IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi all... I am veryyyyy CONFUSED!!!
Can someone please ADVISE????

Yesterday, I went to gynae and he said that I have no big follicles.... biggest is only 8 mm, no point of doing IUI... bla bla la...

BUT!!! Last night, I used OPK and it was SMILEY!!! What am I supposed to do now???? Am I ovulating or what? Why gynae didnt see it? I need help... Sigh....

min81, update us on ur progress k. Mayb can start w ivf already? See wat d doc say first.

saralyn, hw many u retrieve? Wow so excited for u tat u gg ET 2ml. Have a gd rest 2day k n 2ml welcome ur embryos

Cheeka, did you see the screen together with him? Are you sure there is no more big follicles. Test your opk again tomorrow. I read before you have afew positive on opk if you are pcos. Are you?

Laki gal: I only able retrieved 12... So far 8 are doing well now.
so tomorrow will transfer 2 of them. Super excited!!! Can't wait to see them tomorrow

Min: all the best to your consultation with your doc later.

Cheeka, u did ovulate but in order for IUI to take place n b successful, d follicles must b big enough, at least of d ideal size.

Saralyn, ya im oso excited for u. Was telling dh if i can ET by rite is on mon. Haiz bt nvm i will wait for 2 more mths than i can b reunited w my embryos. Do u knw wat grade ur is? Soon u gg to b mummy liao

Laki gal: you feeling ok? No ohss? Your doc cares for you.. Doesn't want you to take any risk.. Bu your body now and you can welcome your embryos back soon.

Actually my cramp and the bloatedness was quite bad yesterday and I was thinking how you and Dian tang went through it since you all have 20+ eggs. Must be very painful and discomfort..

HI Saralyn, wah so fast! Happy that you are doing great! All the very best in your ET tomorrow. You are in the final lap of your marathon! Enjoy your 2 weeks rest. Stock up on magazines and tv shows!

Dian_tang and Saralyn, I have a question. During your 2 weeks rest at home. Do you bed rest all the time? Also are you alone at home? And how do you plan for your meals? I'm asking because when it is my turn for the 2 weeks rest, I will be home alone. My husband will be traveling. Unfortunately, my mum can't help much. I thought of food catering (such as the confinement food kind) but when I emailed them, they told me they do not recommend confinement food for IVF and pregnant women due to the herbs they use. They are right because I never thought of that.

Nicxl, I'm doing pretty good actually. Today, I'm waiting for a call from my doctor to let me know my bloodtest result. He is testing my hormones to determine if I can start my stimulation jabs yet. Once I start them, it will be another 2 more weeks before my ER. I'm also seeing TCM at the same time and doing acupuncture. How are you?

Laki gal and Duffy, you are right. Sometimes these things can't be rushed. There is also no point in forcing things when the body is not ready. You are actually the 2nd person to say "all good things must wait" recently. Yesterday, the nurse said the same thing to me. Ha ha!

Cheeka, don't stress
When your doctor meant is that there is no point to do IUI because the conditions are not ideal. It doesn't mean that you are not ovulating (hence your smiley test result). In general, IUI success rate is actually not that high. Based on our age, my doctor to me that success rate of trying naturally is around 10%. IUI is maybe 15%-20%. IVF is around 30%-50%. So as you can see, when conditions are not ideal, doing IUI is pointless. You can definitely still try naturally though. Hope this helps.

Saralyn: Gynae diagnosed me with PCO, but not PCOS. Sigh... I saw the screen with him but he was very quick and was kinda impatient... he was not really looking at it carefully trying to find the follicles....

Saralyn, actually now im feeling ok. Dont really feel ohss. Only d nite of ER, hving sharp cramp n past few days on cramp at left waist, not really feeling bloated. 2day im feelin normal. Only sian coz gg back to work. lolz. To me i feel im normal so wonder can i proceed w ET nxt mth. B gg back review on 21 sep so will check out w doc.

U need to drink more water k, u try to drink H2O coz im drinking dis n i dont feel bloated at all. D nurse kep asking me to drink H2O so i guess it works.

Lil, u can try order tingkat from hilltop n yls catering. Last time i jio it dwn coz thinkin i will need it oso, both r recommended by ivf thread ladies. Rem to update us on ur bt ya.
Haha coz tat time im feeling upset tat i can proceed w ET n d nurse told me tat.

