IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Lil ponyo: I was on 200iu for the first 6 and another 300iu for next 4. After that is trigger shot at night. I did not produce alot of follicles for this.. But glad most of them are matured enough for fertilization.

Jiayou! You are coming to the end soon. When is your next scan?

Btw, is iu right? Not mg. I think mg is a bigger unit so more dosage.

Laki gal: since the nurse says is normal then is good!!! Is good to clear all those amount of medication out.. I wonder how my body will react after all these. After ET, I am still taking alot of hormones pills to support the womb and lining.

Cheeka, yup is af. I check w d nurse, is normal. For me i hve to v v v v high risk of ohss and for my safety, doc dont advice me to proceed w ET af ER. So for my cycle, i can only ER and wait till my body recover well n no v v v v high risk of ohss then i can proceed w ET. Normally af ER, within 2 or 3 days will proceed w ET.

Saralyn, ur pill is pop or insert 1? hehe i hvent being to tat stage so not v sure oso. Nvm think of d big goal n all is worth it

Laki gal: is both.. Taking 2 types.. Ya.. Waiting for my 2ww to end and hopefully I can baby dusts to you all.

So excited for you.. Very soon you can go for fet! Yay!!

Girls, is it normally to get hospitalization leave after ET? I have to ask for that. Some how, is it not a common thing from my doc.

Saralyn, my doctor say he will give me 2 weeks mc (but I'm intending to work from home). I'm sure you can ask from your doctor.

Ya, you are right. ha ha! It's iu not mg. My next scan is on Monday morning. I've never done insert pill too. That's going to be interesting. Ha ha! Fingers and toes crossed for you! So do you bed rest all day? What do you do everyday?

Laki, good good, let's it flow!! I'm happy for you, this is good. Your body is doing spring cleaning and getting ready for your babies who are now enjoying a winter holiday

Lil ponyo: ok ok. Thanks for the info. Think I will call his clinic and ask for the mc/hospitalization leave later. Still contemplating want to take or not.

Hopefully you will respond well to puregon for these few days and have many big follicles..

Inserting the pill is hard! Haha.. I am still trying without dropping them. Haha! I'm sure I will perfect it after afew more time. Haha.

No bed rest. Need to move around but take it slow coz you need blood circulation to your womb. I have been surfing watching tv so far.. Will start catching those drama and storybooks soon.

Saralyn, oh need to take both types? So do u hve difficulties in doing d insert? Hehe

Regarding d hospital leave, d nurse told me tat af ER & ET, 2 wks leave will b given for u to rest. So for my case I oso not sure whether will they still gve me d 2 wks leave. But I will request for it. U shld oso request n juz hve a gd rest for d 2 wks n then go for ur BT n spread baby dust here.

Lil, haha u v cute. Yup at least glad tat nw af is here so hopefully everything will went smooth smooth for me now. Will c wat my doc say when i c her, think mon they will bring up my case for disscussion.

Hi ladies , the thread move so fast . I wasn't feeling well . Too tired to come in the forum .

Lil Ponyo and saralyn : I thought HL will be given after ET til ur blood test . It is good that u rest at home relaxing urself like pregnant lady .
For the inserts thru vagina, I also have difficulty insert guess it is the phobia to do so . Mine was the round ball type, tablet type and crione gel in tube form . Trim the nails so that u won't get hurt . I usu slowly push the insert til my whole finger will in the vagina . The nurse recommend middle finger .

Dian tang: take good care of your body. Drink more water..

I only taking one type of pill orally and another inserting there. I dont have crinone. I thought I will get it too coz the nurse told me when I did counselling but yesterday I only got 2.

Laki: yes!!! I have problem inserting! Haha.. The nurse was telling me use the sec and middle finger and insert the 2 tablets in till my fingers are all in. I got a shocked. How to insert 2 fingers!!! I using the middle now. And is so disgusting! Haha.

Regarding the hospitalization leave, thanks.. I remember I asked him before during the scan he said no need but if I want he can give. Yesterday, it was chaotic there and I couldn't get hold of him to ask. The nurse told me they can't give hospitalization leave. This one have to go to his clinic to get which I am lazy to travel there. Anyway asked my husband to call and request for it already.

dian tang, u hve to take care k.

Now there is haze around so every1 muz tk care n drink more water.

oh hve to insert d whole fingers inside d v? a bit ....

Laki_gal: Oh... i see... but how do they know it's OHSS? good luck for your ET then next month!

Saralyn: 2 weeks MC is normal btw. Must demand for it!

