IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Laki _gal: u take care
hope every things turn out well for u

Dian_tang: Thks... I will take good care of myself these two weeks...counting down every days ...

Like Saralyn, I'm getting excited yet scared!
Don't worry too much Saralyn, maybe like you said, you can exercise more moderately and you will feel less cramp.

My AF is seem to be shorter since I started IUI this year. Only 3 days. It used to be 5 days. First day is super heavy, 2nd day is normal, 3rd day is very light and that's it.

Hi ladies, I am new to this thread. How u don't mind.
I am also going to do my first IUI next cycle. I see some of the ladies r seeing dr foong. I m seeing dr Jothi from the same clinic. Can I know how much does 1 cycle of IUI cost on average?

Charlotte, yes medisave can b use for IUI but it was always adviseable not to use it in case need for ivf *touch wood*

Lil, saralyn, Dian tang, try to relax k. N during d cycle
Rem to stay positive

Laki_gal, u went NHU ok KKH to do IUI? Do we just called up n make an appointment to see the fertility doc and tell him we want to do IUI?

Saralyn,

Ya i think exercise makes a difference.. When i was very actively exercising in school, i didn't have cramps at all.. Only when i was lazy and stopped exercising much then the menstrual cramps came back.. Guess maybe when we don't exercise, our muscles become more taut and stiff..

Lil_ponyo, laki_gal, dian_tang, saralyn,

Let's all stay positive and jia you!

Good luck to all ivf ladies!!! August seems to be a action month! As scheduled I'll be doing my 1st iui in aug also... Be praying for all of us ya

Anyway can I check does clomid shorten your monthly cycle? My af is scheduled to be this coming sat, but is now experiencing some menstrual symptoms already...

Charlotte I'm usin medisave for my iui. As I'm doing in at raffles the cos adds up to be quite significant so dh says use 1st then say...

Charlotte , yes you can use medisave for 3 times for either iui or IVF .

Yes we need a lot of courage and support for the program
JIA you , everyone !!

Afternoon, ladies!
Woa! So many messages after just 1-2 days..but i can sense from the messages that everyone is in good and positive mood....That's good! Keep it up! For those who are going into ivf, all the best & good luck! I am sure i am going to hear many positive news on this thread over the next few weeks...so jia you!

Saralyn: Need to wait for ivf meh? Tat's wat i thought...but when i ask Dr Loh, he says no...can do anytime...sometimes, i really dunno wat to do about Dr Loh...If not for the onlines positive comments, i would probably have switched doctors..

This morning, i went to see TCM in AMK..to be honest, she gave me a good feeling..for once, i started having positive thoughts again.. she bothers to explain to me in good details...she tells me for sure i have pcos though not severe..and also mentions that even if i hav ovulation, it may not be a good one. so taking her medicine for 7 days before going for accupuncture for consecutive 3 days...she also says hubby's troops not good since after wash, only 1%. she says need at least 3% - 5% to succeed even for natural cycles... so both of us are going for accupuncture next weekend...according to her, chances for 3rd IUI will be low too...cos IUI only solves the female issues, if any...even if there is a good folicle, without good troops also no use...

So hubby say we will do natural for 2 mths and do tcm under her...then maybe try IUI again...

Charlotte, I went to sgh for my iui. U will have to c d dr first n fm there d dr will diagnose u. U can let d dr know u plan to go for iui n then d necessary tests will b carried out.

Dream, gd luck to u

Dian tang: my today's appointment was made about 2 weeks ago.. It was pretty easy.. And today, I made appoinmemts next thurs to sat... It seems quite easy .. At least, it isn't as crowded n jammed as e TCM at clement .. I dunno whether it is good news.. But since I hav no luck with clementi.. In fact I hav another appt with e TCM at ntu too... 3 weeks later.. Cos I still yet to decide which one.. Is there anyone who goes for TCM at more than 1 place? Oh ya... AMK TCM opens on sun morning...

Hi, I just had a miscarriage (thru natural conception) and D&C done. Very sad as it took us rather long to conceive. Now I am considering IUI. Read up online but not sure when will we need injectables. It's a surer bet than clomid right? I know usual done is clomid+IUI. Can anyone enlighten me on what is short and long protocol? Tks!

Dian tang, i think it is never too late for accupuncture.. And yes, they do for guys cos my hubby is going for e sessions next week too

Good morning ladies! Happy Monday!

Laki Gal, jia you this month! Wish you all the very best and hope that you will not be our buddy in August

Hi Dream, for your TCM, does the doctor give you medicine to take as well? or only acupuncture? I'm not keen on taking chinese medicine as doctor told me to stop when IVF starts. I'm going for my 1st acupuncture this Friday at Raffles Hospital. Hopefully, it will be good.

