Hong Kong Disneyland

Micsarah,
We just came back and paid $1.8k for 2 adults for 5D4N on Cathey. SQ will be approx. $30 cheaper per pax but got to arrange everything ourselves. Accomodation is cheaper if go after 15 Oct. Now is the middle and high period.

If not wrong, hotel in Disney is cheaper than main Kowloon/Hong Kong Island (given the same no. of stars). So your package will be more ex than those who are staying more nights in Disney. Airport Transfer if self arranged is around HKD110/pax/way.

Hi mummies, how you gals go to the town areas from the airport? I've having 3 adults & 2 children, not sure which is more economical. taxis, train or shuttle bus? Thinking of taxi but not sure if they can cater so much people. I've arriving airport in the evening time around 7.30pm, going to Mongkok.

natellechim

i doubt u can take a taxi. U've to include the luggage too, i dun think the boot can accomodate so many. Anyway, i feel train will be more economical. U can go to their service counter and buy airport express tickets for 3 adults. They've discounts for bulk buy. There's free shuttle services from the kowloon station to some of the hotels, u might wanna check out the mtr website to see if it will reach your hotel.

Hi mashy, we intend to travel light, probably will only have a 28" luggage bag and another smaller bag. If their cab boot same size as our S'pore cab, i believe should be ok. I've checked their train express earlier, children also need to buy, hence added up is abt HK$300 or more... their cabby to Kowloon is almost the same. I'm not sure if i'm gathering the correct info from the web. Hope some experienced mummies can advise me.

Hi mashy and p_p02,

Hope to see you all there! Next time i will try to book myself and don't go agent already. Anyway paid already so better have fun and enjoy with my family.

Very excited bcos 1ST time bringing my kids taking plane. They are equally excited too.

HELLO PPO2, the restaurants are mostly around Mongkok, TST and HK Island. You can print it out and ask the locals. I am sure they would be able to guide you along

natelle, for the last trip, I went there with 5 adults + 1 toddler. We had many pieces of lugguage. To save time, we just used this private car to our hotel in TST. It's an Alphard - big and comfortable. It could contain the many pieces of lugguage we had. My HK frens would take the train express with 2 pieces of 29" luggage + 1 huge handcarry + 1 toddler. They highly recommend the train, citing low cost as the main reason. For me, I would take the taxi la, to save time and rather hassle free.

micsarah, i am sure you will have fun there! it's a lovely place for a holiday.

missk

wow, u must be so familiar with HK. I usually just walk and if i see anything i like then i go in. Dun think i'll be able to find any of these restaurants. Hahahah. ANd not forgetting that i'm dragging my boy along. Think i might even need to pack a dinner snack coz by the time i reach hotel will be abt 7pm. Dun think he can tahan.

Tung Chung Citigate Factory Outlets

Any mummies went to this during their Disney stay?
Is it worth going? What brands are cheap there?

Am planning my itinerary for end Nov, thinking of including this...

MACAU via FERRY

Any mummies brought their kids on day trip to Macau? Was it manageable? I read there is a direct ferry to Venetian Macau, so am thinking of doing that for a day trip- not gambling, but to see the mall in Venetian...comments?

tks missk, will bring list along and see where we end up

hi fairyprincess,
i heard that factory outlet also has a food republic. but that's abt all i know. anyone can help us out here? is it worth the visit? toy shops for kids? tks

helo mashy..I also brought my son along. I didnt try all the restaurants. These are just recommended ones
Usually we just let him eat dinner outside before we head back. Sometimes we cook dinner in the hotel. Those easy to cook stuff like porridge. But after a few attempts, I just give up. Save the hassle, just let him eat outside

Hi mummies, just saw this thread. I'm going HK disney on 01 nov with my kids (age 5 and 6).

Hi kwala, is the bf with characters worth the $$? We can still take pics with the char in the park and will buffet bf take up the morning time?

Hi missk, I like the Yee Shun diary. steamed egg, pork chop bun, yummy..! There are outlets at causeway bay and kowloon too but don't have the address, just know how to walk there.

Hi natellehcim, it's more worthwhile for our party of 4 to take cab. After changing from the express to mtr, it's too crowded with luggage and kids in tow! If alone, I take the express.

