IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Chiakiko-
1) Depends on who U choose. Private or gov hospital. For me, I'm under Prof PC Wong in NUH. He is the head of fertility dept.
2) U need to see the Dr, run some blood test, if is not done yet. Normally Dr would also check the patency of the tubes (HSG). Then would decide IUI or IVF is best for U. Also depends on yr husband's semen analysis result.
Depends on yr condition, Dr would normally suggest IUI (not so ex & invasive) before opting for IVF. Unless yr condition did not permits to do IUI.
Only need to go for scan on 12th day of cycle, depends on the scan result, might need to go for sessions of scans till near ovulation date.
3) MC only given on for the IUI day.
4) Like what I had explained in Q1.

chiakiko, belived bluenose explain to you oredi. That's NUH procedure and every hospital practise is slightly different. So depends a lot on where u r planning to do it.

bluenose, yea, it will be your turn soon. Chinese dr in NUH, I not very sure coz as far as I can see, the popular ones in NUH are indian drs. I have the same thinking as u also and doubting Biswas initially. I guess that's coz Biswas is not specialised in secondary infertility and can't help us much. But with a complicated pregnancy, he sure is really good as he could turn the situation around with his skills and calmness. Remember my OD incident with him, even LC Foong told me I shoudn't doubt Biswas coz he is really skilled in his expertise and OD just wasn't his forte. But to think he could salvage the emergency and stop the massive bleeding and yet didnt damage my reproductive system, it goes to show how skillful he is still. After a few days thought, I agreed with LC Foong and got Biswas to refer me to PC Wong.

But for your case, dun think too far first, just do what u nid to with PC Wong and whatever comes later, can decide later. Ok?

Yea, coming 3rd tri soon. In fact, my MIL loves girls coz she had 3 boys. Sadly she died from cancer w/o even seeing my girl. Again lo, I feel it's fate... sometimes u feel better when u let your heart "sui yuan".

How's serene?

hihi, i heard someone mentioning my name.
Hi Tweeties, miss me isst?? Wow time really flies. u coming to 3rd tri soon. when is ur edd? me going to start my supression jab next Fri. As i m scared of jabbing myself, bluenosebear offered to jab for me leh. too bad she dun live near me : ( I told her for the sake of my no2. i will pluck up my courage to jab myself. keke..

Serene, I told U, U can one la. Just keep telling yrself that is for the sake of No 2.
Tweetie, ya when times come fo rme to make the choice of Dr, then I consult U again, hehe......By then done forget me wor...........
Serene, really hope that I can do in this cycle & we can be cycle buddies, becos I likely jab on 2/2 (eve of CNY, what a present). U plan to jab in the morning or night??

bluenosebear, i planning to jab in the morning. coz when proceed to Stimulation stage. We need to jab Gonal F in the nite time. So Suprefact will continue in the morning lor.
Veri funnie.. Both of us are chatting in 3 threads tis afternoon. keke..

Thanks bluenosebear n tweetie for d info. Really appreciate that.
Will book appt withy Gynae to see if he can do iui, if not will ask him to recommend me one.
Hope I dun need to wait too long to start.

Bluenosebear,
My Gynae is Dr Woo BH. U got heard of him?

Foodieshare
Ya we share share information ;)

Duno if I shld try iui or soiui.

I hope I do not have to undergo iui then bfp liao.
Very demoralizing month after month although I didn't try for very long. Dun want to be bashed here but hub n I really have difficulty bd-ing.

Actually my dr, say if k normally will just use clomid 1st, unless even with the maximum dose of 150mg Clomid, still no ovulation then he consider So-Iui.
But I heard that for So iui, the other headache is over stimulation, then has go abort the cycle.
Yr have to discuss with yr dr.
Chiakiki- never heard of, he is private dr?

May I know how much would it cost to do a laparoscopy in a Govt Hospital? I know private's not cheap and my insurance doesn't cover the cost so it'll be too exp for me to do it in a private hosp. Appreciate your advice! Thanks!

I just did my 4th IUI last week. Din go to Dr LC Foong in the end. Went to Dr Ann Tan instead as I'm more comfortable with lady doctor.

She did a sonasaline instead of HSG for me to check whether my tubes are clear.

Now in 2ww

Harlow ladies, sorry mia for so long...
how's everyone doing? :D

letTherebeHOPE: I did my lap in jan 2010, paid 1k+ cash because i wanted my sr consultant to do personally for me. Range of prices tho, if choose to let trainee docs do, no cash top up 100% medisave, and sr doc will supervise, but i don;t feel safe, because i know the tubes are v v sensitive so once poke thru, that tube is gone. i'd rather pay the 1k cash.