Hi gal, welcome to the thread. Sorry to hear about your miscarriage. Take care of your body and yourself first. In theory, IUI+clomid will be better than clomid alone since the washed sperm is deposited directly into the uterus near the opening of your tubes. I don't think there is a long/short protocol for IUI. That is for IVF. Hope this helps.

Ponyo, Tks for the explanation. So the injectables are for SO-IUI? Are chances higher? Did u go with that? My problem is slightly PCOS, with slight male infertility factor. I do not know if I ovulate every mth but I have period ard every 35days. Not sure if this is considered irregular period. I do not wanna wait and try naturally anymore...feel I must start to do something else it's hard for me to get over my grief.

Gal: Welcome! Sorry to hear about your m/c..please take care of yourself..you need to overcome your grief first and stay positive before trying iui...in fact, i heard tat usually the woman is quite fertile during the 1yr or few months after the m/c....so pls stay positive and take care..

Lil Ponyo - Yah...TCM usually coupled medicine with accupuncture which just needs to mix the powder with warm water.. actually, i was in a dilemna..i just finished my TCM at clementi (think i am in a mess...going to so many tcm...i couldnt cancel cos i didnt expect AMK TCM to ask me to go for accupuncture next wk and since i had already pre-booked my appt with cliementi, i just carried on but cancel my appt on Thurs...)
I was telling him how i failed my IUI for the last 2 trial and he commented that cos i didnt take his medicine...he says western doc usually don encourage to mix with tcm med but tcm med meant to help the sperm to stick to the egg...n he even said patients should continue taking chinese tcm even during ivf or iui...so i also dunno who to follow...

i had a shock at the tcm at clementi this morning...he says my pulse is odd and asks if i have tested pregnancy kit..i told him no but told him cant be since BT shows negative and my AF came last Sun though for only 1-2 days... and in fact, was still spotting yesterday which isnt my usualy practice.. he asks if i am taking any other medicine other than clomid and i said the tcm medicine at AMK...it doesnt help that i do not know the components of AMK TCM med...so he still insists i do a preg test today, in office or whatever...i just find this thing so shocking...i am still goign to test but i know for sure i cant be preg...since the BT has alreayd said so... it must be the AMK TCM med causing it...

Dream, do you just walk in the AMK TCM w/o Appointment?? Also, beside doing accupuncture, do the sin seh give you any chinese medicine to take ?? i'm consider to go for the accupuncture at AMK. How much is per session??

Ponyo, keep us posted of your accupuncture at Raffles Hospital

Charlotte, the nurse advised me to keep the medisave for IVF as it is more costly. For SO-IUI, it cost me estimated of $1.8k @ KKH.

Gal, Please take care... You can seek doc for advise on which method is suitable for you... As for me, i had tried clomid in May but not sucessful.

BTW, do any one feel sore or swollen breast afer iui??

My breast feel swollen on the next day after iui that i did on last Friday.... It getting swollen every day... Is this normal??

Duffy Bear: I am not sure if you can walk in w/o appointment. You can call to check. i think without appointment, you have to wait..but i suspect they are less crowded during working hours. Yah. there is medicine. When i went yesterday for my first session in AMK, there was no accupuncture. Only med for me and hubby for 7 days. total = $128. Our accupuncture sessions are scheduled this Thurs - Sat. So cant advise uy on the costs yet..

Actually, i feel a bit guilty giving up Clementi..the traveling and effort is too much till i cant really commit and i seldom managed 3 sessions ebfore ovulation...and i wasnt that diligent in taking the med...maybe tat's why i didnt succeed...dunno...

Dream, maybe you could try the HPT again tonight and see what happens. I can imagine how disturbing that remark is from the Clementi TCM. Wish you all the best and baby dust!

Hi Gal, it's probably best to have a chat with your doctor. SO-IUI can be through injections or pills plus a trigger shot depending on your condition. Mine was just pills and trigger shot. In SO-IUI, more than 1 egg will be produced hence the chances are higher. Having said that, to be realistic, the overall IUI chances are not that great either. Probably 15% to 20%, if I'm not wrong. I failed all 3 of my IUIs (including Clomids), now going on IVF.

Duffy Bear, I guess it all depends on individual but I also get sore breast almost 1 day after IUI. From our experiences here, please don't read too much into your symptons are pregnancy signs and AFs signs are the same. The only way to tell is whether AF comes or not after 2 weeks. So try your best to relax these 2 weeks! (I know it's hard

Dream, share your experience after you did the accupuncture...Hope it wont be painful for you

Gal, i did my SO-IUI through injections with the trigger shot ... But like Ponyo had mentioned, the IUI chances are not that great as compared to IVF.