Cheeka, nxt time can juz ask d doc to let u c again. Anw u r paying for all these so u can actually request. Now dont think so much k. Did ur doc told u wat to do nxt? When ur nxt review w him. If ur doc really gg to abandon this cycle, u still can try on ur own n who know u might strike naturally.

Cheeka: I don't know the diff between pco and pcos.. From what I know a good matured egg is around 18mm. If you ovulate earlier with small size egg, it might not be matured enough. Maybe your gynea is right.. The follicle is not in the ideal size based on your cycle.. So he doesn't want to waste your time and money. Most importantly, he doesn't want to give you false hope.

Lil ponyo: I will be alone at home.. My inlaw will prepare lunch for me or I will keep some food in the fridge from dinner so I can have them for lunch the next day. As for dinner, I guess my husband will do.. I think confinement food is very heaty. Try not to take it everyday. Not good to fall sick during the critical 2ww

All the best your result! Hope your hormone will be suppressed as you can start stimulation. Are you using puregon?

Laki: My next review is tomorrow. You are right, if follicle size still small, just do naturally bah.

Saralyn: I feel like changing gynae now.

Cheeka, dont gve up yet k coz who knw ur follicle is growing till d ideal size 2ml. Basically, is growing 2mm per day. I wonder will taking ew (egg whites) help u for iui coz i rem last time in d ivf thread, d ladies mention their follicles r small n they cheong ew n their follicles bcm d ideal size. So im not sure whether can taking ew help in iui or not.

Laki: I ate two soft boiled eggs yest. Shd I eat again today? Ha..ha... I think the egg whites (protein) is to minimise the ovarian hyper stimulation (or something liddat)

Min81: Just wondering, is Dr Wong at NUH open on Saturday? If going as private patient, can I just go to the women's clinic without appointment and see him and tell him "I WANT SO-IUI this cycle"?

Cheeka, just relax, think positive and try naturally starting tonight since you already show positive on the OPK.

Laki, thanks for your recommendation. I just checked out their website. The Hilltop one looks better as YLS looks more like buffet catering.

Saralyn, ya no confinement food for me. Oh I can't wait to start stimulation. Just want to get on with it! This is taking so looong. My doctor is so chilled that sometimes I wish he is more kan cheong. Ha ha!

Laki, im back at work today too.... Alot of work to clear that i dont know which to start off with... hahaha...

Min81, if i wants to start ivf in May 2013, how soon do i need to call up for appointment with Prof Wong??? I m thinking to start TCM in Dec 12 with Dr Su and March 13 with Dr Zhou for the Accupture before i start my ivf in May 13....

Btw, payment at NUH is per visit??? Can i know how much you spend in total???

Cheeka, haha i like d word u used "sexercise'.

Duffybear, juz try ur best to clear watever u can k, me too blue n dont feel like wking haha. Was telling dh i miss home now.

Laki adn Duffy, start by clearing your emails first. I usually see the starting number of unread emails and it gives me a sense of satisfaction when I see the numbers go down.

My doctor finally called me. He said I can start my stimulation jab tomorrow. Yay!! Will need to go to clinic tomorrow to learn how to administer the pen jabs. Finally I have reached the next stage. I will now reduce the dosage of my suppression jab from 50mg to 20mg so this will help reduce my hot flush. So happy about that. But I know I'm swapping hot flush for bloatedness. Don't know which is worse. Feeling hot or feeling fat?! Ha ha!

Ponya, how did you manage to see the unread emails?? i usually read the email from my iphone and sometimes, it doesnt show the new email until i refresh it and all emails show out...

im so excited for you... *ENVY* too cos you are so close to your goal now... i still have 6 months to go... Seems like a long long way to go for me ...

Laki gal, is the pen jabs same as the one doing SO IUI???

BTW, can i ask a stupid qestion?? Can i be on SO IUI method for the ovulation of more egg but doing ivf method which mean putting the embryos inside to bypass my fallopian tube???

How come my colleague told me that her friend do not need to inject herself but did the transfer of embryos inside straight the womb???

