and trying until we strike. Having said that, my husband and I also set a limit to how many times we wanted to try because we also want to be happy and move on with our lives and not get caught up in this.

Don't overanalyse too much about what happened after your ET or if you could have done more. You and I know that you have already done your best. So once you are ready, try again. When I was doing IVF, my doctor actually said there is no need to prepare for IVF because it is all mental and in the mind. (I was kiasu and did acupuncture.)

Hope this helps a little bit and put your mind in perspective. Meanwhile, do try to enjoy the year end and start the new year afresh and stronger!! Jia you!

Dian tang, lil ponyo,

Thank you gals!!
You know, i think my hubby and i window shop at places like mothercare and kiddypalace more than mummies-to-be.. Keke.. We're staying positive that we will have our bb one day.. If we fail feb ivf, i know i'll definitely cry, but i also know i'll pick myself up after that.. Will just try our best

bb,

So sorry, can't help you with that as i've never done so-iui.. But ishould think CD9 sounds fine.. Usually, iui is done from CD14 onwards right?

Laki gal,

Hugs.. It's normal to be sad, we're human.. We tend to question ourselves a lot and wonder what we did wrong but really, sometimes there're really no answers.. You've already done your best, no self-blame k.. Let's work hard together
If you need someone to chit chat with, can just pm me k, i can be very crappy.. Keke

Min, laki, Dian tang, Lil ponyo: I'm here!!!! Silently reading this thread too but not often though.. Never participate in the new thread coz don't feel a sense of belonging there.. And too many people.. Can't remember their details well.
I miss you girls so much.

Min: all the best to these few months of trying naturally! Just stay relax and happy while waiting for the ivf in feb.. I think our body will be in better shape when we are happy.

Laki: sorry to hear about the fet.. *Hugs* You did nothing wrong at all.. Maybe is just not the right timing.. Take this time to bu your body and you will succeed the next time! Be positive! Jiayou!!

Morning ladies, thks for all d encouragement. I will wait till my post review w doc then will c wat she say. However now was only worried bout my embryos whether r they strong enough to withstand d thaw coz hving 1st x n only 1 is strong enough for ET. Just saw many ladies bfp in d other thread n cant help feeling envy. Dont worry I b fine.

Saralyn: How are you doing? How many weeks are u in now? It is not easy to have twins ya.

Laki gal: dun worry abt your embroys as i believe that they will be well taken care by the staffs in the lab. now imp thing for urself and DH is to eat well and stay happy.

min81: yes, i like ur spirit! sometimes i will have negative feelings too. But come to thnk of it, it is thru this program that made our relationship with our Dh stronger and we will treasure each other more.

OKay ladies, group hug!!!!! ha ha! We are like the original gang

Min81 and Laki, don't worry so much okay? Believe it will happen and it will happen! I am very confident of it!

Min81, last time, my DH and I actually made it a point to avoid baby stores so you and your husband are a lot more positive and have better attitude than us!!! Enjoy all your BD sessions :p and may you strike naturally.

Laki, you too. Enjoy the time with your husband and may you strike naturally too while waiting for FET. Don't worry about your snow babies. They are fine and you will only want the strong ones anyway. Think of the thawing process as a check to separate out the best ones for ET.

Saralyn, how are you? Hope you are feeling better and enjoying the process. I'm better but some days still no good.

dian tang, lil ponyo: Am doing good. Think my ms is gone.. Tummy getting bigger and very hard to breathe if I finished my dinner.. Other than that, I am enjoying my day now. =) Hope you 2 are doing well too..

Laki gal: At least you know the embryos which survived the thawing process are the best and strong. I'm sure you will succeed in the next round. Or rather, like what lil ponyo, may you strike naturally. I read on the IVF thread it seems like afew ladies got their bfp naturally after their fresh. So there is a chance! Jiayou k. Don't give up pursuing our dream of having our own little one.

Min: I used to visit mothercare too.. But it was to buy gifts for friend. I was so depressing everytime I was shopping for baby clothes for other people and not once.. At least, you and your husband are so positive to go in and look around. Do a bit of research now so you will know what you want to get later. Heehee.. Jiayou k!!!

bb: I actually went for scan on CD 6 after finishing 5 days of clomid. Went to see doc and scan and then take the jab.. then every few days will go back for scan. Do you ovulate very early on normal cycle? If yes, maybe you would like to go back abit earlier to scan so that you won't miss the ship..

Baby steps: I used to take the medicine to induce my period for 14 days.. I took it coz I was having abnormal spotting everyday during my cycle so I went to see my gynea and he gave me some pills to take for 14 days.. After finishing them, the period should be here in afew days. But once I stopped them, i started to spot like what you described for afew days before my period came in full force. It was quite alot and was very brownish and quite thick texture.