Ponyo, yeap, i try not to read too much... Last night, HB was consoling me not to feel too upset if this round is not sucessful....But i not giving up...so, let all jia you and baby dust to all....

Dream: I thought the blood test is more accurate than pregnancy kit ? But no harm to just test again .
miracle may happen
Lil : I may be going to raffles to c the Tcm too but on sat . Did u choose the doc? They assign Dr Zhao to me

Dian Tang: That's what i thought too and i cant believe Dr Loh making a wrong judgement on this... and i seriously believe it is due to the AMK TCM med...and i am now wondering wat exactly is the AMK TCM Med such such that it changes my pulse..

Duffy Bear: I will share my experience on the accupuncture on thurs...but so far, based on the sessions i have at cliementi, they are actually quite bearable...in fact, the quick sharp pain (to a certain degree) only happens when he prick the needle...after that, it is jsut the needle tweaking..
so if u are keen on accupuncture, dun think too much about the needles...my DH is also very scared of accupuncture and this thurs is only his first session..

Good afternoon ladies.. Hope your weekend was great. =)

OK.. Seem like lack of exercise will cause period cramp. Ok ok.. I will take note of this and start exercising..

Lil Ponyo: My AF become lighter since I started clomid too.. Last time, my AF was 7 days.. Now, 4-5 days only.. Abit worry too but so far, all the gynea I went did not comment. Infact, they were telling me 5 days is the best.

Dream: Nope.. Don't have to wait. Infact, he was asking me to start during my last cycle. But I will be away for 10 days, so I got to push back to this cycle.. Talking about Dr Loh... He is seriousllllyyyy very busy... I emailed him.. Call the clinic alot of time to ask the nurse to chase him to reply my email and till now I did not receive his reply yet. I gave up and don't care already. Anyway, my D2 is over. He can't possibly ask me to change my IVF to the next cycle if he really want me to do the blood test on D2. Angry!!!

Regarding the AMK TCM, we must go see her for first consultation before we can start accupunture? I feel like going but I don't want to take her medicine...

Duffy bear: All the best to your 2ww.. Take all things around you slowly k.. Hope to hear your good news in 2 weeks time. Are you on any progesterone supplement now? If it is, it might be because of that.

Hi Everyone.

Busy busy work for me but next week will be my last week at work. Wanna take a rest.

Menses is late by 2 days but I dun dare to test. Scared turn out to be false hope again. Will wait for another 3 more day to see how.

If next 2 months not successful, I will go back to gynae to do SO-IUI which I hope I need not do so. Really scared of injections.

Seems like quite a number of ladies going for IVF.. you all really super brave. Hope you all conceive soon.

okie...not so sure about exercising..but i do realise that avoiding cold days 2-3 days before AF is due helps to avoid cramp...

Saralyn: I never thought of emailing Dr Loh because i don't think he will ever replied... he's already so busy with his appointments and doubt he would reply emails...would it be faster for u if u were to drop by the clinic and ask if u can interrupt for 1-2 qn??

I don't think u would need a consultation before starting accupuncture. Though i realise if u are seeing her for the first time, she takes a longer time to collate the history. It would be good to bring along any reports or even IUI wash results so that she can make some diagnosis.

I booked last Sun because i estimated my AF would have ended by then. Usually at the Clementi TCM, he would start off with accupuncture immediately. But for AMK, i think she is in favour of accupucture for consecutive 3 days before the ovulation. because she estimated my ovulation would be due next sat - sun, she asks me to come from Thurs - Sat while hubby goes for Thurs & Sat.

As for the medicine, i am not sure...i mean u can buy and skipped the medicine ...she wont know...but is a waste of money..i am not sure how well she will take it if u dont take her medicine.. can try asking subtly...

Ann: update us! Fingers crossed for you.

Dream: during the last consultation when we told him we confirmed want to do ivf, he looked through all those tests I took and he tried not to let me retake the same tests.. Which I think he is nice in this way. Help me save money. But he did not take my D2 hormone test results and ask me to go home to see whether I took this test before and email him. So I went home and found it!! It was taken last year jan. so I emailed him as what he said.. Anyway he says d2 results will let him estimate my dosage and not those mandatory tests to take fro the gov. since he did not reply me I assumed he is fine with my last year results.. He is really very busy hor?? I went to his clinic twice and always so crowded but his consultation is always at 15 mins.. Not those rushing kind..