Cheeka, coz once u retrieve d eggs, u will hve ohss, however it goes from mild to severe. For me coz i retrieve 29 eggs so i belong to d severe rank. But actually i dont really feel anythin haha. Not really bloated juz only kep feeling hungry n like putting on weight. dian tang did mention if per day gain 1kg weight then is oso ohss but for me i didnt weigh. Other than feeling hungry, i dont really hve d ohss sign (i.e. bloated, breathless).

Im not too sure for mild. But during d stimulation, when u start feeling bloated, it could oso due to ohss. But not to worry coz d doc/nurse will monitor closely n observe ur symptoms. R u gg for ivf soon? Coz during d ivf briefing, they will tell u more on it.

Dian_tang, ya please take care. Today is weather is so bad. Drink lots of water. I think I'll buy H20 like what Laki suggested this weekend.

Wah...insert both middle and second fingers all in?! Ha ha...really the things that we go through is incredible. We can only laugh! Ha ha!

So happy that it's almost end of the day now.

Lil, ya go drink a lot of H20, dont knw itiz i drink it like drinking plain water tat y dont feel all d bloatness. Lucky d nurse recommend me to drink dis. If u dont like H20, u can oso try 100plus or other type of isotonic drink.

Yup finally gg hm soon, can countdwn liao. Haha

Dian Tang: Take care! Laki is right...the weather is too hazy nowadays...if only they can declare national holiday for everyone to stay at home...

Laki: I am planning to go for ivf hopefully in Dec...but i dunno how to start...i will make an appt to see Dr Loh...but other than that, i dunno anything abt ivf...where can i attend the ivf briefing? is it foc or do i need to be seen by that doc?

Dream, af u c ur doc, d nurse will help u arrange all stuff. They will arrange d ivf briefin for u, normally will b tog w other couples. Think in a briefing will bout 4 - 5 couples. D briefing is not foc, think tat time i paid bout $20+ for it. Af tat if u really decided to go ahead w ivf, they will then ask u n ur dh to sign d consent form and will ask u to provide ur marriage certificate (can bring n pass to them on other day). Then d nurse will arrange u n ur dh for all d necessary tests. More test will b needed for u. Ur dh mostly will b testing for his sperm binding n blood test for HIV n hep. Then once ur af (full flow) is here, call up d clinic, they will arrange n ask u to go dwn for scan n then tat when all d jab will start. For me, I wont get to c my doc until my ER n ET. But all medication given to me will still consult by d doc first b4 d nurse pass to me.

Not to worry too much first, mayb u wont need go thru ivf.

Laki: thanks for the explanation. Nope, we are not doing IVF yet, and hopefully no need. But I am just preparing myself... somehow, I got a feeling that we need IVF before we can conceive. It's due to DH's poor sperm coun-t, moti-lity and morpho-logy. It's frustrating sometimes...

Confirmed my laparoscopy for mon.. Didn't expect so soon.. The doc just now ask me when would be a good time.. I said next wk, thinking end of the wk, when he checked the schedule and asked how about mon, i was like *gulp*.. Totally no mental preparation.. Haha.. Nvm la, just get it over and done with..

Cheeka,

Don't worry k.. Has your hubby been taking any supplements? Last time my hubby troops very low count, he's been taking zinc supplement more than a yr and his count went up a lot.. Learnt from this daddy in ivf thread recently that selenium can help motility and morphology so my hubby gonna start on that too.. Can give it a try

Min81, all the best on your lap procedure. Ya, just get it over and done with so that you can move on. Take care!

Laki, I've been drinking and drinking water all afternoon. Like "sui tong" Ha ha! Have a good weekend!

Hi ladies, I'm sooo busy today but feeling v sick too... Having flu, sore throat and cramp on & off now...

Called the nurse at kkh and she told me to see a GP to get my flu medicine but must tell doc tat I did the mtx injection lately...

Hai, feeling giddy since yd to now...

TGIF... I can rest more during these 2 days ...

Min81, all d best for ur lap. So u muz stay a nite ther n let d doc/nurse take care of u k. Af tat tk gd care of ur wound n hve a gd rest at Hm. Af tat cn sexercise n sure u gonna BFP.

Lil, is healthy to drink more water, oso will help when hvin ohss. U 2 hve a great wkend n get urself fully charged for nxt wk.

Duffy bear, muz tk gd care k coz weather really v bad.

Laki , Yeap.... Try to drink more water and get rest as much as possible... Weather is really bad and I got v sensitive nose ....