Group hug *hug* ha ha
Saralyn: I usu also feel breathless especially after dinner too. Maybe u can keep to smaller meals . I ate small portion and am feel full . Beside breathless, I also feel bloated and something heavy at the pelvis area .

Hi dian tang, min81, saralyn, lil ponyo,

It is very touching and encouraging for all of you gals to be around here to give us advices and show us support. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

For sistas who have BFP-ed,
Congrats to you and enjoy your motherhood!

For sistas who are trying,
Keep on trying, have faith and we will be 'promoted' soon!

Saralyn,

Thanks for the good wishes! I'll continue to stay happy and work hard
Glad to know that your ms is gone now and you're feeling good

Dian tang,

Thanks! I realise it gets easier to overcome negativity as time passes.. I hope it means i'm getting stronger

Lil ponyo, saralyn,

I've always loved looking at baby stuff.. Just can't resist
If ivf doesn't work for us, it'll still be useful info for me cos i will plan to adopt.. My hubby is just concerned whether we'll be able to afford it after going thru 3 ivf cycles.. I'll just work hard to earn enough

Laki gal,

Replied to ur pm

Hi gals, have any of you heard of Dr Fong from Gleneagles? Any reviews on him? I last visited him in Jul and was on medication to regulate my menses. AF is okay now but no baby dust yet (being TTC for 2 years le)... DH and I decided to go for IUI so now considering if to go back to Dr Fong or seek another doc's review...

Thanks, Twinklestars. All the best and baby dusts to you too!

Bubblyreddy, are you refering to Dr L C Foong at Gleneagles? If so, he is my doctor and I find very super super wonderful. Patient and takes time answering all my questions. Very reassuring and we always feel very positive after seeing him. And I got my BFP through ivf with him.

Min81, to me $ can always earn back so as long as you are comfortable, just go for whatever makes you and DH happy! If it really has to come to adoption, I also think it is great. My DH and I also considered adoption last time. I am actually adopted and contrary to what we see in movies (where the adopted kid has this anger & resentment), I felt even more love and appreciation for my parents after I found out that I was adopted when I was in my mid 20s. I felt even more blessed having been given the opportunity, education and love that they gave me.

Saralyn, I'm very big now (a lot bigger than I'm supposed to). Every one I meet will make comments about my tummy. Now that I'm pregnant I realised how EVERYONE has comment and advice for me, even taxi uncles and cleaning aunties! Argh. I still have a bit of ms. Can't wait for it to be completely gone so I can do more.

Hi sisters,

Can i check with you girls..
First day of menses is when there is a steady flow of red blood right?
Cos im having semi red and brown blood but not flowing, just there when i wipe.. It is not my first day right?

Hi everyone else.. Congrats to the ones who have graduated and thanks for continuing to give valuable advise..
To the rest of ud, jiayou!

(Side note: Have been preoccupied with the Yuki and Alvin saga.. Did u girls read abt it? Sigh.. Feel so upset for her..)

Ladies, I will continue to jy n now juz trying to b more positive. Thks for everything

baby step: yup it is not considered ur 1st day. Normally 1st day will be full flow. Paisei wat bout d yuki and alvin? Know nothing bout it.

Hi Lil ponyo, nope, its Dr Fong Chuan Wee. I just made an appt with Dr Charles Lim for tmr... I hope baby dust is near with Dr Charles. *crossed fingers and pray hard*

Hi Bubblyreddy, sorry I'm not familiar with the doctors but I am sure they are good! Most important is to find someone who meets your needs and makes you feel comfortable. Some of us like patient, warm doctors, while others don't mind factual, straight to the point doctors. All the best!

Lil, mind if I ask what's your first reaction when you found out you were adopted? Did your parents broke the news to you personally or you found out yourself? I'm asking as one of my cousin is adopted and she'about 30. I think she does not know it, and no one in the family dare to ask my aunt and uncle about it as they mentioned many many years ago that they do not want to let her knows. They're rather estranged now due to reasons unknown to us. I'm worried for both her and the parents if she should find out one day.

Opps! Press enter too fast! Bb, not sure what Dr Charles will recommend cos it is dependent on the test results. I think he will suggest natural with metformin + fermera + injectables. I have problem of thin lining with clomid.

Wah Min31, you and your hubby so brave! I went through a period I can’t even bear looking at baby clothes, stores, babies, pregnant women without bursting into tears. Now I am a lot more calm but kudos to your positivities!

Babysteps, my doc defines first day as full flow before 8pm. Once I can feel the gushing of flow (sorry TMI!) I take it as full flow.

Believeinjesus - Thanks! Full flow should be next few days i guess (and hope)..

My neighbour and colleague (sitting next to me) just revealed their are preggy! So happy for them but at the same time feel.a little sad for myself.. My DH always tell me dont let others affect me, we live our own lives.. True, but easy to say, hard to do sometimes.. Anyways, will snap out of it and be positive.