Hi jan, my kids are also 5 & 6. For pax of 4, of cos is worthwhile to take a cab. Now my concern is I have additional adult (my MIL) coming along, hence not sure if the cabby allows this qty of pax. As for the disneyland, so far if I've checked, if you purchased a night stay, your tickets can be used for 2 days. So you need not have to worry not enough time for the park. I'm only curious what the breakfast comprises of and start from what time till what time...

hi, "hk experts" mummies,

Thanks for sharing your experiences.

Need your advise, if to get a Child's Annual Pass, are we eligible to book the hotel with 30% discount? TIA

Hi worry_mum,

unless ur child has a credit card to pay the hotel room otherwise it is better to get an adult annual pass.

hi icechoc,

b/f at hotel has 2 time slot 7.30-9am, 9.30 - 11am. the characters will come to your table and u can take as many photos as u want.
b/f at the park starts at 9am and most people finish by 10am.

if u have the time & patience to queue up to take photos with the characters then u can just skip the b/f with characters.

I think it is a bit expensive for the buffet b/f but then everything at disneyland is expensive. at least we have a good and full b/f to start the day off.

Hi kwala,
normally what time do the characters appear in the park? Is there a particular timing for their appearance and where to spot them?

the fantasy garden starts at 10.30am. most of the characters will be there for photo-taking.
what i usually do when reach the park is to catch the first railway to the fantasyland & then take a few rides there & wait for the garden to open. Then don't have to wait so long just to take photo.

Some other characters like snow white, buzz lightyear etc will depend on your luck as their timing is not known

oh.. snow white will be at the castle when the statues of 7 dwarfs are. and buzz lightyear will be at tomorrowland. I ever see chio & dale at adventure land.

Hi kwala,
probably i won't be staying the hotel there, will be catching the train from Mongkok. What time you would advise us to reach the park to do as much as you have done there.

the park opens at 10am on weekdays. but they let people in 5-10mins early.

it cld be quite a long journey from mongkok to disneyland. need to change train 2 times, i think. not to mention the morning peak hours.

ya i agree. so got to plan properly loh... initially was thinking of checking in disneyhotel straight away after arrival in HK airport but guess might be a waste there loh. haiz...

there are characters in disney hotels for photo taking as well but their timing is not known so see if u r lucky to catch them (for those staying in disney hotels.

any advise abt transport from airport to Mongkok. If taking the airport express, 3 adults + 2 children will be >HK$400. Heard the cab from airport to town will be about HK$300 only leh. Not sure if it's true. Hope those who had taken cabs from airport to Mongkok lately can advise. How about their shuttlebus A21?

nat

what time are u arriving? Must bear in mind peak hrs leh. Coz during peak hrs, it can get quite jammed.

And 3 adults and 2 children are HK$280. U can get special group tix for 3 adults. children are half price, not sure if they're eligible for the promo tix at half price too.

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/airport_express/promotions_4persons.html

When returning, u can also make use of this 50% off deal if u take a cab to the Kowloon station from your hotel (if >HK$60).

http://www.mtr.com.hk/eng/airport_express/promotions_taxi.html

Oh, juz realised... maybe can consider their airbus A21, which I can alight at Mongkok MTR station. Hotel is 5min fm the MTR station. Journey is similar to cab, approx 35min. Per pax is HK$33 and children half price.

Hi natellehcim, our kids are same age! We went HK last year but didn't do disney so this time, it's a must. Yep, I've reserved the park tix under stay-and-play for 2 days promo. Becoz it's disney from airport so if I go for the bf will have to be 2nd day. Below is the info for the bf:

HONG KONG DISNEYLAND HOTEL:
1. Enchanted Garden (character buffet): HK$218/adult; HK$110/child
breakfast time: 1st round: 0800-0930; 2nd round: 1000-1130

THEME PARK:
Plaza Inn (Character Breakfast): Adult / Child: HK$165.00 / HK$93.5
(buffet is served on weekends and public holidays, set menu is served on
weekdays)
Breakfast time: 0900-1100
*Park admission ticket is required if you have breakfast at the Plaza Inn.

The prices above are inclusive of 10% service charge. For table reservations, please call the Dining Reservation directly at:

Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel: (852) 35106000
Disney's Hollywood Hotel: (852) 35105000
Theme Park: (852) 35503388

Kindly note that table reservation via email is unavailable and that as you are guests of Disneys' Hollywood Hotel, dining reservation for the Enchanted Garden Restaurant only within 21 days from your arrival date will be accepted.