Worse is I can't anyhow take medicine now... *sob sob*

Lil ponyo, laki gal,

Thanks!! Feeling nervous, just try to push it out of my mind for now..

Duffy bear,

When is your next blood test? For flu, very important to get a fitful rest and drink loads of water.. Up your vit c intake too.. Take care..

Min81, I gg bk for blood test on every Monday for the next 1-2 mths... Gg to ask doc for flu, sore throat medicines!!! I sure the doc shld know what type of medicine is suitable for me so as not to clash with the injection... Or i need to go see a GP ??

I hope the pharmacy have these stocks...

Laki: thanks for sharing the details...guess i should kick start by meeting the doc...hopefully my body is tuned sufficiently by then...

min81: don be too nervous ok...everythign will go well on Mon...after the surgery, u can at least move on...anytime when u r nervous, just log into the forum... we will help to ease u???

by the way, what's selenium? where to get this? can this be mixed wiht tcm? cos hubby currently going for tcm twice a week and take tcm med...

Min81: all the best for ur op on Monday !!

Duffy bear: drink more water , haze is making us sick .
Thanks you, sisters !!

Saralyn and Lil Ponyo : while doing the inserts, rem to sterilize our hands
anyway I also can't do with middle finger so I use the second finger .

Duffy bear,

Are you able to wait till monday? I guess the doc will know better what med to give you.. Must have a good rest k.. Get well soon..

Dream,

It's great talking with you gals here..

Selenium is a mineral, like zinc, magnesium, etc.. Can't find pure selenium supplement at the pharmacies, so will get one that's combined with other vit as well.. Hmm since your hubby taking tcm maybe don't mix?? Also not sure leh, sorry.. Oh that daddy also mention for hubby to take high anti oxidant food.. You can google for lists of that..

Min, don't b nervous k. Everythin will go smooth for u. Yup u can log on here n chat w us. Then we help u get ride of ur nervousness.

Duffybear, u wanna try tkin sme hot honey water for ur Sore throat coz tat x I oso hve it n it helps to smoothen my throat.

Min: the faster get it done the better it is.. Don't be scare or nervous. Is a small surgery.. Infact it is just a day surgery which is minor.. Don't need to prep anything.. Just bring yourself there.. I don't know about gov hospital.. I brought a letter from my insurance that says they will cover the bill up to 10k so I only need to pay when the bill exceeded this amount.. If you are staying for one night check with them will they provide toiletries.. Bring a panty linear or pad along to use after you discharge coz you might be bleeding after the ops.. Other than that rest well this weekend!

Duffy bear: rest well and drink water...

Dian tang: ya need to have clean fingers... I think the creamy discharge is giving me problem.. I feel like I'm having uti or yeast infection now..

Anyway, how are you? Your condition has stable?

Laki gal,

Saralyn,

Ya my hubby told me not to think too much also.. He was teasing me, cos gotta stay in 1-bedder short stay ward cos pte patient, no other choices, told me he'll give me a teddy bear to hug at night!! Haha.. I'll just bring my own toiletries and pads, should be okie

Yup yesterday did the financial counselling with the nurse for paperwork.. My insurance plus medisave can cover for all so i don't need to pay cash.. That's a relief.. But claimed twice this yr, dunno premium will go up anot..

Hi hi all,

Hope everyone fine here.. Finally I'm starting my IVF short protocol and today on 1st jab.. Any cycle buddies here? ;)

Can anyone help me for better understanding on ICSI? When it is necessary to do hatching? I just back from Dr Loh's clinic and I told him I want to includes hatching, he ask me why? I thought it will increase the chance of conceiving? :p

Lil ponyo, saralyn, how r u both doing now? Lil ponyo, r u in stimulation stage now? I'm on short protocol so 2 weeks later will be my ER. When is ur estimated ER? Saralyn, r u in 2ww now? Eat well and rest well, best of luck!

Min: 1 bedder means your husband can stay with you overnight right? It is better to stay at 1 bedder. Can rest more and better. I stayed at 2 bedder and couldn't really rest coz the patient beside me has alot of visitors..

Claris: you mean dr loh goes back to his clinic on sat afternoon to see patient? I thought he only goes tfc in the morning that's all since his clinic only opens half day on Saturday.

ICSI is they will select the best looking sperm and insert them to the matured egg. This is the standard procedure in tfc unless you have alot of eggs retrieved and your husband provides a very good specimen then they will take afew eggs out to do conventional ivf.

Assisted hatching is determined by the embryologist. If they see your egg shell is thick or tough then they will do else they will not. I recently did my ET and I realised the shell is abit thick so I asked the embryologist why no assisted hatching. She told me it is not tough and plus my age so don't need to do AH. I didn't know age plays apart in determining such procedures.

