IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Just got back from the doctor's with my bag of Puregon and needles. First time jabbing, unlike many of you!
I'll be doing the short antagonist protocol so no need for down regulation, just straight into stimulation.
Fingers crossed!

Ganie,
Yes the 2WW can be quite dreadful! But try to occupy your time with activities, work etc. No lah, I'm quite tired also after 7 IUIs, sometimes it gets unbearable. But what to do, have to pick myself up and move on. Otherwise, I will be wasting time and energy on nothing.

Heather, you are right! I'm going to be here so often from next month on heh heh. You guys must keep me company. How many more IUIs before you are ready to move on to IVF? Hopefully won't get there lah!

Kate,
Jiayou! We'll do this together.

Star,

Yeah, I will keep you entertain de... hehe... But I am on course next Tuesday and Wednesday. So may not reply so instantly. Hehe...

Oh, can you tell me more on what is short antagonist protocol? How different is it like as compare to the normal one? Er, actually what is the normal one like? BTW, where you doing your IVF har? hehe....
So you have your first jab? How is it like? So curious to know more on this.

Hi HeatherWhite,

When I call up KKIVF the other day...they told me its best to obtain referral letter from Poly before we proceed to see Dr SF LOH. Let me try 1st & I will advise you all

Hee let me put on my doctor's hat heh heh.

The normal, longer protocol is down regulation. Basically you need to "switch off" your system into a state of menopause. Your reproductive system stops working so it makes it easier for your doctor to control how the ovaries will work (also I think eggs will grow more evenly and at similar speed later). This is about 2 weeks?

After suppression, it's stimulation - similar to SO-IUI where you jab and grow the eggies. That's another 2 weeks and then egg retrieval and egg transfer.

For antagonist, we skip the entire down regulation and go straight into stimulation. And then once the eggs are large enough, it's ER and ET.

So for antagonist, we have less jabs and the cycle is shorter.
But the antagonist protocol is newer so many doctors still go by the down regulation method.

Hope that helps!

Star,

Thanks thanks. This is clear. So where you do your IVF? You know how much it cost? I bet this is cheaper than the normal IVF? Actually this is quite similar to SO-IUI? Instead of doing the IUI part, you have the IVF instead?

Hi Kate, no, am with pte clinic so the costs are crazy!!
But what to do, husband likes our current doctor now so.....

Heather,
I'll be having it done at Mt E. Estimated costs about $15K in total, before deduction from Medisave. Very expensive! But we started out with pte doctor so decided to stick with him. Yes, it's very similar to SO-IUI, except that there are more scans and blood tests in between and instead of IUI it's IVF.

Hi Kate, heatherwhite
I am just planning to get a 2nd opinion on what is my next step.

This cycle is a totally natural cycle so I plan to see any Gynae before I decide cos no need to go chk up and not on medication.

Kate, star
Thanks for the IVF info.

Oh just to add
I am with LC Foong gleneagles.

I overheard his nurse advise o another patient on IVF cost. It is about 15-17k depending on the medi

hi foodieshare,
How many IUIs have you gone through?
Good to get second opinion.
Although Dr LC Foong seems like a really nice guy and good doctor (I was reading his thread till all the way back to 2006 lol).

Star

I been thru 2 SO IUI. I want a 2nd opinion with kK so in case I need more intensive treatment I can go there at cheaper cost.

Dr Foong is not bad but Mayb I dun hv luck with him. I have been with him since 1 yr ago still nothing

I was on leave yday busy running errands... keke... so no chance to come in to chat... :D

Kate, I feel so motivated after seeing your post... hahaha... I think maybe I should just consider proceeding into IVF instead of trying another round of IUI... wahahaha.... A friend told me if is lst time done at KKH, the cash outlay is almost the same as IUI... but I dun feel like changing Dr Fong as I am v comfortable with him..

Star, jia you jia you.... I am excited for you...
We will all be here give you lots of support!

Foodieshare,
Ah no harm going for second opinion. Try lah and see what Dr Loh has to say. But I know that the queue for IVF is quite long at KKH, you may not get to do it until 2-3 months later.

