IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

DHM and missbean,

I'm really envious.. My fren just told me she's 6 weeks pregnant.. She had been trying just about 4 mths.. And her tips for conception came from me as she had nobody else to talk to about ttc.. Wish they had worked for me too..

Min81,
Dun be despair, k? U will get yr return soon...
It's like time deposit.
Once time is up, u will get yr return with bonus.
I oso tried for 2 years b4 I got mine.
Gambatte!!!

Oh missbean! We have been waiting anxiously for this news! Big congratulations to you!!! Very very happy for you. Please continue to take care of yourself. I read from other threads that there are many many more 2ww to survive through after you BFP! Wish you a smooth and healthy 9 months ahead. Glad to have this good news in this thread and that Dr Foong was able to help you. Hope he will be able to help me too. Your 2ww symptons sounds so much like mine during my last iui but don't know why I didn't strike.

DHM, gosh how time flies! You are finishing your 1st trimester already!? Please continue to take care ya? You are doing a great job already

Okay girls, let's ganbatte in Aug!!!!

Dear Saralyn, don't worry, so many girls on the IVF thread are with Dr Loh and when you look at the spreadsheet, you'll see that a lot have BFP with Dr Loh. So you're in good hands.

And on the other hand, there are very few girls there with Dr Foong and that's why I got a bit worried last few weeks. I wonder why so little girls here see him. Wonder I'd it could be because it's a private clinic?

min81: *Hugz* *Hugz*...let's continue to work hard togeether and not think too much...maybe sometimes we want certain things too badly and things dont happen..tat's wat my fren say...mayb time to force ourselves to take things easy...

Saralyn: i was googling on icsi and found this link: http://ivf.cliniccompare.co.uk/icsi-versus-ivf
maybe u wan to read it up....apparently, if i understand correctly, icsi is usually meant for cases when the issue may lie wiht the sperms..on the assumption that the egg is a good one since he only uses 1 egg...but if it is the other way, then maybe normal ivf has higher chances...i dunno...something worth to ask Dr Loh..

i wonder if i shd ask hubby to go for tcm then if his troops arent tat great...

Laki_gal: don think so much...stay positive! Maybe like wat my fren and DHM say, it maybe sometimes depend on when we are destined to have our own baby...trying too hard prob adds stress? & taking things easy may end up increasing the chances.. (hahaha..i also having the struggle to relax...)

My fren was telling me her sis had 3 times ivf at her doc at paragon and it fails....for the 4th time, she did it in kk and it succeeds...

so maybe sometimes it really depends on our luck..so dun worry too much...

Positive thoughts!!! Must rememebr!

Girls...

Is time of the month that I will feel sad.. Angry.. Etc etc... My period is coming.. Sigh...

Think ivf is the only hope for me now...

Saralyn: *Hugz* *Hugz*.... sayang sayang...
Try to take it easy ok?? look on the brighter side..since you already planned for ivf, just dont think of anything else...Think positively...maybe meet up some close friends for dinner and a laugh or go for some retail therapy which will make u feel better...

Saralyn,

Dunno why, i've been feeling down since last nite too.. It's nice to see others getting preggy.. But can't help feeling sad inside..Cn't help thinking that i shld be 6 mths pregnant now.. Especially when i see my sis-in-law with her big tummy.. I was supposed to be due just 2 wks after her.. Honestly, the thought that i could have another miscarriage even if i get pregnant scares me..

So sorry for the negativity, girls.. Just feeling so down and didn't wanna worry my hubby by talking to him about it.. Trying hard to not think so much and be positive..

DHM,Saralyn,Dream,min81,Lil Ponyo: Many thanks for your well-wishing! Yes, I will take good care of myself.

Lil Ponyo: I think you will be in good hands with Dr.Foong. I think he was quite accurate in predicting ovulation and knows when to increase dosage for medicine and injections etc. I also wonder why not many ladies in forum goes to him. I do see him with quite number of angmos (expat's wives) and Japanese though.

I think perhaps this IUI succeeded because I was on 5mg clomid + 100ui injectables from alternate Day 4 onwards till Day 12 + HCG trigger shot. Increased the probability. I didnt lie for 30mins in Dr.foong's clinic after that. Only a short 5 mins and I stood up. Also had to drive home myself from the clinic ( hubby wasnt with me). Then I went home and took a nap a few hours later before dinner. My hubby's troops wasnt that many though... 11million after wash and only 40% were grade A after wash (none were grade A after wash). Even Dr.Foong wasnt too confident of Hubby's troop. so I'm guessing its all depend on Luck.