Hi BeFabulouslyPositive

Thank you for your reply. It helps :eek:)

If u don't mind sharing, could you let me know which hosp u went to and if it's just a day surgery? Did u go as a private or subsidised patient? Could u recommend your doctor too? If it's too much of an info, please PM me. Thank you so much for your help in advance.

No worries, did mine at kkh. my gynae left for TMC so i followed him there already... but i heard most of his patients transferred to Dr John Tee at kkh, so u can try him. I was under private. And yes, day surgery. if u want to see the same doc each time, u have to go private.. just call kkh for appt will do.

Ha BFP, any good news? I planning for IVF.
Waves-I did mine in NUH as private patient, but I choose to to admitted. Total is 2K or 3K, but paid by my company, as was putunder diagnosis of fibroid.

Hi BeFabulouslyPositive

Thanks once again :eek:) Top up extra 1k+ for private is really not bad. I'll consider this option.

Hi Bluenosebear
Thanks for your reply too. How many days were u admitted? Did it make a difference if u were admitted or chose to go home after rest? I've company insurance too but am really not sure what I could state it as to be ensured that I'll be able to make a claim. Don't feel like asking HR as I don't want to give them the heads up yet.

Waves- I admitted one night, as I want my dr to review me & tell me the outcome the next morning. Ghe other option is day surgery, rest then go hme.

HOPE: all insurances .. or almost all, dont cover fertility treatments. lap was considered fertility so i cdnt claim.

blue: gimme one more week then i can tell ya.... :D

Thank you Tweetiee... everything going great with u? Think I kena flu liao irritated throat n blocked nose..with heavy head

Hi BFP,

I am doing well, cruising my way to 24 weeks soon.

The virus is very strong now, I had this flu, cough things right after new year and till now, havent fully recover.

Take care and load up with Vit C.

Tweetie & BFP- take care, now seems like flu session le.
I waiting to be seen by Prof Wong. Crossing my fingers, hope that k start ivf tis mth.......

Hihi blue, yup i saw u in ivf thread. sticky also jus did her ET -- hoping for good news from her. BTW do u know anyone who's using puregon? i have half a vial left can sell cheap off... cos leave in fridge v wasted.

tweet: preg if down with flu then how? mus see GP for medication ah? then u took medicine?

Yeap, I had to take antibiotics to clear the throat infection. So far, it's ok to take GP medication. When I had no. 1, I was down with sore throat too and prof gave me augmentin, he said it's safe, dun worry.

Btw I dunno if I conceived also because we start to change our supplements coz hubby started to take a herbal supplement that is supposedly to improve sperm health. Coz in AU, there were loads more of such supplements than in Spore and we bought quite a handle home during our hols there. Show Prof Wong, he gave the green light to eat also.

Now that I strike, I dunno if anyone of u keen or not actually, if yr fertility issue is both side. Just let me know.

I also have a lot of ovulation midstreams left, coz i oredi predicted I need that for IVF, but now, looks like I have to let go cheaply.

It's ok if u not interested. I am not hard selling also lah, just seeing if I can help and at the same time also.

my cousin-in-law took antibiotics when she conceived her first n lost it, so i find it quite scary leh.. she didnt know she was preg when she took the medication

prof gave green light to do IVF this month. I would be starting my jabs next week. Would be on CNY eve somemore.
But one step nearer to my goal ;)

hi , i am new to this fourm , me also being trying for a long time , will be doing my first IUI at mount E hospital next month, doctor advice me to try 3 times if not sucess ask me do IVF. Anbody sucess rate with IUI , what can i do at the moment ? any advice

BFP, that bad ah.... I dun think its due to the antibiotics, maybe genetically issue. Coz I remember I took antibio when I had my first, not even knowing I was preggy, I was damn worried baby will have prob but ok lei.

bluenose, congrats!!!! really hope u strike this time round, then it will be the best cCNY gift for u and also in time for a rabbit baby.

Wai Fung, welcome, which gynae u seeing? Dr Charles Lim? IUI success is rate is much lower compared to IVF or ICSI, but much I feel depends on luck. Why dun u just try IUI for 3 rounds and then decide what to do next if it fails? Unless u really can't wait, then u just proceed straight to IVF.

tweet: not sure also.. but she was given an antibiotic jab or something, then bb stopped growing at a few weeks lo. quite sad.

btw i mia-ed for a while cos was having v v v bad full day MS, now still. Wanted to wait till now to share with u all the news.. i'm 13 weeks today.
For those who don’t know my issues, I hav pcos n hub has slightly low morph. I don’t ovulate regularly n actively trying for abt 2 years. I tried many many diff things so i dont know what exactly helped, but probably a mixture of everything. Just wanted to share what i took:

1. royal jelly in a.m.
2. french pine tree extract (for dh - improve morphology.. i think this helped, cos my other forum pal striked too after hb took this)
3. TCM for both dh and i, with accupuncture (for both - we striked the cycle dh has his accupuncture) with dr tan at clementi
4. cut down on my tea intake and liang stuff (dh also not supposed to take liang stuff)
5. reduced my clomid dosage but complement with puregon jab - my first cycle with lc foong (didn do iui tho, cos doc wanted us to try natural first round
6. cut stress n not think about it - this is the hardest, but that month i was busy with my singing comp and totally forgot abt it, so i guess that was why
7. preseed - we always use this cos i'm always too dry. in fact, got drier with clomid, so i dont really agree with too high dosages of clomid.