Diamond,
Thanks! How many IUIs have you done? Just keep trying, you never know. :p Same lah, I was very comfy with my doctor so stick with him, at least through the first IVF.

Hi Diamond,

That's how I feel....in my mind I always tot IVF chances is better than IUI so I wanna give it a try... since I already gone thru the injections with SO IUI i guess its pretty much the same as IVF..only different is when transfering the embryo.

I was checking my mail box at home yesterday & I recieved KKH welcome guide book for my appt on Saturday morning...I was so impressed & delighted ..hehehe. I tot the service there quite bad...This will be my 1st time gg gov hospital for fertility issues. Will keep you all updated

Kate,

Woaw, that's really impressive!
I realize the gov hospital service are not bad nowadays. I was quite impressed by the stage of art equipments when I was send for a detail v-scan in NUH.
Ok, do keep us update on your progress. So curious to know more too.

Star and Foodieshare,
I am opp, I am not very comfortable with my current doctor but more comfortable with the location. So will try to stick with NUH as far as possible. I told HB about the IVF jabs, I think he was more freak out than me. He ask me don't go for that, cos he feels that the jabs and process is a torture. Sigh, I still expect him to help me on the jabs if I am doing IVF. I think he need more mental preparation than me. haha... Most lightly will stick with IUI plan for one or two more cycles.

Hi heatherwhite,
I'm also seeing Prof PC Wong, but doing IVF now.
Had doen twice IUI with Clomid, but failed, did not want to try the 3rd round, thus started IVF.
If U would like to know more abt IVF in NUH, U can check with PC Wong or alternative is go to level 4, CHR dept (IVF dept). The staff there is very nice, they also have seminar abt IVF program in NUH to the public, it helps alot of understanding the whole IVF program, before U decide to embark.
Basically, natural IUI is used on U, becos probably U do not have problem in ovulation, thus U don't need any med.
Hope this helps U to decide what would be the next step.
Hi starbaby, saw U in IVF thread. Best of luck to yr cycle.

Bluenosebear,

Hi, thanks for the information. I didn't know there is such seminar in NUH. I will check this up. Guess this will definitely help in my planning.
Bluenosebear, you also find the IUI successful rate is very low? If you were to choose again, will you go for second time or go straight to IVF? You did your IVF already? Update us your progress ok?
Yes, since you are with Prof. Wong, may I ask you how you find him? Is it good to stick with him? I find him rather cool, sometime hard to ask him question. Sigh...

Hi Kate
I didn't know kK so good still have guide book.
Continue to post updates here ok.

I have sore throat now think I can only call them next week. Painful to tok.

Kate,
That is impressive! KKH is really efficient. Let us know what Dr Loh say on Saturday.

Heather,
Best of luck with whatever you choose! I went through 7 IUIs so basically there is not point in prolonging the obvious anymore but if you feel you still have a shot at IUI, then go for it. At least you would have done everything you possibly could. (That was what I told myself after the 7th iui)

Hi bluenosebear! Long time no see, how have you been?

MIA for a few days as I was down with flu and conjuctivitis in the midst of SO-IUI treatment. I'm in the 2WW now but not too optimistic.

Looks like there's some buzz about IVF at KKH. No cash outlay for 1st IVF? Makes me very gian. But if I go via polyclinic, will be considered as subsidized patient, can I still choose attending consultant?

The #2 consultant in KKIVF after Dr SF Loh is Dr Sadhana. Is she good? Read from IVF thread, Dr Loh can have quite an attitude?

Diamond: I'm same like you, comfortable with Dr Fong. But if this cycle fails, really no choice have to go to KKH.

