IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Saralyn, dian tang,

Oops i missed his interviews.. Hehe.. Was that why he seemed to be in such a gd mood yesterday..

Lil ponyo,

Thanks! We just tot of trying our luck since can't proceed with ivf.. All the best to you! You're getting closer and closer to your goal

Cheeka,

All the best for your next iui! Keep healthy in preparation for it.. You might wanna consider tcm? Yup seeing prof wong is not cheap.. I'm not very sure but i heard he only sees private patients, you can check with women's clinic.. But i find quite flexible in that he has waived his professional fees for me quite a number of times.. The cashier always tell me.. Sometimes i pay only $40.. And sometimes no consultation fee.. I'm very happy to pay less so i never ask why.. Hehe

Ladies, i also wanna say, i was a civil servant.. But i don't have subsidy cos i'm seeing doc for fertility problems.. I was told i can only pay subsidised fees after i get pregnant.. This is how 'encouraging' the govt is.. I can only talk about this now that i've left.. Gonna write in feedback like the other ladies on ivf thread.. I believe every citizen should be entitled to the govt grant for ivf, not just for those who go govt hosp..

Min81: Thanks! Yes, I usually go acupuncture at ma guang. You think I should eat tcm as well?
Actually, my MIL bought some chinese herbs to be boiled and drink at the beginning of the cycle. I'll try if it works.

Abt govt subsidy for IVF, can give feedback to "Ask the PM". I think it's in Strait Times today. We can ask the PM any questions we want.

Laki Gal, cheer up. It will be Friday and then weekend soon
If it helps, set yourself mini goals & timeline so that you will feel great when you reach it. For me, I'm always happy when it's lunch time and then after that I look forward to going home time. Ha ha!

Girls,

I just done with my ET.. Waiting to get discharge. Dr has an emergency delivery and I couldn't wait anymore and went to release my bladder. But within minutes he is back and I got to keep drinking water and waiting till my bladder is full again.. Sigh.. Happening day today.

Laki gal: Dr just causally said lining is good. And I got a report on my embryos..

Lil, thks for ur advice. Will try to get back to my normal self.

Saralyn, congrats n now waiting for u to release baby dust. When is ur bt? So ur report did state wat ur embryos' grade n hw many left to freeze?

My! This thread moves so fast....i am only logging in once a day and i am lost...
hope everyone is good! can start counting down to weekend liao...

today is is my 21st day...suspect opk going to be positive tonight....been so long overdue...cheeka - like u...time for sexercise.. hope hubby isnt tired..

Poll reveals lack of fertility awareness
6 September 2012
Straits Times, SPH

Women with trouble conceiving may be slow to seek help due to misconceptions

EIGHT in 10 Singaporean women want to have kids but are at a loss when they cannot get pregnant. Instead of seeing a doctor, they think it is because of "God's will" or "bad luck".

The responses of the 100 Singaporean women were part of a study that surveyed 1,000 women in 10 Asian countries, the findings of which were released yesterday.

Commissioned by biopharmaceutical company Merck Serono, the study was led by National University Hospital's Professor P.C. Wong, a fertility expert.

From late last year to April this year, researchers surveyed married women aged 20 to 45 who had been trying to get pregnant for the past six months but failed.

Overall, only about a quarter sought medical help when they could not conceive. Compared with women in other countries, women in Singapore, South Korea and China were ahead in terms of overall knowledge about the issue.

While the bulk of the Singaporean women said they wanted to be parents, many appeared not to know much about fertility issues, or what to do if they were unable to conceive.

For example, six in 10 thought that a woman in her 40s was just as likely to get pregnant as one in her 30s.

Prof Wong said this was untrue. The likelihood of getting pregnant plunges from 40 per cent to 10 percent when a woman enters her 40s, he said.

Half of those polled thought that women who stopped having periods could still be fertile and bear children. Prof Wong said such misconceptions were surprising given that such health information was readily available online.

He also voiced concern about the group of women who believed their chances of getting pregnant were high, even when they had been trying in vain for half a year.

Prof Wong said: "Many Singaporean couples are under-informed and not seeking help that could improve their chances of conceiving."

This includes in-vitro fertilisation (IVF), where an egg is mixed with sperm in the laboratory.

The embryos are then transplanted into the woman's womb. The latest figures from the Health Ministry show that the number of IVF babies rose from 809 in 2007 to 1,308 in 2010.

But Singapore's fertility rate has been declining and reached a low of 1.15 in 2010, well below the replacement level of 2.1. Infertility is medically defined as the failure to get pregnant after one year of trying.

In general, it is estimated that about 10 per cent of couples face the challenges of infertility. One of them is Madam June Chiang, 39, who wanted to have children immediately after getting married four years ago.

"I was 35 at the time and had assumed that it would be easy for me to become pregnant, as I led a healthy lifestyle," said the banker.

But the couple were still childless even after a year. That was when they approached the National University Hospital for help.