Comment on LC foong: he's really detailed and i'm pretty comfy with him. just that delivery in Glen e n his charges i dont think going to be cheap, so i'm thinking now. but his diagnosis and all, i'm glad i went to him instead of increasing my clomid dosage that my prev gynae suggested.

Best of luck to all!!

Hey BFP,

Congrats congrats!!! See I told you, somehow I felt someone is going to join me soon, it's either u, serene or bluenose, that was my gut feel that I won't be in happiness alone.

Yupe, LC Foong is good, I agree but I worry about his charges which I told him straight too, so he urge me to go back NUH since they have all my records there. I believe u will be in good hands under him.

Any MS?

BAd Bad MS from week 5 till now. had fever n flu last week n ms went away for a day... but came back worse. mine lasts whole day long... i'm soo lethargic feeling nauseous n sleepy everyday...

Now I'm worrying bt my delivery charges... i dono how much he costs. That's y thinking if i shd return to tmc, but after my last visit yest i'm pretty comfy with him so i dont know if i shd switch. some more he can read my mind.. he knows my concern n auto told me what he will be scanning for etc etc. cos i have a cleft lip n palate n i'm worried lo.

Same, my MS started ard week 5 and it was terrible and with those jabs, I was literally flat for the next 10 weeks. Generally, it will get better ard wk 18 altho my MS still lingers except that I managed to identify the kind of foods that makes me worse, so I just avoid them. So it is more manageable now at wk 24.

In that case, I would think it is better for you to stick with Dr Foong since he can give u the assurance. Charges wise, talk to the nurse about the cost of overall package and then tell him your concern, see if he can reduce a bit or not.

umm.. i think i have to wait till next visit already cos i asked the nurse n she says better ask him direct.. n some more he doesn't have a package. my tmc gynae's package only $600 from 2nd tri so i was tempted to go over... n his deliv charges only 1.2k. tmc also more convenient than glen e cos that side so close to orchard n i hate the jam.. but yes comfort level with lc is better.

Hmmm, u mean he doesnt have a package at all? Wow, now really explains why he is expensive. Think u have to weight pros and cons regarding this. It took you a while to have this precious, so all the more u nid the TLC to ensure this precious is safe and sound. But also ensure your pocket has enough to pay for.

Tough decision, u probably have to think about it through.

Morning ladies, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!! GONG XI FA CAI!!! May our baby dream will come true. HUAT AH!!

BFP, congrats to u : ) So happy to know u strike naturally. Take good care of urself. Try to eat someting u like. I remembered during my 1st pregnancy i have no appetite almost everynite during 1st and 2nd tri. I keep forcing myself to eat. End up all donate to the toliet bowl. But if i eat food tat i m craving for, they will be nicely digested in my stomach. You may also eat some biscult crackers and drink some warm milk in between ur meals. Also more water intake since we lose water when we puke. Hopefully ur ms will go away soon.

BFP- I had guess so that u really bfp when I asked u last round. Happy for u. Take care wor.
Tweetie & all sistas here, Gong xi fa cai. Hope all bfp & have smooth delivery for bunny / dragon babies

Thanks ladies. I had a little help from Puregon jabs. Tho I'm scared of needles, I was surprised at how I managed to jab myself without fear, not to mention the accupunctures I did. But looking back, as long as it's a sticky bfp it's all worth it. For ladies who didnt know, i had a failed iui as well.

Lots n lots of luck to u all! I'm sure we will hear more good news soon!

whitetiger: haha but i somehow think it worked leh.. cos if u read online, the articles that i found seemed to have illustrated positive findings. Plus my friend striked too... i have another box left but will keep lah.. yr end ask hubby take again hahaa

Try to take lotsa aphrodisiac foods like osyters etc, they are very good for boosting soldiers.

I think I striked partly coz we went for a holiday before embarking the TTC journey with Prof Wong.

Good luck and lotsa bb dust.

Thanks, tweetie. I also agreed abt the oyster part, becos, before IUI, I make my husband eat oyster & the count all that was very good during both my IUI time.
Think is my ovulation that is why did not BFP ba.
Now with the injections, I'm not so stress yet. Think when I start my scanning during stimulation pahse, then would be stress ba.
Ok, I will try to be zen ba.