Jiayou everyone!

Saralyn - Scrolled up and realised i missed ur reply.. I was spotting when i was still taking my med (started day 2 all thru to Day 7) I finished the med yesterday so im now waiting for AF to arrive.. Thanks for sharing your experience!

HI Cariebb, I actually found out accidentally by myself when I came across my adoption certificate in my parents' wardrobe. Ha ha! Initially, I was blur blur because the name was different but after reading it twice, I realised that it was me! My first reaction, besides my pounding heart, was 'wow, my parents, relatives and their friends sure knows know to keep a secret!'. 2nd thought was, "I'm so blessed because I'm not blood related and yet I'm so so loved'. And finally my last thought was, "oh no wonder I'm so much taller than my parents" Ha ha!

Anyway, I kept it a secret for 1 year because I wasn't sure how my parents will react if I told them. In hindsight, that's funny how the roles got reversed! Anyway, when I eventually told my mum, she was so relieved and happy and told me if I ever wanted to find my biological parents I am free to do so but I told her I've already decided not to (since I had so much time to think about it).

Anyway, I'm not sure if my experience is the same for everyone. My childhood and growing years are absolutely wonderful so that could play a part in my reaction too. I know that I would never be where I am today if not for my adoption. So I am very grateful.

min81 & Saralyn, guessed i will wait till tmr then see doc & scan.. wahh i had a fright this morning.. when my hb wanna jab for me this morning, he found out there is no more needles! Then hurry down to clinic to get it.. lucky my hb is off today else i surely cry! I jabbed in office toilet a few hrs later... I realised actually the jabbing by myself is not scary at all coz all jabs r previously done by hb..

Lil, u r so brave coz u really able to take this news so well.. ur parents & relatives really dotes on u... I have also tot of adopting if really no hope.. but not sure if hb will consider this option. Anyway when i was younger my mum did mentioned dat I looked different coz so fair, 是捡回来的! But i never took it to heart & when im older, my mum said i look alot like my dad's mum.. very fair... coz im the fairer than the rest... haha..

Hi bb.. Prob see Dr Charles for next cycle bah.. I am on cd 8.. Yup praying hard to my Lord that cyst will go away!

Hi Lil.. Your story is great comfort and encouragement to me. Adoption is one of the options if God leads us to that. At this moment we are not ready but who knows if God will change our hearts. And how blessed if we will have a child liked u!

Lil, in fact I'm more worried for my aged aunt and uncle if my cousin were to find out. It's not that my aunt and uncle did not love her enough, but rather too much. They were so crazy over my cousin and gave her the best things from enrichment classes, tuition, schooling, overseas holidays with everything evolving around her. Now that my cousin has chose to live overseas, the parents are left alone. The mother has heart problems and it's really heartbreaking to see two aged folks having to fend for themselves in and out of hospital. I'm not sure how often is my cousin keeping in touch with the parents, but I guess not often as I've not heard of it and I've not seen my cousin for the past couple of years. I think is face problem that's why my aunt and uncle are keeping quiet.

Your parents are lucky to have you as an understanding child, as lucky as you're to have been so loved. I wish my aunt and uncle are as blessed.

Aww...Thanks bb, believeinjesus and Cariebb
That is very sweet of you. I am confident that you will all be blessed with a child/ren of your own soon. Just perseverse and hang in there.

I have to say adoption nowadays is VERY different from the past. I think my parents just paid the family who was giving me up, picked me up at the hospital and then just get me registered. They didn't go through any counselling whatsoever. My mum told me my biological family was poor and could not afford another child. Hence with my humble beginnings, I am thankful for everything I have today.

Cariebb, I am sorry to hear about your aunt and uncle. I can understand that open communication is a challenge for older generation. I can see this difference between my generation and my parents. Sometimes all one needs to do is to reach out and start talking to one another and clear the air. I hope your relatives and cousin will find a happy ground. Life is too short.

Lil ponyo,

I remember having a discussion about adoption with my friends during jc days and was very surprised how they were all not very accepting of it.. I was the odd one out.. I've worked with underprivileged children from young as a volunteer and i've never felt there was anything wrong in giving love and care to a child that's not my own.. It eventually became my job as a special ed teacher and mainstream sch teacher where coincidentally, i was placed with children with many family issues.. It was stressful but i enjoyed the bond and rapport i had with these children and wished they could have a little more in life..

After my m/c, my ex boss had a chat with me and told me that her children are adopted from china cos she couldn't conceive.. She just told them about it this yr as she felt they were old enough at 18 & 20.. She was worried at first but like you, it made them love their parents even more
I had an ex colleague last time, i was surprised she speaks chinese & hokkien so well cos she's indian.. When we got closer and was invited to her place, i learnt she was actually adopted into a chinese family since birth.. So obviously she knew about her adoption from young.. She loves her mum more than anyone in the world
My hubby's boss also shared with my hubby that his 3 yr old daughter was adopted from vietnam.. He brought her along to a staff gathering once and my hubby told me she's so cute, pretty and happy

Sorry, I guess i shouldn't be talking about adoption here but i guess it's my way of keeping myself positive cos i understand that if ARTs fail for me, it doesn't mean i have to give up being a parent..