I will try to call and make appointment with the tcm when I am back from my holiday. thanks for the info..

Laki gal: how long is your cycle now? If it is 5 days then should be ok since gynea told me 5 days is the best.

Saralyn, normally 1st 2 days will b heavy then nxt 2-3 days only like spotting. So i guess mine only bout 4 or 5 days. Then for my cycle will b around 29 to 30 days

Laki Gal, I'm pretty much same as you. AF only 3-4 days and my cycle is 28 days. It's like clockwork yet still cannot get pregnant. Haiz...

Laki gal: mine also the same.. normally will last 5-6 days.. and, is 28 days cycle like lil ponyo.. every month, i can get positive on OPK.. but still end up going for ivf.. Sigh..

Lil n saralyn, same same. I oso get af v regularly but then...haiz...

My fren her af haywire but then still managed to get pregnant n somemore she v v v skinny...haiz

Really wonder when is my turn? When will my baby comes to me? Yest juz went for fren baby shower, every1 come w their babies n im v v v envy of them. Kep thinkin hw gd it will b if im oso one of them, w my baby in my arms. Nxt mth is my 3 yrs of marriage, im telling my dh tat somethin is still missing

Laki gal: Im going to visit my bro-in-law and his wife is expecting 2nd one. Sigh.. I got to face the baby bump and my inlaw.. Sigh.........

Anyway, don't think negative.. Be positive.. We will have our own one in next month! Looking forward to BFP with all of us!!!! Yay!! =D

Saralyn, I taking the progesterone tablets to be inserted into the rectum... Asked the nurse if I can change to orally , if any but the nurse told me to use the insertion type... Been inserting since last Friday ....

Lil : Tell us abt your acupuncture when you go this fri.

Saralyn: Enjoy ur holiday!!

I read this article and found it useful.The link is:
"researchers think that acupuncture may help increase blood flow to the uterus and relax the muscle tissue, giving the embryos a better chance of implanting.

Acupuncture may also help male infertility. Regular treatments have been shown to improve sperm counts and motility (the strength with which the sperm swim) for men with fertility problems but not always significantly. To improve the chances of pregnancy by natural means, acupuncture treatment would need to increase a man's sperm count over the threshold needed for conception. This means a minimum of 10 to 12 million moving sperm per ejaculate, and the men in these studies didn't get up to those levels.

However, for couples considering assisted conception, acupuncture can help by improving the quality of the sperm. In a study published in 2005, researchers analysed sperm samples from men with infertility of unknown cause before and after acupuncture treatments. They found that acupuncture was associated with fewer structural defects in sperm and an increase in the number of normal sperm.

Most experts believe that we need larger and better studies, ideally random and double blind trials, using fake needles for some patients and real ones for others, in order to really know whether acupuncture is effective. In some of the studies mentioned above, the patients and healthcare providers knew that acupuncture was performed, so the studies weren't "blind" and the success of the treatment might have been due to what's known as the placebo effect. Perhaps it was the patients' belief in acupuncture, rather than the acupuncture itself, that accounted for the treatment's success.

However, in the end it doesn't matter that much whether the success of acupuncture is a placebo effect or not. The bottom line is that acupuncture is relatively safe, and if it improves fertility, even if it's only because you think it does, it may be worthwhile.

The best first step to treating any fertility problem is to contact a specialist. If you do decide to try acupuncture, look for a registered acupuncturist, some of whom are also medical doctors. The British Acupuncture Council (www.acupuncture.org.uk) can help you find one near you.

Reviewed May 2007
"

Morning ladies, dian tang thksfor d info. But my dh still dont allow me to go for it.

Min81 n Lil, r u both excited? coz d date is getting nearer. Jy

Yes, will update all of you about my acupuncture on Friday. I hope I get to do it instead of just a consultation this Friday. We shall see.

Laki Gal, yes getting excited. Can't believe that it will be next week! Just bought immunocal yesterday and it will be delivered to me today. So will start taking it tomorrow.

Laki_gal,

Ya feeling a little nervous.. But my cycle is not so precise like you gals.. Has always ranged from 30-35 days so not very sure which day will start too.. I think it's the uncertainty that makes me nervous.. Haha.. Don't know which day to prepare myself for injection..

I won't be going for acupuncture.. Too scared! Haha..

All the best to my cycle buddies!!

Min81: my cycle is same as urs maybe to 30 something days .
Lil: I think the reception said need to consult the physician first first before acupuncture. I also hope to skip consultation.
Btw u bought the immouncal for increasing protein level?