Duffy bear, maybe your colleague's friend did a frozen embryo transfer. Just wait till ovulation and transfer the embryos in. Regarding your question about SO IUI method of ovulation, I suppose IVF is a difficult procedure where the process needs to be tailored to the individual's condition. Hence there are short and long protocols. And even in the same protocol, the number of jabs and dosage will differ from person to person too. So it's hard to tell your doctor how you want to do IVF. You need to find a doctor that you fully trust to tell you what to do.

For example in my case, I wanted to do IVF (i.e. ER and ET) in August. When I started, I was put on long protocol which means that after the 1st bloodtest, nothing starts until D21. So by the time my whole process is complete, my ER will be almost end Sept. IVF takes a lot of monitoring (scans & bloodtest) and adjustments of jabs to get the desired embryos (not too little and not too much which will lead to OHSS).

Regarding the emails, I use a MAC at work and you can see the number of unread emails on screen. I think for you iphone, you can change your setting so that you receive new emails constantly instead of only when you refresh.

Thanks, Laki. Don't know how long is my stimulation leh. But last time doctor said it can range from 12-14 days. So it's another 2 weeks for me. My tummy all blue black from jabs and acupuncture already!

Duffybear, sorry im not too sure bout d pen used for SO-IUI coz tat time mine is a natural IUI. For d pen jab in ivf, u juz need to turn d dosage at d top of d 'pen' and then press n jab into ur tummy.

Lil, u need to change to other plc for injection. Dont jab at d same place, guess u might hve poke into ur blood vessel tat y got blue black. Tat time i only kana 1 blue black bt it tks along time to heal, now still hve a bit of d color. Mayb u wanna try numb d area w ice first b4 jab, it might reduce in d blue black.

min81, how ur review w ur doc?

Cheeka,

Good luck on your sexercise.. Hehe..

Prof wong sees only new patients on saturday.. You'll have to make appt, cannot just walk in.. You were with nuh before rite? Means they have your records.. And 1st visit u should bring any reports you have from ur current gynae.. If don't have, thenjust explain what you've done so far.. Prof wong will advise from there..

Duffy bear,

Why don't you make an appt with prof wong after kkh has given you the all clear on your hcg? He can then advise you accordingly.. And you might not have to wait that long..

Lil Ponyo: I was alone at home dur 2 ww but my dad ta bao for me. You can walk slowly with care , just hav adequate rest . I still do short walk . I have a contact for tingkat meal , have been eating their food v long. I can pm u if you want .

Saralyn,

So excited for your ET tmr!! You had really great results from your ER.. All the best for your ET!!

Saw the doc earlier today.. He gave 2 options - disregard the cysts and go ahead with ivf (which he says not very good), or go for laparoscopy.. My hubby and i decided on laparoscopy, will be done by another doc who's not around today so i gotta go back on fri to see him..

So anyway i asked if i could try naturally after the lap, he said no problem.. Asked if i could do natural iui in 2nd mth, he said good idea.. Told me to go back for review 1 mth after lap, and if all ok, will arrange iui for me.. My hubby now happy to do iui after doc's advice

Oh and i tot lap is day surgery but he told me better to stay 1 nite.. He said why so rush, have a good rest with nurses taking care of me.. Haha.. Now must check how much my insurance cover.. Will most prob be doing it next wk..

Dian_tang,

Can i have the contact too?
Getting a little tired of my current tingkat food.. Thanks!!

How are you doing? It's nearly the end of the 2ww for you right?

Cheeka: go ahead and change. Is important to get a gynea who you are comfortable with..

Lil ponyo: yay!!! Congrats on moving to the stimulation stage. I agreed this long protocol is really very long. My husband and I calculated I jabbed myself for 3+ weeks long.. My neck becomes so long just to wait for this ER and ET.

Duffy bear: my doc told me ivf is like so-iui with more jabs and higher dosage!!

Min: I'm sure you will get your bfp from your iui! Jiayou!!!

I stayed one night too coz my ops was at 3pm. My gynea also said the same thing. Stay one night and let the nurse takes good care of me. Lucky I did stay coz I was puking alot throughtout the night and I was soooo sleepy from the ga. Can't imagine I go home after that.. I will most prob ask my husband to send me back to hospital with my constant vommitting.

I am able to claim my full hospital bill from my insurance. Better check yours cover till which ward. I heard for gov hospital once you have selected a ward, you can only stay or upgrade to a better ward in your lifetime. You can't downgrade anymore..