Thks kwala! Still considering the bf thingy. $$$ and time.

wow ..so exciting to see this thread so active!

jan, breakfast with the characters is good fun. We ate quite early in the morning, before the park is even open. No time wasted at all.

Hey mummies,if you guys want the contact of the driver who picked my family up at the airport, just pm me. I happened to keep his contact
It's not exactly cheap around HKD 500 per trip (if i am not wrong). It's worthwhile if you have quite a big group. The Alphard can take 6 pax.

Hi jan, thanks for the info. So where you've registered your kid in? I stayed in the north, hence chosen Sembawang pri for my ds.

Hi kwala, someone advised me to buy the disneyland tickets earlier, in case it gets sold out? Is there anything that they will sold out the tickets on the spot? Anyway I'm going on a weekday.

Hi natellehcim, are u still in the disney hotels? guests got priority to the tickets. i bought mine at the pt of checking in.

but if u r not staying in disney hotel maybe, can buy the tickets online first.

Fairyprincess/pp02,
Just came back from Hkg last week. Citygate Factory outlets so so only. Nothing much for kids. The food republic a disappointment to me cos I'm looking for local food. Not much, mainly food from around the region, e.g. Macau, SG, Korea, Shanghai, etc. Think only saw one stall selling local food (i.e porridge).

U can pop by if you are going to Da4 Yu3 San1 cos only next to the cable car station.

Lill,
You are staying near Bukit Merah? If not wrong, Gan Eng Seng is previously Alexandra Hill Primary. Think the most impt is u need to teach your child to differentiate btw right and wrong and keep u inform of what happen in school. I have heard good and bad reviews about the kids in that school.

kwalamama, so if we stay in disneyhotel, no need to prebook park tickets? quite ccertain it'll be avail? tks for info...

icechoc, tks for info on b/fast. do u know if kids below 3 need to pay or it's any age kids must also pay? will consider park b/fast since it's earlier...

mashybrainz, does the airport shuttle go to disneyhollywood? if so, what's the cost? tks for info

purin: tks for info of food republic. shan't raise my hopes. when i think of food republic, i'll compare to spore. at least my tummy will be better prepared ;p

does anyone know if it's possible to do check-in of luggage from the hotel? cos taking late flight out from HK so tot if can check in luggage 1st then can still wander ard HK island before gg to airport n no need to lug bags ard. pls advise. tks a lot

this thread is really useful in helping to clear my queries. tks so much mummies!

I have book my stay in HK Disney Hollywood hotel, upon booking they will ask u whether a need to pre book entrance ticket, and the b/f meals coupon.

If you are consider on the Annual pass thing, Child pass is also entitled to the discounts.

hi Jan,

Just got an email from the HK Disneyland on the restaurant info.. but slight difference from urs.

For breakfast, 1 Annual Passholder can bring up to 7 guests to enjoy 20% off dining at selected restaurants. You can have delicious buffet
breakfasts, continental breakfasts and fun-filled character breakfasts at selected restaurants. Please find the breakfast pricing (not yet discounted) provided as follows:

Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel:
Enchanted Garden Character Buffet breakfast:
HK $198/ adult and HK$100/child aged 3-11

Grand Salon Continental Breakfast:
HK $140/ adult and HK$70/child aged 3-11

Disney's Hollywood Hotel:
Chef Mickey Buffet breakfast:
HK $140/ adult and HK$70/child aged 3-11

Theme Park:
Plaza Inn Character Breakfast:
HK $150/ adult and HK$85/ child aged 3-11
* The breakfast cost listed is subject to 10% service charge.

btw, I had tried Grand Salon Continental Breakfast. it is buffet style. the spread is not much but my hubby likes it and there is no character for u to take photos with.

Hi Kwala,

Any idea what kind of food do they serve for b/f at Plaza Inn? International or cantonese style?

Hi Kwala,

How about the b/f at Enchanted Garden? Is it the same? I'm thinking of choosing one of the restaurant for b/f but can't decide which one.

Which one do you recommend?

enchanted garden spread is more. got noodles,international, dim sum, congee etc.

I recommend enchanted garden choose the 7.30 slot and finish at 9.00. then rest a little bit (toilet break for my kids hee hee) and then go to the theme park.