IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

hi ladies, happy new year to u. hope year 2011 is a good year for all of us.

hi bluenosebear, all e best to ur iui on mon. i dun wish to see u at e ivf support forum

Thanks Serene, I hope so also, but dare not put high hope la. I did go into ivf forum so will get know yr progress also. All the best for yr ivf

Happy new year.

bluenose, I only rem u were with Biswas too but OD part, I can't rem. Hee...hee.... My OD with Biswas was like roller coaster, think he himself was terrified abt wat happened to me. Thank god he is experienced enuff to stop the bleeding as I heard from the nurse, my bleeding was in litres or pints.

Hey, I really wish you all the best for yr IUI coz everything seems to sound so positive and also with a positive mind set.

Rem to rest if possible after IUI and during the 2ww.

Thanks tweetie. Today I very naughty, I told Prof, if tis fail then I don't wan to do 3rd round of Iui then what is the next option?
His reply is IVF, he asked my age then he say ivf again. I also asked when I suppose to see him to discuss futher then he said in 3 weeks time. But I knew that I will need to do a 2nd day menses bld test so I hint him lor. He said need to do tis bld test then see him in 4 weeks time after the bld test. But I was given appt on 8/2/11 becos he on leave for 1 week during Chinese new year, maybe I see how if really need to, will have to bring forward the appt. Becos I hope to plan to start ivf with my Jan AF.
I on 2 days mc, today & tomorrow. Will try to rest as much as possible.

Hi bluenose,

Indeed you are, but dun worry too much, just hope this little swimmer knows how to swim up since u hv 2 embbies for him to nest in.
So your chances are increased in this aspect.

Really really hope u will strike but somehow I hv this feeling u will lei.

Keep me updated, or PM me bah.

OK Tweetie, I will try to pm U, but hor I 1st time pm le, so don know whether U will receive or not. Later I on trial pm U hor, hehe then U see U did receive or not. Ok, just pm U. Will tien ni de hao hua ba.
Foodie-U can request if U need it, as after IUI might have some cramps. Bu I feel is bearable. FOr me, is more of free from stress from work la.

hey.... i am back.... school reopens today.... hope everyone well.... i stop treatment for the time being.... the medication very bad... my mens became 40 over days cycle.... before was a 28 days cycle.... now taking chinese medication to "tiao" my body first...the jabs tt prof recommand very ex la... 150 den must take 10 shots den will cost 1500... and not neccsary will work de.... me and hubby considering IVF liao... btw blue how old are you huh.... lol can PM me if dun want to say here.... i am 28 in a 27 days ...

Liyan, I'm going to 33 this year. So Prof given me no option except IVF if I do not wan to do the 3rd round of IUI (which is the last round). Becos of my age ba. U still consider young le, so he given U the So-IUI option.
Did U ask Prof IVF would work for U? & the stimulation of the jabs would make U ovulate? Beocs IVF would need more med & time. So is more physical & emotion drain.
As for TCM, my TCM dr is the one whom suggested to me to take Clomid to boost the ovulation le. So I'm using western & eastern way.
If U need anymore queries, k post here, becos I seldom see my email. Unless is very personal then pm me.
Hope this helps in yr decision.

I've been trying for no. 2 for the last 2 years. Got pregnant once but ended up with a blighted ovum. Recently I tried IUI but failed all 3 rounds. Now really at a loss as I do not wish to try IVF. My gynae suggested doing a laproscopy but I'm hesitant. Should I continue with 4th round of IUI?

Thinking of seeing LC Foong from Gleneagles to seek his opinion. Any comments on him?

Hi paradox

I am with LC Foong. He is a nice person and explain to you in detail if you want to know.

But I tried 3 rounds of clomid Liao and done hsg still no sign.

I really hope I can be successful under him then don't have to crack my head to look for another Gynae.

Welcome, Paradox.
U done HSG before to check any blockage? What is the reason that yr gyn ask u to do lapro?
Which dr u are with now?

Hi foodieshare & bluenosebear

I've not done HSG before. How is the procedure like?

Only did blood test for prosterogen level which was ok. So far for my IUI, I've been ovulating regularly but with only 1 egg.

My gynae says best to do laproscopy after 3 failed IUIs to check whether I have endometriosis. I'm with Dr Liaw from TMC.