After two cycles of IVF treatment, Madam Chiang finally gave birth to a girl six months ago.

""I underestimated the impact of age on infertility," she said.

"Otherwise, we would have sought help earlier."

Laki gal: report didn't say the grade. Only show the pic of the embryos. I put in 2 grade 1 4 cells embryos. Freezing 4 grade 1 2 cells and 1 grade 2 2 cells. I have a grade 3 and they not freezing that. So wasteful hor..

Dream: enjoy today exercise! Haha

Saralyn: Enjoy your two week rest at home
Fingers crossed that the embryos find home soon...

Dream: Good luck for your sexercise! Remember to raise your hip so that troops dont flow out.

Saralyn, hw cm they didnt freeze d grade 3? anw u got 2 good grade embryos in u

Cheeka, thks for d article.

Dream, haha muz seduce ur dh n try to get into ur sexercise. Dont raise too high oso in case d sperm all flow too far back.

Cheeka: thank you. Yes.. My 2ww has officially started!

Laki: she was saying the quality is not there already. No point freezing. So sad. The Grading there is 1-4.

How about yours?

Saralyn, that's good that you have 2 Grade1 embryos
Yay!!! Hope they will find a warm and soft spot in your womb to make a home for the next 9 months! Take care!

Laki Gal, you will be fine in no time. Chin up girl!

Cheeka, thanks for the article. I'm surprised that the women that they surveyed are so clueless especially when everything is online. Didn't know this exist because all the ladies here are so inquisitive and know so much!

Dream, jia you, have fun exercising tonight!

Laki: ok ok. Seem like tfc is more generous in the grading. Dr came in and just said I got 7 embryos. That's all. Never say good or not..

Very soon you will have your embryos in you too!! And you will be counting down the 2ww..

Lil ponyo: thanks thanks! Hopefully they will love their new environment and build their home for 9 months.

I also think the same as you. After trying for 1 year, naturally we will go seek help from doc right? And Everytime we go hospital or women clinic, they are always so packed already. Imagine if almost all go to see doc, I don't want to imagine the queue and waiting time.

Cheeka,

Hmm maybe you don't take the herbs first? If wanna take tcm, better to see sinseh.. Last mth i bought a pack of ba zhen ftom eu yan sang to brew.. End up had allergic reaction.. Last year i took tcm cos was seeing sinseh..

Saralyn,

Excited for you! Everythng sounds really good
Rest well these 2 wks..

Dream,

Have fun with your exercise tonight

Laki gal,

Must cheer up k.. I can understand that feeling of having to wait.. But thinking too much about it won't help either.. Why not tell yourself to make the most of this waiting period by taking good care of your health and doing things that you like

3dpiui....
But there was abit bleeding on first day
Dr did pre empt me cos he said I did not drink enough water so he has to manually poke the tube deeper

Saralyn: hooray! u r in 2ww! take care of urself n dun tire urself out...all the baby dust n good luck to u! Cant wait for ur countdown...must let us know..

Diamond: i dun hav any discharge eihter...

hahaha! thks everyone! i cant imagine telling everyone i am going to bd tonight...so pai sei...hahaha

actually, pai sei to ask such a question cos till now i yet to find the ans...i hav heard of pple saying to keep the hips raised...but how? by putting pillows under my bum n hips? before he goes in or before he coems out after putting his troops in or after he comes out after putting the troops in?

hahaha..speaking of which, the other day, my mil asked if i get up immediately after the "act" (she's prob too pai sei to mentioned the exact term)...cos she say must continue to lie down n keep legs raised...

Diamond,

I didn't have any discharge too.. Maybe you check with the docif it really makes you uncomfortable.. Take care and good luck k!

Dream,

Heehee.. Last time i read this book about pregnancy and conception and they gave some tips which we followed.. Didn'tget preggy but i felt it did help in preventing the troops from.flowing out.. Hope you gals don't mind the details here.. Hehe.. After the troops are released, hubby should stay in position until the 'little friend' 'retracts' by itself.. Then wifey can put a little cushion under bum, then bend and hug the knees till close to chin.. Stay like that for 20-30 min.. Of cos, if cramping up just stretch a little.. Hehe.. Can help hubby to train up strong arms too..

Diamond: I don't remember I got any extra discharge during my iui. Hopefully is a good sign for you.

Dream: thank you! Was telling my husband can't believe this journey is coming to an end. Will definitely let you gals know my status. Hopefully I can spread baby dusts to all of you all. Let's bfp together.

Your mil so cute! Ask you such question. Haha. Normally I will put 2 pillows under my butt after all the actions.. My pillow is not thick.. But if yours is, I think one is enough else your back will break after 30 mins!

Enjoy your night, dream!!!!