Yup.. Am at my 2ww now.. Feeling good. No bloating or any symptoms at all. Haha.. Don't know to be happy or sad.

All the best to your ivf journey. How much is your dosage now?

Saralyn,

Didn't ask if hubby could stay overnite cos don't want him to.. Prefer that he stay home and sleep properly cos he has to work.. He already took so much time off and leave few mths back cos of me.. Luckily his boss very understanding cos went thru same thing with his wife.. Actually i stayed in 4 bedder last time and tot it was ok so tot could just opt for that again.. Hehe.. Maybe cos i very piggy, noisy also can sleep..

Good that you're feeling ok.. Many women bfp with no symptoms at all so don't have to worry about that.. Jia you jia you!!

dear ladies,
i was a patient of dr LC foong. conceived my baby girl through frozen embryo. she is now 7 mths old.
i would like to let go of Exsativa (exp 03/2013) and Natural vitamin E (ENAT 400) (exp 02/2013). both r unopened and i dont want to waste it. if any of your hubby taking this supplement, can take from me at sembawang mrt station. u can decide the price. if interested, pls pm me.
a lot of baby dust to u all...

Saralyn: sometime the vagina is dry and more difficult to insert. anyway enjoy ur 2ww and rest and eat well , think positive and talk to your baby everyday .

Saralyn, few times I'm seeing him on sat normally will have after hour charge of 10 dollars if it's afternoon. Yest I'm almost last few and it's 4pm already.. He has got so many patients.. >< so urs didn't do hatching? How do know whether the shell is thick? As what the embryologist told u, hmmmm I'm thinking should I do?

Which stage r u now in 2ww? Half way le? I think the best for us is don't think too much and god will decide for us.. I believe all of us can make it eventually.. ^^

I'm on D3 only. 175Iu per day, is this normal? Or individual differs? Coz I'm a serious Pcos patient and dr Loh don't suggest for long protocol. Do u take egg whites now? How many per day? I'm so worried that I will got OHSS. Coz used to have 20 eggs for IUI only after 1 trigger shot. Worried will have to abandon the cycle..

Anyone know other food can reduce the risk of OHSS?

Min: you are such a nice wife.
but do have someone with you when you discharge the next day coz you might need some help as your wounds are still swollen and your tummy might still be filled with some gas.. thus abit painful or discomfort.

Dian tang: do you find the round pills to insert in is quite oily when it came out?

Claris: Oic.. I didn't know that. I remember I went to tfc on one of the Saturday morning.. It was so packed. Wonder what time will he knock off and does he have some time for his family etc.. Think he is a workaholics.

When you go for your ET, the embryologist will give you a report with pix of your embryos. From the pic, I think one of them has a thicker shell than the other.. Anyway, is too late for me to ask for AH at that point coz I was about to do the transfer already and she said is not tough at all.. The nurse told me before when I did my counselling, thick or tough shell is commonly found in older women.. I guess I am one of the few young patient of dr loh..

I suggest you let the embryologist decide what is best for your embryo. Doing AH has a risk of damaging your embryo too.. If your shell is ok then trust dr loh n the embryologist. You are in good hands.

I'm only at the beginning of my 2ww.. Still have a long way to go till I know the result..

Every patient has different dosage. I started with 200iu puregon. He did not want to give me too high coz worry of over stimulation too.. But I did not respond too well and up my dosage to 300.

I had 6-8 egg whites everyday during my stimulation... Besides that, you can eat more red meat, drink protein drinks.. Basically food which has high protein..

You really produce alot of eggs!! I guess for ivf the more you produce the better is it.. But just hope you don't get ohss at the end.. Remember to take your protein and drink plenty of water and rest well!

min81, all d best for ur lap. Everythin will went smooth smooth for u. Af d lap rem to hve a gd rest n try not to do strenous work. Kep us update on ur progress. Jy

saralyn, lol haha i was thinking if i work like him, im sure my body cant take it.. :p

may i know whats ur age now? guess u about same age as me..
e 1st time i went to see Dr Loh, he said his daughter about the same age as me.. but sighz why we have so many obstacles in conceiving at our age, i thought i stand good chance in IUI but also failed.. i didnt know that AH will damage the embryo too.. hmmm i will take ur advice let them decide for me..

i guess my dosage will sure up as i dont respond well to puregon as well. its the menopur made me produced so many eggs.. i now taking 4 egg whites so yacky.. ohss is the thing im most worried about.. its very hard to control my pcos. dr loh had a headache as well 1 shot make me produced 10 times of eggs.. >< praying hard now.. fingers crossed..

u r in the most important 2ww ya.. u take good care, eat well, rest well, stay happy. hope to hear ur good news real soon and spreading ur baby dust to all the sisters here! ^^

Min81, all the best in your lap. Take care, ya!