Ask you all a question. I tested on the pregnancy test kit last night. After 2mins like that, it shows a negative and I just left it there. When I woke up this morning, I saw a very very very faint blueish positive line. T

Could it be an evaporation line and not a positive at all?

Today is the 3rd day of me missing my period. Should I wait for a few more days then retest again?

Any advise?

Hi Ladies, I found these info from a blog called 'babydust.com' and thought I'll post it here to share with all of you.

Folic Acid - The moment you decide to embark on your trying to concieve journey, almost every friend you know will advise you to start taking folic acid. Folic acid which is also Vitamin B9 is the key vitamin that will help to prevent spina bifida (serious birth defects of the spinal cord) and also the brain of the baby. Folate is essential for the production, repair, and functioning of DNA, our genetic map and a basic building block of cells. So getting enough folic acid is particularly important for the rapid cell growth of the placenta and your developing baby.

Multi vitamins - In our trying to concieve journey, there are some vitamins and minerals which we need to help to increase our chances of conceiving. It can be too tiring and troublesome to be popping all the different vitamins that we need daily, hence multi vitamin is a better solution. Multivitamin contain majority of the vitamins that we need especially to ensure a healthy body to conceive babies.

Royal Jelly - also known as Queen Bee’s food, is a super fertility food. It helps to balance hormones, good for women suffering from PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome), irregular menses, etc. When hormones are balanced, that will indirectly help you to ovulate better. Royal jelly also helps to improve egg’s health. For ladies who plan to embark on IVF, it is ideal to take royal jelly 2-3 months before your IVF to improve your eggs’ quality. Royal jelly helps to slow down aging and boost immune system.

Immunocal - is an undenatured whey protein isolate that is similar to mothers’ breast milk. It is rich in antioxidents and boost the immune system. It protects the cells from free radicals that could be one of the reason causing hormones imbalance. This is a common supplement that ladies will take 2-3 months before embarking on their IVF journey to improve eggs’ quality.

Zinc - is an essential component of genetic material and a zinc deficiency can cause chromosome changes which will lead to reduced fertility and an increased risk of miscarriage. Zinc is necessary for the reproductive hormones (estrogen and progesterone).

Vitamin C - is an antioxidant which improves hormone levels and increase fertility in women generally. However, overdosage of vitamin C can cause cervical music to become acidic which will unknowlingly kill off some sperms.

Essential Fatty acids - Fish oil together with EPA and DHA have many beneficial effects on fertility. It basically helps to regulate hormones, has anti-flammatory, anti thrombotic and anti-spasmodic properties, improves blood circulation to the uterus and reduce sensitivity to prolactin. Fish oil will also help to increase egg white cervical mucus, decrease menstrual cramps, less clots in menstrual blood, more profuse menstrual blood, less PMS symptoms prior to the period, clearer biphasic charts, etc.

CoQ10 Enzyme - another powerful antioxidant that protects our cells from free radicals which will improve eggs quality. It helps to reduce blood clottings which will ease menstrual cramps.

Grapefruit Juice - Consuming grapefruit juice is a natural remedy that some women take to increase their eggwhite cervical mucus(EWCM). It also helps to thin the EWCM to allow the sperms to ‘swim’ faster towards the egg.

Chicken Essence - is nourishing in nature, is recommended by most TCMs to consume during 2 weeks wait as it will help the body to produce more progesterone.

Red dates longan tea - is ideal to take at least once a week especially for women with PCOS and endometriosis. Women with PCOS and endometriosis problems are advised to avoid Chinese herbs such as danggui (当归), bai feng want(白鳳丸), zhen (八珍), etc. Red dates longan tea is nourishing and improves blood circulation, ‘bu xue’ 补血 (similar function as danggui).

Old Ginger tea with black sugar - is good for women to take in general. Old ginger helps to expel wind and warms the womb whereas black sugar improves blood circulation. Ladies with endometriosis problems are recommended to take old ginger tea daily as it helps to improves nausea which is commonly encountered in 2WW. Improved blood circulation will also help to ease the cramps that most ladies with endometriosis will experience during their menses.

Dian tang: thanks for the info. The more I need to force myself to go try. Am going when I'm back from my holiday.

Lil ponyo min81: jiayou!!!! Mine is 2 weeks from now.. Getting really excited.. Hopefully the jab daily is not that bad and painful. I still remember the first time I jab myself was at KL!!! I wanted to go gp to do it but too far from hotel.. So I did it myself and I bend the needle. I had no choice to still continue to jab.. Haha.. After that, slowly got used to it and it wasnt that hard.

Ann: I have no experience with the test kit. But from what I read before, it is best to read the result within the time frame which is around 10 mins?

Have you tried testing it this morning?