Lil ponyo: I calculated I jabbed myself 30+ times for this ivf. I also wonder why yours is so long.. I started my suppression on day 23 and not 21. He asked whether my period is very regular and I told him yes. Then he cut short and delay my jab. For stimulation jab, it is normally 9-12 jabs. I took 10 puregon jabs before my trigger.

Very soon this journey is ending for you too! Jiayou! Afew more days to your ER and ET.

Laki gal,

Haha.. Ya didn't work for me too.. Maybe swimmers still not fast enough.. Hehe.. But at least they're not flowing out.. So hope it helps other couples

min81: hahahaha....thanks for the very detailed narrations...i hav never read anything like this...u can be an author! ahhaha....at least i know now...we must have also been doing soemthing wrong...cos i always feel leakage n stain the bed....only once in a blue moon, there's no leakage...

hahaahha....u all so funny....i feel as though this is my wedding night... *shy* *shy*
though honestly, i am a bit tired cos slept at 2am last night...

Hahaha talking about troops...
I have frens telling me after e act there is no troops flowing out.... I was wondering am I doing e wrong thing? Cos naturally it will flow out some... :/

Diamond: i am staying with my MIL leh...not that convenient... actually, i am also a bit pai ssei to sleep so early ....worried she may guess..
anyway, i am still working on my laptop n hubby is bathing...

hahahha...this is so funny...our topic suddenly so ra....sometimes , i feel the more we shcedule n plan for it, it really kills e fun n get so awkward...n during the last few times, hubby always start off with talking abt his starhub bill...hahahahah....i told him starhub matters don turn me on!!

Diamond, I had some discharge After IUI ... But if you r worry, check with yr doc ...

Dream, enjoy urself tonight and lift up ur hip for at least 20 min!!!

Wow, ur mil same as my mil!!! She ask me to "trap" my hb after the act!!! I told her that her son so big size (fat), how to trap him with my leg??? Haahaha....

Saralyn, rest and take good care of yourself... I'm so happy for you....

Oh I just log in. You ladies are so funny! I think Dream must be doing the horizontal salsa now. Ha ha! All the best and enjoy Dream!

Min81, thanks for the step by step guide
ya, for me some always leak out even when I try to elevate my hip. Always feel so sayang. Ha ha!

Saralyn, for me, I just counted and I have around 44 to 47 jabs in total depending if my stimulation is 12 or 14 days. Hopefully, my body will respond well and need only 10 stimulation jabs like you. Were you on 250mg of Puregon too?

Actually the older folks are sometimes quite funny. I remember once my 60+ year old auntie tell me when doing sexercise I must enjoy and cannot do like robot because the act is very enjoyable. Ha ha! My auntie wasn't shy but I was so shy just listening to her!

Min81, actually my mil dun mind if I go adopt a child too... But hb prefer his own flesh... So I will go for ivf as I wanted my own kid too... But in worst case, ivf dun work for me, I will think of adoption ....

Ponyo, so u are next one catching baby dusts? Wow... Hope to hear good news fm you soon... So many happy news today...

Laki gal: woah.. That is very fast. I thought we will only have period after 14 days from ER coz ER is like an ovulation to the body. Maybe you should call the nurse and ask?

I oso got a shock when i realise im hving my af dis morning, hmm ok mayb later i call them up n ask whether is it normal. I juz rem on my day of ER, d nurse told me tat dis coming cycle wnt b regular one so wonder itiz tat y my af bcm so early but is super early.

Morning gers!
Duffy bear: your MIL is so funny...but u are good to be able to respond to her..i already feel a bit pai sei when my MIL asks me...maybe when we reach their age, we wont feel pai sei too..

I havnt thought of adoption.. i dont think i can aceept that...i would probably rather go without kids.. let's not think about that yet.. take a step at a time.. for the time being, let's be positive and just focus on natural/iui/ivf...

Laki Gal: hope you are ok...

TGIF!!

Laki gal, ya better check with nurse. But AF come also good. It cleans out your womb and all those drugs that we jab in. Next month your body will be all refreshed to received your babies!

Duffy bear, yes I'm next in line for ER. But still have more than 1 week to go. If like Saralyn, only need 10 stimulation jabs, then it will be good because I'm already done with 2!! My DH and I have also started talking about adoption. We are open to it but nothing is firmed yet. Actually, I'm adopted too so I'm quite okay with it.

Dian_Tang, is your BT soon?

Lil, yup i check w d nurse, they told me is normal to hve my af now coz of all those hormones stuff. But she say my af might b longer than my normal cycle so juz hve to monitor n c hw it goes. Yup was telling dh tat is gd af cm now coz my body will flushed out all d medication n i can b full gear to rcv my embryos. hehe

Laki_gal: Are you sure it's af? That's very weird.... agree with Saralyn, please call the nurse/ hospital.

Laki & Saralyn: So... does it mean that you can only do ET next month? I dont quite understand.
So....for IVF, first cycle is to get the eggs... then second cycle to ET is it? But I tot must to ET two-three days after ER?