Girls, I can understand the feeling and envy you have. You probably wonder when your luck will come and why you were the chosen one to go through this. I went through it too. Journey close to two years. Hugs for all.

min81: sorry to hear abt the m/c...maybe think positively from another perspective: tat proves everything is ok for u...u can conceive..and i heard women is usually the most fertile during the 1yr after m/c...so good luck and think positively again..
for me, i cant even succeed after 3mths of clomid and 2 trials of iui...dun even know if i can conceive to begin with...

missbean: can i ask how many follicles you have while u were doing the IUI and wat were the sizes? Guess till now, i am still trying to be a doc myself (haha) and trying to pinpoint a problem..dun rem seeing Grade A or whatever on DH's after wash report...i only rem seeing the % or watever types of sperm...whether round heads, wiht defects or whatever...Dr Loh also woulnt up my injection...so i keep it at 75 from Day 2 till 2 days before IUI...

Dream: I had only 1 big enough (don't exactly know what size) follicle for the IUI. I do know that my ovulation happen on the day of IUI. Dr.Foong scanned before he did the IUI on that day. I was on Puregon 75ui from Day 6 to Day 12 alternate days before. Tried for 1 natural conception cycle but it doesnt work for me. Then he told me to do the injections earlier from Day 4 with 75ui. Didnt work again for natural cycle. So Dr.Foong up to 100ui thereafter.And was successful for the IUI after this.

What is the procedure for the iui day when gynea need to inject the sperm into our body??

Is it painful?? Any injection??

Is it similar to doing HSG test for checking our fallopian tube??

Dream, im trying to stay positive but sometime somehow it seem difficult haiz. Feel like every mth is trying hard but then when u c red, ur mood is totally destory n then when ur af is gone, u feel tat u gg thru d whole cycle again. Haiz, sorry for being negative coz now af gg to end n i will b gg thru 1 more last round of naturaly ttc b4 await for my ivf. *Finger cross n hope i will bfp dis natural cycle*

Saralyn hugs, understand ur feeling

min81, i understand hw u feel, in d ivf thread whenever i c those ladies bfp, i kep wonder when will b my turn n will b v envy esp those strike at 1st try. Will then wonder will i oso strike on my 1st try. Plus kep hearing tat frens around me getting preggy so ez while im d only 1 still struggling. Sorry to affect ur feeling more coz i oso need to it out. U dont worry bout ur miscarriage k coz it will not happen to u again. This time round u sure will have ur little ones in ur hands safe n sound. Let try to cheer up tog

Me too! I was happy yet somewhat sad too! Sorry to be a downer Missbean, I'm truly happy for you. You give me hope that we will succeed one day too. I always envision the moment when I'll get BFP and how happy my DH and I will be. I even told Dr Foong that if and when I BFP, I'll be so happy that I'll give him a hug. He is so sweet, he told me he is looking forward to it. Please come back to this thread once in a while to cheer us on

Saralyn, hugzzz. Everything will be okay. Take this time to do the things that you avoid while TTC such as eat oysters, have coffee, active exercise, a glass of wine, etc. we will Ganbatte together. Whatever the outcome is, let's give it our best! We're all here together.

Min81, big hug for you too. It's so tough and I can't imagine what you are going through. But look ahead to all the possibilities and try not to look back. What is in the past is in the past.

hi...have never been in this thread..but have been through this route..

my cycles were all regular...I'm not considered old (or maybe I don't admit I am, being at 31)...with the medications, I always had 2 and sometimes 3 follicles of good sizes..all conditions favourable to me..and yet I failed 4 rounds of natural TTC and 3 rounds of IUIs...simply couldn't understand why...like all of you..it's even more frustrating when people around me start to conceive and when ppl ask when's my turn...

Never knew I had to go that far for fertility treatment..given that my family weren't that open-minded...even when I went on the IVF route..I didn't tell my own parents up till today..strange but I couldn't bring myself to it...in fact thought I made the right decision as my mum recently was commenting that some relatives were gossiping about another relative who went to ivf because her hubby is infertile...I was fuming mad and chided her for being so ignorant...

anyway..my point is I'm glad we have support for one another here and I'm sure all of us here will have a chance to be mummies one day...don't give up!!

Sorry ladies.. posted such -ve post early morning..