Woo hoo... AF is here in full force today.. Already called and made appt for Day 8 scan next week.. Usually they scan follicle size and measure lining?

Twinklet - Ur AF here yet?

Believeinjesus,

Stay positive! I hope the cyst goes off soon

bb,

Wow lucky you made it for the jab!
So for your previous ivf and so-iui cycles, your hubby did the jabs for you? Asking my hubby to do it for me when my ivf starts, but he's saying wouldn't i be in better control if i do it myself cos he won't be the one feeling the physical pain.. I think he's just trying to get out of it.. Keke..

Thanks Min81!! I love what you wrote. I am liked your JC friends who are not open to adoption but upon reading about your thoughts, I am beginning to see things differently. You are absolutely right that adoption should give us hope and keep us positive. Thank you for your precious advice.

Lil, yes I'm hoping that my aunt and uncle will open up more so that we can reach out to them. Due to their face issue, we dare not broach on the topic openly. My cousin is communicating more with her friends than with any of the family, I only know her going ons through facebook. Nevertheless, I'm keeping the channels open as I still hope that the relationship can be revive afterall we were close when young and she's very important to her parents.

Hi dearies I am new to this thread. Have been married 5 yrs but ttc since 2011. Went for dermoid lap by dr sf loh in oct 2010. I have endo, adenomyosis n fibroids. Am longing for baby since day 1 of marriage, hubby delay. Now so many complications. Am seeing dr loh at o&g as well as dr Matthew lau at Kkh. Took prover last week. Af on tue. An supposed to go for scan on day 9 at o&g before starting first iui. Am worried stressed and feeling helpless. Wonder when god will grant me the baby dust 

min81,under this kinda circumstances, I really need to jab myself le.. actually can jab ourselves de (after wat happened yst) but having hb jab will make us closer & he get to participate ;) Ask ur hb to jab for u.. he cannot escape leh.. hee

my gosh this morning, scan got 4-5 follicles with one biggest at 13mm n lining is 7mm.. the others quite close - ard 11+mm i hope there's only 3 follicles that are growing strong.. the others follicles can rest le.. lol....
do anyone proceed with more than 3 mature follicles?

Baby steps,

Great that ur af is here and you can start on iui.. Jia you!

Believeinjesus,

I guess that's my way of staying positive, could be diff for others.. I'm glad to hear that you appreciate the personal thoughts i've shared.. Have faith and stay positive!

Saras,

I know it's tough but try to relax a little k.. Since you're already starting on iui, means you're already a step closer in working on your dream of having a bb
All the best!

bb,

Okie i will make sure my hubby doesn't run away from the jabbing.. Hehe.. Wow your follicles are growing well.. I think whether or not can proceed will depend on the doc.. I've heard of people who had to abort cycle cos of 3-4 follicles.. And some who went ahead despite having like 5 so not sure what is the guideline too.. What did your doc say?

min81, doc said will mointor this sat & ask me jab tmr 75iu again...he is so nice.. print out the scans n paste it on a card & wrote my uterus is normal - anteverted which i saw this word on my very 1st gynae whom i saw for pre-marital checkup.. but hor he wrote my ovaries are polycystic.. never hear other doc said that leh... wat does it means? i have regular menses n ovulated... rem my left follicle juz disappear or shrink last cycle but got 2 dark lines on opk 2 days later... n my progestrone showed 48.6.. it showed ovulated.. im v pulzzed..

Twinklestars,

Think you gotta check with your doc regarding this.. Cos quite a bit of paperwork to be done for ivf and there's also counselling.. Not sure if can just convert from iui to ivf..

bb,

Sounds like dr fong is very nice
Hmm i think sometimes docs give diff diagnosis leh.. My previous gynae also told me i have polycystic ovaries.. Like u, i've also always had regular menses monthly.. When i went to prof, he frowned a little when i told him what my previous gynae said.. He didn't wanna comment on that but he said based on what he sees, i don't have such a prob..

Min81, do you think the medicine from previous doc had helped in the pco? So the current doc dun see the same?

Dr Charles scanned and said my pco is minor and not serious... But my previous doc didnt comment much and the dosage is pretty strong. My hb said maybe improved after the medication.. But anyway it's good to know one prob is out and not the key issue ;)

I wanted to go for iui but doc asked me to try plan A (medicine+injection+natural) first.. So next cd is the key. If still can't, then go for iui. I dun want to waste anymore time...