Claris, welcome to the ivf journey
Yes, I'm in the middle of my stimulation jabs now. I'm on long protocol and have been jabbing myself for more than 3 weeks now. I have 1 more week to go.

Saralyn, I went for a scan and bloodtest today. Doctor can see around 20 eggs and my lining is now at 6mm (it was 2.6mm 5 days ago). Doctor feels that I've responded well to the Puregon so based on my bloodtest result today, I will need to reduce my dosage starting tomorrow. He said he wants to be careful not to overshoot and produce too much. Most likely will reduce from 250iu to 200iu. My ER will be early next week. Getting excited now!

I also asked him for his views on assisted hatching. He said that he is planning to do it for me as well as ICSI. So I suppose I'm one of those older patients that needs it. Ha ha! Well, I am complete trust in Dr Foong so I will leave everything to him. He scans me and tells me everything is good and I just believe him. Ha ha!

Saralyn, I'm really threading the 2ww. I remember how long and torturous it was for my IUIs and now I'm sure it will be worse for IVF. How do you survivie?

Claris: ya.. Me too. I don't think I can work so hard..

Heehee.. I think you should be younger than me.. He doesn't look that old. So I don't think his daughter is around my age..

When I did my ET and ER, I had alot of time in the OT.. Thus, i sat in there looking around and I saw the schedule for these 2 days, I am the youngest there.. Finally I found someone younger than me. Heehee.

When you go to tfc to do your counselling, the nurse will explain the whole procedure, ah, ICSI, blastocyst.. The risks of each of them.. Have you done that yet?

Remember to eat more proteins! Hopefully you will have many and good quality eggs. Is important to have matured and quality eggs too.

Lil ponyo: yay!!! You did so well!! You are only day 5 of your stimulation jab right?

Maybe AH is a standard thing that your doc do for all the embryos.. So has nothing to do with your age.. But I do hope I have AH done too.. Chances of them hatching out from the shell is higher.

Jiayou k!!! Very soon we can be in 2ww together..

Haha! I don't know how I'm gonna kill my time till next week.. I watch tv, read magazine, story books, movies etc..

Lil, wow v fast u b gg for ur ER &amp; ET. U hve many eggs now n glad u r responding well to d jab.

Saralyn, haha u shld njoy dis moment of being lazing around. Try to dl more korean drama n watch them to kill ur time. Rem during ur 2ww, no household chores k. Juz lay around n b queen

min81, hve u done w ur lap? Hw r u feeling?

saralyn, lol erm i just call TFC this morning and make appointment for tmr session before i seeing Dr Loh for my scanning. So nervous, dont know how's the follicles growth. I remember i dont have such feeling for my IUI. ><

lil ponyo, is that 2 weeks of suppression jab and 1 week of stimulation jab.. omg u have came so far very soon will be ER and ET and 2ww. wondering i will be slightly behind u in 2ww ya.. lets jiayou together! ^^

Saralyn, oh you still remember! Yes today is my D5 of stimulation and I'm soooo bloated. I feel like my tummy is going to burst! I'm wearing loose clothing today. Thank goodness my work is pretty casual. I've decided to work from home in my 2ww because I think it will stress me out not knowing what's happening at work. Ya, I know I have problem with letting go. ha ha!

Laki, thank you thank you. Hope you are feeling like your old self again
I bought H20 over the weekend so I'm drinking lots of water now!

Claris, I did almost 3 weeks of suppression and so far 5 days of stimulation. This journey is so long including the 3 weeks waiting time between my first bloodtest and my first jab. Saralyn is right, drinks lots of water and up your protein intake. All will be good. Take care and since it is impossible to be stress free, work on managing your stress level and be happy! That's most important. I think our ER and ET will be very close
jia you!

lil ponyo, erm understand the long waited feeling. soon all of us will get over these, always telling myself just a bit more endurance.. lol

okie noted, will drink lots of water from now on..
how long ur stimulation period supposed to be? 2 weeks? im on short protocol so finished in another 10 days time. ya i think we are very close!

im going for my 1st bloodtest tmr. may i know whats the purposes for the test? i still quite blur havent gone through the counselling yet.. :P