Hi paradox

Hsg is a process where a tube is inserted to inject some liquid chemical inside thereafter they take an X-ray. This is to ensure your tubes are clear.

Suggest you do this before laproscopy. This is simpler and cheaper.

Normal natural ovulation is normally 1 egg only. I only will have 2 eggs when I was on clomid.

Doing ovulation scan today.

Foodieshare-So U be doing IUI for this round? Sounds like U going to ovulate soon. It cost the same in NUH. IUI has higher chance compared to normal way.
Paradox-Like what foodie had explained, is better to do HSG 1st. For me, is beocs of cervical stenosis that is why they were unable to do HSG, so in the end had to do laproscopy.
Normally Dr would suggest HSG to check the patency of tube before they proceed to IUI. Unless like my situation can't do HSG then Dr would give the option to do lapro.
Maybe U would check with yr Dr 1st. Is true that laproscope can see whether any endo, tubes patency, but is invasive procedure, so is like a last resort.
Do discuss with yr Dr.

Hi bluenosebear
This round will be natural cos it is coming out soon and my hubby can't arrange his schedule on time.

Just wish myself luck
hopefully no need to spend the $600.
Thanks for the NUH cost info. I didn't know it was so ex in public hosp as well. Thought I read somewhere it costs only $250

For IUI think is more or less the same. $600 only solely for IUI, it exclude the scans & med (as for me the med is Tablet Clomid).
But if there is a need to do IVF then Restructured hospital would cost lesser, due to the gov grant of $3k. my thinking also that maybe in restructure they would charge a lower price for the drugs compare to pte.
Good luck to U

i went for my retest for progesterone.... and sad to say.. it is really that low. But the nurse say it doesn't affect chances of conceiving but it will affect chances of keeping the baby if really get pregnant.

Hi foodieshare & bluenosebear

I paid $400+ for IUI at TMC. How much does HSG cost? Is it painful?

foodieshare - Wish you best of luck

HSG cost abt 120 plus in NUH .... according to the nurses they say if it is painful den it is good cos it means your tubes are clear.... rather then pain it feels like a change of sensation from warm to sudden clodness..

Bluenose - u mean they refunded hsg charges?

Went back yesterday, wanting to start second cycle of so iui, but dr found a no of follicle cysts as a result of last failed cycle. So can't start so iui this mth and suppose to take marvel on which is birth ctrl pill to reduce the cyst this mth. Anyone experience this b4?

HSG in NUH is around $280, I went for it last May before I proceed to see PC Wong. $120 is it subsidised rate or not?

So far, my experience is not as bad as bluenose, I did 2 HSG before. Once at Glen E when trying for no. 1 and once at NUH for this no.2. So far, I wud say pain is tolerable for me.

whitetiger, never heard of this problem, I think it's like PCOS where the eggs dun purge out from ovaries to go to the fallopian tube for fertilisation is it? That's the case normally for PCOS.

foodieshare, to a certain extent, western med do stimulate ovulation, so that's why it is good to have TCM and western balanced treatment.

bluenose, so how many days past IUI now?

Halo Tweetie, done IUI on 3/1/11, so should be 7 days past IUI. Weird part is that my nipples very sensitive like my usual PMS signs. Hope this would continue through out then maybe I'm BFP, hehe or unless is really AF coming lor......., sign.
Me going to second week of 2ww.

Hi ladies, i did my first IUI at NUH last December but failed. Not gng to do my 2nd one this month cos very stress at work. Going to do the 2nd one in February instead. Anyone else doing IUI at NUH?
Im with Dr Stephen Chew.

Hi bluenosebear

Ur IUI was on 3 Jan right? So not yet 14 days. Why AF comes so early for you?

U have a shorter luteal phase or they calculated your ovulation day wrongly??

Hi bluenose,

Ya, how come AF come so early for u? By rite should be 14DPO which should be 17.01.11. Is it full flow?