Min81, tat great. Alot of pple mention af lap they BFP naturally so u b 1 of them too.

Saralyn, hve a gd rest 2day n 2ml u b reunited w ur babies

Saralyn, hope to catch ur baby dust though I still need to rest at least 3 to 6 mths ... Hahaha... But I'm so excited for you.... Keep us posted tml!!!

Cheeka, u are with which gynea??? Like saralyn mention, perhaps u can change to one who u are comfortable with...

After my injection treatment with KKH, I'm oso changing over to NUH ...

Saralyn: hope you are feeling well for the ET tomo!! Oh I didn't know the hosp bill can be claim to insurance .

Min81: it is a good idea to alternate the milk . Never thought of them. I pm u the contact later .
Since you have successfully conceive thru iui before , u may have high chance to succeed . JIA you !!

Saralyn,

Thanks for the info on insurance
I'd better check that out..

Wah lucky you stayed a night at the hosp.. I hope i won't react too badly to the GA..

Laki_gal,

Thank you! I'm hoping to be lucky too.. Not sure if you read the posts from this daddy on ivf thread about taking supplements.. My hubby says he wants to look for the selenium too and try toimprove sperm motility n morphology before the iui..

Duffy bear,

Sorry, missed your post about the cost at nuh.. I haven't done ivf yet so not so sure but was told about 12 k.. Will pay in stages, only pay for what you've done, not pre-pay.. For prof wong, his consultation fees is the highest.. You have to be prepared to pay $130 plus for 1st consult.. Subsequent is $90..

Min81, yup I saw d daddy post. Perhaps can try go GNC or source fm blackmores n take a look. I believe ur chance of BFP is high coz u did BFP b4.

Saralyn,

Jia you jia you!!

Dian tang,

Thanks for the contact!
Oh didn't see prof wong on news.. Chinese news? What was it regarding?

Thank you Laki gal and min!!!! Soooo excited! Having my Mac breakfast now before heading there to meet my babies.

Min: ya.. I saw him too. Is regarding SG women facing fertility issue but they don't know and say is not god will.. And not right timing..

Saralyn, rem to ask bout ur lining and oso d grade of ur embryos ya. Me so excited for u. Rem af tat go hm rest n b a queen k. Ask ur dh to help u w d household chores 1st. Now u juz need to sleep, eat, rest.

Morning all....

Min81: Thanks. Sexercise was successful!

Prof Wong's subsequent consultation fee of $90 is more expensive that Dr Lim's at Mt E! It is as private patient or as subsidised patient?

Duffy: Im with Dr MP Lim at Mt E. I think I will switch to NUH if we decide to do IVF.

Dian Dang: Yes! I saw him on the news too last night!

Saralyn: Good luck for your ET! And keep us posted!

Btw, continuing my story yesterday, I went to gynae this morning. The follicle that was initially 8mm two days ago is now gone. Left a small follicle. Gynae suggested that it could be:
1. We missed the follicle. OR
2. Though LH was tested positive, if there is no mature follicle, egg wont be released.

Most likely is number 2.

Dr said that this cycle is out for us. Will try IUI the next cycle. Wish me luck okay?

The recovery room is full.
im still waiting outside to be called me.

Laki: thanks. Will take note and ask. I hope I will get the chance to consult my doc..

Cheeka: you are with dr Charles lim?!? I was with him previously for my so and so iui.

Good morning ladies. wow the thread so active since I last log in!

Dian_Tang, thank you for the contact for tingkat. I'll certainly check it out

Min81, happy to hear that you have a good and sound action plan. I'll also heard of ladies who BFP after their lap because everything all cleared and clean inside. Good luck!

Saralyn, so so happy for you for your ET! I'm sure everything will go smoothly. Remember to have adequate rest, ya! Don't be a hero. Keep us posted and take care! I started my stimulation jab this morning. I am put on 250mg of puregon for 5 days and see doctor on Monday for scan. Doctor said it's another 2 weeks of jab. That means in total I will be jabbing for almost 5 weeks!! Don't know why it's so much longer than yours.

Cheeka, don't give up and stay positive. Good that doctor has agreed with your plan for IUI next month.

Laki gal, ha ha, my tummy not only blue black from jabs but also my acupuncture. I do that twice a week now. How are you feeling?