Wave wave, starbaby.
Heatherwhite-Becos of my PCOS & hubby's sperm also not perfectly good, so I forgo the 3rd round of IUI.
But yr situation is different, both U & hubby, seems like no problem. For U, likely is timing ba.
I failed my 1st IVF, would be going round 2 in June.
From the way the girls describe of KKH & NUH, I still prefer NUH way. So I will stick with Prof, he is man of few words, but when U ask him questions, he sure would explain to U.
So whenever U see him, must prepare beforehand the questions.
U should discuss with him what is the next step if U are not keen for another round of narural IUI.
IVF is more invasive & not 100% gurantee that U woul dbe pregnant.
Lastly, U should feel comfortable with the Dr, if not I suggest U should find someone that U are more comfortable with.

Tambourina,
Hope you are feeling better now! It ain't over till the fat lady sings so keep hoping! If you go via polyclinic, I think you won't be able to choose the doctor you want each time you go to the hospital.

Bluenosebear,
When do you have to decide on fresh/fet by?

Bluenosebear,

I will still stick with NUH for sure cos of the location. Sign, HB and I both have problems. I have ovarian cysts, and HB is poor in morphology. Maybe I need to check with Prof. Wong if I need to clear my cyst before I proceed with IVF. Will them analyze for us on what is the likely cause of the failure in our IUI or IVF?

Tambourina,
I wanted to tell you to stay positive, but I think it is better if you to totally don't think about the outcome of this SO-IUI in this 2WW. We have done our best on the first half of the cycle, 2nd half just let nature take its course lar.

Star,
How's your jab? You self jab or with HB's help?

Happy Friday girls!
The long weekend is such a godsend.

Heather,
I'm starting jab tonight. HB volunteered to help so let him help lor.

I'm at KK now.. was informed Dr SF LOH not taking
Subsidies patients.. So I will be private patient
no choice lor.. DR coming in at 10am & I already
took the q no. & now waiting for hi
to come. Will let you know the charges later.
Happy lOng weekend tO all!

Dr SF LOH wants me to check on HSG before
Proceeding to IVF. He said iVF charges only
Few hundred dollars. I went to diagnostic imaging
Centre at KK for appt but their are fully booked. I have
to wait for my next mth period then I can call for appt.
HSG can be done within 12 days of menstrual cycle..but must wait till no blood den can proceed with the test.

Kate,
Thanks for the updates. How u find Dr. Loh? Did he ask Yr Hb to do SA test? N what other things he suggest to u beside HSG? He encourage to do ivf? Or wait for the HSG result then suggest u a suitable treatment

Hi HeatherWhite,

I like him alot...very friendly. I feel comfortable & also have faith in him...hehehe. He said that I'm still young & if he do IVF for me got high chance...but he want to check on my tubes 1st..if its block he will flush it & ask us to try natural. Still cannot concieve can proceed with IVF. He also told me maybe this happened because I did D&C for my last miscarriage. Previous gynae might scrap the cervic area to much that's why its hard for me to get pregnant.

Total charges today was $110. My Hubby is a civil servant so we use CSC card they will deduct from his salary. Will let you know the discount after payment deduction.
Waiting time was very long.. We came at 9.20am only get to see him at 11am & we were only the 5th patient.
We will stick with him, good experience!

Bluenosebear,
All the best!

Kate,
Good to hear that your consultation with Dr Loh went well! Hope your HSG will be shun shun li li too, everything clear and unblocked.

Just started on jabs, it's not as scary as I thought it would be heh. Started taking more protein foods as well, I'm quite terrified of getting OHSS.
Fingers crossed!

Star n foodieshare,
Wat is OHSS?

Bluenosebear,
Good luck to yr fresh ivf. Do drop by here to give us updates too.

Kates,
Waow, seems like u found a good doctor. Ya, hope yr HSG shun shun Li Li too, clear clear all the way! Hee.

My friend just gave birth to her second child. Mass msg to us with her new born photo to spread her happiness. Sign... When will be my turn.

Hi heather,
OHSS is ovarian hyper stimulation syndrome. Basically your body produces too many follicles such that fluids start leaking into the tummy area to cause abdominal pain and distention. I've read of ladies who have had to go to the hospital to have the fluids drained! Protein helps to absorb some of the fluids and alleviates the bloat. Been taking 5 egg whites and a protein drink everyday. :/

Hang in there! We will all get our happy ending eventually.