Hi andrea, welcome!

bluenosebear, i saw ur post in other thread therefore quickly come in here. Is ur flow heavy? isst implantation? today only dpoiui11 right?
Anyway let me giv u a big *hug*. You may cry out loud. But after drying ur tears, buck up and continue the path u hav chosen. we are here to support one another. I know one day we will make it to the finishing line : )

Thanks for all the +ve thoughts, but it is really full flow.
Now don't want to think what went wrong, becos think Prof also can't give me the answer ba. I trust what he saw from the scan & opk test done in NUH.
Maybe is not time yet to be BFP.
Cried yesterday night, this morning, felt much better, but like gold fish eyes liao.
Yesterday & today, I was on leave, & told my staff not to call me if can, so very relax.
Some more went to trim & color hair with my mum. Then we went shopping in Robinson. Bought her clothes & nice bedsheet.
In the end, I can't find my CNY clothes, had to try finding again.
Today went JB to continue shopping.
So after the shopping therapy, felt much better & ready to move on.
But pocket got a big hole, hehe
Serene, yap would be going into IVF forum side to officially join with the rest of the sisters.
I would be going tomorrow to do the day1-3 menses blood test.
Hope to see Prof by next week before he go on leave on 27/1.
Now pray hard blood test nice nice & he would let me do on this cycle.
Serene, U think he would let me do on this cycle or I need to wait for another cycle then jab on 21st day??

hi bluenosebear, glad to know u are fine now. Yes u can immediately do the jab on tis cycle. Prof will be alright. initially i wanted to start the jab last cycle, but when prof told me he will b on leave on end jan, which might be during my ET period, I postponed the ivf to Feb. Will start the suppression jab(suprefact) on 28th Jan. If you start this cycle, we will b cycle buddies : ) After u discuss wif prof wong, u hav to make appointment wif CHR to do ivf counselling and plan your ivf schedule. Remember to bring ur marriage cert along if u decided to sign the ivf form on tat day.

Foodieshare,u had started yr med already? Did U discuss this with yr LC Foong? If the clinic is not open during yr ovulation period then I think U have to abort this cycle ba.
Maybe relax during CNY then continue next cycle?

At least now U agar know, then just try naurally, who knows, maybe k strike le.
I do understand the fustration of the waiting game.
But somehow, maybe we need to have a longer journey compare to others to BFP.
Jiayou wor.

Dun think I have striked. Already feeling the usual dull cramps

So now planning for next cycle which is CNY... hopefully anyhow do anyhow strike...

U so funny le, maybe CNY holidays U would be more relax, then U k strike.
I on TCM since I started babymaking. I seeing Prof Feng in Seng Chong. Is in People's park centre.

Hi bluenose,

Are you ok now? Dun worry, buck up more energy for the next cycle. Soon it will be your turn.

I waited 2 yrs for no. 1 and 3 yrs for no. 2. But it's worth the wait but u hv to learn to remain calm even when it's failed. Then it's easier to proceed.

I jus had my 2nd tri scan and prof said most likely it's a girl again. So it's destined I have 2 princesses even if it's assisted IUI, doesn't guarantee that it's a boy.

But doesn't matter to me coz I m happy enough to have striked no. 2, boy or girl also happy. Afterall, I am a person who believe a lot in fate. "sui yuan".

i am going for IUI if my cycle fail again this month.
But i am new to IUI, so need advise from all of u here.

Question :
1) which fertility specialist and which clinic/hospital to go to?
2)after booking appt and see the specialist for the first time, further visit, need to go daily isit?
3)is there any medical certificate given ?
4)Can we start on IUI immediately or need to do a lot of test?

Really need advise now. Very desperate already.

Tweetie, thanks for the concern & encouragement. I wil try to do whatever I can for diet wise, but hor only too lazy to exercise.
I understand that even IVF is not gurantee that I would be pregnant.
I know I would be pregnant one day, is only a matter of time.
With the long journey think even is girls also never mind. Sometimes girls are better becos they are more 'tier sin' ba.
Very good that U think is that is the way.
For me I think healthy baby is most impt. But U know MIL sure wants a boy, but everything is what U want U would get that ma.............
When is yr due date? I'm still thinking if really BFP, don;t know would go back to Biswas.
Was thinking of changing to a Chinese Dr. Experience with PC Wong was very good, maybe after the few incidents with Biswas, I was like doubting his carefulness.
Will see by then.
So fast, 2nd tri liao. Jiayou, will be 3rd tri soon.