I'm ok now after doing houseworks! My husband actually banned me from doing housework once my period stopped which was 3 weeks ago..

min81: cheer up.. I know is easy to say than done.. But that's what we can do now. Don't look back.. look forward to one coming soon.. we will all gonna have our own big tummy, morning sickness, backache, etc etc.. very soon!!!

missbean: come back here regulary to chit chat k.. once again, take good care!!!!

laki_gal: *hug back* thanks... you must work hard for this coming cycle k.. we hope you will get your own bfp and not be our ivf cycle buddy in aug..

dian_tang: thanks!!! is so nice to come back here to see so many encouragment from you all..

lil_ponyo: Yup!! gonna start my jogging to lose some weight.. gonna have coffee and coke this weekend! maybe i should go eat ice cream now to console myself.. heehee..

biggly: welcome!! let's work hard together and one day we will be mummies!!

Yes, I will pop in to give encouragement and see how you girls are doing? Maybe BFP will stop popping in next few months for you girls. Take, I will take care of myself and hope the little bean stays.

Can anyone tell me what is the procedure for iui day? im schedule for it on tomorrow and im v nervous.

I was in great pain doing HSG test (Checking for any blocked fallopian tube) and hence, i had phobia to do similar procedure.

Any more injection done on IUI day??

Thank v much....

Duffy bear: iui is like doing pap smear with a full bladder. I don't think there is pain but more of discomfort.. The feeling that you need to pee but you can't.

In the morning your husband will have to produce his specimen and bring it to the center to wash personally. You can't submit on behalf him. After few hours, you can go back and collect the washed specimen. Quickly bring it to your gynea. Before the procedure, you will lie on e bed and nurse will scan to make sure you uterus is pressed down by the full bladder. Once you are ready, your gynea will insert the washed specimen in. No feeling to me thought. After that rest on the bed for awhile and you can go home to rest.

Saralyn, Thks for ur information... Phew... Now I can relax abit...

Btw, any idea if I can walk around after the IUI?? I need to attend an important event in the afternoon ... Must I lie down all the while on the bed after IUI???

Duffy Bear, welcome to the thread and good luck on your IUI tomorrow!

Booboolina, not using donor sperm for DH and I. I've always wondered if this was available in Spore? Same with donor egg.

Saralyn, I go home rest for a while b4 gg to best buddy wedding ...
I tried not to walk alot too much...

Lil, Thks for ur well wishes.... I hope everything go smoothly

Duffy_bear: all the best.. Rest more and don't walk so much k.

I just made appointment for my day 21.. Ivf... Here I come!!! Sooo excited yet scared.. Haha!

Ladies, can share what can I do or eat in these 3 weeks to prepmy body?

Saralyn, from the other thread, the ladies suggest Longan Red Date tea, prenatal vitamins that includes Folic Acid, some take immunocal, do acupuncture, wear slippers at home and use tummy warmer. Most of this is to bu our womb and encourage healthy eggs. Hope this helps!

But when I ask my doctor, he said nothing to prepare and most of it is just a mental preparation.

Saralyn,

If you ask the doctors, like what lil_ponyo said, they'll tell you nothing special to eat, drink or do, just mental preparation.. Even after the injections have started, prof wong says just no alcohol, no smoking and max one cup of coffee or tea a day..

So you're on long protocol? When is your day 21? All the best!!

err diantang, think i gve acupuncture a miss. But like wat lil mention im taking ensure milk, prenatal vit, LRD, wear slippers n socks now to prepare myself oso

Lil_ponyo and min81: yup.. The doctor told me nothing and continue to take my folic acid.. He even said is nothing. Just like SO-IUI with higher dosage and many more jabs. He makes it sounds so easy right..

Hm.. Im taking conceieve well (alternate day somemore coz is too strong to me) and some day I make longan red date drinks.. I can't take too much of lrd.. I get heaty and sore throat easily.. I never take anything other than these 2.. Hm.. Worry I not eating too well.

Dian_tang: I thought of going acupuncture but lazy. Haha! Maybe I will go after I'm back from my trip which is the start of my stage 1 ivf..

Min: yup.. I'm doing long protocol because doctor says the suppression is good for me.. Stop my hormones.. Guess my hormones are not in good balance bah.. My 21 will be aug 9 which is a public holiday so they asked me to start on 8 aug. will be going down to know what I signed up for. Haha..

Saralyn, mayb let not worry about whether we do enough or not coz i get to know some ladies, they didnt take any extra stuff during ivf n still manage to get bfp.

My dh was telling me tat ivf is already a process tat dr will help to merge d best egg n best sperm tog so even doing extra stuff or taking extra food wont help us in a way. So sometime i oso in a dilemna.