Hi Kate,

I was worried abt going for the HSG test too.. but it didn't turn out to be a big deal.

The insertion of the equipment feels like a pap smear. The dye that runs thru, well, did feel a little uncomfy. Like major period cramps.. But it was over in no time.

You will spot abit and have stuff leaking after the test, so if you like, bring your own liners, though the clinic should provide.

Abt whether you can work, i was up and running after but still felt a little cramps here and there. But if there isn't anything impt at work, i think it's a good idea to give yourself a break.

Nothing to worry about! Everything will be fine.

Just wanted to rant abit before going to bed.
It has been a week after IUI and im trying very hard not to think and countdown, but, its really difficult. haha..
On one hand, im optimistic and then on the other, i feel that i might fail this cycle. Sigh, my poor brain and weak heart...

Oh, and i have 1 question, do any of you suffer cramps a week before period is due? I never took notice before i was TTCing and i dunno whether its normal. I felt sharp pains over the area of my right ovary for the whole of yesterday. Well, coincidentally, the dominant follicle for me this round is on the right side, so i dun think its side effects from medication. Btw, im on progynova and utrogestan now. One of them is making me sleepy all the time with occassional abdominal cramps.

Hi Kate

Tried to call dr s f Loh, number is always engaged. Do u know of any other number to call since you are his patient now?
I called 6294 4050

Hi Foodishare,

When I went to see him last Saturday I saw his office phone wasnt put on properly as if they dont want any patient to call.

I have his personal nurse direct line but it's at home. Let me call my hubby to get the no. Will
Will update u soon!

Ganie
I was on progynova. But I was told to stop after ovulation.
So I dun feel sleepy last cycle.

What is utrogestan for?

Kate
Thanks a lot.

Star,

Thanks for the explanation. I have learn something new! Hehe... How's things going over there? What have you been doing for your long holiday break?

Kate,
The HSG is quite a quick procedure and no MC is given. So I took a day leave specially for the checkup. But like what Ganie mentioned, I also experience slight menstrual cramp during the dye insertion process that's all. So you can go back to work if you wish to, and don't waste your leave. The most, you can apply urgent leave if you really don't feel comfortable after the HSG test.

I went for a quick v-scan this morning. Prof. Wong say I have potentially 2 follicles, both left and right. Both size at around 11mm, and I was told to go back for another v-scan on Friday. Hmn, if the follicle can grow 2mm per day, my follicles will be around 18mm on Friday. If everything goes smoothly as the IUI normal procedure, I will be given HCG jab to trigger the ovulation once my follicle is around 18mm. But IUI needs to be done 36hours after the jab. Which mean it will fall on Sunday? Aiyo... So I might missed the IUI for this cycle due to the timing as expected. But since already in the process I shall go back on Friday again for the follicle scan and see how things go. I didn't manage to ask Prof. Wong much question this morning as I need to rush for a course. I will check with him on how many IUI does he normally recommend his patient to go through before proceeding to IVF.

Hi Foodie,

I took progynova before ovulation and was told to continue til i finished my dosage even after IUI.
Utogestan is progesterone tablets. Helps support the pregnancy in case i am. Did some research and seems that alot of people take it during early preg to prevent MC.
Just that increased progesterone gives you similar symptoms like pregnancy, so really sucky since im experiencing quite abit of side effects, swollen bbs, light headedness, cramps. But i can only attribute them to all the hormone pills... haha...

Hi Heather,

You can try trigger Sat nite then you can make it on mon.. i was in the same dilemma, my first time triggering so no idea on the timing, so i triggered Sat morn after detect LH surge. I went clinic on Mon and my RE say still can try cos she did the scan and see my follicle just collapsed so, according to her, i just ovulated and sperm still has chance to meet the egg in the tubes.
She was telling me i could have triggered Sat nite, to make it in time for the window.
I guess timing is really the issue in IUI and nobody has the right answer. Even the timing with the trigger. Even when you have done everything right and all according to schedule, i would think that we will still fret if we really have gotten the right timing.