Let all keep at positive thou n we will all get bfp in aug n tat will b my wedding anniversary gift from god

Do u know which date u gals will b starting ivf?
Saralyn - 9 Aug (long protocol)
Me - est 17 Aug (short protocol)
how about d rest?

at the most, i will only start with the icsi/ivf in Dec... planning to go IUI again next month, prob with Dr Foong to try my luck.

What's a long protocol and short protocol? Are there many different stages in ivf? cos Dr Loh is just like IUI... but of course, everything seems so easy for him...i can understand how Saralyn feel...

in fact, i have been abstaining from cold drink last month adn coffee for a couple of months. i am so sick of it that i drank a cup of coffee for these two days..and planning to eat my ice cream this weekend...kekeke...

Dian_tang,

I won't be going for acupuncture.. Think will stress me out more.. Hehe..

Saralyn, dian_tang, laki_gal, lil_ponyo,

Let's not worry about not doing enough.. I think we're all doing fine and trying our best already
I think sometimes the doctors don't want to give too much details cos don't want us to get too stressed..

Laki_gal,

For me, start date of ivf: Est 30 jul-2 aug (short protocol)

Ok ok.. I try to be healthy and rest well. Don't want to stress over what I did and didn't do..

Laki_gal: the list is a good ideal.. We can keep track easier.. Thanks for coming up this ideal.

Dream: long protocol is 6 weeks long process.. Short protocol is 4 weeks. Ion protocol will do hormone suppression first before stimulation. Short will do both at the same time.

Have you call for appointment? I heard is quite long wait to get an appointment.. Wishing you will get your bfp bfp bfp in your next cycle!!!

Today is my day 1 and I felt some pain at both side of my ovaries. I am really hoping it is not cysts growing..

Do you all get cramp when period comes? Last time when I was very active in exercising I never had any pain.. Once I stopped and slowly I get a lot of pain cramp etc during period.. Sigh.. Guess age is really catching up too and our body is not that strong anymore..

Dream, mayb u wont hve to go for ivf in dec. *wink*

Mayb we shldnt abstain fm so much stuff, like somethin pple didnt abstain, like my fren everyday drink coke n nw she is preggy w her 2nd *so envy*. I think like wat min81 mention b4, everythin as long as moderate shld b fine for us. We r already trying so hard n if sometime we abstain fm gd stuff (like ice cream), life will b misery? hehe think mayb once a mth we can pamper ourselves for a day like hving cold drink, coffee, ice cream etc, shldnt b too guo fen? hehe juz my thots

Saralyn, sometime i will hve cramp but it will depend whether i hve cold drink or not hehe. But then now i feel my af is v short, bout d 3 days it seem to stop n i cn juz hve panty liner. R u gals oso like tat? Wonder itiz somethin wrong w me. So scare bt then my af is v on d dot. Toto oso nv so accurate lolz

Updated list:
Me - est 17 Aug (short protocol)
min81 - est 30 jul-2 aug (short protocol)

Lil, when ur? Dream, i wnt include u coz mayb u wont need it

Laki gal - est 17 Aug (short protocol)
Dian_tang: est 8 aug ( short protocol)

Oh no I am still drinking 2 coffee per day , bought conceive well but haven t start . Shd cut down the caffeine -_-
I may be going to acupunture as Tcm said it can relax the uterus dur IVF . Also drinking longan red dates drink, red bean soup and drink 八珍汤
Yes just relax and stay healthy and positive !! Gambatte !!

Dian_tang - est 8 aug ( short protocol)      
Laki gal - est 17 Aug (short protocol)

Hehe I arranged d list so that we can b update of every1 status n jia you for 1 another.

Dian tang, Not to worry bout d caffeine. Recently ther an article tat drinkin kopi can live longer. Btw lrd, red bean n 八珍汤 r heaty so u hve to drink more water

Saralyn, like you said, the IUI is uncomfortable but not painful....

I had sit down alot, didn't walk much...

So you schedule for ivf??? All the best to u..

Hi ladies, I just got back from my business trip. Good idea to start list Laki Gal. I think my AF will come on 1 Aug. since my doctor told me its a 6 weeks process, I guess my is long protocol!

Morning ladies. Being hvin bad cough guess I'm too heaty coz put in too much longan n red dates.

Haiz later gg out w fren n c them w kids mk me feel envy n 2ml gg baby shower. Feelin emo nw

Duffy bear, gd luck to u.

Lil ponyo - 1 aug (long protocol)
Dian_tang: est 8 aug ( short protocol)
Saralyn - 9 aug (long protocol)
Laki gal - est 17 aug (short protocol)